Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

  • 8777 Georgia Avenue
  • Silver Spring,
  • Maryland
  • 20910
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and check in to a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over charged and underwhelmed For a Sheraton Hotel this was a lackluster. I was charged fees that I was told I would not pay for. (Wi-fi) Parking is poor for the added fees. Friday morning at checkout there was no one at the front desk. There was not even other staff around to ask if they could find someone. I know this is a new location but I am surprised that the owners have been able to maintain the Sheraton flag. With so many other great SPG properties in the area I will certainly not be staying here again. December 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loud AC I came to this property with some friends to visit DC for the day. I loved the lobby and how the room looked. It was about 70 degrees when I was in town, and the room temperature was set at 77. We turned it down all the way to 55, but it never seemed to make a difference. The actual AC Unit was rattling all through the night. Since it was after midnight by the time we got back to our rooms, and we just wanted to sleep, we decided to try and get the AC down and head to sleep, unsuccessfully. I love the location to the Metro, and the layout of everything in the hotel was great. I loved most everything about my stay, it was just the AC unit that made it almost perfect. I believe you have an associate there by the name of LA, he was very nice and supportive when I addressed the problem the next morning. May 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Silver Spring Sheraton Hotel pretty worn down, outside the lobby. Well below standards to be expected of Sheraton, much less SPG. Wallpaper peeling, sloppy paint job in room, hot water began to be intermittent second morning. Needs non-slip bathtub mat. Garage parking is atrocious to the point of being dangerous. Arrival access is very limited. Kept getting dropped on my pda conference calls. On the other hand staff including hospitality staff, were excellent. March 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ruth and Bobbi Rock! While the beds are soft and the pillows softer, the staff at this hotel made up for it with rock hard service. Ruth in housekeeping kept me from loosing a cherished coat, helped me change rooms from a noisy one and then remembered my name every time she saw me for the next few days. Bobbi who took my call for gluten free food at room service was so careful and thoughtful to make sure that I had what I needed. November 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by they charged for amenities the stay was comfortable, but they charged for parking, wifi, breakfast, fridge. we thought this was a bit ridiculous for a sheraton hotel- too cheap! May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need improvement The Hotel was clean and the room was pleasant. The hotel did not provide toiletries. The service was extremely slow both in the restaurant and at the check-in and check out. The computer and the printer were not working on the check-out day. In the restaurant the buffet was empty, our credit card was misplaced and in general it took for ever to get a check and go back to our meeting. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service at its best This hotel was amazingly clean and I love the attention to detail attitude. The staff were so kind; I want to extend my gratitude for the way Mr. Munoz went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable when we called for extra towels. Thank you to the staff who were so friendly and kind. You guys are the perfect example of what the rest of the hotel industry should model after. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location A short walk to the shops and restaurants of downtown Silver Spring makes a stay here lots of fun! The staff are extremely friendly. The evening snacks in the Club Lounge were wonderful, but the Club Lounge breakfast was disappointing. May 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by average hotel with reasonable gym but poor work space The hotel is located close to Silver Spring shopping area and within walking distance to the Metro. Hotel gym has a reasonable number of cardo machines and treadmills. However, the room lacked several items I need to work, for instance a socket next to the desk. in addition, work area poorly light. In addition, the room lacked a safe and had no fridge. January 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not to Sheraton standards Had to switch rooms after we arrived. The second room was no better than the first. Carpet had burn holes in it in both rooms. The first room looked like someone had recently slept in it. My wife was horrified. The air conditioner was very loud, at times it sounded like a motorcycle was attempting to ride thru the room. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It could have gone so horribly wrong When we returned to our room after dinner, we were greeted by 2 dogs barking loudly in the next room. Management responded quickly to our request for a new room. The hotel can't be blamed for guests not following the rules. We were pleased with all other aspects of the hotel. We often travel to DC and would stay here again. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by more than met my expectations Beautiful hotel. Staff was very helpful and always had a smile to greet you. Like the idea of going green and then was rewarded for it, most unexpected but loved it. I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again if I was in the area. Bbeautiful city, easy off/on to freeway was nice also. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Work Paradise We have a client that is nearby, so we often visit this property in throngs of 3-7 folks. Every time we go... we kindly ask for an upgrade to a suite with a room -- mostly get it. (99% of the time it's one night). the lobby bar is perfect for working and a glass of wine. staff is lovely. June 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pictures are deceiving The tv or phone did not work. The hotel was a little dirty and we had a hard time finding anyone outside to ever retrieve our vehicle from the valet area. The breakfast "buffet" was $14 and not very good. There was a wedding going on as well so our hotel room "thumped" all night long.. June 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by staff not informed! Hotel itself met all our needs. Staff did not. We are Gold Preferred, however the staff did not know the "perks" the web site talks about. I did file a complaint which was handled promptly and some satisfaction given. I shouldn't have had to. Staff should know the policies of Starwood. February 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the best service I was scheduled to arrive on Thursday evening. As a nursing mother away on a business trip, I required a refrigerator in my room to store breast milk. I called to make arrangements a week in advance as was told there was a one time $30 charge. That was fine with me and I expressed that I needed the fridge to be in the room prior to my arrival in order to keep the milk from the trip fresh. I called again the day of just to double check and was assured this would not be a problem. When I arrived, I was told that they would bring the fridge to the room at that time (which they did but it was NOT cold) and that it was a $15 per day charge. I arrived at 11:00pm and was charged for that day of not having a cold fridge. I had to dump the milk I pumped on the beginning of the trip. I had called in advance to avoid the problem of not having it in the room at arrival. I informed them of the late check in time and on the phone both times was assured it would not be a problem. It ended up being a problem. A pretty irritating problem. September 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, still working out the bugs This hotel just became a Sheraton on 7/19. I stayed there a few weeks later, and the hotel was beautiful, but they have some serious "bugs" they're working out. I checked in, and was given a room that hadn't been made up yet. Then I was upgraded to a suite, and given one that was already occupied. My key worked, which was scary. The third room (also a suite) was okay. When I went to check out, there was no invoice under my door. I had a cab waiting for me, so I had to check out in a hurry. They were going to charge me twice what I was quoted online. They couldn't fix it, so they said they would e-mail me an invoice. A day later, I got an e-mail, but no invoice. I followed up, and got an invoice that was still about $60 too high. I wrote back two more times, and finally got a correct one more than a week later. It sounds like they're having "system issues." The hotel itself is very nice, conveniently located, and the staff are nice. I'll probably give it another try early next year. But until they work out all the kinks, beware! August 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, but . . . . While still elegant, the old girl needs some renovation. The carpets are worn, the paint worn or dinge. The sink bowl in my bathroom had a 9 inch crack in it. Looking down from my 12th floor window, the roof of the lobby is dirty. The street entrance needs to be redone so it can be seen! The room was nice, but there was no way to illuminate the closet, which by the way did not have a door, but had instead a flimsy curtain. Spend some $$s and upgrade your hotel. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for business Large rooms, perfectly situated for business in downtown Silver Spring May 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit disappointed but overall OK Gold status was not recognized at check-in, wasn't offered a welcome gift (requested it over the phone afterwards, no big deal), but was disappointed that I was put in a room right across the vending room. February 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointed with staff at this hotel I am a working mother and a frequent traveler. I had traveled overnight to get to DC in the morning for meeting from the west coast. When I arrived to the hotel, I was not able to check in and the staff was rude, unfriendly, and unable to answer my concerns. Since my room wasn't ready, I asked them for where I could use a breast pump privately (ie not in a public bathroom) and they didn't have any response. Nobody knew what to do. I waited about a half an hour while they figured out what could be done and the meeting I was scheduled to attend went on without me. When a room was finally ready, it wasn't the room I had requested. As I checked in the front desk attendant, didn't even break a smile, make eye contact with me, or provide any additional information about the hotel facilities. My heater in my room didn't work. Although I had sent the heater to 78, it never went past 65. My room was very cold. The only person on staff that was actually helpful to me during my two-day staff was the doorman. I would not stay at this hotel again, and it definitely did not meet my expectations as an SPG member. November 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by In its class, a cut above This was the conference hotel for a meeting I needed to attend. The staff was exceptionally pleasant and the in-hotel restaurant was a bit better than the nearby eateries. I *really* appreciated the green voucher program, whereby I was able to forgo fresh towels and sheets on the second and third days of my stay for a $5 per day voucher good at the restaurant. Finally, a hotel that is seriously implementing this much-needed reduction in water and power useage! May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff This hotel has amazing staff and management. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff Is Top Notch Great staff they took care of my wife and her friends over the weekend for their groups reunion May 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by None No review at this time. Location to local restaurants is very good. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good stay after we checked in Our room was very comfortable and exceeded our expectations. It was great being able to park right there and getting to our room was convenient from garage. Our only hiccup was checking in; one person on duty handling a complicated issue. Another group waiting before us. No one greeted us as we pulled in. We didn't know where to go or where to leave the car as we checked in. After 15 or 20 minutes, another person showed up and things moved along. After that our stay was fine. Did have to go to desk to check out. We're used to having final bill under door in the morning. A minor quibble as long as there are enough people to handle the check out desk. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 'Silver Service in Silver Spring If you're in Silver Spring and this was a last minute. I got to town an evening early, before a business trip in anticipation of inclement weather. Check was easy peasy and the person at reception was sweet. The hotel has self parking which is cool, however you have to return to your car to put the ticket in the window. So I recommend checking in and then driving your car into the garage. My room was on the club floor adequately spacious, noticeably clean and with no particular view, simply over looked the parking lot. As a matter of fact all of the rooms had the same view. I was told ad check in the club lounge closed at 8 p. When I walked in the club at 7p the gentleman keeper of the club was preparing closing.at 7:15 he gave notice to all in members for food. As mini pizza was on the menu. I sat relaxed and then ventured to Mila for salad and wine. There was not hostess or bartender in either area. Once I inquired at the front desk I was graciously assisted. The food was good and while eating and watching the all star game I notice the parking garage attendant is now the bell man. I guess, he starts at 8pm. No biggie, I'm a light packer. He was very nice but now I questioned my security does the guy in parking lot have the master key to my room as well??? Just a thought.. The next morning, I went to the fitness center and then decided to have breakfast in the club. They were out of regular coffee at 9am. The attendant was MIA. There was no garbage can for refuse. There was not even salt and pepper shakers available on a Monday morning. The attendant did eventually accommodate all breakfast request. I returned to my room to iron a shirt and the iron was ICE cold. I went to work wrinkled. The best part of this stay was the room size and food. Not to mention the staff as a whole were extremely friendly. Everyone I encountered said Hello or Good Morning. March 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by conferenceattendeeE&L This Sheraton hotel has nice accommendations. The food for the conference was excellent both in presentation and taste. The staff was friendly and responsive to my requests for service. I would stay here again for business or personal travel in the Washington DC area. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Construction Estimator Very helpfull staff, will recommend anytime May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Garage Exit On the morning of 12/08/13 I tried to exit the garage at 09:30 AM. At check-in I was told the garage charge would be on my bill and to use my room card to exit. It wouldn't work. I re-parked and went to the desk. I was informed the charge was NOT on my bill. I said "Put it on". I went back down. Card would still not work. I re-parked and returned to the desk. Agent suggested I pay downstairs. OK. I tried two valid credit cards and got the notice "Invalid Card". By this time a hotel employee was there trying to help another guest. He used his card and I finally was able to leave the garage. One half hour delay when trying to beat bad weather. This is unacceptable. December 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>