Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid government issued identification to reserve and to check in to a guestroom.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 739 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG Platinum Great location.Great physical plant. Great Club Level lounge and service. Great valet parking attendants. Front desk service is slow and horrible-slower than post office and more affable. I have stayed here numerous times,and it has been awful for 4 years.Management should run time-moton studies on these folks.This is a management deficiency!! October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable service, fantastic club lounge and friendliest staff ever This is one of the finest hotels for service, efficiency and responsiveness, compared to all 5-star hotels in which I have stayed and worked. Staff is uber-friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. While the sleeping rooms are not oversized, they are extremely comfortable and provide for a good night's sleep. April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Check In We arrived at 3:15 since the hotel had a 3:00 check in time. After prepaying over $1,000.00 for our reservations, we were not given a room until 5:30. This was only after repeated discussions with the front desk explaining we had 6:00 restaurant reservations with clients and my wife needed to change clothes. Not a very pleasant experience. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great representation of what you should expect from Sheraton From the moment we arrived, we were greeted warmly and professionally. We were in town for Jazz Fest and it was extremely busy and hurried. Staff made us feel relaxed and comfortable. Big smiles from everyone - from Bellman to room hostess to bartender! Room was clean and smelled fresh! April 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks to Jenee I had an issue with printing a document I needed in a hurry. Jenee, a staff member at the check in desk, tried to help. When the problem still couldn't be fixed, she went about and beyond to find me a quick solution and did it with a smile. I was super stressed and she came to my rescue! A+ service for my entire stay. Thank you! February 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Great customer service! 3 out of 4 customer service experience I had was great. Very friendly staff from bellboy, maintenance guy and the cleaning lady. Lobby rep was so-so. Very nice hotel. The bathroom I would say need to be renovated. Looks really old. There were bad water stains on the bathtub and every time I seat on the toilet it makes an unbalanced sound. August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Training Conference one of the rooms had flies in it and during the workshop, folks were swatting flies. During the dinner dance on Friday, bread was not on the table, needed to ask for it, hot tea was not offered as per the menu, staff was slow in getting coffee and appeared perturbed at the request of getting coffee, needed to go ask for de-caf coffee 2x. September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The service was great considering you were handleing 800 of us The service was great,when I had a problem it was dealt with promply .The only weak point was the food,it was very sub par .especally the dessert & morning baking . I ate five meals in your hotel. Eggs pasty, too many carbs not enough healthy catering choices.Nobody liked the dessert ! April 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Place When a business delivers what it promises, it is a great experience for me. The Sheraton Hotel New Orleans promised a nice, clean, well appointed room in an "upper level", well located hotel at a good price staffed with friendly, helpful people. They came through with all of it. Great place to stay while in new Orleans. We will be back! November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by very, very loud There were several rooms parting very loudly on our floor. We called security twice which did help. The few people left would occasionally wake us up throughout the night. It seemed like these people should have been kicked out. There was no place to have breakfast in this hotel. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Bed in a LONG LONG time New Orleans. French Quarter starting across the street. That would be enough, but although the room was a bit small, the bed and pillows were outstanding, and the room was blissfully quiet. Excellent service from the staff, and a clean, attractive hotel. An easy choice for my next visit to Big Easy. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay - Beautiful Room The Sheraton New Orleans is a beautiful hotel. My room was clean and very comfortable (king, 26th floor). The only complaint I have is the fact that if you pay with you bank card, they hold the total amount of stay + 50% for incidentals. This is very inconvenient and the amount can be outrageous depending on how long the stay is. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did not know what to expect The lobby and employees all exude welcome. The rooms are well sized, cleaned and lit. The room service personnel were helpful in every way. When in New Orleans, this is the hotel for me. And I've already told my friends that. May 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by LOCATION WAS GREAT The Hotel is under stuff big time. Service was bad, waiting to long in line to get the room, or at the restaurant. At the rooms were noisey from next doors rooms. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is one of our favorite We had a great stay except for needing to have our keys updated about 3 times. The front desk was very helpful but the fact that we had to have security let us in was really upsetting. May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Days in New Orleans We had a fantastic time staying in the Sheraton in New Orleans. The location was the very best for spending time in the French Quarters and enjoying all of the historical sites and shopping. The staff was excellent with lots of smiles, manners and great attitudes. A really great organization of people , in a beautiful hotel. July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Club Floor Wonderful The associates in the Club Lounge were all wonderful. All were so friendly, warm and helpful. The overall hotel feeling was also welcoming. The hallways in the hotel were very chilly. Keeping the air conditioner temperature a little higher would be more efficient as well as more comfortable! April 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience.. Room was located next to elevators so did not get ANY sleep until staff could finally move us and the new room was 5 times smaller! Maid service knocked on doors and were loud with each other outside of our room early in the morning - so much that it woke us both up. Terrible experience for $300 plus per night! February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Orleans Great Location--loved my stay here. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is located in a great location. Walking distance to everything. Nice size room and comfortable. Expect to pay extra for the parking, wish they would give us a discount since we are staying at the hotel. Also hate those key cards they always deactivate and we have to go back to the front desk to get new ones. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stayed here for 7 months...the good and bad I have stayed at this Sheraton almost every week since January of 2014 and by the time my business concludes, will have stayed here over 120 nights total. This is the nicest Starwood property in the city with the exception of the W French Quarter (which is outside my corporate rate policy). I tried the Westin for a week and the other W on Poydras for a week but found the room quality and cleanliness of both to be lacking. This hotel is big. It has around 1,200 rooms and was hosting a large conference (or conferences) almost every week I was there. Overall, the Sheraton is a good, comfortable hotel but is inconsistent in its service. THE GOOD -The Club Lounge on 42 - The staff here is terrific. The lounge is nice and there are always great food and drink options. For breakfast, there are always hot items - oatmeal, eggs, and breakfast meat - as well as fruit, cereal, yogurt, and baked goods. In the evening they have various hors d'oeuvres. You can always pop in and grab a bottle of water or a soda. -The Rooms - The rooms are nice overall and have been renovated fairly recently. The beds are comfortable and clean and the rooms all have great views of either the river or the French Quarter. The suites are nice as they have a kitchenette with a mini-fridge (not found in standard rooms) and a separate sitting area. My only complaint would be the TV and occasionally I'll have a bad shower. -The Gym - Very spacious and has everything you would need. I have never been out to the pool but it looks nice enough. -The Location - Right in the middle of the CBD and two blocks from Bourbon Street. It is convenient whether you are in town for business or pleasure. -The Valet Service - I haven't used valet parking all that often, mostly because of the cost. While, it can take 10-15 minutes to get your car during the morning rush, this is nothing surprising. You should either call ahead or be prepared to wait that long. The valet staff is always pleasant and obviously works very hard to greet arriving guests and bring cars around. -The Staff - Overall the staff is friendly. THE BAD -The Elevators - The hotel has two sets (low and high rise) of "smart" elevators. These elevators don't have buttons on the inside, but instead you punch your floor number in the elevator bay and are assigned to an elevator. I assume that, because of the hotel's size, this is the most efficient and expedient way of dispatching elevators to guests on various floors. It works most of the time but I have had a number of instances - especially in the evenings - when hundreds of guests who are there for a conference either all get out of a session at the same time or are all trying to meet for dinner at the same time. During these busy periods, it can take 10-15 minutes for an elevator to arrive at your floor. -The TVs - They take a long time to turn on and change channels. The remote controls don't work very well as you have to push a button a number of times before the TV responds. This really isn't that big of a deal but it was frustrating at points this year when I was trying to rush back to the hotel to catch the end of a March Madness game or the World Cup. -The Showers - As mentioned above, these are usually pretty good but occasionally I'll get a shower that won't stay at the same temperature. It will either get really hot or really cold and I'll spend the entire shower adjusting the knob. -The Service - The service here can be good but is marred by inconsistency. Some of the room service items are good but I've waited upwards of 2 hours for my food at times and often there's a problem with my order (such as dressing not being on the side). I've had problems having basic toiletry items in my room at check-in and long waits to have these items sent up. I understand that this type of thing can happen in a hotel as big as this, but I've stayed here enough to see that it occurs far more often than it should. There is also pretty poor recognition of platinum status, in my opinion. I have been upgraded to a suite every now and then but I always have to ask. You might also think that there would be some recognition of someone who has stayed 100 nights at the hotel this year alone. Occasionally someone at the front desk will say "welcome back" when I check in but that's about it. All in all, I've enjoyed my stays but am occasionally frustrated by sub-standard service. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton New Orleans Everything was great except for the upgrade that I was offered for my two rooms as an ELITE GOLD MEMBER. I was charged $25.00/night additional for the upgrades that should have been for free and the WiFi didn't even respond to my computer. May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay Hotel is huge. They were able to meet my needs. I got locked out of my room. They were there within minutes to help me. Stayed for the marathon and was blocks from the start line. Was real nice to have a late checkout afterwards, because I was able to shower and then check out. Would stay here again for sure! February 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great except that food service is very slow Loved the beds and cool elevators. There has got to be a more efficient and timely manner to serve a conference banquet. Terribly slow and then the food was luke warm. Over cooked tenderloin is such a shame. When we ordered food in the restaurants, the service was also very slow even though there were few customers. June 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Experience The hotel itself was okay. Arrival/departure attendants were fantastic. Chris at the front desk was GREAT. However, guest services/housekeeping was a TRUE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!! May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by VERY GOOD For a very large hotel, I was very pleased with the Sheraton New Orleans. The check in staff was excellent and very courteous. The rooms were recently done over and very nice. The location was excellent. Overall, a very pleasant experience. I would stay there again. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Centrally Located I have been to this Sheraton before and will return. It is centrally located to many points of interest in the city. It has an easy walk to the convention center , casino and the french Quarter. The staff is friendly and courteous. the public areas are clean, the lobby is user friendly and rooms are comfortable. November 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by rooms need better insulation from street noise We hear way too much noise from outside the hotel and we were on the 10th floor. There was an almost constant noise from police and fire equiptment. Also adjoining room doors were very loud when closed. We were awaken at all times of the night from these noises. You could even hear the music from Bouron st January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very nice I was pleased with the room. Iwas in a handicapped room. Shower water spelled all over floor. Did not have a place to put luggage. Could have had a bench in front of window to place at least one suit case. There were two of us in room and we stayed only one night. Good help with car. Attendants very helpful. January 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business stay The room was nice and comfortable. I had plenty of room to do my work after the conferences. There was quite a bit of outside noise and the windows were dirty preventing us from enjoying our view. Overall it was a pleasant stay though. May 5, 2014
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 ... 26 next>>