Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

  • 115 Cavendish Square
  • St. Johns,
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • A1C 3K2
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free when accompanied by an adult. Children 5 years and under eat free from Kid's Menu.  Kid's Menu is available for children 12 and under.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 19 years or older to reserve a room. Guests under the age of 19 must be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 205 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a business hotel - noisy!! I stayed for a conference mid-week to the weekend (conference offsite). I had no sleep due to the extreme party nature of the clientele who were extremely loud until 4:30am each night. There was no SPG floor apparently (or it wasn't offered) and the staff I complained to about the noise did nothing. I had to check out very early on my final night (at 3:30am for an early flight) and the hallway was littered with ice trailing to the "party room" and he noise level from the adjacent room was such that I had no need to even worry about me making noise at that early hour. I'd never stay here again even with no other SPG option. And I travel frequently. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great night out! I had not stayed at this hotel for many years, but it's still a class act with very impressive renovations. My wife enjoyed her procedure at the spa while I relaxed in the comfortable lobby bar. Excellent location for dining out, just stroll down Duckworth or Water and you surly find a bar or restaurant that suits the mood. Comfortable rooms and bed, nice view on either side, shame about the weather! However, we could have stayed in the hotel all night and still had a great time. April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved it here We stayed from August 17-19 while in St. John's. When we arrived we got in line to be checked in and it was painfully slow until another staff member came out to help. Our room was facing the city but the view in a hotel room is not the most important thing since I did not travel here to stare out the window. The bed and pillows were wonderful and everything was spotless. The room service card that was left in the room for us to fill out for breakfast in the morning was filled out the second night and put on the doorknob by 3 am as instructed and was taken by morning so we would receive our order by 10:00-10:15 am. This did not happen. The card states that if you do not receive your order in 30 minutes it will be complimentary, so we waited until 10:50 and decided to call to find out where our breakfast was. Apparently they did not get our card which was taken off our door, so I asked the front desk staff about it and we were given two vouchers for the breakfast buffet in the restaurant located in the hotel. This was appreciated considering we just waited almost an hour for a breakfast that was never coming. Samantha was the staff member that helped us with this problem and she is wonderful. The restaurant and the bar in this hotel is great but when the bar is busy like it was Friday night it is a bit of a wait. Parking at this hotel is free and can be a nightmare when returning to hotel when there is a event going on in their area for weddings and such things. But most of the other times there are spaces available. The pool is also lovely and the work out area is being renovated but they have machines set up in a room but I did not go there so I cannot comment on that. Over all this hotel was great, the staff are great and the gift shop is very nice with a wonderful lady that runs that. Although like most other places I've stayed, every time someone lets their door shut you can hear it as plain as day. We also heard the noise in the hallways when people would walk by talking like they were out in the street. Our next trip to St. John's will be in the next few months and this hotel will be a top choice since it was very clean and comfortable and in a great location. August 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great response Called the deck at 1;00am due to extreme loud disturbances from room next door. Security arrived quickly and then the police. This was handled quickly and professionally. Although I couldn't get back to sleep I was pleased to have the hotel security act so quickly. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highlight of our weekend! The staff and the facility exceeded our expectations. No detail is overlooked here. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great views and SPG service Loved the location, room climate controls need to be updated, as they are VERY noisy! Great staff, and great martinis! The seafood chowder is awesome! May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is like coming home Whenever I visit St. John's I stay at the Sheraton on Duckworth. My business trips are usually 2-3 days, and being away from home is hard, but knowing I have the friendly staff and the luxurious rooms at the Sheraton to look forward to, makes it so much easier. The 'biffer' is also a great place to relax after a hard day at the office, with a nice glass of merlot, and their fabulous seafood chowder and mini desserts. It is a nice ending to the day. The staff in the biffer are wonderful, especially the two ladies who've worked there for years, always so welcoming and friendly. I love it. Marilyn September 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I am an SPG gold member, I used to be fully comfortable in the Sheraton series, but this time I was so disappointed by the service, staff, room service, it was a bad experience unfortunately this time. January 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Excellence It was the fist time I have stayed at the Sheraton Newfoundland and the overall experience can be classed as EXCELLENT!!!. The service from the staff, the assistance with our meeting on Saturday, and the quality of the food. I would certainly come back and would recommend it to anyone. Paul Hayes April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The room and bedding we had was very dirty.. When we got there the staff was great at the front desk. When we recieved our key, my wife had to go down stairs three times before we could get in our room. The first two keys would not open the door. So the third time we were given a different room on the third floor..312...The room was very unsatisfactory with regards to clean..The bedding was not fit to sleep in and there was mould in the top corner of the bathroom. We left after several minutes in the room and went downtown St. Johns, just to try and have a good night with our two kids. When we got back my two kids went swimming and I went to the bar downstairs. At about 9:30 we went back to the room and took all the sheets off the and went to sleep.. November 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment start to finish Upon arrival, I was told my credit card was declined, in front of a lobby full of patrons. I used my husbands card called my credit company from the room and was told reception entered the expiry date incorrectly -twice - and that my card was in good standing. The hotel was quite noisy, but it was a busy weekend in the city, no problem there. I ran a marathon and was looking forward to a swim and a soak in the morning, but, again, the facilities were closed. Embarrassment and disappointment for nearly $200? I will try an alternate hotel for my next stay in he city. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff & Renevotaed room The staff were freindly, helpful and always willing to service the need. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. I am of the opinion that the room and its setting was excellent. April 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location Very efficient service. Good location. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hit or Miss on sleeping I look foward and like to stay at this hotel. The people are very professional and friendly. Unfortunately, this time round I was unable to secure a King bed even though I had requested one. In other words, the staff did not meet my needs to securing a King bed. And the comfort of the double bed is nothing compared to the King. I did not sleep that well on the double bed. I slept like a King in previous stays though on the King beds at the hotel! The hotel is close to a great coffee house. I would go back to the hotel! Hopefully better luck nex time. Thanks! December 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Insufficient Internet The room was comfortable, the good bed and a nice view - all great things. Unfortunately, if you are on the lower floors (1 in particular) you will get the chance to look at the view all night because the road noise will keep you awake. If you need to connect to the internet bring a cable for hard wire connection because you will not be able to depend on the wireless - if you get a signal you can loose it at any time. I rate the room comfort as unsatisfactory because of the internet - sitting on the floor by the door trying to work is not comfort. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A big thank you from Toyota had a weeklong meeting at this hotel and would like to thank the staff of Sheraton NL for their always wonderful service and attention to our needs. Special mentions to Edward, Glen & Chris in banquets. Linda and Mary for their awesome room service and Gary at the concierge and Fabian and Danny V for getting my control panel working in my room after it was not operating when I first arrived. And finally to Paul for storing my bins these past two weeks. The very best to you all and I look forward to coming back to Newfoundland again. December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay on business Great place to stay on business, clean and spacious, good business center, friendly and welcoming staff April 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below expectations Have stayed many times however our most recent stay was disappointing. First, our room was now clean. The bathroom was dirty (urine on the toilet) and there were candy wrappers on the floor. We asked to switch rooms and were accommodated however again had to ask to have our bathroom cleaned (hair in the bathtub). Staff did not offer us any upgrade or extra amenities to compensate for the inconvenience. The fitness room was under renovation. We should have been told this upon booking as it we would not have booked if we had known. August 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what I'd hoped for The Sheraton St Johns is my preferred hotel in the city. This last visit did to meet my expectations. Room 139 was positioned awkwardly in the hotel, and the heating/cooling was extremely noisy. I was most disappointed that the pool family was closed and I was not informed of that when I booked. This left for a dismal stay when staying with a child. I had I known, I would have rebooked elsewhere for this stay. The manager on duty did not apologize for this, or make any suggestions as to where else we could swim in the city. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome stay! Great place to stay with family. Wonderful experience and very helpful staff. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Homely and professional The staff are friendly and welcoming. Many have worked at the hotel for many years which is a good indicator of high quality. Fridge: all rooms should have a fridge as it is a homely asset. Green choice: good concept in support of environmental conservation but inconsistent implementation – recycling bins (daily?), towels and sheets (after every four nights?). SPG Club lounge: problems with servicing at breakfast – skimmed milk, Bechel spread, coffee machine, inexperienced staff – need some team support. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meal in Room My stay at the hotel was excellent. However, breakfast served in the room was very expensive. $35 for French toast, juice and coffee (tip included). March 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few issues but nice hotel Nice hotels and facilities. Bed was comfortable. Great gym. Bar server was really friendly. There was mold around the bathtub in the caulking that I think is unacceptable (room 520). Room was around the corner from the elevators and was a bit noisy (hallway noise flows easily into room under the door) but the whitenoise from the heater fan helped to block that out. Also, the bedside lights and alarm clock were unplugged when I checked in and I had to dig around to find out where the plugs for these were. December 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful staff Helpful front desk staff. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location and really friendly staff This hotel was a very pleasant experience. The staff was warm and welcoming. As an SPG member, they upgraded me to a lovely room with an amazing view of the harbour and the town. The bed was very comfortable, the room was a nice size and I really liked the porthole window and the fantastic view from the bed. The breakfast was overpriced, but no more than other hotels (a pet peeve). The only real complaint I have is that they gave some people in my group a 50% meal discount coupon and we did not all receive one. March 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is perfectly located for hiking around Signal Hill and Government House and exploring Water/Duckworth streets and the Harbour area. The staff are truly friendly and the view of the harbour (if your room has the view ) is a considerable asset day or night. However having had a long history with the Newfoundland Hotel... I must admit I have concerns. Considering the rate and being a SPG member the idea of charging for local calls is cheap and the bottled water, complimentary in many hotels around the world is ridiculously priced. However my main concern is with the bathrooms, at least in the two rooms I had. Both definitely need upgrading. Nevertheless the positives (staff, parking, location and harbour view) would lead me to still recommend the hotel. October 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old Garbage in My Room There was someone's food garbage still in the garbage can. Wasn't a comfortable feeling March 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check in process, room ammenities We booked a corner room, and just before we arrived, we got an e-mail to upgrade to Club level. I accepted the upgrade and on check in, I found we had lost the corner room in the process. At no place on the upgrade e-mail did it say we would lose the corner room. The check in person said, and I quote, "We did not say you would keep it either". That response tainted our whole visit. After the second day, room amenities were not replenished, even though requested of hotel staff, more than twice. September 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular View of St. John's Harbour Walking into the larger than average room I was immediately drawn to the picture perfect view of the harbour narrows, colourful Battery homes & Cabot Tower on Signal Hill. Many of the travel guides "must see" list was virtually right out our window. Clean, fresh & comfortable with the friendliest of staff greeting us every day. The Oppidan Restaurant is not to be missed & our only regret is that we didn't try it sooner in our stay. Definitely, have the Caesar salad made at the table. August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay! We spent a mini vacation on Saturday night, Jan 25th. The room was lovely and we had an amazing meal at the hotel, the food is the best we have had in the city - hands down. Friendly staff and good service. The next morning I went to the gym only to find excellent coffee awaiting me right outside the doors! We really enjoyed the stay and will recommend this hotel to anyone- even in the dead of winter! January 27, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>