Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 662 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by The service was great considering you were handleing 800 of us The service was great,when I had a problem it was dealt with promply .The only weak point was the food,it was very sub par .especally the dessert & morning baking . I ate five meals in your hotel. Eggs pasty, too many carbs not enough healthy catering choices.Nobody liked the dessert ! April 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fine hotel, conveniently located The Sheraton New Orleans is a fine hotel, centrally located in downtown New Orleans. It's a big hotel, and New Orleans almost always has something going on during the weekends--a convention, or a festival, or whatever. That can cause the hotel to get really crowded, and feel overwhelming in the lobby. Other than that, it's a fine base for exploring an incredible city. April 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by very, very loud There were several rooms parting very loudly on our floor. We called security twice which did help. The few people left would occasionally wake us up throughout the night. It seemed like these people should have been kicked out. There was no place to have breakfast in this hotel. April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Very nice stay I was sort of hesitant about this hotel after reading some of the reviews...but I can honestly say most of the reviews on here are not correct. The hotel was very nice, the room was clean and also very comfortable. The only negative I have about this stay is the buffet breakfast price...it was almost $50 for 2 breakfast buffets...that was crazy in my opinion...very OVER priced...but other than that...I would stay here again, and find another place to go eat for breakfast! February 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel Needs Improvement *Going 'green' = NO TOWEL ROD for wet towels. Over the shower rod, I could not reach and would never do that. Room was not clean, dust under chair and table we moved for better location and dust in bathroom (no wonder I had allergies). Lack of comfortable chairs for two people. Kept having to move the desk chair. For what FOOD is in the restaurant and bar -- it is way overpriced. Not that good. For condition of room (dirty), it size and lack of amentities, having to ask twice for anything needed, cost is excessively high. No saucer for spoon used to stir coffee; wait person's comment they clean the tables: SORRY, I do not set my spoon on a table as I have no clue how clean it REALLY is or if cleaning product residue is on table. Given the dirity guestroom, how can I be confident the tables are clean??? No fridge and no microwave in room; have stayed at many hotels in several states and countries and lower end hotels have a place for you to keep water, food, left-over's and heat them, as well as those on special diets when your menu does not have what some can eat. Most everyone we talked with felt the elevator system SUCKED. It seemed we waited long times for them. Overall, not impressed. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice Hotel The Sheraton New Orleans is a very nice Hotel. Only two issues kept us from giving a higher Star rating. 1) Doors on our floor are way too loud when closing. Being in a tourist area with guests coming/going at all times of the day/night, the room doors need added padding or better closures by which to eliminate the constant slamming by most guest. 2) The elevator system, although a great attempt at moving guest in a speedy manner, appear to slow travel to/from your floor. Room was very clean and nice. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Communication is a must I recently visited the New Orleans Sheraton for the American Dental Association conference. My first time at this Sheraton. After Check-in, I enter my room to find an unclean room. Initially, I was fearful because I thought the room was occupied. Not a wonderful first impression. Took about 20 min to get the situation in order. Could not stay on the club level floor, due to no other king rooms. I appreciate the bottle of wine given. But, I feel these types of mistakes should not occur in a Sheraton. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel The hotel is very nice and comfortable. I would recommend this to anyone staying in New Orleans. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The fire alarm did go off during our stay (only in our room) but staff promptly took care of the issue. The worst part of the say was in the late evenings. The amount of homeless people in the street off Canal, was difficult to see. April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features The location of the hotel in New Orleans is perfect right on the main street..The staff were helpful kind and overall smiles.. I will be staying there again if not every year/time Im in New Orleans... April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some disappointments Positives: The hotel is nice and the rooms are decent. The food they served at the conference they hosted was superb. Negatives: The first room I was given was an "accessible" room on the top floor. I had been informed that the shower was just a stall and no bath tub; I was fine with that. But when I went to shower the first morning, I discovered that the shower head couldn't be raised any higher than about 5 feet. And it took 5 minutes to get any hot water. And the water pressure was quite inadequate. So I got a different room for the rest of my stay. The replacement room had some noises coming from somewhere. Even though it was quite far from the elevators, it seems like I was hearing elevator noises. They offer complimentary bottled water in your room. But if you need more water, you can only get it by requesting they deliver some to your room. You can't just go to the front desk and get it there. While they promised the water would be brought up to me within 10 minutes, it took almost 25 minutes before someone brought my water. So I had to remain dressed and awake (after 10 pm, when I wanted to be in bed) to greet the person when they arrived. The battery in the TV remote was dead when I checked in to the room. The only fix was to have maintenance come up to my room and swap in a new battery. After my water experience, I didn't want to have to hang around for that to happen. May 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Remodeling; Restaurant needs work I was here several years ago and it's completely different now. The lobby space is very open and inviting. I particularly liked the art on the inside and outside of the building. The restaurant was a big disappointment in this great food town. We stopped in for a quick lunch and were met with a very small menu, especially for one of us with wheat and other allergies. We became optimistic upon reading a note at the bottom of the menu describing the "great pride" they took in accommodating guests with gluten sensitivities. When we asked what the choices were, the server went went back to check with the kitchen and came back to inform us that "only the trout" was gluten free. I'm sorry -- that doesn't count as "accommodating." They should take that note off the menu. We left and ate elsewhere. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than I expected The hotel was better than I expected. It was beautiful, clean and conveniently located. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Drip Drip noise in wall all night...very poor sleeping conditions. All else okay. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A big corporation should be good with 2 reservations room nice,comfy beds,very clean. + green rewards. Great location. staff friendly. work conference then decided to stay extra night with my dad to sight see (two reservations). His name on second reservation. But the front desk would not check him in, maybe misunderstood 2nd res. So we got it sorted out, another two nights keep us in same room obviously. If in computer should be good, so why next morning I have to remind front desk again? staff not clear on where use green rewards for also. October 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location Great business hotel located a block from the French Quarter. The hotel facilities, staff and meeting areas are great. May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by recent stay The hotel room was not that clean, the housekeeping staff was not responsive, the noise level from the next room was severe...very disappointed. Front desk staff as well as catering was outstanding. April 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2nd visit wasn't as nice as the first I stayed in the New Orleans Sheraton a few months ago and had a wonderful experience. My second visit wasn't as nice. There weren't enough outlets in my room. Although the night stand by the bed was equipped with built in outlets, the cord to make the work wasn't long enough to reach the plug. And, most important, the water temperature was insufficient; it was lukewarm at best. I prefer a hot shower over a cold shower. On a positive note, the bartenders was friendly and helpful. December 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable service, fantastic club lounge and friendliest staff ever This is one of the finest hotels for service, efficiency and responsiveness, compared to all 5-star hotels in which I have stayed and worked. Staff is uber-friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. While the sleeping rooms are not oversized, they are extremely comfortable and provide for a good night's sleep. April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has really poor service. The room service was really poor. I was waiting on the phone for 10 mins each time. I was then told I could not order breakfast without using the card (but there was there was no breakfast card in the room and no one would take the order without the card). I rang Guest Services and they took the order, but the breakfast was not delivered. I had an important meeting with analysts and had no food until 2pm due to this. March 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy We were there for a 4night/5day stay. There is something going on in the walls there that make this annoying swooshing noise. There were large thick cable wires that banged against the side of the building ALL NIGHT LONG!! I called the desk who informed me of what it was. I asked to be move and they said we would be first on the list and would call when ready. Call never came and I had to physically go down and demand another room March 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Didn't meet expectations I attended a conference in this hotel. I originally reserved a king bed room, but was placed in a double bed room. I had to wait for the room for over two hours upon arrival. The room was so small, that I couldn't easily move between the desk and one of the beds - of which I needed to use since this was a work trip. Half my outlets didn't work, and the ones that did blew a fuse any time I tried to use a hair dryer. The conference spaces were not ideal as many had to be turned away from sessions because the rooms were too small. The restaurant was only open for breakfast and lunch, which were provided by the conference, so I was forced to find food elsewhere. Transportation to and from the airport was not very convenient. Compared to other Sheraton Hotels I've stayed in, this was far below my expectations. October 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by VERY GOOD For a very large hotel, I was very pleased with the Sheraton New Orleans. The check in staff was excellent and very courteous. The rooms were recently done over and very nice. The location was excellent. Overall, a very pleasant experience. I would stay there again. April 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dropped the Ball Great Location but kept making promises they could not seem to keep. Staff were nice and tried but were clearly understaffed for the busy weekend. They needed to hire more housekeeping for the weekend when they were totally full to get rooms cleaned and turned over. Restaurant took over 30 minutes to get our food after we ordered and it was nothing special. Overall, they did not plan for well for a busy and very visiable weekend. March 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Off their game I have stayed at this property before without these problems, but my one-night stay this week was marked with problems. 1) The toilet had not been cleaned since the prior guest and had old urine stains on the bowl. 2) When I asked for someone to clean this up, no one showed up the first time (after waiting 30 minutes). 3) All three coffee packets in the room were decaf. 4) I told two separate people I would be checking out around noon, yet was interrupted again after that prior to noon the morning that I left (I was on calls). 4) I had to call to have an internet access fee removed from my invoice after that was chosen that as my Gold SPG membership perk at check-in. Staff was unfailingly pleasant, but training or procedures clearly need work - this was the most hassle-ridden hotel stay I have had in years. September 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - I expected more from a Sheraton The hotel is generally acceptable, but I was quite disappointed in the cleanliness of the room. It looked like it had not been dusted in months and there was a half-eaten granola bar under the bed. The room was only half-cleaned during my stay and the shower mat, ice bucket, etc. were not changed. The previous guest set the alarm, which was left on and not cleared by the staff (would have been nice!). The toilet ran non-stop (which I did report and was called in to maintenance.) The elevators were pretty high-tec, but were very slow. The pool is small and inconvenient to get to and the hot tub was closed. I had a few banquet style meals during my stay and I was very disappointed at the quality of the cooked food. I realize it is hard to serve a hundred or so people, but the chicken was almost inedible. On the plus side, the staff was great and the location is good. The room is fairly modern and comfortable. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time impressions For a hotel with over 1,000 rooms, the staff here made us feel as if we were their only guests. From the car valet to the outstanding check-in experience, the staff at this hotel does an outstanding job of personalized service and attention to detail. In particular, Mika, the Club Concierge Supervisor, was most gracious and made us feel at home. We simply can't commend the management and staff enough for a wonderful time. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location. Walking distance to French Quarter. My sister and I spent two nights here March 6 & 7 2014. The staff was very accommodating, the room was spacious and very clean. The bar even gave us a pitcher of cream for our in room coffee rather than use the powdered stuff. The tour desk was wonderful in printing our Gray Line tour tickets. We'd love to stay here again in a heartbeat. April 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kudos to GLENDA! We attempted to check in early b/c my husband had a speaking engagement at the hotel at 2:30. The suite we reserved was not ready. However, Glenda (at the check-in desk) was kind to us and took pity and allowed our family to go to a regular room so my husband could get ready for his appearance. Later that day we moved to our suite. Glenda was VERY accommodating, which we all appreciated after having been in the car for 4.5 hours. Sheraton New Orleans has my business! September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Bed in a LONG LONG time New Orleans. French Quarter starting across the street. That would be enough, but although the room was a bit small, the bed and pillows were outstanding, and the room was blissfully quiet. Excellent service from the staff, and a clean, attractive hotel. An easy choice for my next visit to Big Easy. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service The Valets were very nice. The Front Desk People were very flexible during check in. The remote went on me during my visit and a remote was brought right up to me. April 22, 2014
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 23 next>>