Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

  • 2345 McGee Street
  • Kansas City,
  • Missouri
  • 64108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 416 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy It was a very nice and comfortable home away form home. July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The good the bad and the ugly. Bricks and motor do not a hotel make. What makes the experience is what happens inside the bricks and the people that make it happen. A clean room and good night's sleep are the minimum requirements for any lodging and this hotel can proved the basics. It is within easy walking or travel distance to many of KC's best attractions such as the P&L district, the train station, Crown Center and WW1 Memorial. Where I find myself struggling is with the inconsistent staff service. One of my three waitresses at the restaurant was incredibly professional, friendly and helpful. One was disengaged and uninterested. One simply seemed either incredibly untrained or totally incapable in the position. Food pricing was not out of line for this level of hotel. The bar is another discussion. Staff was totally overwhelmed by attendance, slow and inefficient in how they managed the workflow and totally disengaged from the customer. (eye contact is a minimum requirement of hospitality service). There was certainly no urgency in fulfilling orders. I would recommend a total review of the workspace, work flow, operations, staff and how orders are processed. I felt the bar was overpriced. The atmosphere was excessively loud and it was impossible to carry on any conversations without yelling. For a facility of this capacity and capability, the bar is far too small and certainly not intimate. Expansion of the seating area, sound deadening or the addition of another more quiet place to relax and talk within the hotel should be considered. Wait staff in the banquet area was very professional and competent. They were attentive to patrons, efficient in serving and clearing plates. Hotel front desk and support staff were friendly and helpful. Banquet and buffet food were adequate for a convention setting. Not bad; not great. Internet service was adequate to slow. And really, additional charges for any Internet service, especially high speed, in today's world? That's so '00. Overall. Meh. I've seen better and I've seen worse. I would not discourage anyone from staying there but I would not advocate for the facility either. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME facility The Sheraton is definitely a 5***** hotel I couldn't have been any more comfortable July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Staff (especially Kenneth) was very helpful and very curteous. The shuttle drivers who took us to Riverport were very nice and friendly. July 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I've Stayed in Better for Less This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel for a conference. The meeting facilities were superb, which is probably why my organization chooses it. The rooms, however, leave much to be desired. Most recently, my room never cooled down. Even though the thermostat was set at 68, the room was always stuffy. I woke several times in the night overheated and sweaty. In addition to the temperature, the bed squeaked. Just leaning against it or sitting on the edge caused an annoying squeak. And finally, while taking a bath one night, the plumbing (from the floor above, I assume) rumbled so loudly that I was actually startled. I've stayed in rooms that cost less and were quieter and more comfortable. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rest comfort check In on 6-30-2014 Room 2602 - Excellent location for short walking distance (age 71) However, upon entering the room 1. the clock/radio was on the floor under the night stand and the time was NOT set. 2. NO fitted sheet on bed, causing sheet to become untucked & wrinkled underneath me. 3.Maintenance had to come up & adjust wires to get the TV working 4. NO ROOM Service meal guide & NO guide to location of Ice vending machine in room during my 5 day stay 5. As of 7/3/14, clock remained showing incorrect time; I was unsuccessful in setting the time. 6. 7/3 & 7/4 VERY LOUD MUSIC played from 7:30pm-11:50pm; coming from somewhere other than the adjacent rooms. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, Great Location, Great Food This was my first trip to K. City and I was so totally impressed with the service and ease of getting to tourist areas. The food in the hotel's Spectators restaurant was great- in fact the French onion soup was probably the best I have ever had! Then during my 4 day stay there I had access to free shuttle service to take me to a few key areas that tourists like to visit. The concierge service was extremely knowledgeable in answering any of my questions regarding other restaurants or places to go. I would definitely consider staying here again if I return to K City. July 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but not for the price There are a couple reasons for my review: The hotel has a great location. That scored you the points. Here is what I wasn't thrilled about: The room cost was right around $180.00. Then, had to pay for internet ($15.00) and parking ($16.00). The toilet paper was worse than most gas stations. I would rather stay at a cheaper hotel and have the free parking, free internet, free breakfast. Plus, the rooms are usually just as nice of quality as the room we stayed in. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LIKED THE FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE I LIKED THE LOCATION AND THE FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE, HOWEVER I WAS NOT IMPRESSED WITH RESTAURANT, HAD TO WAIT A LONG TIME FOR SOME ONE TO TAKE OUR ORDER. FINALLY THE OTHER COUPLE GOT UP AND LEFT BC NO WAITED ON THEM. (this was for breakfast) June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice rooms comfortable beds. Rooms were nice and lots of space. Internet was a joke and you have to pay for it. I travel all over and this was a first to pay for wireless in the room AND poor service. Great location to downtown and the Plaza. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Communication Issues Prior to even arriving I had an issue. I received an email that my check in date had been changed even though I, nor my bookkeeper, changed my reservation. Thankfully that was cleared up fairly quickly. During the stay there were many large groups staying at the hotel the staff seemed to look the other way on some issues, unless security was called. More than once there were loud teenagers, running down the hall, shouting, and banging on doors. While the group I was with ate breakfast, lunch, and snacks here the meals weren't always monitored and quite often those not with us were eating our food and it seemed that it was up to us to shoo people away. When I was in contact with the hotel prior to staying I inquired about tax exempt numerous times. At no point was I told that I would have to apply for Missouri tax exempt status. They knew I was coming from another state and I still was not informed. Upon checkout I was told that I had additional charges and when I talked with my bookkeeper she informed me that she had left multiple messages with the accounting staff to fix the problem before I even checked out and no one ever called her back. I had to miss a meeting and play phone tag with my bookkeeper to get the issue cleared up, but I was extremely stressed and upset. The gentleman that was checking me out was very kind, but the problem still occured. Overall it was a fair stay, but I'm not sure I'll be booking a room at a Sheraton anytime soon. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Interesting time I wasn't overjoyed with this hotel. There were 2 issues that happened that I thought this level of hotel would handle better. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by bring back some good times My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Crown center this past weekend(july 19th). This was only the second time we have stayed here since it has changed hands from the Hyatt. Over the years my wife and I have stayed at this hotel and the crown center more times than I can count. We had moved out of the state for the last two years and were excited to spend our anniversary weekend at one of our favorite places. I know things change, as that is part of life, but we visited the club lounge that replaced Skies restaurant and it was sad. A place where we had spent so many good times with so much liveliness is now dead, no people, no music, no anything, just the amazing view of the city. The hotel staff was friendly and helpfull no complaints here, and the lobby remodel looked nice. The remodel at spectators was nice as well. We just miss the "upscale touches" that used to set it apart from the rest ofthe places in Kansas City. As much as I hate to say it, with no Skies or even Bentons, looks like it is time to find a new place to experience Kansas City. Thanks for all the good memories, who knows maybe the next change will have us coming back again. -David Jones July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for a conference Everything is close by!!! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Excellent hotel with great features. Near by all the entertainment spots. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Staff The staff went out of their way to make the customer happy. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Food Staff and food were definitely the best part. Room was comfortable and quiet (only heard the train outside) with a great city view. Close to shopping and restaurants and things to explore. King room was great for business or couple travel. Room could use a ceiling fan to help circulate the air - bathroom got hot when trying to do hair. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The people made our stay! The staff is very friendly at the hotel and are responsive to any request. We loved the cleanliness of the hotel. The beds were plush and comfortable and the linens and bathroom spotless. A great place to get a good night's sleep. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by review hotel Hotel clean and the staff helpful July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed I cannot beleive that you do not include wireless Internet service in your rooms without paying an additional charge. I can stay in a hotel for $50 a night and get free wireless Internet and breakfast. April 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check in was painful The hotel had several hundred kids checking in and didn't appear to be organized to receive them. There were 6 people ahead of me in the line and it still took nearly 40 minutes to get to a front desk person. As I moved closer to the front desk, I noticed the hold up was all the small talk the employees were making. It's nice to be pleasant of course, but carrying on a lengthy conversation about who knows what when there is a line of unhappy folks to check in isn't the way to go. When it was my turn to check in, I suggested to the agent that at times like this, it might be a good idea to lessen the chit chat and move folks through the line. He was unfortunately offended and it went downhill from there. But when I had my room key in under 2 minutes, the folks in the line cheered me on. If your business is in mid-town, it's a decent location, but there isn't anything of note to do within a few blocks of the property. July 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quality has been deteriorating I used to really like this hotel but have noticed a steady decline in the facilities and service. The new people at the desk are not as friendly, don't ask or give us the simple things (like entrance to club for a platinum member without me asking). The first room they gave me smelled of smoke which they tried to cover with a massive amount of deodorizer. The second room smelled of mold. At this point I was so tired of waiting on the phone that I just stayed there and sneezed for 3 days. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and comfortable Nice updated room. Quiet and comfortable. Bathrooms are well laid out but a little small. July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable brand, fair stay! Can't beat the location for food, fun, entertainment and shopping. Rooms are well appointed. Bedding makes for an awesome night's sleep! Was a little surprised that suites do not have microwaves. Overall, it was "just ok" for me... Fortunately, I have experience with the Starwood brand and would not let this experience deter me in any way. July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel for a conference I stayed 10 days for a work meeting (two days alone with an advance team and 8 days with a roommate). The room was relaxing with its mild color scheme. The bed is very comfortable. Housekeeping was very responsive to a request for more towels and hangers and continued to deliver enough towels for two women. A request to fix a drawer that wouldn't stay closed was never completed. The lobbies have many places for conversation--a real plus. Food in the mezzanine bar was good quality but on our second visit the waiter was unable to provide us with correct checks after 45 minutes even though the place was not busy at all. June 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overcharged and no response I stayed at this hotel as part of a large group. The room was comfortable and well taken care of. One con of this hotel is the very long wait time for elevators. Upon checkout I was issued a foilo that was correct. Once I left the property a new folio was issued that showed $96 in parking charges. I did not have a car, and ironically was not charged a parking fee for each day I was there. Calling 'accounting' sends you to a voicemail that is never replied to if listened to at all and emails go into a similar black hole. I am an SPG member and am reconsidering staying at other sheraton properties if this is the bad customer service that happens after erroneous charges are tacked onto a bill. June 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cleanliness and Mgmt. Response Leave Something to be Desired I originally only booked the room for one night, but my travel plans changed and I added a another night 2 weeks before my stay. I called the hotel's 1-800 number and the fact they could not just add a night and had me book a second reservation since one was a block rate for a wedding and the other other a regular AAA rate (so two confirmation nos., etc). The first night of my stay I arrived late at night after a friend's wedding. I was tired and frankly didn't think I need to inspect the room at this type of hotel. The next morning I was talking to the bride's mother and found out that the room I had been assigned to by the hotel was actually suppose to go to the bride's uncle. Then, later that night as I was getting ready for bed I dropped a washcloth on the floor. It slid a bit under the vanity and when I bent down to pick it up I saw what appeared to be a pair of wadded up, blood stained panties in the far back left corner of the floor underneath the vanity. (there is probably an 8 inch gap between the floor and the bottom of the vanity). I immediately called the front desk, explained the situation, and asked they send up housekeeping. A hotel employee with gloves and a manager showed up at our door shortly thereafter. The manager asked what happened and the gloved employee removed the item from floor underneath the vanity. The hotel employee who removed the item did not clean the area. Additionally, wwhile the employee and manager were apologetic (especially the employee after he crouched down and saw the stained underwear) the manager's questions made me feel a bit uncomfortable. Specifically, he asked if the item was there when I arrived. Looking back, the way he asked the question and the fact he didn't have the employee clean the area or offer to switch me to a new room make me wonder if he thought the item belonged to me or that the situation was not a big deal (I am in my 20s and I wonder if my age was also somehow a factor in his response). I understand it was found in the far corner of the floor underneath the vanity in an area where I wouldn't be standing or touching and that it had gone unnoticed for a day, but it had someone else's biological material on it! After the manger left and the shock of the whole experience wore off I was left wondering how well the room was cleaned. Had it not been after 11 on my last night and had I not been so tired and already in PJs I probably would have called back down to the front desk asked to change rooms. The next morning, after not receiving a printout of my bill (as I had for the first night/my first reservation), I went to the front desk for a printout when I checked out . I asked if the reason a bill wasn't placed under my door for the second night had anything to do with what was found in my room. The person checking me out asked what happened and comped half of my room for the second night as well as mine and my boyfriend's parking after I told her what we'd found in the room (it was clear from the response the manager hadn't so much as left a note on our reservation about what had happened). I am happy that the desk person addressed the situation and offered some sort of compensation for what happened but I really wish the manger who responded on the second night would have handled things differently and taken the issue a bit more seriously. I understand that mistakes happen. But I choose to pay more and stay at 4+ star hotels because I expect them to be cleaner, and for them to take the situation seriously and fix it when they are not. If the manager who came up to my room had treated the situation more seriously and sent a cleaning crew in, offered to get us a new room, or at the very least comped part of our stay as the front desk person eventually did I would not be leaving this review. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Everything was great except parking. Everything was very nice about the hotel. The problem I ran into is they double charged me for parking, it was only 15$ so not that big of a deal. I just figured it would be nice to inform them and get the money back. I called left a message for the accountant, and never received a call back. I called again finally after 20 minutes I got a hold of her and she said it would be no problem, so i figured the case was closed. The money never got refunded onto my card and I'm still trying to call them back and unable to get a hold of them. Everything else was great though. October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and friendly stay While the hotel has been undergoing renovations, there are no shortcomings in the service. SPG recognition is tremendous - I am given a suite on each stay. The staff go above and beyond to meet guest needs. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The front desk staff are genuinely happy to see you and welcome you unlike other places who just bark at you. From the doorman to the Front Desk manager to shuttle drivers, each staff member is there to serve your best needs. I'm looking forward to the Club Lounge and the Lobby renovations being completed. The gym has been renovated and looks fantastic. The views of downtown KC from the upper floors are also amazing. Overall, this is a great property and I love staying here. June 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to Everything! This hotel is close to everything plus they have the "Link" which is a walk way all around Crown Center so you never have to get wet, cold or hot! July 7, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>