Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 587 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a classy hotel that is in the middle of all the attractions Hotel staff was very professional and friendly. Enjoyed the refreshments when we checked in, especially the cookies. I can't wait to return next year. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just the little things I stayed at the Sheraton for a wedding weekend, and had no major problems. For the Sheraton name and the cost of the room, I had higher expectations. A mini-bar is certainly not necessary, but a small fridge is the norm and was not available without ordering it and paying a fee. My key deactivated 3 times: the first time, they sent someone up to let me in, but I had to go down to the desk and get another key (during the wedding reception!), the second and third times I went to the desk and was nonchalantly told "this should work." In total, I spent a good portion of the afternoon and evening of a lovely wedding reception dealing with room access. There also seemed to be a shortage of valet/bellmen. Again, not a necessity, but with costly valet parking, I certainly had higher expectations. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was perfect for the conference The layout and location of the hotel worked best for this conference. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by BIGG EL IN THE BIG EASY GREAT HOTEL CLOSE TO EVERYTHING WALKING IS EASY.......BEDS ARE GREAT.....NICE PEOPLE BUT BREAKFAST IS WAY TOO HIGH......FROM LAWRENCE IN NEW YORK July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel and location! Although there were issue with the elevators, the staff was very attentive and helpful, and they did their best in a difficult situation. I can't wait to come back! Thank you! June 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My experience was unsatisfactory I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The food service was lacking and did nor T offer quality services. On the second day there was a power failure on the hig rise floors. I was on the. 37 th floor and the elevators only went to 29. The hotel had one elevator operational and the wait exceeded 30 minutes. Alternatively I walked up and down from 37 to 29. Additionally the tv was out the elevator remained out of service for the rest of the stay there was no room service because if thus and the restaurant in the hotel, when operational, closed at 2:00 in the afternoon. I would not stay at this hotel again nor would I recommend it to anyone June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Essence 2014 "GREAT"!!!! Hotel was in a great location and the service was excellent!!!! July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nightmare Experience I stayed at this hotel previously with a decent experience, so I'm disappointed to have to give such a negative review for my return stay. Bottom line, I will not be staying at this property ever again. I was a guest at this property for a convention from 6/17/14 -6/20/14. Check-in was relatively quick - only issue there was the amount of hold they would place on my card for incidentals, so I opted to pay a cash deposit, which was refundable upon checkout. The first night's stay was up to par with the typical large chain hotel. The final two nights were nothing short of a nightmare. A power outage in the building caused placed all but one high-rise elevator out of service (I was on the 47th floor.) Signs were placed on each floor that you had to text someone to call the sole working elevator to your floor. I was without television or air conditioning for five hours (June in NOLA is swampy, so this was an extreme inconvenience.) This continued until the moment I checked out, which was the absolute worst experience of the entire stay. By that time, the high-rise elevators were totally down. I had to walk down (from the 47th floor) 22 flights of stairs, WITH MY BAGS, to catch an actual working elevator to the lobby level. When I finally got down to the front desk to checkout and get my cash refund for the unused incidentals, the lines were snaking all across the lobby and my airport shuttle was waiting. I tried to catch one of the front desk agents to help me just get the cash refund so that I could make it to the airport in time, but her flippant response was, "You'll make your flight. The lines aren't that long. Just be patient." REALLY??? By the way, I have not yet been offered any concessions whatsoever for this horrific stay. So, in a nutshell, feel free to come here if you really want insolent staff, impolite treatment, and the possibility that you will be walking up 47 flights of stairs just to make it to your substandard hotel room. Or, you can save the extra headache and choose many of the other delightful properties that New Orleans has to offer. The choice is yours. Me? I'll be at a non-Starwood property. Laissez les bon temps rouler. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Food Service For three different meals, one lunch and two dinners, there were long delays getting the food to the table. While the quality of the food was acceptable, there were extensive delays in preparing the food. One day the maid service removed the used bath towels but did not replace them. This was not noticed until I was in the shower and noticed only one bath towel for two people. As we were in a hurry, one of us had to go without a shower. After a phone call, additional towels were provided but this was an oversight that should not have happened. I was attending a large meeting and due to extensive renovations, meeting rooms were being reassigned at the very last minute (within hours of the meetings) which cause confusion. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff! Thank you to Sandra B and Angelle W for hosting a great event! June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great view This property has a great view of the city and the river. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel has a great location but needs a few improvements The hotel it's self was beautiful, great bar area with lots of local art work and photography on display. Had a pool which was nice on the 8th floor, kinda small but will do the job. Upon check in the front desk staff very nice and accommodating, she said I requested a handicap room which I did not request. I didn't want a room with the handicap tub so we ended up taking one for a deaf person (which is great they had that many options for different handicaps, including a lift into the pool). My problems were in the room, looked clean on surface but I saw ring around the toilet, the black moldy kind (first day I thought it was markings or paint) so I didn't mention it to my husband. Third day he mentioned it, I told him that the hotel promises to thoroughly clean the room and change all bedding after the third day. So I didn't do anything. Fourth day came back to hotel and checked toilet, still hadn't been cleaned enough and they never changed the bedding, I had spilled a bit on water on bedding which left water stains. It looked like the same bedding. All in all, the cleanliness was the only problem. I wanted a clean room from the start.. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay all around! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton New Orleans! In total we had 4 rooms booked for a group of 9 and all rooms were exceptional. Quick and friendly front desk representatives. We also appreciated the security staff checking guest room keys late at night to keep people from wandering up and causing trouble. (We all know how rowdy New Orleans can get!!) Great location and a starbucks in the lobby what else can you ask for!! July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs Major Improvement I am a Starwood Preferred member and try to stay at one of the properties on all of my business travels (3x times a month). I was extremely disappointed in the Sheraton New Orleans. They put me in a room that shared a wall with an elevator shaft so I had to try and sleep with the sounds of people talking waiting for the elevator and it moving up and down between floors every night. Additionally, I called for a wake up call for an early morning, and the front desk called me an hour early after one of these sleepless nights because they had written the hour down wrong. When I had to wake up for my 6am flight out of New Orleans, I tried to take a shower to find that there was no hot water to be had at 4am. Not a pleasant stay at all, will be staying elsewhere on my next trip down. June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by AACE International I was late by one day from the cut off date for making reservation for our stay. Our group rate was $164 but I was charged $209 for being late. Although we had received a note from our association that the lower rate will be honored. We were there for three nights for Board meetings. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding stay The Sheraton New Orleans made our stay very comfortable. As well as our wedding guests and most importantly the bride and groom. The Governer's Suite had plenty of room and lacked nothing. We would definitely do it all over again if we could. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trip for APSAC The restaurant staff were unresponsive; I left after not being spoken to after 5 minutes. Three different soda machines did not work on three different floors. Bathrooms were not functional on the floors where my conference occurred. June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Food and Beverage Quality of the food and selection is not worth the price. Paid the most I have ever paid for two banquet dinners to receive the worst meal. The pricing for bottled beers and pop was way over priced. Would not recommend this hotel for any food or beverage offerings. Recommend you find an independent food operator focused on improved quality, larger selection and greater value for guests. Great location with very poor food offerings and pricing structure. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton consistency As has always been the case with my Sheraton stays, the service and room was wonderful. This location on Canal St. is perfect for walking or taking the trolley to all the places you want to visit. I had a great view of the river - love the full length windows! June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by How Hotels Can Help You Survive Conventions The NOLA Sheraton on Canal St. was superb for conventioneers. Cloud like beds and spaciousness were winning key ingredients for the weary. Spectacular views from the 37th floor of NOLA and the Mississippi! The Canal St. Sheraton had the most gracious and helpful staff I've ever had the pleasure to meet. They made each guest feel at home. Excellent Starwood Prefered Guest program, superb benefits for members. Special thanks to the porters,they were beyond helpful with our luggage and hailing a taxi. Housekeeping warm and friendly as well. Observation: The leather chairs in our room needed a good dusting, other than that, very clean and welcoming. I wish there had been a refrigerator in the room due to traveling companions who needed medications kept refrigerated. I've decided that the Sheraton will be my home away from home! Thank you! May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is very spacious Some hotels feel very cramped especially in large cities where space is limited but that's not the case here - in the public areas or the rooms themselves. We stayed as part of a conference and pre-paid for our group and there was significant confusion with several members of our group that they had not pre-paid or that they were marked a no-show (we all came in on different days.) July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is wonderful! The hotel room/bed was very comfortable. Close to all attractions/restaurants in French Quarter. The staff was very helpful and friendly. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gr8 location Everything is wonderful except for the petite pool. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was friendly but getting rooms cleaned was iffy Check in was lengthy because the computers went down just as we arrived but staff worked hard to keep us informed until service was restored. We requested a refrigerator for meds at reservation and again at check in. After calling the next morning we finally got it. For two of three days, our room was not made up until we called late in the afternoons. On other hand we found that all staff was friendly and anxious to help. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by On going Problems The first afternoon of my stay a leak somewhere in my room or hallway caused a lot of water to soak into the rug. My suitcase and some clothes were soaked, and I had to move to another room. It now looks as though they were aware of this problem ahead of time and still put me in the room. Then the high tech elevator system broke down, staying out of service for 40 hours. Although some service was available, getting up and down from your room required a lot of walking, and much patience.The one positive in this was the staff did handle this situation with grace. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel in Crisis Management Mode When we visited, the hotel was in full crisis management mode. A major power failure had knocked out most elevator service to the the top 20 floors and power to some rooms. The crisis took about 36 hours to resolve and involved much extra work for staff but the staff seemed to deal with the issues in a calm, friendly and professional manner. For example when I advised Geraldine at Guest Services that my wife was afraid of being on one of the floors lacking elevator service we were promptly moved to a lower floor with full elevator service. We were most appreciative of Geraldine's help. Despite the power failure we had a very good experience in this hotel. Management is to be congratulated. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, awesome view! The hotel was ideally located within walking distance of Bourbon Street, the WWII Museum, and Aquarium. We opted for thr Green Option (no maid service), and promptly got extra towels and shampoo when requested. The room took awhile to cool and the coffee service lacked cream and sugar which were quickly provided upon request. The second night we did not receive our $5 Green Option voucher. When I called, I was told to come to the front desk. But after some discussion, it was finally brought to my room. There was a small dog that stayed in the room across the hall that occasionally barked. I was surprised a hotel of this quality allowed pets. The rooftop pool was lacking a jacuzzi and the view was nonexistent. The mandatory valet parking was steeply priced at $42/night but the service was good. Overall the stay was pleasant. June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms Needed Cleaning I travel for work and am in and out of hotels all the time. When I went into the restroom to bathe, I noticed hairs on the toilet and in the shower that were not mine. There also seemed to be more scum than normal. My colleague mentioned there was a giant stain on one of the beds (bedding) in his room- he thought it could have been coffee. I'm not totally anal about some of these things, and I did chalk it up to "being in New Orleans," however, that being said, we were in New Orleans, so clean is comforting! June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too much construction There was far too much construction going on to hold a conference at that time. Our meeting was on the 2nd floor the first day and there were no oeprating bathrooms. We had to go to another floor. It was hard to hear the speakers at times because of all the construction noise. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent we have stayed in sheraton for a number of years this was one of the best. June 12, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21 next>>