Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

  • 31 West Ohio Street
  • Indianapolis,
  • Indiana
  • 46204
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid government-issued ID to check-in. Guests checking into the hotel must have a valid credit card at check-in time.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 470 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by In much need of renovation Our stay started off good as the man at the front desk "upgraded" us to a room with a view of monument circle with the christmas tree lights and gave us the SPG club room access for free. However, once we stepped off of the elevator, we saw wall construction going on with the kickboards hanging out into the hallway and few lights. When we opened our room door, it smelled very heavy of what we thought was cleaner. The single paned windows were so steamy we could barely see out to the view. When we returned later from shopping, we heard a drip in the bathroom and found a rip in the plaster over the tub with water dripping from the floor above! We were in a hurry as we had dinner reservations with friends, but reported it anyway. The front desk offered to move us, but we didn't have time and I didn't want other people moving our things. They also told us the "cleaner" smell was due to the new wallpaper. Oh nice, toxic wallpaper smell. Our friends who were staying at the same hotel also had this smell and had been moved to a different room earlier we found out later. Two other complaints were the ice machine didn't work on our floor and the TV cord was loose, so we though it was broken until the next morning. Great location, but I would steer clear until all the upgrades are finished. November 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Good Hotel Qualified I am a Platinum Level SPG Guest. I am a Repeat Guest at this hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and overall rated as Good to Very Good. The property needs to be updated but, it appears they are doing so, slowly, they have updated their Fitness Center, which is much better. But, the public areas and some of the rooms need to be updated. This is a Good location, walking distance to many places in Indy and a number of Dining establishments near by. My two issues with this hotel, I noted this to Staff and The GM, Housekeeping I would rate as Poor/non responsive, I had to wait over 2.25 hours for housekeeping to clear the room for me to occupy, especially on a light day, hotel was 20% booked the prior night. ( Thanksgiving) The Front Desk had a hard time contacting Housekeeping. The CLub Level Lounge - it is nice but, it was uncontrolled/Managed the night after Thanksgiving and some guest were letting their friends and non guest into the Lounge and were drinking heavy and were not clean. I called it a Free for All. I noted this to Staff and MGMT, waiting to hear from the GM, the morning control of the Club Level Lounge is excellent nobody gets in unless they belong. the MGMT is new to this hotel and I trust that they will correct the two items I noted. Overall a Good Hotel especially if they correct the two items noted. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Wi-Fi worked and then it didn't The wi-fi worked and then it didn't. I know I was using it correctly because from Saturday 3 pm to Monday at 9:50 pm I had wi-fi in my room. Then it stopped. I called the customer desk number and asked if there was a known problem with the wi-fi. She said no and couldn't help me but could connect me to a customer service number. Then I got connected to a guy called Cody in Plano, Texas who tried to tell me I wasn't using my computer correctly and that the conference code only worked in the room where the conference was being held. Baloney. I was just using it in my room. Then I went down stairs where they told me that the router was down or something. OK, so I waited to the next morning and I couldn't get wi-fi again, so I called and It turns out the code is changed on Mondays. So I got the new code. Still nothing. I _never_ got wi-fi in my room again even though I tried about every six hours for the next three days. I cleared my cache, I rebooted my computer, nothing worked, so THANKS A LOT FOR NOTHING. The personnel were pleasant enough, but they were clueless. I did print my boarding pass on the lobby printer, so at least that worked. And the price was outrageously high! According tot he terms and conditions it doesn't matter what I write her, so I don't know why I even bothered, see below: You acknowledge that only answers provided by members of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program to SPG related questions will be included in Reviews. September 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient Location - Great Staff We booked 3 rooms and had a lovely stay. Staff are very good - helpful, professional and responsive. One of the rooms we booked had many housekeeping issues and I am not sure the room should have been rented out without those being taken care of. It was a King Suite and the thermostat in the living room was not operational. There was even a piece of tape over it saying "Not Working - Replace". As it was early March - that room was pretty cold. In the bedroom area - over the sink, the wallpaper was ripped, dirty and moldy! The light fixtures were broken and covered with a very thick layer of dirt that was flowing out of the vent directly above. The towel rack in the shower/tub was broken as well. Stains on the carpet. Though this sounds like a lot of "ick" and I would not leave my toothbrush out for fear of being covered with dirt coming out of the vent, the room for the most part was nice. Very roomy with nice furnishings and a comfortable bed. I did let the front desk know at about 9 pm on the day of our arrival and they offered to have someone come and fix things (I said no thanks it was late) and they offered to move us to another room and compensate with breakfast the next morning. Interesting that the breakfast charge did end up on my bill. I have not yet contacted the hotel about this charge to see if they will remove it. All in all, the hotel was nice in the public areas. Restaurant was very good for breakfast and not too expensive. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk staff confused about specials My wife and I went there for our 40th anniversary. I made reservations with the 800 phone number. I was told I could choose 2 of 5 choices, per night, as they were running a special. When I got to the hotel the front desk person let me choose free parking and $25 food credit. She said I could have the parking for both nights stay but the food credit was for the whole stay, not per night. We ate breakfast at the hotel our first morning, but not the second. When I went to check out the gentleman said I had a $50 food credit for both nights. I informed him what the young girl said when we checked in and he said no it was $25 food credit per night. We didn't eat at the hotel the second day, but there was a charge on my bill for food. When I told him that was not my charge, he took it off of my bill, but also took off the second day food credit because we didn't eat at the hotel the second day. When I informed him we would have gladly eaten there but the young girl told us it was $25 for the whole stay, he said there was nothing he could do. As I finished paying my bill the next person in line stated that they too were not give any food credits. The hotel was great, but the pool area lacks. It is not a kid friendly pool. The shallow end starts at 4'. There were 40 people around the pool and only 19 chairs. Many guest has glass beer bottles and coolers. There were no decorations of any kind. It is just a pool on a roof. Plenty of space but not too appealing. June 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Had a hard time sleeping bc of noise I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks on business. The first week I was there, the noise from the elevators impeded my sleeping every night and each time I was able to nap mid-day. However, when I went to complain, there were no rooms to switch me to - and I understood because of NCAA basketball business. I was told that I would be put into a suite for the next week of my stay to just come down in a few days after the weekend rush and they would make it right. So I did. I wasn't put into a suite - but I didn't complain, because at that point, I was happy to have a nice view of the monument. No one told me that the church bells go off EVERY 15 minutes. And housekeeping comes by at 8:30am. The noise was just as bad as the week before. And I had noisy people above me. I didn't complain again, because I hate causing issues and I feel as though it's not something the hotel could have changed but if you are a light sleeper, I would highly recommend a different hotel. Also, the elevators were VERY slow. I waited upwards of 8 minutes for an elevator that still never came - I had to take the stairs. And, if you have a car that's bigger than 6' 5", you will need to park somewhere else. I ripped off a piece of the luggage rack on my SUV. The staff was very nice, the fresh cookies were great. Breakfast was good. Location was stellar. It was just the noise that I had an issue with, but the lack of sleep really made it a rough trip. I would also add that overall, the hotel rooms need updating. I had a co-worker that had a leak in his window and ended up having a soaked bag. April 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very disappointed with the staff and hotel. I recently booked the SHERATON AND COCA-COLA® SUMMER OFFER for this past Saturday. I reserved a room with two double beds. After making my reservation, Sheraton sent me an email stating the benefits of upgrading to their club membership level for $25. It was very convincing since it included breakfast and free wifi plus upgrade to a suite. I went ahead and purchased the upgrade as well. I arrived at the hotel and was greeted with a long check in line. Once I was at the counter the gentlemen was very nice and began to check me in. Said I would be in "this room" and "how many keys I wanted " and then tried to send me on my way. I had to stop and remind him that I was part of the coca-cola deal and asked for my free cooler and coke. He apologized and gave me the cooler and said the coke was already in the room. I then asked where we would need to go for breakfast in the morning and he told me we did not receive breakfast with our hotel stay. I reminded him that we upgraded to the club level that should include breakfast and free wifi. He looked and found nothing. In which case, it was not until after I had to pull up the information on my phone for him did he finally tell me where I would go to get our breakfast in the morning. When we got to the room it was very clean, however, it was a king bed instead of the two double beds that we reserved to start with. Then there was no coke in the room like promised and we were not receiving free wifi. We called to try and get a code or password for the free wifi but once again no luck. Overall, I was not disappointed with the elegance of the hotel and cleanliness. I was only disappointed with the fact the hotel and its staff could not follow through with the small details that could make or break a hotel stay. I feel the extra $25 i spent on the upgrade was the worst decision since it was a headache to receive any of the benefits they promised. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Sheraton Standards I recently stayed at the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel on a Friday night in advance of the Indy Monumental Marathon. The facility is clearly dated, and while the lobby & bedrooms are standard Sheraton style, the bathrooms were old & gross and the parking garage was undergoing construction which made it messy and difficult to get to the lobby (and there were no "pardon our appearance" signs nor a discount on the parking cost -- more like "please walk through our dust & wet cement with your bags and pay $25 for this lovely parking experience!” We actually had to clean wet cement off of our shoes & bag wheels once we got to the room.) However, the absolute worst part of the experience was the very loud elevators which we could hear through the walls of our room. Each time the elevator moved & stopped you could hear the mechanics of the elevator. Despite booking in this hotel months ago, when I called down to change rooms I was told there were only “elevator” rooms available and that they would turn off at 11 pm. They ran until midnight & were back on at 6 am. It’s very distracting when they’re on and quite frankly is unacceptable (not to mention a massive issue when you’re trying to go to bed early before a marathon!). I have traveled the world extensively and have never been able to hear the elevator movement (occasionally a ding or two when the doors open). They should not put people in these rooms! To top it all off, despite this being a busy weekend with marathoners & conference people, there was only 1 person working the front desk at any given time. Even during check-out , there was only one person there and the line was long. After standing in line for 10 minutes, I just put my keys on the desk and figured it would sort itself out. I chose this hotel because I’m typically pleased by Sheraton properties around the world for great rooms & great service. This Sheraton is completely dated and needs a total overhaul. It’s a terrible experience & with 4-5 other nationally renowned hotel properties within walking distance and with better proximity to restaurants & activities, I’ll be heading there next time. November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst Day Ever! Checked into the hotel around 1130am, the entire process took all of 5 minutes (Great Experience). I proceeded to my room, left my luggage, and heading out to my daughters competition. Shortly after getting into the car I realized that I did not have my daughters cheer shoes. So I came back to the hotel and went directly to my room around 1145am. I attempted to open the door and it failed to open; I went downstairs to the front desk a total of 6 times (from the 17th floor) to have my key reset. At one point the front desk associate implied that I must have demagnetized the key or that I was doing something to the key to cause it not to work. After the 6th trip, I was quite upset and asked for a manager. The manager went to my room with his Master Key, which did NOT work neither. He advised me that he would call maintenance and have them bring another master key.. I waited about 20 mins at my door, on the floor next to my room for maintenance. Upon arrival, he immediately tried his master key, which did not open the door neither; he also used a head cleaner and tried opening my room door but that too was unsuccessful. Meanwhile my daughters competition is getting ready to start and she had been waiting in the car from 1145am - 115pm! while I dealt with this issue....... the manager advised us that she would comp our parking so that we could at least park and make it to the convention center in time for practice. I was advised that another maintenance man had to be called (because he was the only one who could fix this problem) however he had to take out the entire locking system but he was 40-45 mins away. I went to the convention center and later received a call from Sheraton around 150pm letting me know that my room door was working and to come back to the hotel so that I could get my daughters shoes!! I ran from the Convention Center to the Sheraton and was finally granted access at 205pm. thankfully my daughter made it to warm-ups at 3pm as scheduled. In the end things worked out but due to the inconvenience, the time constraints and all the stress I went through, I must say this was one of the worst days ever!! January 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely rude staff I booked this hotel March 11th for one night. Upon my arrival they gave me a room that had construction going on. I opened the door and it was a DISASTER. Plumbing supplies everywhere, buckets of paint and all sorts of things on the floor. Apparently they were doing some renovating and couldn't double check to see if the room was ready prior to assigning me a room. I had to come back downstairs with my bags(very heavy) and explain the situation. They assign me another room... went up stairs and it was fine. Second problem, I was at the bar in the lobby with my girlfriend having some drinks. I asked the bartender if she can charge my cellphone for me. After a few drinks I went upstairs and completely forgot I left my phone with one of the employees. I come back downstairs and they wee all gone. i asked the staff in the front desk did anyone of the staff leave an iPhone. they responded to me saying "If you in fact left your phone it would be in this drawer. They kept saying that over and over as if I was a liar. They asked me "Are you sure you left it with one of the employees. I responded yes I am sure. One of the guys said very rudely to me "I guess you will have to fill out a lost and found form because I am pretty sure if they found anything they would put it in this drawer at the front desk. I kept asking can you check in the back or someplace else. He told me he has no idea where the phone is. I ask if they can call one of the bartenders and find out he said he can not do that. I ended up leaving indianapolis without my phone. On Monday after leaving about 4 messages I finally get someone on the phone. I explained my situation to the lady and she said she would call me right back..no more than 30 minutes she was able to locate my phone. Do you know that all the staff on Sunday had to do was check in another room and I would have had my phone. They are some rude and disrespectful staff at this hotel. I am a star wood preferred member and I am totally embarrassed by the actions of the staff. A good customer service representative would have said "Ok it's not at the front desk as per procedure but let me look in the back. The staff didn't do that they just would have rather me not have my phone. I am seriously disappointed. G. Young May 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Platinum Members Read! Platinum Members Read! Just stayed here the weekend of the B1G Championship game on 12/1 and was less than impressed. If you want to save your time reading my review, stop now and book the (name omitted) down the street. I've stayed there before and it is leaps and bounds better than this Sheraton. I’m sad to report this as I actually prefer Sheraton’s over (name omitted) normally. First problem was upon check in. Not a single mention of my status. Not a "thank you" for continued loyalty, what would you like as your Platinum amenity, nothing. I inquired about upgrades and they couldn’t even get me on the club floor. Now, I understand this was a huge weekend for them and therefore wasn’t expecting a suite or anything, but I have never had this minimal amount of recognition at any other property. Second, the room wasn’t great. Wasn’t bad, but wasn’t anything special. Tub didn’t drain well and the shower had negligible pressure. The view of the city center was great though and somewhat made up for the shower. Third was the club lounge. This is what really drove me to write this review. Upon arrival went to check it out and seemed like your standard Sheraton club lounge. Went back an hour or so later to grab some snacks and my key wouldn’t work. We were rushed, so we didn’t want to bother with going to the front desk. When we came back later that night, my key worked just fine, so it had to be an issue with the club lounge door. Keep in mind I’m platinum, which means I’ve stayed in a few hotel rooms in my day and know the magnetic cards can be stubborn (i.e. I didn’t just try once and leave.) The big issue was Sunday morning 12/2. My fiancé and I head down to grab some breakfast and were pretty disappointed with the spread. This is a VERY continental breakfast and therefore nothing of real substance. If you need a quick pastry and coffee, it will do the trick, but if you are used to some other, more filling Sheraton clubs, this is not going to cut it. The other issue was the club lounge employee. I was sitting at the computer and she comes around the corner cussing up a storm and actually called a guest a “f#$%ing @$$hole” while picking up the phone to call her manager. While I didn’t hear the exchange the guest had with the employee, the employee should have kept her cool around other guests and realized she was affecting their experience in the lounge. She actually called her manager to come up and talk to the guest because he was being rude. Turns out, he was just trying to get some coffee and apparently she as trying to close up the lounge. Bear in mind, I think it was about 10:03 and there were still plenty of people in the lounge. To her defense, the guest was probably rude, but that doesn’t mean you come around the corner yelling absentees around me and my fiancé. Unacceptable. Oh, and then we run down Sunday afternoon to grab a soda for the road and the lounge is “closed for maintenance.” Fourth, was checking out on Sunday. I told the front desk upon check-in that I would need my late check out on Sunday. Not a problem. I even called down Sunday morning to remind them. Not a problem. Well, the housekeeper must not have been given the memo as she pounded on our door (DND on the door) while we were sleeping and woke us up. Then five minutes later I get a call asking me when I’m checking out. Really? Is this how you operate just because it was a busy weekend? Lastly, was the fact I received my folio NINE times via email on Sunday AFTER I was charged for internet. I didn’t think the SPG computer system actually allowed Platinum members to be charged for internet on their folios, but this Sheraton managed to get it done. My card was charged for the fee, so I’ll have to keep an eye on it this week to make sure it gets reversed. December 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by June 2013 business trip I stayed for two night for business purposes. First, let me say how wonderful the staff at this hotel was. Every person I encountered was super friendly and extremely helpful. A couple small issues I had were addressed immediately, professionally and I could not have asked for better service. Now, while my room was clean, it was showing it's age. There was some wear that no amount of cleaning could improve. Some issues with a couple of the walls and the arm chair in my room was pretty yucky. . .I wouldn't sit in it. The TV was great, but there were a couple channels that wouldn't come in. A coworker stayed at the same time, and she had similar issues with her television. She had to call several times to get it looked at, and the problem was never resolved. I didn't care so much as I don't really watch television. . .I was able to get the news channels I wanted so was not bothered by this issue. Also a mirror outside the bathroom would be a great addition. . .I missed that. A couple minor issues I mentioned were my keys didn't work in the club lounge entrance, so I called guest services from the hall phone near the elevators. They said wait right there and we will be up. . .within 5 minutes I had new keys that worked just fine. Also, I wanted my room cleaned. I went up at our lunch break and noticed housekeeping right next door so I didn't stay long in my room, expecting it was next. When I returned after our conference at around 4:30, my room still had not been cleaned, but housekeeping was standing at the door ready to clean. I said I needed an hour then I would be leaving for dinner, and she agreed to come back then. When I returned several hours later, no service had been provided. I simply called guest services, asked to be taken off the list for the day as it was too late and requested a few items that housekeeping would have replenished. Within 15 minutes the things I had asked for were delivered and I recevied a $5 Green voucher since housekeeping hadn't come to my room. I used it the next day towards my lunch. My only serious issue was that there seemed to be a serious problem maintaining a comfortable temperature in the conference area on the lowest level. It was either frigid, or way to warm. There seemed to be no in between. Also, on our second day, a delivery truck was apparently sitting in a delivery bay with the engine running and the whole room filled with exhaust. It was pretty awful, but a staff person quickly took care of it and put out fans to help with clearing the room. One final small issue was during checkout. The staff member checking me out seemed very confused at my zero balance, and didn't seem sure what to do. She said something about "it was weird" and she would have to talk to her accounting dept about it. Not sure how this was my issue. . . . . I also asked for a receipt, for my accounting dept, and she didn't seem sure how to do that. Finally, she was able to produce a receipt and also e-mailed one. All turned out well. Food in the restaurant was acceptable and about average priced. . or what you would expect at a downtown hotel n a major city. Club lounge offerings were acceptable as well and the staff there was excellent, even in the face of rude guests. . which we witnessed one morning during breakfast. Someone needs to consider offering sugar free decaf beverages besides coffee. While I loved the service, and mostly the facility, it's an aging beauty that is in need of some updating. I wouldn't mind another conference at this hotel. On a final note. . . since I have raved about the above average staff. . . the absolute exception were the employees in Starbucks, which is located in the hotel. I loved having the Starbucks so conveniently located, and took advantage, but the employees there were definitely not typical Starbuck baristas. They were unfriendly, nearing rude and seemed to hate the fact that I was interferring in their day. Definitely didn't love their jobs. . . and it was not one employee, it was each one that I interacted with or witnessed interacting with other customers. People in our training were discussing it. . .kind of became a joke actually. June 28, 2013
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17