Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

  • 701 East 11th Street
  • Austin,
  • Texas
  • 78701
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 236 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great staff Hotel has always been very accommodating to me and was especially to me my co-workers who recently stayed there for a meeting. July 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A real dog with fleas Nice lobby & bar. Staff is friendly. My room was a DUMP - stained carpet, dirt & food on the floor, and no soap in the bathroom. Only one bath towel. Are you kidding? I'm sleeping in my clothes tonight! I told the staff, but there's nothing they can do - hotel is sold out. STAY AWAY from this place. December 5, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the money Booked for 5 nights, stayed one. Moved to a different hotel with a Much nicer room/view (right on the lake by the bat bridge and walking distance to 6th street and SoCo) for a third of the price. The sheraton was dark, very small room, next to the freeway. Would not go back. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has great rooms and ideal location. The rooms were clean and cool and the employees were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the this hotel to anyone traveling to the Austin area. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by friendly staff and great location This hotel has done a good job of making sure the guests are met with a warm welcome! The location of check-in behind the bar was a little difficult to find, but otherwise a painless checkin and a nice corner room assignment away from the noise of 6th St. The club lounge was nicely renovated, though a bit cramped with the oversized chairs. Food offering was good! The post-Saturday hotel (following an event at the hotel) could have used some cleaning (spilled food and drinks in the common areas). but overall this hotel offered everything a guest could ask for. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Presidential Visit Outstanding Service & accomodations; stayed at hotel during President's visit to Austin that restricted in & out activities. Hotel staff were exceptional during this time in accomodating guests. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome during SXSW... Friendly staff during one of the most batty times of the year. Hotel was clean, service was great, and the preparation level for SXSW was clearly evident. THANK YOU!!! March 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A restful stay A little out of the way from the main attractions but still a easy walk, the hotel makes up for it with nice gardens and good outdoor areas with a pool. Although spotlessly clean and comfortable, the rooms could do with an update but for service the staff are friendly and attentive which keeps me coming back. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I've already posted a very favorable review on trip advisor. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Friendly People Staff was very friendly and always had a smile. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by July 4th The room smelled like smoke despite being in a non-smoking hotel. I had to have staff come in and spray. The AC would not cool unless placed at 60 degrees. Tiles in the bathroom were broken and only two power outlets easily accessible near the bed. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Austin Visit My visit to the Sheraton Austin was average. I selected the green selection as I always do and expected that the same linens would be used, but the bed would be made and towels replaced. The bed was never made, towels not replaced, glasses or water bottles not removed and trash not emptied. I mentioned to the representative at the front desk and was told that this was the hotel's policy. I've stayed at many Starwoods properties and always select the green option and this is the first time I've encountered this. I suggest that you revisit this policy. December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff Though check in in late (3pm) at this hotel, Mike, the concierges went above and beyond to take care of us! Requesting GREAT places to eat around the hotel or even calling us an exceptional van service to the airport - Mike was our go-to guy. When we think about our stay at the Sheraton, his name comes up right away. The only downfall of this hotel was the lack of a fridge in our room. We were unable to bring leftovers back with us from meals, as well as keep bottles of waters cold for our day trips. Thank you Mike and the Sheraton for our great stay! July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff wonderful as always Every time we stay at a Sheraton for a special occasion, the staff does a little something to make us feel special. This year we went back to Austin for a 12 year anniversary and the manager gave us free vouchers for the breakfast buffet. The location is only a a few blocks from 6 street and an easy walk. Gave the room comfort only 4 stars because it seemed we heard a fair amount of noise from the room next to us. But they may just might have been extra noisy. Sheraton consistently has great deals for the military which is always greatly appreciated June 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice except for the room air conditioner The room air conditioner just did not work well enough for a complete comfortable night's sleep. I woke up 3 or 4 times because I was hot and & two of those times I had to get up to adjust the thermostat (the fan speed must have some sort of auto timer or something). Other than that, it seemed clean & was comfortable. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value in Downtown Austin This is a great hotel located right in the middle of all the action in downtown Austin. The property is updated and has a great lobby with a cool, popular bar that gives a good vibe to this hotel right when you walk through the front doors. You’re within walking distance to nightlife (6th Street is about 5 blocks away), and you’re also close enough to walk to the University if you’re in town for a game or to visit friends and family that are going to UT. Rooms are simple, but they are comfortable and modern. Because this hotel is centrally located, it can be quite full at times…so allow a little more time when coming and going. Parking is great, and it’s right on I-35 if you’re just stopping in on your way through town. Overall, I recommend this hotel. October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend getaway good old fashioned hospitality! would recommend this hotel and this city for a long weekend away June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent hotel but dated amenities Overall decent hotel. Close proximity to downtown and bar district. Plenty to do. Hotel greeted me very well including UT bell boy named Joe. Very well mannered and courteous. Engaged me in conversation and personable. Rooms need to be upgraded and redone. Older smell and feel to them. Shower was very bad looking and tub was old and very slippery. Almost slipped twice. For the price I paid and room I stayed in not worth it and next time will find a much cleaner and modern hotel. April 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service above and beyond When I arrived for my reservation the hotel was overbooked. They had no room left for me. I had been traveling all day, it was late, my girlfriend was unhappy and we just wanted to go for a swim and go to bed. Trae, the front desk manager understood all of this, and he did everything he could to make it right. In fact, he went beyond making it right and displayed a level of customer care that surprised me and ensured that whenever I am in Austin I will be staying at the Sheraton. For the remainder of my stay I found the hotel to be conveniently located, comfortable, and a pleasure to stay in. I can recommend the landmark restaurant, and the patio dining experience is quite nice in the evenings. Thank you to Trae, Brie and all the staff who made our stay so pleasant. June 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Customer Service Given the fact that this hotel has a stable market of conventions and conference, it has grown to be complacent in providing the excellent quality of customer service a Starwood hotel is known for. Their staff fail to take ownership of their mistakes and are very inefficient. I have been staying in this hotel for the last 11 months. Inconsistent Execution of Make a Green Choice: If you are traveling for business and consistently participate on the Make a Green Choice promotion, this hotel has been inconsistent in their process. I have There has been a number of nights when I hanged that tag in my door and I have not received any coupons in the morning. Other times, housekeeping would still come into your room to fix it despite hanging the "Make A Green Choice" in your door. They would get any coupon lying in your desk. I learned to just immediately bring the coupons with me in case housekeeping fail to recognize your participation in the program. This has happened more than once. Staff Fails to Take Responsibility for Their Actions: There was a time that the front desk and night auditor made an unforgivable mistake of connecting my wife's call to the wrong room and a woman picked up the phone. They insisted that it was the right room and the guest refused to accept calls. I was outside on a team event and no one was in the room. Both staff insisted that they followed protocol and told my wife that it was indeed the right room. I complained to SPG and the director of rooms insisted the same thing providing wrong information on the SPG issue logs that my wife provided the wrong room number even when she did not. I escalated to the general manager and after persistently convincing him that there was a disconnect in his staff's excuses, he agreed the mistake was on them. Is that even necessary? Or should they have taken ownership of their mistake from the start? Club Lounge Hours: On paper, club lounge is supposed to open at 6:30AM. If you have an early morning meeting, forget about it and grab breakfast outside. You would experience coming in at 7 and things are not completely set up. I have been staying here for the last 11 months. Knowing that I already met the required number of nights to maintain my status next year, I am ready to switch to another hotel beginning of next month. June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by One of the better Sheratons Excellent exercise facility and indoor/outdoor pool area. There are fitness locker rooms here which I really appreciated. Unfortunately many of the keys were missing to lock up your things but it served great to change and rinse off after a work out and transition into the pool or hot tub. Wishing there was a steam room. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Club level amenities were extremely welcome. I sincerely appreciated the automatic expresso maker. Thank you Sheraton and staff for a wonderful stay. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was exceptional Philip, the Bell Captain at the Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol was the most professionalism and helpful individual that I have ever met in my many years of travel. His attention to detail and awareness of service is unmatched. He should be highly commended. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent stay, except too near the elevator! Unfortunately my room was too close to the elevator. I heard it going up and down until late into the night, resuming early the next morning. Fortunately I have a sleep machine app on my iPhone so I drowned out the sound! Other than that it was an excellent stay. Your staff is always responsive and very pleasant. June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bar abd food area Everything was good! I'm looking for points from May 15, 2014 for food and drinks. Gave my Starwood card and receipt copy to Sharton hotel front desk (701 E 11th street - Austin tx and was told they would send in the proper form to credit my account with the points. My card was Amex ending in 1008 and the auth code was 562923--check # 5035 Gary Smathers. May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed Staff was great but the elevators did not accomodate well. I was able to get past the fact the the rooms are outdated and some of the wall paper peeling, BUT the fact that they used the cheapest toilet tissue in the world really bothered me. I would expect that of all things to be much better considering it cost 10X the money to stay there as opposed to a two star Motel. I have always thought well of Sheraton, however, I will make other choices in the future. March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This staff is here to serve! Front desk staff went to the mat for me when I arrived before my friend who had originally reserved the room. They certainly followed procedure, but went so far as to personally text me when my room became available and helped with a room change after check in even delivering the key to the room so I didn't have to lug the bags around at all. The room was in pristine condition and aside from missing an in room fridge was perfect. Thanks to all at the Sheraton Austin. Well done! June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum Not Rewarded The overall cleanliness of the hotel was fine/average. The staff took pride in the cleanliness. I was however disappointed that at check in (2:30PM) I asked for a upgrade from a standard room. At the time, the desk clerk said "We have late check outs and no rooms are currently ready". I responded with "That is fine, I can check in later if it mean getting an upgrade". The desk clerk did not respond and just gave the standard room. I know that there were upgraded rooms available as the parking lot was empty as was the restaurant and lobby at all times. That being said, having 4 adults in one standard room did not make for a pleasant stay. Also, the painting in the halls, outside of our room was annoying to say the least. In future, please remind your staff that platinum members should be upgraded. Regards, K Samis August 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by ACL Weekend I went to Austin for ACL weekend. When I checked in Thursday night, the concierge didn't recognize my SPG status of being Platnium. It was almost like I felt it was a bother to even speak to the gentlemen at the front desk. He didn't offer me the Plat. welcome gift or offer to participate in the make it green choice (as the other SPG hotels do). The one thing that I dislike about SPG is how some hotels 'claim' to be a franchise and do NOT participate in most promotions. October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay The only complaints I have is regarding the room I stayed in, it was right next to the elevator making it Really hard to sleep when the elevator was in use (room 824) and the room could have been cleaner. Other than that my stay was pleasant and the staff is always wonderful, hotel location is great. Thank you! May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Service was second to none My stay at this hotel was wonderful. I cannot rave enough about the service. The service, from the front desk, to the breakfast restaurant, to the lobby bar was really 1st class! Everyone was extremely helpful and kind. I've stayed at Starwood hotels before but this location took the cake for service. My impression of Sheraton has changed for sure. Thank you for making my business stay memorable and enjoyable. If I'm in Austin again, this is where I'm staying. August 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>