Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

  • 701 East 11th Street
  • Austin,
  • Texas
  • 78701
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton- Austin The only thing I would change about the hotel is the location. Great hotel, just move further into the city would be better. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic room renovation Like staying in a new hotel, 19" high definition TV, new carpet and desk chair in the rooms are all fantastic. New carpet and lighting in the halls make the hotel inviting. Cannot wait to see the other renovations when I return to the area. July 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by UNSATISFIED First off, let me say that I have stayed in Sheraton hotels around the world, from South America to Indonesia, and this was easily the worst Sheraton hotel experience I have had. Overall, the price I paid for a "superior king" room was not at all conducive to the cleanliness, amenities, or service I experienced. I paid $240 for a room that should have been priced no more than $100 in terms of quality. I am not sure what "superior" means to you, but it certainly was not what I expected. I would appreciate an explanation of what I paid for. ROOM a. the carpets were highly stained and looked filthy b. the wallpaper was peeling and stained in many areas c. the headboard was torn d. the television stand was scraped and knocked e. there was TRASH under one of the chairs! f. there was not a robe or slippers as your website advertises (*I asked twice for these and never received it) g. the room smelled of bleach, and not in a good clean way POOL a. the pool itself was littered with leaves b. there were cigarette butts all over the pool deck c. a "hotel bar" was advertised -- I never saw that HOTEL a. the elevator button panels were loose inside the elevator! b. the hallways had the same bleach/cleaning solution smell as the rooms. again, not in a good way c. there were men working in the hallway and being very loud with no consideration of hotel guests d. the Lobby Bar is outdated, and located in the middle of the lobby making it very hard to unwind amongst all the guests checking in PARKING I was told the parking charge for self-park was $16 when I checked in. I was NOT told that this would be charged to my room. When I left your hotel, I paid for my parking at the self-pay machine in the lobby. When I received my bill I noticed it was also charged to my room. So, I paid for parking TWICE! I spend about half of my year traveling and staying in hotels for business purposes so please know that my opinions and judgements are quite valid. I hope my comments will help you and your company to create a better experience for hotel guests in the future. July 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Austin The Sheraton Austin Hotel was OK but not great and not to the standard that I have experienced at other Sheraton Hotels around the world. For example, the Club Lounge was fair and the staff working there were good but the facility was crowded with loud children making it less than inviting. Parking was an issue nearly every time we pulled into the lot. Once there were no spaces at all. This is a problem when paying $16 per day for parking. There seemed to be a lot of management staff hanging around the lobby but nobody took an interest in the elevator that was broken the entire week we were there. July 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This place is a pit. The hotel rooms were beat up. My furniture looked like a cat got to it. and I don't know why, but the hotel had a terrible smell to it. They attempt to cover it up by flooding the place with perfume, (whole place smells like an Abercrombie store), but it just takes the edge off. July 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Austin Capital Much better than expected. Kuddos to you. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Austin Hotel The Sheraton provided an excellent place for us to stay. Everyone who waited on us was so friendly and courteous. The staff in the Landmark Restaurant made sure our breakfast was a memorable experience. July 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not what I expected Although the service was great the room was not what I expected. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Remodel did not go all the way This hotel is in a great location and the remodel of the lobby/bar looks great. However, the investments seem to have been limited to the first floor and hallway carpets and bedroom furniture do not appear to have been touched. The stains and bumps in the hallway carpets and peeling desk chair took away from the experience. Kudos to the front desk staff - courteous to all guests. July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by TV doesn't work Everything was great except the room TV. I have been here twice. Both times there have been problems with poor reception. July 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Short but great stay - Great staff! We stayed at this hotel on a recent “Texas college roadtrip” primarily because of its proximity to UT Austin. Being just off the freeway, it’s extremely easy to find and get to, but is still quiet. It was our first visit and was just an overnight, but we really enjoyed it. Two favorite places: Adjacent to the lobby bar is a large work table that overlooks the Sheraton@Work area, the restaurant and the pool and patio, which was our favorite outdoor area. Both were nice because the kids headed right for the pool while the grownups took advantage of that work table and free Wi-Fi and could keep an eye on them. The bartender was awesome! He managed to whip us up lattes and decaf green tea all evening; much appreciated. Check in was fast and simple. The desk staff seemed well versed on the hotel and surrounding area, and were able to offer good advice on walking distances, parking at the Capital, and local restaurants. Even better, they surprised me with vouchers for breakfast, which I didn't realize (and am still not sure) was included in the rate. One problem: the two rooms we booked for the family were on separate floors. The agent apologized and explained that, because they were very full, she couldn't get us adjoining rooms but did manage to get us on the same floor. Good enough for us but lesson learned: include room preferences when booking, not when checking in. The breakfast vouchers were for the buffet plus made-to-order eggs, though they also have a breakfast menu. The buffet was more than ample: scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, potatoes, fruit, hot and cold cereals, fruit, yogurts, a variety of breads, muffins, and bagels with the works. Our rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of room. Even though we were in a corner room not far from the elevators, it was very quiet. The girls' room, a double down the hall, seemed a bit larger, and was also very quiet. Though short, we enjoyed this stop on our trip and would certainly stay at the Sheraton at the Capital again. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable Room was very comfortable. Staff is always great! July 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for basic needs The hotel met my basic needs, and I did like the weight room, but service was lacking a bit: - Front desk told me the only way I could get some milk was through Room Service, but Room Service told me bar was open and would be cheaper - they were right. - Took me two tries to get a refrigerator - Wireless connectivity broke at one point - I was transferred to IT but no answer July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Friendly Hotel I booked my reservations on line after reading the reviews. It was just what I needed as a traveling business man. The hotel was 1 block from 1-35 yet I never heard any traffic at night, nor were there any kids running thru the lobby in swim suits. The hotel was extremely clean and well-decorated. Yes it was older , but the staff was extremely friendly, professional, knew the area very well. After being in meetings all day, it was nice to be in walking distance of several to a good restaurants. The concierge knew the restaurants and even offered to print me off a copy of their menu before I left the lobby. I was able to get a lot of work done without distractions. See you on my next trip. July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff Though check in in late (3pm) at this hotel, Mike, the concierges went above and beyond to take care of us! Requesting GREAT places to eat around the hotel or even calling us an exceptional van service to the airport - Mike was our go-to guy. When we think about our stay at the Sheraton, his name comes up right away. The only downfall of this hotel was the lack of a fridge in our room. We were unable to bring leftovers back with us from meals, as well as keep bottles of waters cold for our day trips. Thank you Mike and the Sheraton for our great stay! July 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gnats! Elevator is filthy...doesn't look like its ever vacuumed. My room was full of gnats. Staff was ok. Couldn't recommend this hotel until the bug problem is solved. July 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is outdated I travel weekly for business and stay at Starwood properties. This hotel is outdated. Room was dusty. The walls are thin and I can hear my neighbor on a conf call starting at 6am. Club Lounge food was ok serving "warm" coffee. July 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Texas hotel experience It was just a quick stay over the weekend. The hotel was clean, staffs were friendly except for the one at checkin. Room was a little outdated, but comfortable. Overall price was high for the place if not for a special rate we get as group rate for wedding. July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Friendly Staff We chose this hotel for its location in the center of Austin so we could meet up with friends and have a nice visit. We were able to do so and the staff was very accommodating to us all. We'll definitely be back! July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location, location! Due to it being located very close for my entire purpose of going to Austin, I chose it. The staff was extremely helpful regarding directions on where I wanted to go and very friendly. I would stay there again. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fit for business I chose the hotel mainly for the location as it was close to the Capital and the Austin Conference Center. When I arrived, I was immediately greeted for my elite status at the check-in. The breakfast was exceeded my expectation, lots of fresh and healthy choices at the buffet. The room was clean and beautiful, and the internet had very good connection. Complimentary wine social were excellent and the lobby provides nice common space that's good for networking over a glass between meetings and dinners. Austin is very hot and humid for me, there for I really appreciated that they turned their A/C to the cold setting. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing and enjoyed my stay Room was very neat and they hold good hospitality... The best part is that they have spacious parking in the heart of downtown... They have really good view of the city from their building .... Its walkable to the State Capitol building... June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home!! The Sheraton staff was very professional. All our needs were met, I highly recommend you all to make reservations at Sheraton!!!! June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfectly relaxing! Wife and I spent the weekend here and really enjoyed ourselves. Very friendly and personable staff. June 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This staff is here to serve! Front desk staff went to the mat for me when I arrived before my friend who had originally reserved the room. They certainly followed procedure, but went so far as to personally text me when my room became available and helped with a room change after check in even delivering the key to the room so I didn't have to lug the bags around at all. The room was in pristine condition and aside from missing an in room fridge was perfect. Thanks to all at the Sheraton Austin. Well done! June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant overnight stay I called hotels in the area to get the best rate for a short stay in Austin. I had an appointment with TRS just across the street from the Sheraton. The young lady I spoke with on the phone was extremely helpful and did not make me feel she was in a rush to make the reservation and get off the phone. She answered my questions and found me an excellent rate for my stay. Upon arrival the front desk was welcoming and provided all the information needed for a enjoyable visit to the area. I have already and will continue to recommend the Sheraton to friends that will be visiting Austin. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blew us away AGAIN My family and I returned to this hotel again because we had an engagement at the Capitol. The location was excellent and so convenient but that is not why we returned. We had stayed a couple of weeks earlier and the staff and hotel went ABOVE AND BEYOND for us. This visit proved to be the same experience. The rooms were perfect. We had corner rooms and double beds to accommodate all of our family and it was very roomy. Once again, the staff was as friendly and helpful as we had found before. The Concierge level was an added bonus. Snacks during the day and a wonderful spread for breakfast. If you are in the area, there is no need to go any further than this Sheraton. Well done!!! June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay From check in to check out staff was very customer service oriented. Hotel is in a good location to local downtown area restaurants & bars as well as the Capitol and University of Texas. June 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hot I like to keep my room cold at night. Apparently, this hotel regulates the temperature of the room and turns off the AC during the night. I woke up every night sweating and with wet hair. I had to shower every morning. June 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality hotel -- A/C extra. Imagine being locked inside a car with no air conditioning on a warm day or night and you are trapped there with no way to open a window to get fresh air...your forehead glistening with perspiration and your clothes uncomfortably clingy. That is what it was like waking up twice a night, every night, I stayed at this hotel. The genius behind placing a motion sensor on a thermostat, thick overly-heavy "comforters" on the bed, and then sealing windows shut escapes me. In a climate that demands air conditioning, my room was not a welcome respite, it was a downtown gulag. I am thankful, at least, that the wallpaper didn't peel from the heat and begin wafting loudly when the A/C did work. It was infuriating that I should have to wake up and walk about the room just to receive fresh air -- in a "club room" no less. I would have thought it (A/C) included in the price of my room. The reason I stay at Sheraton Hotels is because I expect a much higher level of comfort than this. June 21, 2013
  • 2015-04-27T18:34:30.518-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_251, tr_251
  • loc_en_US, sid_3079, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 next>>