Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel

  • 6101 West Century Boulevard
  • Los Angeles,
  • California
  • 90045
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 574 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotels are like Umpires The reason I'm a SPG member is the consistency, you know what your going to get. Like umpires you don't notice him until he screws up a call or has a inconstant strike zone. The Sheraton Gateway is that consistent umpire. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has dependable standards The staff are always efficient and friendly. The rooms are always well equipped and comfortable. The shuttle service is excellent. The local bus to the beach is great. October 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff, but lacking in the details. Unfortunately the thick 8" black hair between the pillows is how I will remember Sheraton Gateway LA, and that's a deal breaker. At that stage of the evening, with an early flight out, we were not about to pack up our stuff and request a room change (we just threw it away), but the room no longer felt clean. Otherwise it was a nice refurbished room with tasteful appointments. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff member at check in - all the staff were lovely. Other small details: we would have appreciated a second bathrobe - I would have thought this was standard; if bottled water is prominently displayed with a sign saying "thirsty?" it should also state that it isn't complimentary. The gentleman who brought room service was very friendly and professional - the dessert was only OK. The free wifi did not work (the log in screen failed to load completely). I would have considered this a good hotel (I have always considered Sheraton an excellent brand), but lack of attention to detail and basic cleanliness render it average. With LAX hotels being something of a commodity, this one did not justify it's premium price. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by title Much improved. Nice room, great location, and good shuttle service. Restaurant food was very disappointing. July 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Check In service Check-in staff were inflexible and unfriendly on our arrival when there was a problem with the reservation. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient to LAX and Trader Joes Would definately use this hotel again. The staff is great and the location is very convenient to the Port. October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best choice for LAX While reading many positive reviews of this hotel, it was a pleasure to confirm that this is a perfect airport hotel and the best choice given its proximity and very qualified staff. The Club Lounge is quite nice and added to the comfortable stay. Thanks for a terrific stay and we will return. January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent experience It was really disappointing and frustrating to hear that i was provided access to the lounge to only find out that I wasn't and I won't be granted because of my status, when every single time in the past in this and other spg properties I was granted access without questions. Also, I have delta crossover benefits that they couldn't associate at the time of reservation for some reason unknown to me. Overall, disappointing experience and I won't be returning to this property again. February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by November stay Stayed here in November before a trip from LAX to China. Location to the airport was a prime factor (and it is close) but parking and ease of access is difficult. Since we had a late night flight we decided to keep the room the next day so we could do some sightseeing before we left, then freshen up before the flight. Hotel agreed to this for a modified room charge. The night we were to leave the hotel was very busy with private parties; after we went to dinner hotel wouldn't let us park our car for 15 minutes to get our bags without a $6+ fee, then they tried to charge us twice for the extended room stay. We got the room charge straightened out, but it was a hassle. Additionally, hotel does not have, or did not have available when we were there, a cafe type restaurant where we could get a quick, moderately priced meal. The surrounding neighhborhood is also seemingly devoid of such places. Front desk was no help in this regard. January 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Room Service I stayed there twice during the weeks of Nov 28-Dec 1 and Dec 12-15, both the times it happened and hence thought of writing a review. Everyday room cleaning service wouldnt replace your soap/shampoo/moisturizing lotion etc and you have to ask for them. For 3 days I was left to use the same soap (which is considerably smaller). Why do I have to call the room service every night to get a bath soap. Ridiculous. Another issue is with the Receipt. I was hoping to reduce the paper waste to ask for an email receipt. The receipt never arrived, I called the hotel 3 times and their account department never answers the phone or replies to call back... i didnt expect such kind of service from them.. December 19, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful venue The completely refurbished hotel is lovely. Staff are great. We are hosting a large conference at this hotel and the exhibit space and breakout rooms are just perfect. It's one of the best conference spaces I've ever seen. It has a Starbucks which is a really great addition. February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by President Thank you for a wonderful stay, even though it was business, your staff made my stay quite comfortable! February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Room and Nice Gym This hotel is close to LAX (you could walk if you wanted), our room was clean and comfortable and quiet, despite the closeness of the airport. The staff was courteous and there is Starbucks in the hotel if you want something quick for breakfast. We ate the breakfast buffet one morning which was very good with a nice variety (although no made-to-order eggs) and it was kept freshly supplied. There is a shuttle to/from airport as well. One of the best features is the fitness center - they have several treadmills, bicycles,etc. and weights and a stretching area - very nice. December 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by SOOOO DISAPPOINTED I have to be totally honest with you and tell you that as a Platinum Member with over 60 nights stayed year to date with Starwood Properties, I was insulted that I had to use points to pay for this stay. I surprised my 8yr old for her birthday and took here to LA and wanted to stay near the airport so we would not have to fight LA traffice the morning we left. HUGE MISTAKE! Not ONE thing went well at this hotel and I feel cheated. I waited to cool down after the trip and decided to still write this review a week later. I guess service wasn't very important to the staff there Labor Weekend or they were pre-occupied by the number of guests there but I'm not sure I would ever stay there again even if it were free. #customerservicematters September 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Gateway LAX Hotel Location was ideal, near airport and major roadways. Staff was attentive (shower drain was clogged when we arrived and they fixed it promptly), housekeeping staff was very pleasant and helpful. Walls are paper thin, particularly between adjoining rooms and there is no sound barrier on bottom of adjoining door. Our neighbors were quite loud and it was a problem. Lots of hallway noise also. Bathrooms need updating, shower was very weak. Room was small, but nicely furnished and beds were nice. Gift shop terribly expensive for even the smallest things (like stamps). Pool area and deck chairs were great. Jacuzzi is tiny but great for a party of 2. Onsite food/drink too expensive. Parking behind hotel was a pain and dangerous for women. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort & Convenience I had a single night stay at the Sheraton Gateway; arriving after 10:00 and departing before 7:00 a.m., but my stay was pleasantly comfortable and clean; the front desk staff was friendly and hospitable. Nice Hotel! February 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many stays, few complaints, but .... I stay at this property many times a year. Conveniently located to LAX and to freeway! Great staff who often remember me and my preferences! Great SPG lounge! But ... being awoken at 6:40 am to someone steam-cleaning the hall carpet right outside my door ... NOT good and NOT appreciated! It's the only time it's ever happened, but that's not acceptable at any hotel. December 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible customer service I decided to stay at the Gateway Sheraton because a conference I was attending was here at a special discounted price. I will NEVER stay at one again. The customer service was terrible. I don't mean bad and needs work, but terrible. I have never been treated like this before. As I walked in, I was greeted by a man to check in. At first he was nice but was coughing ALL over the desk and not covering his mouth.. gross. Then I went to pay on debit since I wasnt traveling with my credit card and read in my email that I could do debit. He had no idea how to process this so he told me I could charge a credit card from someone who wasnt staying here as long as I got there email. I decided to give them my boyfriends email and started spelling it out for him. He immediately got VERY rude and said “I ASKED for you to WRITE it down!” so I asked for a pen and he just threw it on the counter. Not impressed and completely taken off guard. I then called my boyfriend to transfer him my room cost so he could pay it on his card. The front desk emailed him the proper forms and told me to go sit and wait because he had to deal with “real customers.” I felt very talked down to because I wasn't wearing a suit like the men behind me and he said I wasnt a “real customer” .. What does that even mean? Because I hadnt paid yet? My boyfriend then didnt understand some of the information being asked so I asked if someone could call him and explain it. The man then went to tell his supervisor to ask her to call. 20 minutes later she finally called and walked him through the form. My boyfriend told me it was all good to go. I sat there on the couches for another 30 minutes waiting for someone to grab me to check me in (meanwhile no other customers were at the counter) and finally I went up and asked if the form was complete. The manager rudely told the man that she had printed it off (like he was supposed to just know). The man proceeded to get the sheet and put the information into the computer. He then charged me an extra night which I caught right away and he didnt actually believe I paid when I booked online. Then checked and realized I did and mumbled some stuff under his breath. He then asked how I was paying for the $75 incidentals and I said with the credit card. (since I only had debit) and he said that couldnt be done. I then spoke up and said “You KNEW I only had debit! Theres nothing I can do about this because you didnt charge the card!” (which I admit shouldnt have done but I was getting very frustrated after all of this. He then told me there was an ATM which he decided not to let me know before I went through all the credit card hassle. I went and took out $80 for him. I then asked to speak to his manager (not knowing it was that rude lady from before). She came up to me and I expressed my disappointment in their quality of service and she quickly defended herself by saying “Well I have other things to take care of too.” Which I totally understand but you would rather help a guest who JUST walked up to the counter before you help the one who has been waiting over an hour to get checked in. Just terrible. She apologized insincerely so I just left it and went to my room. I then got into my room and realized I had no wifi so I called down and asked if it was complimentary. Apparently I have to pay $12 a day to get wifi where in my email says “Sweet Sleeper Bed, 32 Inch Flat Panel LCD TV, Wi-Fi Internet..” So I asked why it said that in there and she said “Just so youre aware of the service we provide. It is extra money though” So my question is, do you charge extra for your beds? Or Tvs? Why put it in there and charge extra. Just completely taken back. I then went and sat downstairs in the Lobby for 2 hours to work on the wifi and decided to just go up and pay the $12. So I asked to pay for wifi and the guy at the desk informed me that it was complementary and he just had to refresh it but it should be working now. Such an inconvenience after I even called. Poor poor service. Everything was just going wrong and VERY unimpressed. I have 40 of my clients coming down for this event and I will make sure to tell them all my experience and I know I will not recommend this hotel or stay here ever again. Even if it were free. Customer service is number one and this hotel has none of it, as far as I can tell. January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I hoped for...and more! I booked two rooms for a special occasion. I read reviews, but I had never stayed at the hotel and I hoped that the positive feedback I read would be true. Beginning at check-in, my expectations were exceeded and then some. The Corner King Suites and gorgeous! The rooms are big, the beds are wonderfully comfortable, the rooms are impeccably clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. You would not know that you are less than a mile from the airport, the room was serene and quite. The pool area was very nice -- the cabanas were such a nice treat for the kids in our party -- they felt special and important. I would absolutely book another stay at the Sheraton Gateway and I will be recommending your hotel to my friends and family. Thank you!! April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel I stay here often and I do like the hotel. Staff is very good and helpful. The one downside is that the condition of the hotel is deteriorating. I often of late find problems with the rooms...with 24 nights spent here in the last 6 months, I have been in alot of rooms. Need to improve awareness of properly working room features...otherwise I find the hotel very convenient and definitely recommend. One slight observation is that they do treat plantinum members well, although I slipped to gold this year and I definitely feel the difference! June 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Friendly staff; don't bother with Sheraton Club The staff in every department were great; from the check-in, to housekeeping, to vallet. We paid $30 a day for the Sheraton Club. That staff was rude and unaccommodating. We were unable to get sodas in the morning, just tea and coffee, neither of which we drink. The lady was in such a hurry to clean up at the time of closing, she was pretty much taking your filled plates off the table. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was subpar in comparison to similar hotels. But it was easy on and off the freeways. We enjoyed our stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average hotel near airport The hotel has a decent lobby with a Starbucks in the lobby. The pool and fitness center are both pretty nice. But the rooms and club room are in need of improvement. I was also surprised when I checked in that, as a SPG Platinum member they did not have a room upgrade for me given that I was traveling with and checked in at the same time as a work colleague (who is not an SPG member) who was upgraded to a suite. February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two stays this month, both terrific! I brought my family to LA and booked at the Gateway. We had a memorable stay as a family and, as always, the staff made us feel right at home and were so kind to our young daughter. Although this was my fifth time to be at the hotel this year, it was our first time staying there as a family and they realized why I have told them how comfortable I feel when I am away. My subsequent business trip two weeks later was another great experience and I look forward to my next visit in the coming weeks. September 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed My visit was from 4/26-4/30 and was quite disappointing. It was my first time staying at the Sheraton LAX, and will more than likely be my last. The lone bright spot at the Sheraton Gateway LAX was the staff, who helped me out quite a bit. The rest of the experience wasn't what I expected. I had constant issues with wireless internet access on the 12th floor, contacted IT support and didn't get a follow up call for 6 hours, which is unacceptable. The pool and hot tub were closed, and no one notified guests about that until I got a notice in my room the third day of my stay. The rooms were equipped with flimsy plastic cups instead of glasses. I had to be moved to a differente room because of a leaky faucet in a sixth floor room. Major improvements need to be made for me to go back. May 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent stay I would rate this experience as just about average February 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice stay The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I was concerned about noise in the airport area, but that was not an issue. Even in a suite however the next door rooms on both sides could be clearly heard in conversation. I wish they had real glassware, but they did bring us some to use instead of plastic when we asked. Minimal electric outlets were the only other issue. The room was a nice size and the view was pleasant, the furnishings were fine also. We found it a convenient drive to various parts of town. January 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best of the LAX airport hotels Arrived at the hotel on 21st September after a late flight from London. Shuttle bus arrived after about five minutes and we were greeted by a very effusive driver who "welcomed us to LA". Five minutes later we arrived at the hotel and all the check in desks were quickly opened so check in was very swift. Got an upgrade to a corner room on my Starwood Gold card. Breakfast, [included in my rate] was excellent with a good choice of fruit, fried breakfast etc. Check out was also very efficient. Having stayed at LAX several times this is without doubt the best of the airport hotels. Combine a great rate for the room, including two breakfasts, $129, booked direct with Sheraton on the web and you cannot go wrong. Everything above expectation so definately will return on the next LA trip. October 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service makes the difference The front desk staff works really hard to make sure that people feel welcomed and well served. The lobby is nice and there is a very convenient free shuttle service to LAX. It is clear that this hotel has been around for a while. Although they have kept up with all the changes that Sheraton requires, greater investment is needed to get the hotel to where it should be. For example, the light shade in the room had been torn and would not sit properly on the light. In trying to adjust it, I noticed that several other people had tried to do this and there where many holes in it where others had tried to make it work. This is a small thing, but it points to a lack of care. The rooms seemed clean and the beds were comfortable. I would return because of the service and the access to LAX. February 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing We last stayed in this Hotel in 2008, but on our recent overnight stay we were terribly disappointed. First of all when we arrived with five bags there was no-one to take our bags or offer to bring them to our room. Secondly when specifically requesting an early check in at time of booking as we were arriving from a 14 hour flight and would only be staying 15 hours we were told that there were absolutely no rooms available and with an unpleasant attitude from the guest assistant. Thirdly the room confirmation states that it has wifi... this is also misleading as it requires an additional surcharge. On the other hand the room service was extremely fresh and the beds very comfortable. In the future we will not be choosing the Sheraton Gateway unless the customer service improves out of sight. April 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Stay! We chose the Sheraton Gateway for its proximity to LAX -- and based on other reviews. All we can say is that we were thrilled! Our room was extremely comfortable. The staff was OUTSTANDING! Yes, it's their job to be helpful, but every single individual we encountered was friendly and happy to help/answer our questions! We stayed at the hotel only overnight -- a waystation en route to our final destination -- and now we know where we'll be welcome the next time we're in town! June 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20 next>>