Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

  • 75 East State Street
  • Columbus,
  • Ohio
  • 43215
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by August experience Unfortunately my experience was not a good one. The A/C in my room was not working and when I arrived the temperature was about 80 degrees. I made the front desk aware of the problem and then departed for dinner and a ball game. About 5 hours later I return and it was clear that someone had been in my room as the cover of the A/C unit was off but it still wasn't functioning. There was no note or communication regarding status, a resolution timeline or an offer to change rooms. August 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by move in weekend our first room was nice however the carpet was soaking wet an dhad the smell of mold. we were immediatly move and given access to the club level . our second room the door was stuck evry time you tried to open and the shower water pressure was terrible . August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst experience ever I stayed in this hotel for the half marathon event going on in columbus this weekend and from beginning to end my experience was beyond disaster. To start with I was told over the phone when I booked that I would have a room with a microwave and a fridge, that I would have free internet access, and that a late check out due to the marathon would be no problem. While arriving at the hotel, I was unaware of the parking situation in Columbus so I was a bit confused about what I needed to do. I had one staff member outside tell me while I was waiting behind several vehicles that valet parking was free for those staying for the marathon. At this point I had already been through 2 hours of hunting for parking places through surrounding garages and it was getting late. When the staff member got to me to take my car he told me it was a $30 charge, completely different than what I was just directed. Because I had already been waiting for so long and needed to make the marathon dinner, I was just going to pay it. He then told me i couldn't pay with a credit card and I would have to go get cash. At this point I was already ready to call the hotel and cancel my stay, but I didn't. I found a parking spot at the columbus commons parking area that a random person outside told me about. While checking in I was there was only one room option available regardless of what I was guaranteed over the phone, so I had no fridge or microwave for food options. By the time I got checked into the hotel it was later than the marathon dinner event they were holding. The phone in my room didn't work so every time I needed something I had to use my cell phone. I called a staff member who said he would bring me a menu and that he could have the kitchen make a pasta dish for me if I go down to the lounge. I went into the lounge and they told me they don't do special dishes and I have to order what is offered at those times on their menu. It was almost 1030 pm and I hadn't eaten dinner yet. I couldn't leave the hotel out of fear that I would run into loss of parking spots again because of the number of people in town for this event. From here I spoke to a lady at the front desk who gave me a catering menu of delivery options. I went back upstairs to my room and called and they were closed. It took everything to not call the manager and ask for my money back. I wasn't in marathon event mode anymore and was about to skip everything and drive back home. I spoke to another gentleman who gave me pizza places who will deliver. I tried to log onto my laptop to look at pizza menu when it asked me to pay for this service. So when i called the front desk she told me this service is only available to certain rooms. Once again I had been given false information from several different staff members. I called pizza hut and ordered something simple. The guy who delivered the order called me when he arrived to the hotel and told me that the people at the front desk were not letting him come up to the room. They even commented to me when I let them know how my night has been so far- that it isn't their fault I didnt make it in time for the runners dinner. But my wait for valet parking and the run around from employees outside had a huge part to deal with how late I was able to check in. I was beyond angry at this point. I'm a very patient person but I didn't know how much more I could handle from this hotel. I went to bed after eating with the hopes that the next day would be a new day. After the marathon event I came to my room and called the front desk just to confirm that I was okayed the late checkout. I didnt want to deal with interuptions while getting cleaned up after the race. The gentleman I spoke with was very rude to me and asked who I talked to because they never allow late check outs and I should be charged for this. I told him the lady who said this was ok and he said ok fine but we never do this just for future reference and hung up on me. While I was in the shower I had someone knock on my door several times. I'm assuming it was housekeeping and they weren't informed of my late checkout. So it wasn't just a fluke that the first night was horrible for me- the whole experience at this hotel was bad from beginning to end. The cost of this hotel is not cheap compared to others. To not have a complimentary breakfast, free internet service, and deal with all of the complications of food ordering, nonworking phone in the room, no fridge or microwave- this stay wasn't even close to worth what I paid. I'm leaving this lengthy review so everyone can see the details of what happened. All of the staff members at this hotel need to be on the same page because I was given a different story the whole time. Employees should know what food options are available for guests who aren't from around there and whether parking is free, and they should see what you were guaranteed on the phone while booking the hotel room. I will never ever stay here again. I will still be calling about this experience as well. I stay in hotels on a frequent basis and this was the worst experience I have ever had!! May 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why could I smell everything from the next room? We stayed here because we were in town for a concert at Columbus Commons and this was right next door. I loved the location and the room was nice but every time we were in our room we kept smelling a very strong sweet smoky smell and we couldn't figure out what was going on. Finally, when we were trying to go to sleep but couldn't because our eyes and nose were burning, we tracked down the smell. The people in the next room were either burning incense or smoking something and then burning the incense to cover it up and the smell and probably the smoke was coming through the adjoining door. Even though it was shut and locked we were still getting the smell. While I don't really care what people in the other rooms are doing, I was rather perturbed and upset that the seal between the doors was so bad that whatever my neighbors were doing was keeping me from sleeping. I called to the front desk to complain and I also said something to the front desk when I checked out but they both seemed rather unconcerned that this happened. I don't normally splurge on one of the better hotels when I am just spending one night but I was with my daughter and we wanted to make it a relaxing mother daughter event and I was disappointed that this happened and we had to put up with this. One a good note, the bed was very comfortable and the room was nice otherwise. June 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guest of this hotel I would say that in this age of wifi. offering free wifi to the guest would be a better idea. Most hotels don't charging for it. The windows need to be cleaned outside. It would make for a better view of downtown Columbus. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WiFi was broken Dear Sheraton Staff, I have been staying at this hotel for the last 5 years and I must say, this was the first time that you really disappointed me. I had 3 of my colleagues staying at the hotel as well and none of us could connect to the Internet through your WiFi. even after we collectively spent more than 90 minutes on the phone with you tech support. A very disappointing experience overall and my team have already made alternative hotel bookings for our next two trips to Columbus. That is 12 nights of hotel rooms you're losing between now and the end of August because of this. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised After reading a less than flattering review, I was expecting to put up with what ever I had to for a short time. What a pleasant surprise. The staff were bright, cheerful, helpful and courteous. The hotel is lovely. My room was spotless, and comfortable. The only shortcoming was no refrigerator or microwave. Restaurant, wonderful, inexpensive by today's standards. August 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel We stayed here while attending the Thirty One Gifts National Conference. We stayed two nights & had a King room. It was very comfortable. The bedding was very nice & the bed was perfect! Our only "complaint", and reason I couldn't give all excellent rating was that there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. I can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel that didn't have these amenities. Other than that, the staff was GREAT especially since there were SO many ladies (mostly) checking in & out at the same time! The staff all were apologetic about the lines, when clearly it wasn't their fault. We LOVED that they have a Starbucks right there in the lobby! :) July 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A lot to be desired We are presently staying at the Sheraton after being in Columbus last week staying a the Renaissance. First, the bedding is horrible. There is actually a comforter made out of some plastic or water resistant type material. It is extremely stiff and plastic feeling. The sheets are hard and scratchy..between the two...the sleep experience is horrible. Would not recommend it at all. And, we have upgraded rooms to boot. The overall look and feel of the room is great, but the most important aspect to me is the rest we get in the bed. I can't stress enough the disappointment in the sleep experience. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great locatio and staff Well located for anything on the south side of downtown. Hotel had very accommodating staff. I needed to switch rooms due to noise, they were immediately helpful. I needed to ship a package; they were very helpful with this as well. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Memorable experiences - mainly bad ones Here are my top three 3. Valet tries to open my Toyota with a Nissan key and when it does not tries to tell me that its not my car - very smart 2. Fitness has a great view through the windows but no water, towels or gym wipe more frequently than I expect 1. This is a jewel - My wife and I return to the room to a stink of cigarette smoke (in a supposedly non-smoking property) - its spewing in through the ventilation system. Thankfully, there was John at the bar to take good care of us during dinner - appreciate your hospitable manner John - thanks But I would rather pay less to stay in the Sheraton Suites - at least I get what I expect May 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lots of bad stories to share When we arrived, the heating in the room didn't work. Instead to switching us to a different room, the staff said maintenance would come to the room. Two calls and an hour later, maintenance arrived, found the problem, and turned on the heat -- which then could not be turned off, so the staff finally switched us to a different room (11:00 PM). The next day, housekeeping never serviced the room. The morning after next, the fire alarm went off at 5:30 AM, telling everyone to leave the hotel, which we did. The reason, it turned out, was not a fire, but a water problem that resulted in no hot water. So everyone at the conference we were attending went through the day without having showered. I could go on -- food service running out of coffee and eggs at breakfast, staff looking zoned out, This hotel is a disaster. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Columbus 2011 The typical Sheraton experience... clean, quiet rooms, cordial staff, everything I have come to expect. My only complaint was the television. Bad picture, few channels, the sound jumped from barely audible to being too loud in a single click, and the menu function did not work. I hardly had time to watch it anyway, so it was not an issue. I would strongly consider booking at this property for future visits to the area. The staff makes the difference, and they were terrific. October 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel- friendly staff Staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant had great breakfast items and reasonably priced- had 2 different waitresses, both of who were extremely nice! Did not eat any other meals here. Valet parking was quick and helpful- very courteous men working in this area!! Felt safe at night walking around. If stay here, must take time to walk around the area and especially the Statehouse- beautiful grounds! August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good deal but the little things count The room was very comfortable but the lighting in the bathroom was so dim my wife had to open curtains in the sleeping area to put on her make up. She also had to use her own small travel mirror as there were none in the room. Also, the only outlets for charging my phone was in a wall where the phone rested on the floor. Most hotels have an outlet near the desk or night stand. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BIZ TRAVELER warm and friendly from check in to check out...nicely appointed comfortable rooms with adequate work space...room upgrades have been awesome April 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didnt get the room that I reserved. I reserved a room with a king bed. When I arrived (at night) I was told that check-in is at 3pm and my room had been given away. I suppose next time I will reserve any room available, show up at 3pm and take over the best room at the hotel. Also, the water heater went out and our water was brown and cold. Good thing we didnt drink to much of it in the middle of the night. March 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean, enjoyable, best for weekday business travel I actually attempted to pay more to avoid staying here because the negative reviews posted here, but could find no availability. So my wife & I celebrated our first anniversary here, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The facilities are nice, our room was clean & had a decent view, the staff was friendly & helpful, and the bed was PHENOMENAL! The location was nice, except that in the immediate neighborhood there were virtually no restaurants open over the weekend. Plan ahead for places to eat and plan to drive if you stay during a weekend. Otherwise you'll end up paying a hefty premium for the average food & mediocre service at The Plaza restaurant onsite. Contrary to some reviews here, there were no hidden fees (sure, you can pay for Wi-Fi, but it's not a secret). To summarize, we had a blast, the room was comfortable, the service was friendly & prompt, and there are much better restaurants around but you'll have to drive to them. October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by luxurious feel Luxurious feel but you have to pay for to many things: Wi-Fi, breakfast, parking, etc August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't Ask for a late checkout We arrived late and I asked of a late check out and I was told no. No offer of 12, just a flat no. Lounge food was okay, the room was oddly shaped and there were huge windows in the bathroom, just different for a hotel room. August 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by unsatisfactory We came to Columbus for a convention. The A/C in the room was not cold and not cooling the room to our needs. when we called the front desk maintenance came and said there was nothing wrong. we requested a fan and got an industrial type fan for our room, the only thing that kept us cool enough to sleep at night. we requested no towels or bed linen changes during our stay, However we had to call and request that the garbage be emptied every day we were there! Housekeeping could of at the least come in and emptied the garbage, straightened up a bit. we even had to ask for toilet paper. Then to have to pay for Wi-Fi at $10.00 a day is ridiculous! should be free for paying guests. And no hotel shuttle for trips to the airport. Wow!! We will not be staying at your hotel again unless there are some big changes. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff is Great !!!!!! Just the Best clean rooms May 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by So surprised...no free breakfast? I was so surprised that this hotel chain doesn't do the free breakfasts. I assumed most all hotels do that now. It is very inconvenient and not people friendly! After a long day, I wanted a snack and some water and the price charged for a bottle of water or pop and a tiny bag of pretzels was way too much. Your hotel is not people friendly! It's not even free Wi-Fi that you can get anywhere else. $9.95/day??? That's crazy! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Downtown convenient location for downtown meetings and actitivities August 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very accomodating I'm a frequent vistor to this facility site. My company does significant business with this facility. I scheduled a three night stay. Apparently there was a mix-up; origin unknown. I was not given a room the first night. Sorry, no room in the Inn. I went to several other hotels around town before I managed to find a room. I was told my reservation was for the next three nights. When I arrived the next day needing a room for two more nights, I was told I only had a reservation for that night. After considerable time and wrangling I managed to get a room for the remaIning two nights. Regarding the room itself, each stay there seems to be somethng different wrong with each room. I'm not sure the reason. High turnover, low maintenance? Not sure. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Late check out I was 1 hour 52 mins after checkout time. Cost half a day. One shoe fits all. I worked all night. I checked in very late. Worked all night and tried to get down to check out. One and half cost for actually being in the hotel a total of 5 hours. One shoe fits all doesn't work. Asking some questions would have been better. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed feelings When we first arrived, the valet staff was giving us mixed directions. One particular valet was incredibly rude toward the other staff (who were fantastic!). This same person had a very similar negative demeanor all week. The hotel staff was friendly. I enjoyed the room very much (except that I didn't notice in the description that there wasn't a refrigerator so we had to trash my infants milk). It was comfy and clean. The internet was overpriced (I've never paid for Internet before) and it rarely was strong enough to pick up signal. It crashed dozens of times! The desserts from room service was tasty but very small for the price. There were only 2 workers and 50+ guests in the lounge, and it took us 45 minutes to receive our order that we called in. Our sons milk (which was $4 for a cup!) was left out the entire time and was warm. However, the staff member noticed and got me a fresh one! I was there during an incredibly busy time, which multiple conferences going on, so I definitely had more patience with everyone! July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great location in Columbus The hotel is located in downtown Columbus and at a very convenient location. It is recently renovated with nice facilities such as the 22nd floor-fitness center overlooking the Columbus skyline. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by visiting for Cultivate 14 We were disappointed that we did not have a refrigerator in the room. Also no continental breakfast that most local hotels offer. The complimentary coffee in the hall was nice, would be nice to offer that every morning to your customers with a bagel or a muffin, none available on Tuesday morning. We had to get up and run every morning to get to the convention center early and being able to grab coffee on the run was great! Otherwise we had a great stay and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable, and staff was nice and accommodating. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business conference This was one of the friendliest hotels I've ever stayed in. The room was huge and clean . The staff was super helpful and very nice. I'll be staying here again next year for conference . Great location great price great hotel July 28, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>