Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

  • 701 East 11th Street
  • Austin,
  • Texas
  • 78701
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 233 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by waited a long time for hot water I waited for at least 10 minutes in the shower for hot water and eventually I gave up and called front desk. They sent a technician to my room and again he had to wait a long time for hot water too. He then told me that you have to wait a little bit for hot water to come up because they had a full house that night. He was nice though. However, I don't think 15 minutes was "a little bit" of wait. I have never been to a hotel where I had to wait that long for hot water. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Hotel in right location Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms, parking were very good. Restaurant breakfast was good. August 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Killing the great Sheraton image 1.Dirty window 2.Parking ticket didn't work.. 3.No one answer the machine when hit the help button, it was still ringing the next morning when I checked out and leave the hotel 4.Corner of the comforter smell like human waste 5.I told the hotel I will check in around 1 when I arrive at 230 they don't have the room 6.Made me Wait 30 minutes still no room 7.Wifi works when it wants to work I'm putting all these here instead of other review websites online because I want you guys to take it seriously. If I don't get a respond I will spread the words. August 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs a lot of help. The rooms are a disgrace. The furniture is all miss matched pieces. The bathroom is old and dirty. There was mold at the bottom of the bathtub around the caulk. The grab bars had rust and mold around them also. The room we had was so small and when asked to move the told us they were 100% full so we had no choice. I found that funny because the other couple we traveled with started screaming and they got moved. Guess it doesn't pay to be nice.The room is so small there is only one place you could put your clothes it was a tiny little closet behind the sink which only had two drawers. I will never return to this hotel and either will the large group who booked this. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary Service This hotel was outstanding. A great view, the rooms were outstanding, but my personal joy was in the staff. From check-in to the phone service and the Club level staff - everything was one of the better SPG properties I've been to, including NYC. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Facility in convenient, downtown location I stayed here for two nights using rewards points in order to avoid multiple taxi trips back north while friends were in town. The front desk staff was very helpful, and waived the parking fee becuase I had to wait a few minutes to check in. I used the cardio and weight rooms, both of which were immaculate and in working condition. My room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine hotel, mediocre cleaning The hotel was nice and in pretty good shape. Good location and nice room, quiet, nice bed. I stayed two nights and the cleaning of the room while I was out during the day was very mediocre. I'm relatively neat when I travel, but there was clearly no vacuuming, no straightening of the bathroom vanity or desk, no tidying of anything other than the bed being made and towels being hung up. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of Nigh staff! The front desk and security personnel were deplorable. They were rude and extremely difficult to deal with. I have never been treated so poorly in my 20 years of travel and over 400 nights at Starwood hotels. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by not impressed I stayed at your facility and have to admit, less than impressed. The room seemed of lower quality than a standard Sheraton; the handle on the sink was broken, the mattress was swaying on one side and the overall ambiance of the room was less than impressive. Especially for greater than $250 for the room. On top of it all, as a platinum member, I was charged for the internet service. October 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall ok Not the best value and considering the parking garage and facilities downstairs I'd say average especially for the price. I'd spend some extra money to stay at the Westin to be quite honest. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room 433- Sheraton Austin at the Capitol We stayed in 433 and either the staff door (into an office a few feet down the hall) or the swinging doors (also a few feet down the hall through which Housekeeping push laundry carts) is very, very squeaky and somewhat obnoxious and definitely audible in the room. The conference rooms were freezing, more so than other facilities' conference rooms. I'm still trying to get my invoice to reflect the first three nights, billable to my employer, separate from the last night, which I paid for. May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Best! I lived in Austin for over 30 years and have attended many functions at this hotel. Now I live out of town but return on business quite frequently. All of the staff, from the front desk to the bartenders are fantastic and go out of their way to make us feel like we are home. Every once in a while we get a perk, like a suite, comped parking, or a free breakfast. The only downside I could mention is that I think they have been discovered, as it now seems that I am finding more nights full or with farily marked up rates than that of a year ago. Still, my primary place for downtown Austin. April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious comfort so close to the capitol. We chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to the capitol. This was our first visit to Austin as a family. Having lived overseas for many years we have grown accustomed to four, five, and seven star hotels. We were impressed with the service, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and incredible city and capitol views. The sparkling pool and spa were fabulously refreshing after a long day of sight seeing and touring the city of Austin. There are many restaurants and areas of interest within walking distance of the hotel. The business club on our floor provided wonderful service, a great place to socialize, network, and hang out. We enjoyed our stay completely and are already planning on returning for another visit. August 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way overpriced This hotel looks, feels and smells like it hadn't been updated since the mid nineties. My room had a strange odor and was plain and boring in comparison to what I paid. Staff was helpful and food was great. This place needs a makeover bad. May 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissatisfaction, reservation # 345524718 I'm very unhappy with the cancellation policy of your hotel. You told me that because I wanted to rearrange my stay from two nights to one night that I would have to incur a charge of $199 for the night that I wanted to keep. I've been an SPG member and a Starwood Harborside at Atlantis own for the past 9 years. Incidentally, I was able to book a room at your hotel for Saturday evening for $159 dollars through Priceline. That room should have been offered to me when I was in the process of trying to rearrange my schedule. April 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Austin has Blackout Dates SPG policy is there are no blackout dates for using points. SPGs website says, "Free Night Awards are available when you need them to be. That means if a standard room is available, it’s yours, even during holidays and big events." However, when there is a UT football game, you CANNOT use your points for a stay even when a standard room is available. Standard rooms are offered on a prepaid basis and somehow they claim this makes the normally standard room non-standard. This is simply a cover up of a blackout date, It's a date points can't be used for the exact same room that points can be used on another date. It's a blackout date. UT football game (a big event) equals no using points for a standard room at the Sheraton. It's misleading, a ripoff . . . a blackout date! August 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by THE GOOD & NOT SO GOOD FOR JULY 2014 WE HAD STAYED @ THIS HOTEL LAST YEAR AROUND SAME TIME. THIS YEAR WAS A LITTLE DIFFERENT. NOT SURE IF ITS BECAUSE OF FUNDING BUT HOUSEKEEPING SLACKED OFF A BIT. WHEN CLEANING,THEY DID NOT BRING OR CLEAN THE SOAP DISH & DIDN'T BRING A LIL TOWEL TO DRY OFF FEET. ONLY THE 1ST DAY WAS THERE ONE. ALSO ONE MORNING ONE OF THE HOUSEKEEING KNOCKED ON OUR DOOR TO SEE IF WE FOUND HER CELL PHONE. SHE ACTUALLY CAME TWICE TO LOOK FOR IT. THE VALET WAS TOP NOTCH! July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great staff Hotel has always been very accommodating to me and was especially to me my co-workers who recently stayed there for a meeting. July 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel....however Good hotel. If you a Platinum like me and have club lounge access, a word of caution. I been in this hotel of months and the evening Club Lounge staff clearly do not meet the standard welcoming staff of the hotel. He seems not wanting to be there and it shows in his tone with the guest. If you have kids, be even more careful of this passive aggressive undertone. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great clean hotel, with some needed improvements I stayed here for a few days for a conference and arrived late at night. The staff was quick to help get me in and easily available for services, requests, and room service. The hotel is clean, staff is great and rooms are clean. Room service was timely, delicious and reliable. As for critiques, I had made a club room reservation, which is overrated at this hotel. The club room, while always available, rarely has food in it, other than drinks. The food was sub-par at best and would not warrant the increased rate, which doesn't include any alcohol. So $30 - $50 for sub-par food/breakfast and soda...is unfounded. As for the room service, while it was good, there was a delivery charge (which I never understand since there is no other option to pick up the food yourself) when room service implies a delivery and already included a self-satisfying 20%. November 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Fine Option for Downtown Austin Been staying at this property for last few months while at work in Austin. Like many Sheraton properties it's a bit dated. The executive lounge is not open every day. If it's closed you get a voucher for two drinks and a appetizer at the lobby bar. I actually prefer that as the food and beverage down there is quite good. Hotel is a four block walk from the major entertainment district in Austin which is great. Overall it's a decent property. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has great rooms and ideal location. The rooms were clean and cool and the employees were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the this hotel to anyone traveling to the Austin area. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Presidential Visit Outstanding Service & accomodations; stayed at hotel during President's visit to Austin that restricted in & out activities. Hotel staff were exceptional during this time in accomodating guests. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location! Excellent Staff Communication Below is an Honest review outlining my stay with at the Sheraton Austin by the Capitol. I believe that the executive has taken the necessary steps to improve all the issues that are listed below, I would like to personally thank Front Desk Manager Michael and the GM of the Hotel Robert Morgan for addressing the issues that we had during our stay and compensating me accordingly. , I truly appreciate the executive teams professionalism in handling this matter and I look forward to staying at the Sheraton Austin Hotel again in the near future. Pros: • Good location centrally located in downtown Austin • Some of the staff was extremely helpful (Director of Revenue Services & Manager Michael) • Would stay at hotel again • Room for improvement in representing the SPG brand with the change of ownership and renovation scheduled • Executive Team will address any problems promptly that you may have during your stay and provide fair compensation should it be deemed necessary Cons: • Power out in Executive lounge and no breakfast was served on March 24th 2014 • Coffee Machine broken for 4 days in the executive lounge • Door not working at the executive lounge and had to go down stairs several times to gain access to the lounge • 2 day’s during stay was notified the day of that water would be turned off for said duration of time • No hot water in the showers downstairs in the fitness room • Called in advance to ensure that we would be able to park the www.bullyprooftour.com trailer a secured parking spot as we have over 100k worth of sound equipment in the trailer. Arrived at hotel and was told that due to the new fire code that we would not be able to park the trailer on premise and was not provided any additional safe alternatives at the time which forced us to park the trailer on the street causing a great deal of stress and creating potential liability issues. • Was told that no roll away beds were available due to a fire code, upon further due diligence on my part found out that the corner rooms would accommodate a rollaway bed. • No paper in the printer in the executive lounge for 3 days called down on several occasions to notify the staff . . . Computer in the executive lounge has no virus protection and a plethora of bugs causing it to crash and run extremely slow. • Missing one reservation at time of check in • Extremely cold air blasting at the entrance of room 1504 May 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by You get what you pay for I arrived at midnight and looked through the menu to order food. The menu table of contents listed a late night menu but nothing was listed within the menu itself. I called the front desk and was told all food service was closed at 11pm...how can a Sheraton hotel not have a late menu?? I was told I could order pizza instead....no thanks, November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay The Austin Sheraton is located perfectly, close to major arteries, but away from the congestion of being right smack downtown. Easy to get anywhere. The property is in great condition, and the staff are helpful and friendly. I hadn't visited the hotel in a few years, and it was just as great as the last time we were there. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! Was very impressed with this hotel. Nice indoor/outdoor pool that allowed use during both the warmer and cooler February days, and coupled with a spacious hot tub. Great BBQ lunch buffet at a very reasonable price. Overall a great stay! March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Friendly People Staff was very friendly and always had a smile. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No internet access and noise I arrived in the room and immediately could get on the internet without using the password given to me. After that I never could get on again. My room was adjacent to the elevators. Although it wasn't a major problem, I thought the building was breathing for a while until I figured out what the noise was. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I've already posted a very favorable review on trip advisor. July 14, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>