Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid government issued identification to reserve and to check in to a guestroom.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 745 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing I arrived at the hotel and our reservation was incorrect. It took us 45 minutes to check-in that is Ridiculous. After all of that we got, we are sorry it took so long, next guest please. I wasn't explained pears I'm getting with my stay being a member. Then 2nd day of my tay a drilling noise in the wall walk me up. After 2 houses i decided to call front desk. IT took them another hour to make the noise stop. Had a very below average stay. Not sure I will come back. On my last day i found out there was a pool, so i took advantage of that. It was very nice but well hidden. November 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by problem with gluten-free meals At the ITAA conference - the meals that were provided for people who need gluten-free was not acceptable. There was a sauce used that had wheat in it. my colleague and I have severe allergies if we eat wheat. - the staff who were catering to the ITAA meals were not knowledgeable on gluten-free - problem with wheat. - the staff were not mindful/caring about our needs - when I was presented with food that I was not comfortable eating - the wait staff rolled her eyes - I am notifying the ITAA conference in regards to the problem. Positive feedback - Staff in the lounge area near the front desk were accommodating to our needs. October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love this hotel!!! We are Saints Season Ticket holders and the Sheraton is our favorite hotel. We stay here every visit unless it's completely booked. The staff, hotel and rooms are amazing. I was disappointed this past weekend when we stayed when the Starbuck's was being remodeled. Luckily there was another one only a block down. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Close to the French Quarter, Harrahs, the Outlet Mall and not too far from the Superdome! Plus, the streetcar picks up right outside! You will love staying here!!! November 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Yet I've been an SPG member for 3 years and it seems Sheraton just continues to go downhill. First of all, there is no parking at the hotel unless you pay $43 a night or park after 6pm on the street. The closest, cheaper parking is 4 blocks away and I had my disabled mother-in-law with us, so that wasn't happening. We ordered room service the first night and they messed up my wives order multiple times even after calling the room service folks multiple times. She's highly allergic to avacado's and for some reason the guys in the restaurant felt that meant she wanted extra. Not sure how that works out- but, whatever. The second night we were there our neighbors starter partying at 12:30. We called the front desk at 1:30- security finally came at 3am. I had a business meeting at 7am. No fun. Then, the next morning I go to the elevator banks to find puke outside the door- I go to the desk and report it and head to my meeting. Eight hours later, I return to find the puke is still on the floor. This was the last straw for us. We won't be using Sheraton again- I'd rather pay more for another hotel outside of my SPG membership than stay with them again. August 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by $44 a night for parking??? My husband and I had a great stay, after we got over the check-in process. The parking situation is outrageous!!! We paid for a room and then had to pay an additional fee to park our vehicle. We were not allowed to go get my sunglasses, or umbrella out of the car, belt had to bring it to us, and guess what, they wanted a tip.... The only other problem we experienced was with the RUDE bell hop! I didn't get his name, but he treated my husband and I like we were idiots because he wanted to carry my purse and my husbands briefcase and we were planning on carrying those ourselves. He can have the suitcases, fine, but I can handle my purse, I guess he was expecting a tip based per item??!? August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is centrally located to landmarks. Hotel staff was extremely helpful & courteous - even when we had to ask several times about the "trolley services". The recommended sites/tours suggested during our short stay were not disappointing by any means- just wish we had more time to explore. The WWII Museum and a stop at Café DuMonde for their famous beignet's were highlights of our trip. November 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed My stay here was very disappointing considering I had higher expectations staying in a Sheraton hotel. We were given a room by the elevators so there was constant noise in the room. No free breakfast so we had to pay for a $22 breakfast buffet because with our conference we didn't have time to go elsewhere. We ran out of toilet paper and it took over 30 minutes and 3 phone calls later to finally have some delivered to the room. And I'm not big on staying at high-end hotels but even the low budget hotels have a microwave and fridge in every room. The room was clean and the staff were friendly but those were the only positives. I don't plan to stay here again. December 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over priced...be prepared to pay through the nose! The location is great being on the edge of the French Quarter. For such a super large hotel the staff seemed to be too busy to attend customers and with their issues. The hotel lobby seemed to always have cleanliness issues; the Canal St. entrance was filthy dirty, cigarette butts and smelled of poo. #1 problem: the ridiculously outrageous overpriced unreasonable parking fee of $39/ night +tax = $45/night -You have no choice but to pay it, because there is next to no public parking. ....And didn't get any SPG points for it too! Other problems: No free wifi: Expensive wifi; tiny pool, Buffet breakfast food was cold and very very expensive. Drinks were very expensive. Room had no refrigerator or microwave. Loud and noisy hotel guests partying all night with paper thin room walls. SPG membership means nothing here! ...for a tourist destination hotel...it is very UN-welcoming and seems to really cater to the business travelers who spend the money! We just wanted a romantic weekend in the French Quarter ...not a hole in our wallet! August 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel but room for improvement The Sheraton New Orleans is beautiful, and the meeting accommodations on the second floor were excellent. The food served during our conference was the best I have ever had at an event such as this. However, I had difficulty with getting something brought to my room in a timely manner, and there were cleanliness issues with my room. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Gala We attended a Gala hosted at the hotel and stayed overnight. The facilities were gorgeous, and the staff members were courteous and attentive to our needs. The food was exceptional and exceeded our expectations - a pleasant surprise based on past experience with similar functions at other locations. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional Business Conference Enjoyed the clleaniness and very nice surroundings November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel We had read reviews about the location and property before we booked, which were mostly positive. The location was perfect, we were right where all the action was but yet far enough away that we were not submerged in it. The room was great and very clean. All staff was very accommodating, friendly and eager to please. The pool is a little small but we knew that before we went. It was perfect enough to take a dip on a very hot day. We would absolutely book at this property again . September 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Bad Experience I came to New Orleans as part of a large, international medical meeting. I came with my wife and we had registered her for both the meeting and the hotel. She was treated like a second rate citizen the ENTIRE time at the hotel. She was ignored at breakfast when as she most often does, went alone. She compained and was ignored, we had to go to the manager at least twice. The ONLY truly remarkable person we encountered in the hotel was a cocktail waitress named KESHA!!! She should be promoted to manger. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Parking We could not get someone (live) on the phone before our arrival to ask about parking. Valet parking was very over priced in my opinion, $42 and some change. If I would have know this ahead of time, we could have made other arrangements, cab or a friend. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Staff, Best Hotel I moved to Sheraton after I had a bad experience with W hotel in New Orleans. It was one of the best hotels that I visited this year. I would like to Thank Ryu from the front disk he was so helpful and understandable. I really appreciated everything managed by Sheraton New Orleans, they deserve 5 stars November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond Expectations Me and several guests stayed at this hotel for my wedding. To say they went above and beyond is an understatement. The facilities are immaculate and the location as good as it gets in New Orleans, but that's only the beginning. The entire staff, from check in to bar to housekeeping were as pleasant as any SPG hotel I've stayed at. I will without question stay at this property anytime I'm back in New Orleans. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely heavenly ! I absolutely loved the beautiful floral fragrance the hotel had that I noticed upon entering the lobby. The hospitality of all of the hotel staff was unbelievable, second to none. I had a beautiful view and my room was ready even though I was four hours early. I will stay there again the next time I'm in New Orleans. November 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel was overpriced For the price paid I did NOT expect to have broken blinds in my room and dirty socks left under the bed. In addition the bed skirt had some sort of stain on it. I have stayed there several times in the past and NEVER had any issues. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most AMAZING STAY! I cannot say enough good things about our recent experience at the Sheraton! The complete staff made our accommodations and guest accommodations amazing! From Virnis to Alisa the staff went above and beyond making my wedding weekend amazing!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone as their level of service and attention to detail is far superior to anywhere we have stayed previously! November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The place to stay. This is the place to stay in New Orleans. It is centrally located and has great amenities. November 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel review and comments Tub did not drain satisfactorily. Maid service only every few days. Lobby security repeatedly asked my wife, but not me, for identification and I was with her! Lobby bar poorly run and items poorly signaged; single attendant did not know where we could obtain butter, I had to use the back-end of a fork as a knife, as there were no knives. TV primitive. The accompanying writing guidelines demonstrates that you want only positive reviews. Employees all helpful and friendly and knowledgeable. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So comfortable The room had a fantastic view. It was very spacious and the bed was great. Only negative was the TV and the channels. Ok if you like sports! Great staff too. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay!!! Everything is top notch at this hotel!!! My only complaint is the maids were a little noisy in the hallway. Almost like the carts were banging. Beds wonderful and super comfortable. Staff super friendly and attentive!! September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room, great view, awful pillows! The hotel is very well located. Staff was very pleasant. Room was very nice, and our river view was spectacular. Asked the housekeeper for extra coffee fixings and never got it. Biggest thing is the pillows are AWFUL! One was flat, and the other lumpy. I usually travel with my own pillow, and didn't this time. Big mistake. Overall, very nice hotel, but bring your own pillow. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conference Ready This hotel has wonderful resources for conferences. There are spacious rooms--and lots of them--for larger meetings. Our conference had well over 1,000 attendees, yet there never seemed to be an overcrowded space. My room was very comfortable and had an excellent view of the Aquarium and the Mississippi. I participated in the Green program, which means the staff doesn't replenish towels, change sheets, and so on. I was unaware, however, that this apparently means that trash doesn't get taken out either. After three days, I had to specifically ask that my trash be removed. When I next returned to the room, I found that the staff had done sheets, towels, and light cleaning, as well. The hotel is within walking distance to the French Quarter area, Cafe du Monde, Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, the Audubon Aquarium and Butterfly Exhibit, and many other well-known NOLA sights. Overall, this hotel is well-kept and well-staffed. For business or personal trips, I would definitely recommend the Sheraton to others visiting the city. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best hotel i ever been in This is the most expensive hotel I ever been in. Was it worth the price? I reckon, although I can't compare it to a like hotel. It was the only room available for me. I would recommend it if price isn't an issue. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would have thought the room would have a small refrigerator and microwave. October 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay over Halloween, 2014 I stayed at Sheraton Canal Street with a friend over the Halloween weekend. The hotel has been beautifully remodeled from my previous stays. Everything was clean and fresh. We only had one negative incident with staff. A valet who was hailing cabs for other guests turned to us after we'd been standing there for a few minutes and informed us that he wasn't getting cabs for anyone else - us included. I'm not sure why the other guests were assisted and we weren't, but it was very irritating - particularly since we'd been standing there waiting. November 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ups and downs Pros: great location. Strong wireless signal and good internet speed. Beautiful view of the city from 35th floor. 'Smart' elevator system a definite plus, dramatically cuts down wait-time for lifts. Able to find street parking with some patience and perseverance, so potential to save the 40+ valet fees. Cons: room did not have a mini-fridge, coffee maker or complementary tea/coffee. November 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible This hotel was so bad that it makes me consider never staying at a Sheraton again. Overall service was slow. There was no sense of urgency. Why was the business center close all weekend. There was no advance notice about construction. I understand that construction has to take place but at other hotels I've stayed at provide notification and apologize for any inconvenience. Took almost 30 minutes for an order scrambled eggs. In the fitness center, supplies went missing during the weekend and magically reappear on Tuesday. Hmm??? Check out was horrible. Only two agents for a LONG line of customers. I will never stay at this hotel again. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun NOLA Great Hotel - Fun lobby, close to everything NOLA! November 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>