Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

  • 75 East State Street
  • Columbus,
  • Ohio
  • 43215
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 172 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by just ok location is convenient for businees needs. The hotel is nice, however some things were disappointing considering this is a 4 star hotel. The fact that there is no refrigerator or microwave is aggervating. The first two rooms I had, both shower curtains smelled of mildew. The air conditioning seems to not work to its potential in each room. Others I stayed with noticed this as well. Some of the ladies staying as well received no house keeping at all. I don't prefer any housekeeping. I chose to put my "go green" sign on my door and continue to use my same towels, linens, etc. I did not receive any coupons or 500 bonus points as stated on the card. I don't see the point of the rewards if we don't receive them. The staff was friendly and the valet staff was wonderful! I would come back to this hotel, only because of the excellent location. August 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Last stay was unsatisfactory I had no towels, washcloths or toiletries. Contacted front desk and they told me they would send some up. I got the towels and lots of lotion. I specifically ask for a bar of soap to wash my hands. Had to go to front desk to retrieve. My room was not vacuumed and there was a crusty substance on the desk. I reported all at checkout. My company paid for the room, so they were going to give me 7500 Starpoints. Called twice, month passed - not resolved. November 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, but Valet needs improvement I really like this hotel, but call for your car at least 50 mins before you need it. I have stayed there many times, and my room has been very clean. (until the last time) This time the bathroom was not clean. They told me they would give me points for the poor room quality, but I have not seen them. The really problem with this hotel is the valet. May 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club Lounge Food (Breakfast) My stay overall was very good at your Hotel. The only thing that was disappointing was your host at Breakfast on the 20th floor. This person just stood in the corner and didn't greet anyone or interact, no smile nothing! wrong person to have greet your platinum members in the morning for Breakfast. The morning I am referring to was May 09, 2014. May 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by a night in columbus i find the club floor rules differ from other Sheraton hotels, even the other hotels has free beer and cheap wine, and you want to charge $25 for Hors devours, and even withhold an upgrade for your Gold preferred members to the club floor when the hotel is not even near capacity, i truly found this insulting to your best customers. I also find that this hotel is large enough to have a pet-friendly floor for those who choose to bring their obnoxious barking creatures, this is an annoyance that only a pet owner should endure, Those who are not pet owners or those who may have pet allergies especially do not appreciate this. I find your staff kind and friendly especially Ian, i find the building outside a little dirty and unkempt on the south side. Otherwise i enjoyed this property .a little fine tuning would make this the crown jewel in downtown Columbus December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasantly surprised This was my first stay at the Sheraton in Columbus. I came for the Capital City half marathon and the hotels I have used in the past were not available. I was very pleased with the style and cleanliness of the roomsand the desk staff were wonderful. This was my first time using the valet parking, and I loved it. The car was always ready and waiting when i called again the staff were friendly and helpful. I would book this hotel again. May 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service Visited during the half marathon and very pleased with my stay. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The room was very clean, the bed extremely comfortable and the view spectacular. The valet parking was reasonable for the location and the convenience of having the car brought to you as needed throughout the stay was worth the daily rate May 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I had high expectations. Unfortunately, I could not get into my room until late. My administrative person booked a room on the executive level, my room was not serviced properly I needed to use restroom and discovered an non-flushed piece of toilet paper, there were two adjoining doors. It would be great to inform guest at booking that all rooms on that level are adjoining. I was placed on regular floor without offering comp. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shower problems Great place to stay but I was upset with how cold of a shower I had to take it was very cold the day we checked so that night before we went out on the town I told the front desk about our problem and she said she would get it taking care of right then. That morning went to take a shower again and the water was cold. The water in the sink was really hot but the shower was ice cold. So they didn't fix the problem at all :( April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Won't be back The visit was bad from the start. I had to wait to pull in to the hotel because the valet service was woefully understaffed - one poor guy for about 10 cars. There was no one to assist with luggage. The check-in line was long. The room was dark with insufficient lighting. Satellite TV was out most of the night during rainy conditions. Wireless internet reminded me of dial-up internet speeds. My 6:00 a.m. breakfast order arrived at 6:30 AFTER I called about it - yogurt and coffee for $20. There was a half roll of toilet paper in the room - no extra rolls. Towels were thin and cheap. I could go on and on. But for one final parting gift, the valet service took forever on the way out and the guy banged my car into the curb and scraped up the rim. I'm usually a go-with-the-flow person who doesn't get upset about this kind of stuff, but this hotel did almost nothing right during the visit. My colleague who traveled with me had a similarly bad experience. April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Downtown Columbus at the Sheraton After driving 8 hours from NY, I was very lucky to have the chance to experience Sheraton Columbus. As a SPG member I have lived in Sheratons from Orlando, FL to Surabaya, Indonesia and my reaction is always "Wow". May 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as I hoped Got our room here as part of our package for Rock on the Range. Concert started at noon on Friday and with checkout not being til noon, there were no rooms available when we arrived. It would have been more helpful if the desk staff would have offered to let us store our luggage at that point instead of telling me to check back in an hour or so to see if anything had opened up yet. The room was nicely appointed, and I was surprised to find a refrigerator and microwave in the room. I didn't recall reading about those on the website as room features. Positives: Desk staff, valet staff and guest services staff were very courteous and helpful every time we called. Negatives: Housekeeping only made the beds and did not replenish the coffee service, empty trash cans or replace dirty glasses. Breakfast buffet is overpriced for the selection of food available. If you are going to charge for Wi-Fi service in the room, I would at least expect it to be reliable. Giving it away as a "perk" for joining SPG doesn't make up for it. May 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My rating Hotel was very clean. Would liked to have refrigerator, Need to have a softer linen on bed. Top cover was quite heavy. Staff was there to assist you. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've never experienced a better staff From valet parking, to check-in, to cleaning staff, to waiters and waitresses, I've never experienced a friendlier, more helpful staff. Truly remarkable! June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brakefast Buffet Visited for the TOSRV bicycke ride. Breakfast Sunday morning, May 12, was poor. Ran out of food, asked for replacements, coam slowly if at all. The hotel was completely booked with riders, and management could easily anticipate that every guest would eat food and depart by 8:00am. Room thermostat continued to reset to unoccupied mode. Temperature was set by guest, only to shut off after cycling. May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by close to state house Although this hotel was close to attractions, the room wasn't very clean. Bedding was ok but the sofa was not at all comfortable. Not enough cups and glasses for three in a room that sleeps six. For the price I will not stay here again. I expected higher quality. May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I had reserved two rooms for my brides maids and myself to get ready for my wedding. My husband and I also made arrangements to have our room block with this hotel. I would first like to say this property is wonderful. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I would like to give a special thank you to John, Theresa, Cassie, Abele, LaTyce, and Bill for making our experiences memorable. June 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Experience After having a great deal of trouble traveling to Columbus, the staff at the Sheraton stepped in and made up for my bad day. The room was immaculate and the service was impeccable. Sheraton has earned a loyal customer... May 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by We got less than we expected... The room was spacious and bright, but the toilet hadn't been cleaned. We expected more from a pricey downtown hotel. Bar service was very slow for a Saturday night, but front desk staff were polite and friendly, and valet was speedy. For the price, we won't stay there again. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by WiFi Was Really Bad The only reason I would not recommend this hotel is because of the quality of the WiFi. It was bad down in the lobby and meeting rooms and even worse up in the hotel room. I would stay at a different hotel when in Columbus, OH unless I knew this was fixed. May 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not return I hate to publish bad reviews, but this visit was terrible on many counts. When I got to my room, while the view was great - the room was in terrible condition. Stains on the carpet, big chunks missing from furniture, terrible decor, majority of outlets did not work to charge my phone or laptop, vents were incredible dusty with large chunks of dust falling off, bathroom shower curtain smelled terribly of mildew, bathtub was also extremely slippery - I almost fell HARD when stepping into the shower. Next, room service. I called the room service number and the gentleman couldn't be less friendly. I said "Yes, I would like to order some room service." He replied with a sassy "ok". Normally at this time the person would say something like "great, what can I get for you?" I was so stunned at his response I fumbled through the rest of the call - not ordering what I even wanted! Then the food arrives, I answer the door and the guy just walks right in! Usually they ask if they can come in if you do not immediately say come right in. This was so strange! While it was terrible experience, the food was ok. I called down to request my car from the valet, they said absolutely - 5-10 minutes. I waited 15 and went downstairs. Car was no where to be found, and I could not even find an attendant. nearly 40 minutes later my car arrives.... I could see the Valet was backed up all the way into the street but I would have loved to know this when I called downstairs. I was leaving the hotel to catch a flight and this unanticipated 55 min total wait caused me to nearly miss my flight. All in all, I will NOT return to this hotel. Looks like it'll have to be the Westin or a hotel outside of SPG before I ever even consider returning. June 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Faster Response Required I tried calling the Front Desk several times from Room Phone on the day of my stay on 16th April, but nobody picked up the Phone and I had to personally go down. There has to eb a lot of improvement in response April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel was woefully understaffed We stayed at this hotel while my husband was competing in a half marathon in the city. Ohio State was also having graduation on Sunday, and there was a wedding reception held at the hotel on Saturday night. Given all these events and people staying at the hotel for the events, I would have thought the management would have plenty of people scheduled to work. Not the case. We waited in line on Friday evening, at one point sitting in the middle of an intersection, while valet employees tried to handle the cars of incoming guests, then waited again on Saturday afternoon when we returned from shopping. On Sunday morning we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant before checking out. We were told it would be 20 minutes before we could even be seated in the restaurant because the wedding guests were being treated to brunch in a separate room in the restaurant, and there were only 2 servers to meet the needs of the rest of the guests in the restaurant. Wishing for coffee to just get us to a restaurant outside of the hotel, we encountered a line of 12 people waiting at the Starbucks downstairs. Needless to say, we checked out of the Sheraton with very unpleasant feelings. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good location in center of city easy to find and large room for a city hotel May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Grocery area in the lobby could be improved. Computer area in lobby is excellent. Wakeup call was appreciated. Wish there was a mini-fridge in the room. April 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Above and beyond Except for one rude and irrascible security gurard who seemed to dislike being bothered by the guest service errand he was sent on by front desk staff the staff at this hotel went well above and beyond in thier service to guests. Great hotel and great staff. Would definitely stay again. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by For the most part, I rate this hotel highly I attended a private evening function; drinks, food, service were excellent. Room hallways were clean Starbucks was aethetically pleasing, invited lingering, service and food/coffee excellent. My only critique is that the room's carpeting along the edges needed serious vacuuming. December 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Badly maintained The carpet in the room looked so dirty and the smell of the room was of pesticide which made me think that you have lots of pest. April 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wasn't Worth The Price Paid an exorbitant price for an average room. Went to bed and had a leaking ceiling dripping off the headboard. Notified staff upon checkout and they didn't seem to care. There was no mention of a reduction in the room price. Wont be back! March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoy the stay this is a great place to stay, everything you need it right there. Great food and drinks. April 25, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>