Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

  • 625 El Camino Real
  • Palo Alto,
  • California
  • 94301
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 345 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms are outdated In this day and age, hotel rooms really need to have plentiful and easy-to-access power plugs for people to use their laptops, chargers, and other techie gadgets. My room required me to unplug items like lamps or the coffee maker in order to use my own equipment. One outlet was oddly bent into the wall and a normal plug actually would not stay securely into it. When I looked under the bed to see just how they had gotten two bedside lamps and an alarm clock plugged in, I noticed a sketchy extension cord bridging the power gap. On another note, the $10/day in-room wifi access turned out to be basically unusable, it was so slow. I ran tests with an internet speed tester, and it was slower than old-school dialup. To the hotel's credit, they refunded the charge when I asked them to. The front desk services were prompt, helpful and courteous, and they were the only reason I would not rate this hotel stay much lower. I don't really think this should qualify as a 3-star hotel. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, bad Wifi Should be Free WiFi in rooms. Computers and printer in lobby are outdated and constantly malfunctioning, making it hard to get travel info or print airplane boarding passes. Halls and public areas could stand to be renovated and cleaned up. January 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by GOOD HOTEL FOR REASONABLE PRICE I stayed in this hotel a couple of times. The rooms are comfortable, and the location is great, just steps away from downtown. A few things were disappointing, however. They really nickel and dime you with every little thing, which is annoying. 1st, you have to pay extra for the internet, which is free in most of hotels I stayed. 2nd, you have to pay extra for parking, which is complimentary in any decent hotel. Bottled water, which is complimentary in any other hotel I ever stayed, is $3. The room service is fine but the food is atrocious and overpriced. I stayed in this hotel mostly for the location but if you don't mind driving a couple of extra miles you can find the same deal a lot cheaper. January 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rating Palo Alto Somehow I expected a little more luxurious hotel. It was comfortable and could use some upgrading. Our room was extremely large and roomy, we were on the Club Level. Since it was in Palo Alto I expected a little more in that city. The lighting, where the ceremony was held was very dim. The staff was very friendly and the food at the reception was good. We had a very nice experience at this lovely Wedding with wonderfuly people in attendance. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff and great location, but.. Staff and location at this hotel are unbeatable. Staff will do anything to help your stay and make it more comfortable. And, the room itself was a nice, comfortable room. Only problem was that there were far too many gnats in the room flying around. Not sure where they were coming from, but it was a little annoying. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missing the little extras. I have come to expect the little things like a room refrigerator, free internet and free parking,. I was a little disappointed that i had coffee for 2 guest but only 1 creamer and very little sugar. I tried to make and drink the coffee but not enough sugar /cream. Its these little extras that make a hotel really stand out. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel could be good but misses Doors to halls and entrances were kept open in the cold and rain.Public rooms and halls were too cold. Can't believe you don't have safes in each room. The toilets are too low. There is no place with a mirror for a woman to apply makeup while sitting down. Too big a charge for parking and it's inconvenient to have someone pick us up. December 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a fine and fun place to stay The staff kind and attentive. The food was very good and the location was very convenient for my stay. December 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel met our needs perfectly. We stayed at the Sheraton because it was close to PAMF where I was having out patient surgery. Our room location was great, the bar and resaurant outstanding and the staff very cooperative in letting me have a late checkout after my surgery. December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aging and noisy Hotel needs an update. The walls are very thin, allowing noises in the adjoining bathroom and bedroom to be heard all night long. Wall Paper is peeling. Bathrooms are very small and old. Though the beds were very comfortable, they appeared to be setting on a wooden frame which squeaked when you roll over. Though I turned the fan ON to block out the noises, the fan halted periodically even when turned to "ON" rather than "AUTO". Surprisingly, there was construction going on the road right outside my first floor window, with jack hammers going at 1:30am, waking me up. Good thing, is that this Sheraton is within walking distance of great shopping. Gym was very small and crowded, and without much for weights. December 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by could really use more soundproofing the staff were warm and helpful, but the room (on the SPG floor) had mostly average amenities, beyond robe and very comfortable bed that can be found at many nicer hotels, with not-soft towels and no soundproofing between rooms - was forced to listen to other guests' conversations and entertainment choices -and the earthquake tiedowns were rusty/unpainted, adding a very downscale feel. disappointing at the price, despite the staff December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Look forward to returning What a wonderful stay! Staff was more than helpful--arranged reliable and reasonable transportation to SFO and offered me a cold bottle of water while I waited. Everyone was so incredibly nice and helpful, from the front desk to the Starbucks' cart to the lounge. Room was spotless and so very comfortable. Will definitely stay again the next time I am at Stanford. December 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Maintenance issues Each visit we find that the maintenance of the facility Is not up to par. There are always items that need repair or replacement in either the room or common areas. On this visit their were bathroom bulbs that needed replacement and them diverter knob in the tub was missing making it difficult to divert the water into shower mode. These are obvious issues that housekeeping, I am sure, must have noticed, November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, helpful staff Lovely hotel, great staff and good location. Room was spacious with a good view. Large TV and bed. Staff always went the extra mile when I asked questions. November 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by argumentative staff I initially had a reservation for one night, upon checking in I asked to extend that to two nights. The person helping me said that it was no problem. The next night I get a phone call to my room from the front desk asking why I was still there. I explained what happened the night before and he replied there is no evidence that ever happened. He was not trying too get me out of the room he just wanted to argue. Whatever happened to the customer is always right? Especially when I am right! With or without evidence! November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay Classy place and so convinient November 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but expensive Completely enjoyed my stay. All of the staff was EXCELLENT; "really bent over backwards" to make me/us happy and I really appreciate it. The front desk can give you food so you can feed the fish in the coy pond. That's cool. I was surprised by the high cost of the room and the food at the "Poolside Grill". Of course the cost of the room is dictated by the demand of the area and the time of the week (and whether there are special events going on). Weekdays you can expect to pay over $200/night. Weekends you can get the same room for under $100/night. I would come back given the same deal I had. OH YEAH, I don't like that they charge you to park and for Internet usage. I was lucky, they waived the parking fee for me this time (thank you!). I think it was because most of my stay was paid for by my company and they had a deal for free parking and Internet. But that may not happen next time. It's not like there's a shortage of space, so why charge for parking? The parking lot is gated so nobody can park there without having to pay. Hotel guests should have "free" passage with the room key. Why did I have to pay for INTERNET at a hotel like this? Why not charge us for Cable TV and bathroom usage, TOO!? November 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Except no free WiFi Almost all businesses provide free WiFi (Even STANFORD Stadium has free WiFi) Yet you continue to charge for this and it is very annoying November 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel / Great Location I've stayed at the hotel several times. It is convenient to Stanford. My only complaint is with the toilets. They are very loud and sound like airplane toilets when you flush them. Unfortunately it will effect my staying at the hotel in the future. November 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by An unnecessary and frustrating experience I had a very frustrating experience with the Sheraton hotel in Palo Alto this past week. Last month, I made reservations to the hotel for Nov 5-8th. Then a few weeks ago, I talked to two ladies in reservations on two different occasions to update my reservation to be Nov. 6-8th. The first staff member told me that she had to follow up with the manager to get an exception for my situation since the system prevented her from updating my reservation. She informed that in order to update my reservation, she would need to cancel my reservation and then make a new reservation. Unfortunately, when she tried to do that, she told me that there weren't any rooms available for those dates requested. Not sure why Sheraton makes this difficult - the system should have functionality in place for these cases. I simply just wanted to cancel the first night and just keep 2 nights with the hotel. Why this couldn't easily be done, I'm not sure. She said she would make a note in my reservation record and that she would follow up w/me after talking to management. She assured me that I would be taken care of and that I would have nothing to worry about. I didn't hear from her so I called the hotel again a week later only to repeat the same situation with another gal. She saw that a note had been made in my reservation and she as well, assured me that everything would be taken care of and that she would follow up w/management. She said she would make another note in my reservation and informed me that everything would be sorted out when I check in Tuesday, 11/6. All I needed to do was show up and check in and everything would go as expected. After an extremely long, tiring and stressful day traveling and working I arrived at the hotel to check in around 11:30pm only to learn that my reservation was cancelled!!! I was appalled, shocked and extremely upset. The gentleman who was working w/me that evening didn't handle my situation as best as he could have. He didn't appear to be genuinely concerned with my situation nor my feelings. He informed me that I was charged for a No Show for 11/5 (Monday), and because I was a no show, my reservation was cancelled. I told them that was absolutely out of line. How could the hotel cancel my reservation when I have only been proactive and notes have been made on my behalf in the reservation?! I didn't have a car and my team had already went to bed. I had to wake up one of them close to midnight in order to share her room for the night. What would've happened if I was the only one traveling for work? Completely unacceptable. He said that he would try to figure it all out for me and get back to me first thing in the morning. I didn't hear from him and had to go to the front desk again only to work with another person. After hearing about my experience and understanding how upset I was, the lady I discussed my issue with, talked to her manager and was able to get me a room for the evening. Why the gentleman couldn't figure this out for me the night before, who knows. Then after coming back to the hotel that evening from work, I went to the front desk to check in to my room and to ensure that I wasn't charged for the first night. I saw that my the charge for the first night was pending on my credit card so wanted to make sure it was cleared up before I had to return home from my work trip. The guy at the front desk told me that he would look into it and get back to me. He called me after 10pm which was uncalled for; he could've waited till the morning. I was exhausted and was halfway asleep. He informed me to contact Jaime in reservations. The next morning, when I checked out, I asked for Jaime but he was unfortunately unavailable. I called the next morning and he wasn't available again so I left him a VM. He never returned my call. Overall, this was a very disappointing and frustrating experience that could have easily been avoidable. I did my part to be a proactive customer and to ensure I met Sheraton's cancellation policy. I was patient and had no issues until Monday night when I tried to check in, only to learn that my reservation no longer existed. I hope Starwood (SPG) and the Sheraton in Palo Alto makes this up to me and resolves the charges asap. November 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finally found my home away from home. Super comfy bed. Finally found somewhere I can sleep as well as I do at home. November 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reasons to stay at Sheraton Palo Alto Very convenient, pleasant environment, nicely furnished rooms October 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Denied access to room Hello— I used to be an SPG member but it's times like these that I stopped being a loyal member. Upon checking in, your staff told me that there was no reservation for me and that if I wanted to check-in I would have to charge it to my credit card. I told him to run the search again and he finally found it. Needless to say, I believe your staff should exercise dull diligence before telling customers that they don't reservations. In addition, on my last night at your property, I was locked out of my room. I went back to the front desk thinking that my card was just de-magnetized. The front desk agent informed me that I could not have access to my room until the room rate was paid. I found that odd but my company had apparently stopped funds. However, my personal credit card was still on file. The room rate could have just been charged to my card and the room rate problem could have been dealt with at a later time. To lock me out with my personal items still in the room is just unacceptable! I know there is nothing that can be done now but I do hope that your staff does a better a job of providing better service in the future. It's an inconvenience for the customer and I'm sure it's an inconvenience for you to receive such negative reviews like this one. Cheers, Fidel October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bad night sleem The beds were uncomfertable had a bad night sleep. I had to lay on 4 other beds to find a bed that didnt creep then they exchanged the bed with other bed from other room then that night had a great night sleep. I wish we would have gotten a complementary anything or taken off the parking charge of our car October 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very Mediocre Hotel I checked into the hotel and was told that there was only one room available on the first floor. I explained that I wasn't comfortable staying on the ground floor. I was pretty much told too bad, that they were sold out and there wasn't any other room available. Then a manager came out and found me a room on the second floor. It was raining out and I had to walk around the pool area to get to the room. I got soaked walking to the room. Not a great start. The room was dreary and the window didn't lock which made me concerned about safety. I called to order room service but was told that it closed at 11:00pm. All around disappointing. If I'm in the area I would try a different hotel. October 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Palo Alto It seems strange that you still charge for WiFi, parking and breakfast. Just about every place is including them these days. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Promotion for members I was lucky for having chances for booking the Hotel. At first there was no room available for that time. So my friend let me know the availability. Why don't you accept alarming system to the guests for the availability of setting time especially promoted rate. October 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs many improvements We had mostly minor issues all during our stay here, but when they start becoming a long list, it is no longer pleasant. At check in I asked the desk clerk to call when our room was prepared. When I hadn't heard by official check-in time, I went to the desk and he said he had called but my Voicemail was full. I didn't have a single message in my voicemail and I had someone call my phone as I stood there, so I know I was receiving. I would far rather have someone say, "Sorry, I'm running behind," than to make up statements the customer knows are false. The desk clerk also did not tell me I had packages waiting; I had to wonder and finally ask the next day. The nice fellow who got them out said they'd been there a couple days already so I know they were there when I checked in. It would have been nice to be told at that time. Our room was spacious but had no refrigerator, no safe, there were only 8 hangers for a double queen room and only one bathrobe, there was hair in the bathtub, and several bed linens had small holes in them. The hook that latched the balcony door was so tight that when it finally opened, it pinched my finger. The balcony table and chairs were layered with grime; I had to clean them just to set a drink down. Maybe worst of all - although we never touched it, the alarm clock went off at 8:30 am when we were trying to sleep late the next morning. A nasty awakening. The next night, the poolside bartender was out and the replacement admitted that he didn't know how to make drinks and was relieved when we left without any. The following night at poolside, we ordered 2 simple, non-mixed drinks and waited over 15 minutes for them although there were only a few customers. In the business center patrons cannot use wireless printing, which is bad enough, but there's no sign telling you this, so you go through the useless exercise of trying before someone informs you, "You can't do that." Also, if you access your email on iCloud, forget about using the business center PCs. Their version of Explorer is too old to access Apple's iCloud page. Imagine that in Palo Alto! None of these issues is earth-shattering, but taken together and with the pricey cost of this hotel, it added up to a lot of irritation. And they aren't the sort of things that could have been "corrected" at the time. I've always sort of scoffed at reviews like mine that I thought were too "whiney", but now I know how those people feel. We won't stay here again. October 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Interior design of the hotel facilities and especially the rooms are outdated. Carpet and furnishings are much too dark. Furniture seemed a bit warn. A hotel of this ostensible repute should not charge Starwood members for internet. Outrageous. Self parking is a hassle. October 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs a major renovation Positive Pool area is nice and clean Front desk were friendly Negative TV screen in the room was shattered Shower nozzle low Wall and bathroom patchwork very visible Overall look of hotels age Menu items very limited and not quality (included items like nachos using powdered cheese) October 12, 2012
  • 2015-05-12T18:53:47.663-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_345, tr_345
  • loc_en_US, sid_214, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 13 next>>