Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

  • 625 El Camino Real
  • Palo Alto,
  • California
  • 94301
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 267 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing Special for Price Stayed for 2 nights. The plumbing is extremely loud when the room above turns on the shower. Easily loud enough to wake someone up from a dead sleep. After waking up on the 2nd morning I noticed tiny bugs on the pillow cases. Cleanliness definitely needs some fixing. Given the price, you wouldn't expect these things. March 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some improvement I work for a company who has frequent travelers to the Palo Alto Sheraton, so I would have expected to receive a nicer room (if they have nicer ones). I was assigned a dated handicap room on the first floor. It looks like they tried to partially remodel the room. The seating area and bathroom were from the 80's. I'm a pretty tall guy (6'3"), so I had to hunch over to be able to take a shower (due to the handicap device that had been installed). The bed was like sleeping on a concrete block, and there were several large stains on the carpet. I know PA is an expensive place to stay, but I wouldn't say that this Sheraton was up to standards of competing hotels in the area. August 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by chased from the pool area I am 74 years old and had to visit the Stanford medical center A friend drove me up so I thought I would treat her to a nice hotel. It was a beautiful day so we went to the pool with deck of cards and a glass of water. we were playing Gin Rummy and keeping score on scratch paper. a employee came out to our table and accused us of gambling(I thought he was kidding) We continued to play and soon the same man along with the bartender came to tell us we could not bring drinks from our room, water? I complained, they gave us a free breakfast, but our day of fun was ruined.Needless to say this was embarssing and and unnecessary. You will never find us at this hotel again. July 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by APPALLING Prior to booking this hotel, I called SPG reservations to inquire about the property. I was told that the hotel had undergone a renovation in 2012.Based on this information, I booked with the representative. Upon arrival, the hotel was undergoing renovation and the next day, the entire lobby of our building was stripped to the wall boards and the noise level was unbearable. This hotel should no accept guests under these conditions. I am furious at the blatant deception on your part. I expect a refund. May 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Under construction Since the hotel is across the street from Stanford, I booked a room for a reunion weekend. I arrived on Friday evening to a prom...yes Sheraton Palo Alto hosts proms...and the building I was staying in was under construction. The wallpaper had been stripped from most of the hallway and the carpet was littered with scraps of dry wall and cardboard. Certainly now what I was expecting. If I'm traveling abroad and paying $40/night, no problem. But for $200/night, not good. Obviously this is a temporary situation. I was just surprised that rooms were still rented in a hallway that was clearly under construction. May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisiest hotel. Prepare for sleepless nights! I was given a room near the elevator and the noise was horrendous. The sound of the elevator mechanism and bells was interminable. After a sleepless first night I bought ear plugs which helped a bit. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this standard. The additional sound of the Caltrain did not help. I travel very regularly for work and this was the worst hotel experience I have had in years. At checkout I was given a letter asking me to tell the front desk about my stay. So I explained the noise situation. The response I received was one word: "ok", uttered in a monotone devoid of any concern. Truly an unacceptable end to a horrible stay. Very disappointing for a Starwood hotel. February 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by An unnecessary and frustrating experience I had a very frustrating experience with the Sheraton hotel in Palo Alto this past week. Last month, I made reservations to the hotel for Nov 5-8th. Then a few weeks ago, I talked to two ladies in reservations on two different occasions to update my reservation to be Nov. 6-8th. The first staff member told me that she had to follow up with the manager to get an exception for my situation since the system prevented her from updating my reservation. She informed that in order to update my reservation, she would need to cancel my reservation and then make a new reservation. Unfortunately, when she tried to do that, she told me that there weren't any rooms available for those dates requested. Not sure why Sheraton makes this difficult - the system should have functionality in place for these cases. I simply just wanted to cancel the first night and just keep 2 nights with the hotel. Why this couldn't easily be done, I'm not sure. She said she would make a note in my reservation record and that she would follow up w/me after talking to management. She assured me that I would be taken care of and that I would have nothing to worry about. I didn't hear from her so I called the hotel again a week later only to repeat the same situation with another gal. She saw that a note had been made in my reservation and she as well, assured me that everything would be taken care of and that she would follow up w/management. She said she would make another note in my reservation and informed me that everything would be sorted out when I check in Tuesday, 11/6. All I needed to do was show up and check in and everything would go as expected. After an extremely long, tiring and stressful day traveling and working I arrived at the hotel to check in around 11:30pm only to learn that my reservation was cancelled!!! I was appalled, shocked and extremely upset. The gentleman who was working w/me that evening didn't handle my situation as best as he could have. He didn't appear to be genuinely concerned with my situation nor my feelings. He informed me that I was charged for a No Show for 11/5 (Monday), and because I was a no show, my reservation was cancelled. I told them that was absolutely out of line. How could the hotel cancel my reservation when I have only been proactive and notes have been made on my behalf in the reservation?! I didn't have a car and my team had already went to bed. I had to wake up one of them close to midnight in order to share her room for the night. What would've happened if I was the only one traveling for work? Completely unacceptable. He said that he would try to figure it all out for me and get back to me first thing in the morning. I didn't hear from him and had to go to the front desk again only to work with another person. After hearing about my experience and understanding how upset I was, the lady I discussed my issue with, talked to her manager and was able to get me a room for the evening. Why the gentleman couldn't figure this out for me the night before, who knows. Then after coming back to the hotel that evening from work, I went to the front desk to check in to my room and to ensure that I wasn't charged for the first night. I saw that my the charge for the first night was pending on my credit card so wanted to make sure it was cleared up before I had to return home from my work trip. The guy at the front desk told me that he would look into it and get back to me. He called me after 10pm which was uncalled for; he could've waited till the morning. I was exhausted and was halfway asleep. He informed me to contact Jaime in reservations. The next morning, when I checked out, I asked for Jaime but he was unfortunately unavailable. I called the next morning and he wasn't available again so I left him a VM. He never returned my call. Overall, this was a very disappointing and frustrating experience that could have easily been avoidable. I did my part to be a proactive customer and to ensure I met Sheraton's cancellation policy. I was patient and had no issues until Monday night when I tried to check in, only to learn that my reservation no longer existed. I hope Starwood (SPG) and the Sheraton in Palo Alto makes this up to me and resolves the charges asap. November 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room without cold water!! Everything was as usual except the faucet in bathroom didn't work for cold water. It only works with hot water.. Very weird... I managed to stay with it. However, it looks like brushing my teeth with hot water worsened my condition of my tooth. :( It cost me $560 for dental.. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Clean and Cozy but loud The staff was very friendly, the hotel was very clean and conveniently located, however too loud. Yes there were graduation parties and receptions, however our noise complaints were not related to the hussle and bussle of people celebrating. Our noise complaint was that the walls of the rooms were too thin, you can hear every neighbor above/below/and to the side of you flush toilets and shower and wiggle around in their bed. Unless I get a screaming deal, I will not pay $200/night to stay here again. Was disappointing considering the staff was really friendly. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice property Overall nice hotel and experience. Only have a few negatives: Small room Super loud heater March 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs updating We did not receive the room that we reserved at check-in but the hotel did correct the matter after speaking with the front dest over 3 times. Bathroom wall paper was peeling off the walls and some fixtures in the bathroom are rusting. Maid service barely addressed anything in the room the three says we were there. Bar workers would comment about us by speaking in a different language thinking we could not understand them-they were wrong. Sad to see the service go down so much since my last visit. Hope to see changes in the service and to the property. I would like to continue staying here on visits because of the proximity to Stanford. November 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Old and dirty I am Platinum with SPG and been staying at this property for the last 4 months. I love the location but the hotel decor and carpet is more close to a motel. Depend if you get a upgraded room in the Stanford building the carpet so dirty and spotty, I would not walk bare footed. The towels smells as well. i guest they are so busy due to the location they don't care how they treat because you don't see any regulars. I come here everyweek but have to beg to get any room in the stanford side for newer carpet. Most hotel would know who you are since coming very week. NOPE, they just DON'T care. I am done here, moving to the crtyd people would be more friendlier and know who you are. If you are here for short trip and need access to run\walk to Stanford, this is the place. But I should\would recommend not coming here if you are regular as they just don't care. The concierge lounge ladies are awesome if there is any cancellation. Bring a flippers the carpet yucks.. The rooms are paper thin and very loud, you can hear all bathroom activity from all directions. I am done here after 16 weeks and move to other option down the street. The wifi is less to be desired, drops and weak download speed. BTW, they keep missing my points for other weeks how complicate is this. Its like they just don't want you to come back.. Well I got it... one more week because all hotel are quick to sold but I am done here. September 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Uncomfortable rooms The room given (4018) was more of the more uncomfortable rooms that I have staying in any hotel in recent time. The air conditioner made too much noise and made it uncomfortable to work in or sleep. The bathroom, especially the shower area, did not have a good shower and the water pressure was too low. Worse, it was difficult to put soap and shampoo in the holder since it was fixed at an angle and so could not hold these items. Finally, the internet speed was sometimes good and sometimes too slow May 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs help We were a little taken a back when parking was $14.00. Your manager of restaurant was very rude when no was eating and we just wanted to sit down! One room 2079 had wall support brackets holding it up and one of the lamps was falling a part which is a fire hazard. Then when checking out it was a good thing I checked my bill because you people put someone else's bill on mine, so front desk had to it all over again. We waited 10 minutes to get served in your bar! NEED I SAY MORE? Mary:-/ August 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad service 7/18,19 and 20 Too many weddings etc going on. I was told at checkin that I HAD to have my confirmation number. When I went to get it online, the clerk came out running saying that my name had spaces. THEN the room key wouldn't work. THEN the night manager told me that the "keys have problems" and that Yes, I HAVE to have a conf number (not just my CA drivers license and cc) to register! HA! I saw that other guests did NOT have to present a confirmation number at registration, just the Picture ID and the cc. Saturday night I called for a fridge. The front desk clerk yelled at me and said ALL THE REFRIGERATORS WENT TO OTHER GUESTS. All I did was ask! July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nothing special About the only reason to stay here is that it is very convenient for Stanford. It is not a bad hotel, but it is certainly nothing special to warrant the room charges. The so-called "high-speed" internet, which you must pay extra for, is in fact excruciatingly slow. Reminds me of dial up back in the early 90's. The food is only mediocre. I guess that they are assured of continuing trade due to their location close to stanford, so they do not have to try very hard to please their guests. June 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average hotel, below average service I'm sure the presence of Stanford guarantees them occupancy, but I won't be coming back. The business center printers couldn't print a pdf, there was no staff interested in helping, and when I left in the morning my keys had been misplaced at the valet and it took 15 minutes and finally the threat of me asking them to pay for a taxi and bring back the rental themselves before they finally put some brains into the search and found them. Will not return. September 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing! Photos on the website makes the hotel look much nicer and newer than it actually is in person. The only nice feature was the koi pond near the pool. The room was very dated! There was no "Movies on Demand" available at this hotel. I found a live spider on the floor and some bugs in the bathroom. The exterior doors which should shut completely and lock at the end of the hallways leads to exterior stairs were constantly open for anyone to enter and not safe. Old style building where lobby isn't even attached to the building where the guestrooms are located. Either switch this hotel to 2 1/2 stars or remodel for your ranking! January 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fully unsatisfactory I do a lot of business travel and it is very unusual to have to rate a hotel like so low but I feel Mr. Rebosio has a long way to go in order to get this facility up to the Sheraton standard. When hotel guests are unruly and loud in the halls at 2AM with other guest screaming from their rooms at them and hotel staff slow to pick up, it makes for a very unrestful sleep- the core function of a hotel. April 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel does not live up to the standards This hotel did not give you value for money. The facilities and rooms were average but the 9.98 USD for 24h wifi (per device!) is just ridiculous and so is the 14 UDS a night for parking. The location is great for downtown Paolo Alto and the train but that’s it. October 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed on Green Program and Treatment of SPG Member I signed up for the Green Program which was described as housekeeping not bringing towels and changing the bed during your stay or on days you choose. It turns out the housekeeping staff doesn't visit your room at all if choose Green, not even to refresh coffee service and empty the trash. I had to call for toliet paper. This is a false promotion of the Green Program and poor policy in my opinion. I also had a situation where I inadvertently thought my reservation was booked for an extra night. I had no other place to stay. Hotel Management refused to override the block on rooms and told me I had to leave. I ended up spending an extra $450 to fly out on the redeye that night. There was no concern that I was inconvenienced and not one offered to find me another nearby accommodation. I was with a group, the Columbia Business School, and I will recommend that we do not stay at the hotel. I am a faculty chaperone for this trip. January 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by somewhat disappointed I expected more. The room backed up to the street, the toilet ran and by our departure did not flush. Front desk was called and had sent someone. Fold out bed from couch was not made with sheets even though it was clear we requested two beds. I do have to say the room and grounds were very clean! The pool was nice and the location was convenient. April 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy rooms, bad service, won't stay I went on a business and thought Sheraton is a great brand and it's a no-brainer to just check into any Sheraton, this is true until I checked into Sheraton Palo Alto. Its guest rooms have pretty bad sound insulation, most of the nights I spent there I heard children screaming, people talking, taking showers ... the elevator in the Stanford building (club level) are SLOW and shakey... the gym door can't be swiped open for the first couple of days, had to call front-desk and they are reluctant to come over to open the door... worst of all, two days in a row, they REFUSED to do dry-cleaning on my dress-shirt for no reasons, I had to call someone on the 3rd day and was told to hang my shirt in a bag on my door knob to get it serviced, this is incredible. Worst of all, very expensive place, it's 275 bucks using corp rate with NO breakfast included (had to pay another $20 for breakfast, but it was decent, the only reason I didn't pull out of it on the 2nd morning ;-)) March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything in one place and close to shops Initially, we were not happy with an issue with number of beds in the room. Wanted 2 double and received king and roll in bed. It was not clear on reservation that 2 guests in a room meant king. In fact, I am pretty sure that I specified 2 doubles as I have with 10 other hotels this summer. However, this is not clear on the reservation either. Some of the issue might be in translation as this was a block of rooms for the Stanford Baseball Camp. Regardless, your staff was very patient with a fairly aggressive tone by me initially (apologies for that) and the roll in bed was surprisingly comfortable. My son and I had a great stay and we would recommend your hotel to anyone. August 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not boost Sheraton brand. Friendly staff. No free WiFi!? Rooms are dark and bland. Beds and pillows are not comfortable. Rooms are loud: Train / air-conditioning. Toilets are the loudest I have ever heard...almost scary loud. This hotel needs to be updated...every stay harms the Sheraton brand. August 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cramped & dated The rooms - Old and dated. Try to not be close to the elevators as they make more noise than usual The gym - opens late in the mornings, especially (as per staff) when the adjoining rooms are booked The pool - in the nexus of reception, the restaurant and the main hotel entry making it little used May 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointment after disappointment As a frequent traveler to Palo Alto, I have sworn off this hotel many times. Due to lack of choices and due to location of hotel, I found myself here again and disappointed once again. The front desk (Carlos) needs to be re-trained. My last visit left a bitter taste in my mouth when I was not given the type of room I requested, yet after refusing to take a room facing the street, finally the staff(Carlos) miraculously found the room type I requested. This visit, I again found myself frustrated with this below par hotel. When unable to park in the lot due to a local event, I shared my frustration with the front desk(Carlos). I got the usual non-caring robotic "sorry". This hotel has the worst customer service of any hotel. The only saving grace is Donna from the Club lounge. This should not be a SPG property. May 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by sheraton palo alto interesting setup, cozy room, rude front desk staff, particularly night front desk man. Check in took way too long and does not exude the competence, enthusiasm, and friendliness that I have come to expect from Starwood properties. January 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by OK, but not up to par This hotel is ok but not like other sheraton's. it is older and the rooms look like it. The furniture is old and the wallpaper is coming off in places. The staf is nice and courteous. It's also in a good location, which helps. April 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No other choice in Palo Alto I have been staying in this hotel several times over last three years. The hotel is dated; no insulation against noise whether from elevators or patio activities or trains - replacing old windows would be a big improvement. A/C systems are also antiquated and noisy. Overall experience was always somewhat below average (especially for the price charged) but in Palo Alto there are very few choices. Location is convenient. Rooms are clean but provide minimum amenities - only one free electrical outlet for example, no fridge However, on my last stay staff attitude was unacceptable. I was checking out early morning and expected a bill under the door. None arrived and I had to carry luggage across the whole complex to the lobby and then back to the parking. Also, on this morning TV (basic channels) did not work. When I mentioned these two issue at the front desk (not expecting any recompense) there was not even a perfunctory apology. I was told that there would be no charge for TV (???). The staff not only did not care but was not even remotely interested. I was told that no manager was available. May 23, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>