Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid government issued identification to reserve and to check in to a guestroom.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 745 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location to stay in. This hotel was very nice and clean. Was located next Bourbon street. Hotel staff was very helpful. We rented two rooms and both were very nice and roomy. We did not get to use the pool, but it seemed very nice. August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Facilities were not up to par We had several problems during our stay: the floor we were put on had the ice machine/soda area under repair we did not receive housekeeping services at all on one day the next day we did not get all of our linens on the floor where our convention activities took place the mens and ladies rooms were under repair and not available so we had to go down 3 floors! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor work prioritization by maintenance staff We experienced a failure on the room door lock that resulted in a wait time of 25 mins to access our room and belongings. For two consecutive days, the key card failed to open door and the first day maintenance indicated the battery needed replacement but it was never done. The door failed the next day and we found ourselves in the same predicament - waiting in the hallway for maintenance to arrive to troubleshoot/unlock. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Staff Extraordinaire Staff members from the assistant manager, front desk representatives, concierge, everyone working in the Club room that served breakfast and evening meals, and housekeeping were pleasant, helpful and accomodating. We enjoyed our stay largely due to them even though the meeting rooms were always cold. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location All in all my stay was great, this facility was chosen by the National Exchange to host our annual convention. Food, beverage and facilities all met with my approval. The one negative comment is that the rug in my room (4125) was extremely dirty and if you walked barefoot your feet would become black. The rug was dirty and sticky to the touch of your feet. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Great location and staff. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Where to start, I arrived Wednesday, April 23rd, to room 3024, it was very nice. I woke up the next am to two cockaroaches in my room when I got back from the gym. I called and spoke to Brandon, the supervisor who informed me he would moved me immediately and I should pack up. Then called back to say a room wouldn't be ready until later. But I had rushed and in my haste forgot a very expensive running bra, which was never found. Then at the end of the day I went to check into new room but it had never been made up. They had someone make it up immediately, but they only made the bed. So then I was moved to yet another room that was clean and bug free. But unfortunately my running garment was never found and I was not happy. Oh and Billy, Director of lost and found and something else, said he would get back to me to follow up and he still hasn't. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a good experience This hotel was very convenient to most area attractions. The staff was very friendly, providing information on what to do and see. The lobby area is big yet inviting providing plenty of seating to relax and enjoy a morning coffee or an evening drink. At night, I was pleased to see security checking for room keys before entering the elevators. All in all, we had a good experience with this hotel. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is very spacious Some hotels feel very cramped especially in large cities where space is limited but that's not the case here - in the public areas or the rooms themselves. We stayed as part of a conference and pre-paid for our group and there was significant confusion with several members of our group that they had not pre-paid or that they were marked a no-show (we all came in on different days.) July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conference guest Hi i was a part of the DLC conference held Sept 22-25 at the Sheraton New Orleans. Your location is great, the food was very good and the conference facilities as well. The enviro friendly option is a good idea - but every 3 days has it's challenges. We ran out of toilet paper, shampoo, soap, and the bottled water and in room coffee do not get replenished. (we were on Club- so went to Club lounge but in room would have been nicer). Also the service in your lobby bar is VERY SLOW. ANd not very attentive. Many of the 6 days that we were there (and we were in lobby bar every day) they ran out of 2 kinds of wine (by the glass), Non alcoholic beer, and many times we had to line up at bar to get drinks to bring back to our tables. If you also added a piano or music to your lounge it would make the long wait for a drink much better. :) September 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convention Although I had a great time at the convention we had many issues at the hotel. I personally had no working TV the entire week. My room wasn't properly cleaned and keys worked when they wanted to. I think the best comments made to me were from the housekeeping staff when she said she had to call engineering to fix the TV while she was in the room because it wasn't working. (How did she know? It wasn't on.) Whenever I came back in after she was there the Trymon Martin case was on. Guess she didn't want to miss a minute of the case. She also slipped up and made a comment about how they knew the room had issues they just don't want us to know. I ended up dusting the room myself since I coughed the entire time I was there. Room service was excellent but afternoon service in the restaurant was so slow many had to leave without their orders. July 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average I have stayed at this hotel many many times over the last few years, so this was an exception to my normal experience but for whatever reason this was just a bad stay. I was stuck in a "accessible" room on the 11th floor right off the elevator. When I was given the room I asked at the desk if it was accessible as I would not have taken it if it were, and receptionist assured me it wasn't. When I got in room I called down to see about getting moved and it was the only room available w/ king bed.......Being right off the elevator in a party place like New Orleans is not always the best place to be if you are trying to get a good nights sleep!! In addition to the bad room/location, the tv was broken (had no picture), and I had to call down to get hand lotion and soap to the room. It was just a very below average experience at a hotel that is generally really highly regarded by me. I will definitely stay here again as I used to have ambassador status with spg and the upgraded rooms are absolutely amazing, but this specific experience left much to be desired!! August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton NOLA Enjoyed the stay. Especially close to the French Quarter, Rivewalk and Harrah's casino. Could've improved the elevator wait time; unsavory types on streets near and around the hotel at night. August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy hotel needs attention Stayed in room 3214 heard elevator motors stopping and starting all day and night long, could even hear the electric contractors on motors changing directions. faucet in bath tub dripped constantly. Notified front deck of trouble and was told nothing could be done that they usually don't get that complaint from that part of the hotel. Just expected more for 600.00 for 2 night stay. Sorry for the negative feed back, but we were really disappointed. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Good location, very clean, good food, Enjoyed the option of being "Green" and the voucher provided. Handy to sight seeing if that is your pleasure and transportation. Walking distance to shopping and sight seeing etc. Magnificent view from room. August 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible experience and clueless manager I have stayed at this Sheraton many times over the years, but this will be my last. The hotel experienced a power problem which kncoked out the high rise elevators as well as TV service. First let me say the staff was excellent and did what they could, but mgmt made two fatal mistakes. First, the hotel did not proactively offer any guest some sort of accomodation for the tremendous inconvenience, nothing, not even a free breakfast, newspaper or cocktail. Second, the staff on duty was overwhelmend. The morning of checkout there were at least 100 people in line to check out and only TWO desk clerks. Unbelievably horrific service during an emergency event. as I said earlier, the staff was pleasant and professional at all times, but the hotel management was clueless on what they should have done to apologize for the inconvenience and make some token offer to make up for the tremendous inconvenience. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hospitilty The assistance from the hotel entry door staff, front desk staff, room service to the tour desk staff was provided with such care that we will plan to stay at this same hotel when we return. August 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by just not prepared I would be remiss, If I did not comment on the convention facilities of this hotel. In the middle week of three week convention rush from three separate conventions taking place, I was disappointed that the operations of the hotel seemed overwhelmed by those in attendance. The bathrooms were not available on the floor of the convention facilities, and you were required to go down three floors to use them, the escalators experienced problems more than once. The restaurant was understaffed and receipts for meals contained errors and lack of attention. Even the Maids ran out of washcloths for the rooms and you were required to use hand towels to wash your face. Check-in was slow for many and one sensed that there was a lack of communications between the staff and management to make sure all areas were addressed to make for a pleasant experience. This was very much unlike the Sheraton values one has grown used to experiencing as a Starwood preferred guest. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Bar Experience in Years The hotel itself is great - location, facilities, staff. But the reason I wanted to write this review for my 9 May stay is to praise bartender Del. Del's great personality, wit and humor made for a great evening. We were planning on just having a drink and then heading out, but we had such a great time with Del at the bar, we stayed 'til the wee hours. Many thanks to Del, and I hope to see him again next time I'm in town. May 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close Enough For NOLA Fun but Quiet for Rest and Relaxation Initially the elevators were very busy and our room was located next to them but overall, the experience was pleasant and the location worked for night life and for day time travel through the city. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Orleans conference stay I would only recommend the club level as the internet, breakfast and water were enough to cover the extra cost! The rooms were clean and well kept. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by internet I recently stayed at the sheraton for a conference. I was very impressed with this hotel. My ONLY problem and the reason for not giving it 5 stars was the wireless internet. I had to purchase the internet which was annoying but then the wireless internet I purchased didn't even work in any of the conference rooms. I was very annoyed with that especially since I purchased it to obtain the conference slides online. That was a waste of money. October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel in the Heart of the City This hotel is nicely located in New Orleans. Just outside the French Quarter, walking distance to many locations and comfortable. The trolly is in the center of the street for easy access to points not walkable. I enjoyed my stay here and would book this hotel if I ever return to New Orleans. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded all expectations Perfect location close to everything. The staff is the friendliest and best staff I have ever experienced. Brandon the Bell Captain was absolutely great. My room was not ready and Brandon made sure I was comfortable while I waited - The room was perfect, the AC was quiet and very cool on a hot day and the bed was awesome. Great stay! July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay but cleaning could be more thorough All staff were welcoming and polite. The hotel is very nice. One thing very disappointing was the cleanliness of my room. The ice bucket was never emptied or cleaned from the previous guest - the stagnant water remained for the duration of my stay, needless to say, I had no ice bucket to use. I also noticed there was trash on the floor under the chair ottoman and hair in the bathroom sink on my arrival. The bathmat in the tub was slimy. October 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy We were there for a 4night/5day stay. There is something going on in the walls there that make this annoying swooshing noise. There were large thick cable wires that banged against the side of the building ALL NIGHT LONG!! I called the desk who informed me of what it was. I asked to be move and they said we would be first on the list and would call when ready. Call never came and I had to physically go down and demand another room March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than average, not perfect It is an ok hotel located in the heart of downtown close to the attractions. I think that this location will make a better party hotel (for adults) than a business hotel. Since I was there for business, …. August 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dropped the Ball Great Location but kept making promises they could not seem to keep. Staff were nice and tried but were clearly understaffed for the busy weekend. They needed to hire more housekeeping for the weekend when they were totally full to get rooms cleaned and turned over. Restaurant took over 30 minutes to get our food after we ordered and it was nothing special. Overall, they did not plan for well for a busy and very visiable weekend. March 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor accommodations The accommodations at this hotel are poor. I had to change rooms because of a leaky shower which followed a night of no sleep because of thin walls and a very noisy neighbor. When I moved into the new room, I noted hair in the bathtub and requested housekeeping come and clean the bathroom. This did not occur. I did not change rooms again as I figured this was the quality of the hotel and I was not going to get better. April 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sugar Bowl Stay Increased rates for the New Year's & Sugar Bowl week. For the rate I was charged, the hotel was a disappointment. The room was not vacuumed or dusted the entire 4 days of my stay. $45 per night for parking, $15 per night for wifi - there are NO amenities offered for a very expensive hotel. The night of game, it took 1 hour to get the elevator to our room. No mgmt in sight to ease the wait or make the lobby comfortable for the wait. January 7, 2014
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 ... 26 next>>