Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel

  • 6101 West Century Boulevard
  • Los Angeles,
  • California
  • 90045
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 754 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff, but lacking in the details. Unfortunately the thick 8" black hair between the pillows is how I will remember Sheraton Gateway LA, and that's a deal breaker. At that stage of the evening, with an early flight out, we were not about to pack up our stuff and request a room change (we just threw it away), but the room no longer felt clean. Otherwise it was a nice refurbished room with tasteful appointments. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff member at check in - all the staff were lovely. Other small details: we would have appreciated a second bathrobe - I would have thought this was standard; if bottled water is prominently displayed with a sign saying "thirsty?" it should also state that it isn't complimentary. The gentleman who brought room service was very friendly and professional - the dessert was only OK. The free wifi did not work (the log in screen failed to load completely). I would have considered this a good hotel (I have always considered Sheraton an excellent brand), but lack of attention to detail and basic cleanliness render it average. With LAX hotels being something of a commodity, this one did not justify it's premium price. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by title Much improved. Nice room, great location, and good shuttle service. Restaurant food was very disappointing. July 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Check In service Check-in staff were inflexible and unfriendly on our arrival when there was a problem with the reservation. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient to LAX and Trader Joes Would definately use this hotel again. The staff is great and the location is very convenient to the Port. October 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by not the best we stayed twice in two weeks, the first night we had to get up early to catch a flight, when we went to take showers our tub was plugged up and we had a maintenance person in our room at 5:30am. the second time on our return, the electricity went out in the middle of the night. Then my credit card company sent me an email stating that I had been charged more than my bill, I was told that they charge what they think you might use on the credit card, but assured me I'd get it back in 7-10 days and the actual charges would also be charged. We will not stay there again... July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable hotel Overall, the room was comfortable and clean. There was an issue with doors slamming all day and night, in the hallway. I was close to the Club entrance, so it may have been those doors during the day. The club snacks were so-so, and we had to pay for alcoholic beverages, which was surprising to me. Otherwise, it was fine. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Room Service I stayed there twice during the weeks of Nov 28-Dec 1 and Dec 12-15, both the times it happened and hence thought of writing a review. Everyday room cleaning service wouldnt replace your soap/shampoo/moisturizing lotion etc and you have to ask for them. For 3 days I was left to use the same soap (which is considerably smaller). Why do I have to call the room service every night to get a bath soap. Ridiculous. Another issue is with the Receipt. I was hoping to reduce the paper waste to ask for an email receipt. The receipt never arrived, I called the hotel 3 times and their account department never answers the phone or replies to call back... i didnt expect such kind of service from them.. December 19, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's was ok My stay was ok definitely not what I expected after paying almost $400 for two nights after our long travels our keys didn't work the first night housekeeping had to let us in and security never showed up to help us. July 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lousy Hotel I was promised a complimentary upgraded room if available, it was, but for $40 more per night, Manager or supervisor would not help me. Overall I despise this chain of hotels July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Awesome Service from all staff!! July 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible customer service I decided to stay at the Gateway Sheraton because a conference I was attending was here at a special discounted price. I will NEVER stay at one again. The customer service was terrible. I don't mean bad and needs work, but terrible. I have never been treated like this before. As I walked in, I was greeted by a man to check in. At first he was nice but was coughing ALL over the desk and not covering his mouth.. gross. Then I went to pay on debit since I wasnt traveling with my credit card and read in my email that I could do debit. He had no idea how to process this so he told me I could charge a credit card from someone who wasnt staying here as long as I got there email. I decided to give them my boyfriends email and started spelling it out for him. He immediately got VERY rude and said “I ASKED for you to WRITE it down!” so I asked for a pen and he just threw it on the counter. Not impressed and completely taken off guard. I then called my boyfriend to transfer him my room cost so he could pay it on his card. The front desk emailed him the proper forms and told me to go sit and wait because he had to deal with “real customers.” I felt very talked down to because I wasn't wearing a suit like the men behind me and he said I wasnt a “real customer” .. What does that even mean? Because I hadnt paid yet? My boyfriend then didnt understand some of the information being asked so I asked if someone could call him and explain it. The man then went to tell his supervisor to ask her to call. 20 minutes later she finally called and walked him through the form. My boyfriend told me it was all good to go. I sat there on the couches for another 30 minutes waiting for someone to grab me to check me in (meanwhile no other customers were at the counter) and finally I went up and asked if the form was complete. The manager rudely told the man that she had printed it off (like he was supposed to just know). The man proceeded to get the sheet and put the information into the computer. He then charged me an extra night which I caught right away and he didnt actually believe I paid when I booked online. Then checked and realized I did and mumbled some stuff under his breath. He then asked how I was paying for the $75 incidentals and I said with the credit card. (since I only had debit) and he said that couldnt be done. I then spoke up and said “You KNEW I only had debit! Theres nothing I can do about this because you didnt charge the card!” (which I admit shouldnt have done but I was getting very frustrated after all of this. He then told me there was an ATM which he decided not to let me know before I went through all the credit card hassle. I went and took out $80 for him. I then asked to speak to his manager (not knowing it was that rude lady from before). She came up to me and I expressed my disappointment in their quality of service and she quickly defended herself by saying “Well I have other things to take care of too.” Which I totally understand but you would rather help a guest who JUST walked up to the counter before you help the one who has been waiting over an hour to get checked in. Just terrible. She apologized insincerely so I just left it and went to my room. I then got into my room and realized I had no wifi so I called down and asked if it was complimentary. Apparently I have to pay $12 a day to get wifi where in my email says “Sweet Sleeper Bed, 32 Inch Flat Panel LCD TV, Wi-Fi Internet..” So I asked why it said that in there and she said “Just so youre aware of the service we provide. It is extra money though” So my question is, do you charge extra for your beds? Or Tvs? Why put it in there and charge extra. Just completely taken back. I then went and sat downstairs in the Lobby for 2 hours to work on the wifi and decided to just go up and pay the $12. So I asked to pay for wifi and the guy at the desk informed me that it was complementary and he just had to refresh it but it should be working now. Such an inconvenience after I even called. Poor poor service. Everything was just going wrong and VERY unimpressed. I have 40 of my clients coming down for this event and I will make sure to tell them all my experience and I know I will not recommend this hotel or stay here ever again. Even if it were free. Customer service is number one and this hotel has none of it, as far as I can tell. January 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great stay We stayed at the hotel for three nights. Got upgraded to a corner suite, which was spacious. One flaw though - there was only one TV for sitting area and the bedroom. The positioing of the TV was difficult. Club Lounge was great. Staff was helpful. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Room and Nice Gym This hotel is close to LAX (you could walk if you wanted), our room was clean and comfortable and quiet, despite the closeness of the airport. The staff was courteous and there is Starbucks in the hotel if you want something quick for breakfast. We ate the breakfast buffet one morning which was very good with a nice variety (although no made-to-order eggs) and it was kept freshly supplied. There is a shuttle to/from airport as well. One of the best features is the fitness center - they have several treadmills, bicycles,etc. and weights and a stretching area - very nice. December 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by late check in and I even called twice to confirm my reservation 1. Late check in requested at online reservation = complete. 2. After online reserved, called hotel to verify reservation receipt = complete. 3. On road called hotel to verify reservation & room requested type still available = male hotel rep said, of course, no problem, room request they have plenty! & late check in, still no problem. Arrived late about midnight. I requested 2 beds, they said the hotel will try to accomadate all of us. Than another two group was arguing about their reservation & room. We didn't get our room till two hours later, & it wasn't anything better, one KING. & the arguing guest, front desk gave their roll-away bed to put in my room, WOW! So used hearing this...like I was treated so unspecial! August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, Great experience Conveniently located near the LAX airport, the Sheraton Gateway was affordable, clean and very nice. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, while the amenities were also outstanding. I liked having Starbucks right downstairs as well as dining both at the bar area as well as the restaurants. The pool area and fitness room were also very nice. The only thing I would say was a little congested, but not at all a big deal for us was the parking. When we arrived, we wanted to self park, but the lot was full which required us to valet. Due to the events one of the days, valet was very busy and congested. Otherwise, our stay was very pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to anyone! June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel but housekeeping problems Overall good stay; restaurant service and food was excellent. However, first two days housekeeping did not pick up used glasses from room and did not leave any replacements as well as no additional bath/hand soap. Had to ask for wash cloths on the third day also. The pillows had no support at all. Staff brought pillows, but they were all the same. Ice machine on my floor was out of order entire four day stay. Also at checkout, staff member neither asked how my stay was or thanked me for staying there. Not usual Sheraton. July 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shuttle and Parking Service is Dismal I waited one hour for the shuttle. I, as well as other guests were angry at the indifference of the shuttle driver. He passed us by on a few occasions and was apparently laughing at us. I hope he gets fired. I finally made it to the hotel and it took 45 minutes to get my car, even though this was 2 am and there was little activity at the hotel. To think I have chosen this hotel in the past for it's convenience! Please get your act together! July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Gateway LAX Hotel Location was ideal, near airport and major roadways. Staff was attentive (shower drain was clogged when we arrived and they fixed it promptly), housekeeping staff was very pleasant and helpful. Walls are paper thin, particularly between adjoining rooms and there is no sound barrier on bottom of adjoining door. Our neighbors were quite loud and it was a problem. Lots of hallway noise also. Bathrooms need updating, shower was very weak. Room was small, but nicely furnished and beds were nice. Gift shop terribly expensive for even the smallest things (like stamps). Pool area and deck chairs were great. Jacuzzi is tiny but great for a party of 2. Onsite food/drink too expensive. Parking behind hotel was a pain and dangerous for women. July 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is user friendly Parking attendants were helpful and courteous which set the tone for our stay. Our room was ready and met our needs - we had plenty of everything. In-room coffee a nice touch. Food was good - both Sat, buffet dinner and Sun. brunch. Front desk personnel very pleasant and accommodating. I'd choose Sheraton again. July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by SOOOO DISAPPOINTED I have to be totally honest with you and tell you that as a Platinum Member with over 60 nights stayed year to date with Starwood Properties, I was insulted that I had to use points to pay for this stay. I surprised my 8yr old for her birthday and took here to LA and wanted to stay near the airport so we would not have to fight LA traffice the morning we left. HUGE MISTAKE! Not ONE thing went well at this hotel and I feel cheated. I waited to cool down after the trip and decided to still write this review a week later. I guess service wasn't very important to the staff there Labor Weekend or they were pre-occupied by the number of guests there but I'm not sure I would ever stay there again even if it were free. #customerservicematters September 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I hoped for...and more! I booked two rooms for a special occasion. I read reviews, but I had never stayed at the hotel and I hoped that the positive feedback I read would be true. Beginning at check-in, my expectations were exceeded and then some. The Corner King Suites and gorgeous! The rooms are big, the beds are wonderfully comfortable, the rooms are impeccably clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. You would not know that you are less than a mile from the airport, the room was serene and quite. The pool area was very nice -- the cabanas were such a nice treat for the kids in our party -- they felt special and important. I would absolutely book another stay at the Sheraton Gateway and I will be recommending your hotel to my friends and family. Thank you!! April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Challenges When I checked in I was asked if I wanted bonus points or other amenities - no one told me that meant that my room would not be cleaned - and my bed would not be made - that was fixed and housekeeping was right on top of the clean up - once they knew of the problem When I turned on the TV - it didn't work - one of the line on the phone didn't work and on my last day there was a bug in the shower - Engineering fixed the TV quickly but the phone was never fixed - when I told the front desk about the bug - they didn't even apologize - July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average experience this time. I've stayed at Sheraton LAX many time before so know the hotel well. Did not expereinced "WOW" factor in customer interaction at the time of check-in and during my stay. Would appreciate if hotel could meet customer expectation especially for repeat customers. Mattress spring noise was very notable. May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lobby bar associates Attempted to work and eat in the lobby bar but after 30 minutes received the menu and after 30 minutes I left because no one took my order, not even a drink order. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel I stay here often and I do like the hotel. Staff is very good and helpful. The one downside is that the condition of the hotel is deteriorating. I often of late find problems with the rooms...with 24 nights spent here in the last 6 months, I have been in alot of rooms. Need to improve awareness of properly working room features...otherwise I find the hotel very convenient and definitely recommend. One slight observation is that they do treat plantinum members well, although I slipped to gold this year and I definitely feel the difference! June 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good First Stay I had a meeting at this Sheraton, and got in to LAX the night before the meeting. The hotel shuttle bus was quick to arrive and it was a very short trip to the hotel. Check in took about 15 minutes with about 10 people in line served by 3 registration workers. The room was very nicely furnished. My only complaint is that these days, WiFi should not be an additional cost of $13 per day. A renown hotel like Sheraton should offer WiFi at no additional cost to its customers. My only choice for dining was the Papparazzi Ristorante. The lasagna was excellent, but the total bill ran almost $40 including iced tea and gratuity. The meeting venue was nice (Seminar Room), and the breakfast and buffet lunch spread was very tasty. Once again, the shuttle bus had me back to my terminal at LAX within 5 minutes. Overall, it was a very nice stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A nice hotel ruined by poor customer service response. Stay was generally pleasant, room was comfortable, check-in smooth and efficient. However, after check-out, I realized that I was charged an Internet Fee in error. The fee was supposed to be included in the rate. After several calls and e-mails to Sheraton Gateway LAX and Starwood, and after almost five months of follow-ups, I STILL HAVE NOT HEARD BACK ABOUT MY DISPUTE. I would get emails to pass the buck around and toss me around to Starwood or Sheraton, and at one point, was even directed to a completely different Sheraton in a different country. This experience has completely soured me with Sheraton and Starwood. It is a shame because in the past I have had generally pleasant experiences with Starwood properties. But the inefficient and total lack of response to a simple dispute is just unacceptable. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality hotel Great location/friendly staff/Great Managment-very accomodating/Club loune excellent July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Friendly staff; don't bother with Sheraton Club The staff in every department were great; from the check-in, to housekeeping, to vallet. We paid $30 a day for the Sheraton Club. That staff was rude and unaccommodating. We were unable to get sodas in the morning, just tea and coffee, neither of which we drink. The lady was in such a hurry to clean up at the time of closing, she was pretty much taking your filled plates off the table. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was subpar in comparison to similar hotels. But it was easy on and off the freeways. We enjoyed our stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stop your searching! This sanctuary by LAX is the best hotel in the area. The staff is wonderful, the pool, hot tub and gym is super clean and open late! the food is great and the management team is the best!! thanks for a wonderful weekend, we loved it so much we stayed an extra day longer! July 21, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 26 next>>