Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 680 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite up to expectations Our recent stay at the Sheraton New Orleans left me a little disappointed, primarily because the service in the lobby bar area was very slow and the food was just OK. The hotel also apparently has no large-sized suites to use for hospitality rooms. On the positive side, the club lounge on the 42nd floor served an excellent breakfast daily, with comfortable surroundings. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overbooked Elevator system easily displays "System Overload" and is not sufficient for 49 floors of guests during a convention. Luckily on one occasion, we had a supervisor loading us on the utility elevator, which helped get us up faster. The way the clerk at check-in tried to explain that the hotel was overbooked and wanted to shift us to another hotel, did not come out right. Luckily, another clerk jumped in and explained it as an option if we wanted to accept it. There were 6,000 Elks in town and the Sheraton was the only one I heard complaints about.. In addition, all the renovations going on with two conference groups in the hotel and shifting meetings and events to another hotel across the street just doesn't make me feel confident. After all, The Elks plan ahead by five years. We have rooms blocked out all the way through 2018. Sheraton knew we were coming, so why inconvenience your guests. Having the hospitality suites on the 4th floor and the restrooms on 4 and 3 being renovated, leaves people with a two floor trip down to and up from the second floor, both ways. Not good. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Food Service For three different meals, one lunch and two dinners, there were long delays getting the food to the table. While the quality of the food was acceptable, there were extensive delays in preparing the food. One day the maid service removed the used bath towels but did not replace them. This was not noticed until I was in the shower and noticed only one bath towel for two people. As we were in a hurry, one of us had to go without a shower. After a phone call, additional towels were provided but this was an oversight that should not have happened. I was attending a large meeting and due to extensive renovations, meeting rooms were being reassigned at the very last minute (within hours of the meetings) which cause confusion. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel in Crisis Management Mode When we visited, the hotel was in full crisis management mode. A major power failure had knocked out most elevator service to the the top 20 floors and power to some rooms. The crisis took about 36 hours to resolve and involved much extra work for staff but the staff seemed to deal with the issues in a calm, friendly and professional manner. For example when I advised Geraldine at Guest Services that my wife was afraid of being on one of the floors lacking elevator service we were promptly moved to a lower floor with full elevator service. We were most appreciative of Geraldine's help. Despite the power failure we had a very good experience in this hotel. Management is to be congratulated. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convention Hotel??? As a convention hotel, the facilities were lacking, i.e. No restrooms available on ballroom and meeting room floors (4th and 5th floors). Food provided to convention-wide meals were bland and lacked diversity, I.e. Had almost same salads & vegetables for each meal and entree was not warm, and with beverage service slow or non-existent. Guest rooms were adequate as were common area amenities and services. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good solid hotel Recently stayed at this Sheraton for a conference. The staff were terrific, the rooms clean and the beds super comfy! Bathroom workable (unlike FQ W), and nice, and the pool, though small, was a great addition in the hot weather. The gym is FABULOUS--basically a full-sized gym in a hotel--big plus! I would stay here again. Only two concerns, the room decor (considering they just did an enormous remodel) is terribly boring--especially for New Orleans--when did beige come back in style? Get some color in there! The lobby looks great, and computers are handy, but the scent they infuse throughout the lobby is completely overwhelming! Hopefully they will get rid of that or tone it way down! Otherwise, a good stay, and decent rate for conference! Also, the hotel restaurants too expensive--venture out and about! June 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not stay here again Carpet was soaking wet when I arrived. would not move me until I threatened to go to a different hotel. Elevator system is terrible if there is any type of conference going on...had to wait 8 minutes for the elevator. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great features rooms are roomy comfortable setting. love the view of New Orleans from the rm window. lounge is set out with comfortable seating to relax have a drink or a bite to eat or just relax. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was outstanding From the greeting by the Valet to the front desk and the Cleaning staff all were friendly and very helpful. The front desk manager assisted in a late checkout which allowed us to attend a final function- GREAT PEOPLE July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location All in all my stay was great, this facility was chosen by the National Exchange to host our annual convention. Food, beverage and facilities all met with my approval. The one negative comment is that the rug in my room (4125) was extremely dirty and if you walked barefoot your feet would become black. The rug was dirty and sticky to the touch of your feet. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfully Convenient I rarely sleep well on my first night in a hotel, but slept wonderfully this whole trip. I was here on business, but the proximity to the French Quarter made breakfast, dinner and evenings very convenient. Nice running path near the river. The staff was very helpful throughout my stay. This is definitely my NOLA hotel! April 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, but... No restrooms available on the 1st, 3rd, 4th, or 5th floors. walking long distance to bathrooms not good. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Facilities were not up to par We had several problems during our stay: the floor we were put on had the ice machine/soda area under repair we did not receive housekeeping services at all on one day the next day we did not get all of our linens on the floor where our convention activities took place the mens and ladies rooms were under repair and not available so we had to go down 3 floors! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Green Campaign The only thing that didn't work smoothly was the "green campaign". I have a couple of suggestions. I don't mind using the same towel for a few days provided it has a chance to dry. There were two of us in the room & only 1 hook to dry towels. Please provide another hook or a towel bar for bath towels to dry. Because I signed up for the "green" promotion, I had to call for additional small water bottles, coffee packets, creamers and coffee cups. One evening, I called AND stopped at the desk. Nothing came. I had to call again the next morning. Another evening after I called, coffee packets were delivered but no cups (even though I asked for them) so I couldn't make coffee. I felt bad for the gentleman who had to bring items when I had to call a second or third time (he would be the "fixer" several hours after the original requests) June 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointing No one greeted or offered assistance upon my arrival. The front desk personnel were not friendly. I was asked if I were a Starwood Preferred Guest but when I say 'no' there was no mention as to how I could become one. I called about a problem with the television so they sent a technician who had no idea what the problem was and never resolved the issue. Later, when I went down to the desk, I was told they would check into it. Nothing was ever done to remedy the problem. As I was going out later that day, they were locking the side entrances. I spoke briefly about the weather. Not once did he say I could not return through the same entrance. Another guest called for someone to unlock the door to let us in because it was raining and we didn't want to walk around to another entrance. They had locked the doors early because of the weather but never let any of us know we could not reenter. There were other issues with the reservation as well. Just an overall disappointment of service. April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Up To Date Hotel The Sheraton New Orleans is one of the best in the city! It's conveniently located to most major attractions. The rooms are extremely comfortable and up to date. Everyone I dealt with on the staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. 5 STARS all the way! April 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel Had construction going on The hotel had construction going on and I wanted to rest during the day, but the noise was so loud it really bothered me. The hotel is located in a great part of New Orleans on Canal ST so getting to different attraction throughout the city is quite easy. The hotel told me they had a computer glitch the day after my check in and the two rooms i had pre-paid for were charged to my American express card again. The over-all experience was ok, nothing to write home about however. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by iYou will enjoy your stay I attended a Convention in New Orleans and enjoyed my stay at the Shardon Hotel. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel review everything was great except the daily auto parking valet of $42 which I think is way too much July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by just not prepared I would be remiss, If I did not comment on the convention facilities of this hotel. In the middle week of three week convention rush from three separate conventions taking place, I was disappointed that the operations of the hotel seemed overwhelmed by those in attendance. The bathrooms were not available on the floor of the convention facilities, and you were required to go down three floors to use them, the escalators experienced problems more than once. The restaurant was understaffed and receipts for meals contained errors and lack of attention. Even the Maids ran out of washcloths for the rooms and you were required to use hand towels to wash your face. Check-in was slow for many and one sensed that there was a lack of communications between the staff and management to make sure all areas were addressed to make for a pleasant experience. This was very much unlike the Sheraton values one has grown used to experiencing as a Starwood preferred guest. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overall experience Changed rooms thrice in two nights. Shower cold water only. Bathroom door ajar, did not close. Had to rekey 3 times in one day. Manager on duty response not acceptable. Offered $ 50 reduction, was not implemented. Absolute worst hotel experience. April 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Stay We had a great hotel stay here recently for the Essence Music Festival. Everyone was a great help especially the Chef, April, in the breakfast buffet area. She went overboard to help us and she was exceptionally sweet. Only problem we had was with keys working to room when we first got there and keys to the lounge, but got those fixed. Also, the frig did not get very cold, but otherwise everything was great. Great view from room. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dennis PDDGER The Staff is very friendly and helpful. Tameka was very heplfull. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Remodeling Job! Near Perfect! Great for Platinums. This hotel recently completed a major remodeling -they did a fantastic job! Everything- the lobby, the elite lounge, and the room were all fantastic! We particularly loved the room: an upgrade to an executive king mini suite which was a large ,well decorated room with a partial wall ( with large screen TVs on each side) separating bedroom and living room and a wet bar. This definitely is our favorite New Orleans hotel. June 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by On going Problems The first afternoon of my stay a leak somewhere in my room or hallway caused a lot of water to soak into the rug. My suitcase and some clothes were soaked, and I had to move to another room. It now looks as though they were aware of this problem ahead of time and still put me in the room. Then the high tech elevator system broke down, staying out of service for 40 hours. Although some service was available, getting up and down from your room required a lot of walking, and much patience.The one positive in this was the staff did handle this situation with grace. June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great room Bad Service The rooms at this hotel are great. The staff and management are another issue. I travel almost each week for business and have NEVER had as much issue with the management of a hotel. I have left multiple voice mails and been transfered or disconnected 3 other times. No response. This is after I was verbally promised a refund of my starwood points (for a very unsatisfying stay) Will not use this hotel ever again October 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and amenities I have stayed at this particular hotel a few times (Sheraton New Orleans). I always stay on the club floors at hotels and the service/staff there were great and friendly. My main issue was not being able to get through to departments and being put on hold for a long time. At one point I was on hold for 20 minutes just waiting to connect/call to another guest room and also a 15mins to reach someone in housekeeping (and then had to end up calling back two hours later because my requested items still had not arrived at room). My suggestion is that the hotel come up with a workaround for being able to directly call whatever number/dept you need instead of going through guest services. e.g. If I want to call room 4218 I should be able to dial 8+4218 on the room telephone instead of having to call guest services and then waiting for someone there to answer the phone to connect me. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Customer Service I want to thank Ruth Carter the reservation coordinator for being so helpful in responding to my email with questions about rooms. So many organizations have an email link on their web site, but never take time to answer you. Ruth responded the next business day, and was extremely helpful. If everyone at the Sheraton is that nice, I'm sure I will enjoy my stay next week. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good location location of this hotel is great for walking to many of the attractions-also trolley goes right in front of the hotel. breakfast buffet is better than most. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Travel Agent Review I am a travel agent & this was my first time staying at this Sheraton. I was very pleased with the staff, location, & rooms. One thing I was not to pleased with was the parking rate. I am a frequent visitor to NOLA & have stayed at many hotels in the area. I understand parking is expensive but most rates I have paid is $35 & the $42.56 charged seemed a bit excessive. This was the only downside to my stay. September 23, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 24 next>>