Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 362 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs better staff I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference. At first glance, the hotel seemed to be perfect. However, it all started to go downhill when I started to ask the staff a few simple questions. Not only did the staff have no idea where certain conference events were held but also they oddly refused to ask their manager about it. Needless to say, I spent most of my time running around the hotel trying to find where I was suppose to go for the conference. Moreover, the concierge led us to extremely tourist-y places when we indicated that we wanted to experience local things. I would recommend staying at this hotel but the hotel definitely needs to get better staff, or at least staff who know how to answer a customer's question. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location This hotel has a great location near Bourbon Street and other things to do while in New Orleans. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has excellent features. The hotel was awesome! The rooms were impeccable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel nice However We arrived at 1 am in the morning after traveling all day to find out that our room was given away even after I called twice to let them know that we wouldn't be their until 1am on Sat March 1st By the time we got into a room that had no beds in it and had to go back to the desk again and fought to get beds in the room it was about 4am which just ruined the next day as well as the night of arrival I think we should not be charged for that first night stay However I would like to say that the Hotel itself was beautiful and the stall on a whole were very nice The manager did try his best to make us happy unfortunetly without rooms available it was almost impossible to do that as you can well understand March 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel in great condition only stayed one night but it was a good experience. the room was in great condition. very clean and comfortable. March 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has really poor service. The room service was really poor. I was waiting on the phone for 10 mins each time. I was then told I could not order breakfast without using the card (but there was there was no breakfast card in the room and no one would take the order without the card). I rang Guest Services and they took the order, but the breakfast was not delivered. I had an important meeting with analysts and had no food until 2pm due to this. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Customer Service I want to thank Ruth Carter the reservation coordinator for being so helpful in responding to my email with questions about rooms. So many organizations have an email link on their web site, but never take time to answer you. Ruth responded the next business day, and was extremely helpful. If everyone at the Sheraton is that nice, I'm sure I will enjoy my stay next week. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Location This hotel met all of our needs, the staff from the Bellman to the Hotel manager were outstanding. The only two negative experiences we had was the Lobby Bar did not know how to set a table for an evening meal when the normal resturant was booked for a private party and the other was the kitchen was not well managed. They didn't know what the menu description of a item was and what they served and the were not prepared to meet the needs of the guest at the breakfast buffet as man item were always out or were before the line would get thru. We had a fantastic stay. March 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conference Ready This hotel has wonderful resources for conferences. There are spacious rooms--and lots of them--for larger meetings. Our conference had well over 1,000 attendees, yet there never seemed to be an overcrowded space. My room was very comfortable and had an excellent view of the Aquarium and the Mississippi. I participated in the Green program, which means the staff doesn't replenish towels, change sheets, and so on. I was unaware, however, that this apparently means that trash doesn't get taken out either. After three days, I had to specifically ask that my trash be removed. When I next returned to the room, I found that the staff had done sheets, towels, and light cleaning, as well. The hotel is within walking distance to the French Quarter area, Cafe du Monde, Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, the Audubon Aquarium and Butterfly Exhibit, and many other well-known NOLA sights. Overall, this hotel is well-kept and well-staffed. For business or personal trips, I would definitely recommend the Sheraton to others visiting the city. November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ray's Review Great location and great hotel. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff The staff was so friendly and made me feel special. They recommended a place to eat (Palace Cafe) and it was marvelous. The room was comfy and it was a nice way to end my cruise before heading home. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful View of the City and River I loved the view from my room, which had wonderfully updated and modern features. The full length window with shutters that opened all the way allowed for a beautiful view of the River and the city sky line to the River. I enjoyed my time at the Sheraton. February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is very friendly The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly from the front desk to the wait staff and bartenders. They made you feel very welcome. The hotel is an excellent place for a conference and close to all of the local attractions. My stay was very pleasant and I would recommend the hotel to everyone. February 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concierge/Tour Desk Amazing service Everyone working at the concierge desk was top notch. They were extremely knowledgeable and gracious in assisting those of us new to your wonderful city. Every recommendation they made resulted in a perfect evening or outing. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful location - Great staff! Four of us stayed in two rooms for a long weekend which included the Rock 'n Roll Marathon. The Sheraton's location was absolutely perfect, for the race as well as for MANY sight seeing opportunities. Not only did the staff do all they could to help the runners, from providing safety pins to opening Starbucks at 4:30 AM, but it was also Super Bowl weekend, and the staff turned the lobby into a fantastic viewing area. Other plusses were the fitness center, one of the nicest I've used, and the incredible river view we had from our room. Our only negative was a shortage of hot water, depending on the time we showered. However, it was nothing we could not deal with. Overall, our experience at the New Orleans Sheraton on Canal Street was very positive. I cannot compliment the staff enough, from the car valet to the bellmen to the front-desk staff, everyone was welcoming, helpful, professional, and so very nice. Excellent hotel choice! February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! We really enjoyed our stay. We had a beautiful view of the French Quarters. My only problem was our room was right next to the elevator and we heard it go up and down all night. Our room number was 3413. But overall a great stay. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always look forward to my stay in New Orleans This property does it right. the front desk is always friendly with greetings, efficient, great location and if upgraded, the suites are so nice. Standard rooms are very nice as well. Blaine in the lounge is just wonderful. I'm headed back this way in a week and am looking forward to yet another perfect stay. February 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy We were there for a 4night/5day stay. There is something going on in the walls there that make this annoying swooshing noise. There were large thick cable wires that banged against the side of the building ALL NIGHT LONG!! I called the desk who informed me of what it was. I asked to be move and they said we would be first on the list and would call when ready. Call never came and I had to physically go down and demand another room March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location We came in for two days after a wedding in FL. We live in NYC and work at a hotel. We were always greeted warmly by the valet and bellman. We stored our luggage and they were amazing. We did have a few bumps. When we entered our room (2501), you were greeted by the stitch of smoke. It was sooooo strong and my nose always was tingling. Around 830-9am Monday morning, we were awoken by this terrible noise that sounded like we were in the middle of of lawn mower and weed waker. I called guest services to find out what was going on.... She told me to look out my window and see if there were workers cleaning (there was). She NEVER apologized.. Working at a NYC hotel , I understand this BUT a little disclaimer or warning would be nice. Being an employee of a starwood hotel we receive 50% off room service. Prior to ordering our chicken caesar, my husband let them know we had a starhot discount. When our food arrived, there was no discount. So I called Janelle to let her know there was no discount... she said she would send the room service attendant back because I had to give (not show) my card to them in order to get my discount (I have never had to physically give my card to be returned later)..she never sent them back. We waited for an hour. My husband then called the front desk (3am now) and was reassured that the discount would be applied and would be reflected on our folio (it was not). Now I have to call and deal with this unfortunate situation. On the plus, we got food to go from the breakfast spot and the woman who I ordered from (at the host stand), was amazing! She was very pleasant,and knowledgeable. I let her know about my discount...she immediately gave me the discount. Very professional. We, also, got coffee in the bar area. We were greeted by a very sweet and professional server (short blonde hair). Both March 11th morning. We always try to visit the F&B outlets, because I work in one (my livelihood). March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by green program rip-off "took advantage" of Green program for idea of earth-positive reasons – and I am willing to use sheets for three nights and there were ample towels for the length of my stay. But to NOT have my waste baskets emptied or my paper (what happened to earth-friendly – wouldn't a reusable mug work better/) coffee cups – 2 for 3 days – NOT being replaced is not sanitary. Plus, the redeeming of the $5 voucher was misrepresented – NOT usable even foe a Coke on the gift shop and was told by the clerk in that shop it was not usable at the bar only to find out at checkout that was untrue. All in all NOT a well run program for an operation the size of yours!!!!!! September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Sheraton at Mardi Gras We had a wonderful time staying at the Sheraton on Canal Street for the weekend before Mardi Gras. The facility and staff are first rate, and the location is perfect. Access to our vehicle was always prompt; checkout on Sunday morning, while chaotic at other hotels in the area, was very fast and smooth. My only complaint was the charge for internet access. We paid premium rates for this time block and a minimum stay; loading internet fees on top of this is just a bit greedy. March 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dropped the Ball Great Location but kept making promises they could not seem to keep. Staff were nice and tried but were clearly understaffed for the busy weekend. They needed to hire more housekeeping for the weekend when they were totally full to get rooms cleaned and turned over. Restaurant took over 30 minutes to get our food after we ordered and it was nothing special. Overall, they did not plan for well for a busy and very visiable weekend. March 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Change for the worst There was a shoe laying between the beds in our room, trash on the floor and the bathtub was dirty. March 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mardi Gras 2014 WE have stayed at this location of Sheraton for this event each of the last 9 years and we love it here & have no plans to change but we have had billing issues most of those years - this year no exception. I will be contacting the hotel after the Mardi Gras season ends to discuss it with management there with hopes of resolving it March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time impressions For a hotel with over 1,000 rooms, the staff here made us feel as if we were their only guests. From the car valet to the outstanding check-in experience, the staff at this hotel does an outstanding job of personalized service and attention to detail. In particular, Mika, the Club Concierge Supervisor, was most gracious and made us feel at home. We simply can't commend the management and staff enough for a wonderful time. March 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement I stayed at this hotel for a conference and was not impressed. My priority concern was the vagrants allowed in the lobby with no security to prevent them from harassing guests. Staff was not helpful or friendly in conference or at concierge. I asked if there was cheaper public parking (as charging $43 a day should be a crime) and all the concierge said was I think so you just need to drive around. There was a roach on the food table during the conference, ice machine room extremely loud, rooms need better sound proofing, being woken at 5am from laundry is unacceptable. Only positive is location, centrally located. October 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from Home I work in New Orleans, so I spend more time here than my own apartment :) I had to stay at another hotel last week because Sheraton was booked and I then realized how much I appreciate Sheraton NOLA. They know how to make you feel at home and always treat you professionally and respectfully. The gym is nice and spacious. The club lounge has delicious apps and a great view. The rooms are clean and comfy. The staff is attentive and responsive. Haven't checked the pool out yet, but people seem to like it. The location is wonderful, you can walk to most places from here or take a short cab ride. Get a high floor if you can because the views are great city or riverside - doesn't matter. I feel at home. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Very nice stay I was sort of hesitant about this hotel after reading some of the reviews...but I can honestly say most of the reviews on here are not correct. The hotel was very nice, the room was clean and also very comfortable. The only negative I have about this stay is the buffet breakfast price...it was almost $50 for 2 breakfast buffets...that was crazy in my opinion...very OVER priced...but other than that...I would stay here again, and find another place to go eat for breakfast! February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location We went to New Orleans and stayed at the Sheraton for our anniversary. The Sheraton is in a great location, very close to the French Quarter, the River, the French Market, Jackson Square, etc. It is in a great location as it is away from the noise of the French Quarter yet minutes away on foot to all tourist attractions. We were lucky enough to get a suite and to have access to the Club Lounge. The suite was beautiful and we had a great view. As at all Sheraton's the bed was very comfortable and the room had couches, chairs, 2 TVs, small kitchen, etc. The staff at the Club Lounge was very friendly and very nice and the food at breakfast and snack time was really great. We ate breakfast there every day and enjoyed the company of the other guests as well as the staff. We had an issue with the fridge in our suite and in minutes, a new fridge was installed - very accommodating. We'd read about the elevator system in advance so different from others, we thought it was great. Perhaps the front desk could warn guests before they go to the elevators for those who do not read up on that feature in advance. Although we are not likely to visit New Orleans again, if we did we would definitely stay at the Sheraton again. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent The check-in process was really quick. Kim took care of checking us in and upgrading us in just a few minutes (we were even able to check-in a few hours early, too!). It was a great start to our trip. The room was spacious and the king bed was comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean. Our view of the Mississippi from the 45th floor was great! We walked in to the French Quarter everyday- the location is perfect for ease of walking to the quarter, aquarium, and river. My only complaint is about the $38/night parking. I think it seems a bit excessive, but parking was expensive all over the quarter. We'll definitely return to this hotel. January 21, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>