Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

  • 8777 Georgia Avenue
  • Silver Spring,
  • Maryland
  • 20910
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and check in to a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 179 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean,noisy Noisy neighbors till past midnight.Again there was banging on the next door at 4 am.The lighting in the entrance and the bathroom is very weak.Otherwise comfortable beds.Breakfast buffet was ok. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceptional Front Desk Service Thanks to Allison at the front desk who made my stay more than comfortable... October 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel but probelms in bathroom Room was clean and temperature easy to regulate. However, show did not work. Lever used to change from bath to shower was ot operational. Therefore we could not take a shower. October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Features of the hotel This is my fourth stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very large. The conference rooms were set up well and the staff was very helpful. I have two suggestions: there was no guide to the hotel's services in the room necessitating several calls to the front desk; the bathtub has a slippery surface and although I requested a rubber mat from Housekeeping it was never delivered. October 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professionally run establishment The staff was pleasant and efficient, the room clean and comfortable. Conference room was also professionally laid out to meet our needs. October 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the best service I was scheduled to arrive on Thursday evening. As a nursing mother away on a business trip, I required a refrigerator in my room to store breast milk. I called to make arrangements a week in advance as was told there was a one time $30 charge. That was fine with me and I expressed that I needed the fridge to be in the room prior to my arrival in order to keep the milk from the trip fresh. I called again the day of just to double check and was assured this would not be a problem. When I arrived, I was told that they would bring the fridge to the room at that time (which they did but it was NOT cold) and that it was a $15 per day charge. I arrived at 11:00pm and was charged for that day of not having a cold fridge. I had to dump the milk I pumped on the beginning of the trip. I had called in advance to avoid the problem of not having it in the room at arrival. I informed them of the late check in time and on the phone both times was assured it would not be a problem. It ended up being a problem. A pretty irritating problem. September 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Club Service I paid extra hoping to have the connivence of the club level before my interviews. Went to get breakfast place filthy and no dishes to get food. This was at 8:15-8:30 waited hoping someone would show. Went back to my room to call and complain and got nothing but excuses. Went back at 9:00 and they where packing everything away. Was beyond a waste of money along with the room service that provided molded berries and a soggy/ cold mushroom burger. The room was comfortable and the girl who checked me in was nice. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone after that stay. Especially business travelers on a schedule..... September 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by September Stay The front desk staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The first room we were given had a foul odor from someone smoking in it and had several burns in the carpet (rm 1015),, the desk quickly gave us another room which was fresh smelling,, it was not "renovated" as your web page states,, I have stayed in this hotel when it was a Crown Plaza so I know the hotel,, the towel rack above the tub was rusty, no anti slip treads in the tub and it was extremely hard to pull up the "stopper" on the tub spout to get the shower to engage. Also, the stopper in the sink did not stay up,, I finally wedged the soap dish under it so I could keep water in the sink. I like this hotel for it's proximity to family in the area,, the staff is very good and our room was cleaned and straightened up very well. I also like being able to access my car when I need it. September 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Management made the wrong decision I was really excited to stay at this particular Sheraton and use the Club Level Access option. I checked in on Friday, August 30th for my family's reunion and had a suite and a double and purchased the Club Level Access for both rooms for my entire stay (August 30-September 2). The access worked the first few hours we were there and never worked after that! I was told that it was decided to change over the system (wrong move ESPECIALLY during the Labor Day weekend) because of some issues with the parking garage and tying the cards/system to include the garage. Well, when they did that, it dropped the access to the Club Room, so I was very disappointed and frustrated to have to keep running up and down from the 10th floor to the lobby to report the reader wasn't working and I felt bad for the front desk staff having to deal with it. I was told it would work the next morning (Saturday), well it wasn't and it didn't work my entire stay! I was also told, if they couldn't fix it, they would leave the door open for us to access, well that didn't happen either! At one point, the lock was taped so we could gain entry, but then someone would take the tape off and I would try my card to find it STILL WASN'T working and have to go down to the lobby to report the door was locked! Whoever decided to change over the system during the holiday should have really re thought doing it because it made what was a gathering I was truly looking forward to and using a feature that was advertised to a HUGE HASSLE and for someone who spent $120 for access to something I didn't get to use because I got tired of going up to the 16th floor to find it wasn't working, to have to go to the lobby to report was a real waste of my time and money! Sorry, you guys failed on this one! Great idea, but bad move! September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great features The hotel staff was friendly, breakfast was excellent and things to do in the area. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Points Promised Hotel was very nice, however there were a few mishaps. Bathroom was not clean, shower leaked and hot tub was not working. The staff did accomadate for most of the mishaps. I was although promised enough points to stay another night and have not seen those points. The bartender was great. She was very attentive and friendly and went out of her way to help. I was going to stay at a Sheraton last night but the points promised were not available. When I called the 1800 number the rep was not to helpful. She said I would have to wait a minimum of 5 days for my issue to be resolved. August 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by more than met my expectations Beautiful hotel. Staff was very helpful and always had a smile to greet you. Like the idea of going green and then was rewarded for it, most unexpected but loved it. I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again if I was in the area. Bbeautiful city, easy off/on to freeway was nice also. August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great weekend getaway I really enjoyed my stay this weekend. I was down visiting family and my daughter participated in the March on Washington. I was able to walk everywhere I went, restaurants and shopping and I have limited ability. The Mica restaurant was very good for breakfast both days. My only complaint was that the bathtub was very slippery when showering. My daughter slipped although she did not get hurt but I was afraid of falling. However there was a bar to hold on to. Overall this was a good weekend stay. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place to recharge We stayed one night and visited University of Maryland the next day. Everything was great and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. It was a short drive to U of MD, and the surrounding town was cute. Breakfast in the club room was fantastic, fresh strawberries and fruit, eggs, oatmeal, and a latte/coffee machine, make your own, yum. Everything in our room looked new and had a luxury feel, very nice, bed was heavenly! It was a little noisy, our air unit was loud, but I bring earplugs to all hotels so not a problem. The workout room was clean and new and had everything we needed. Great hotel, I'd look forward to staying there again. August 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice hotel, great walking distance to downtown Silver Spring. Enjoyed the room, but when I booked a club level room, I thought the room would be a little bit bigger but it wasn't. Overall my family and I enjoyed our stay for the weekend. August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good stay after we checked in Our room was very comfortable and exceeded our expectations. It was great being able to park right there and getting to our room was convenient from garage. Our only hiccup was checking in; one person on duty handling a complicated issue. Another group waiting before us. No one greeted us as we pulled in. We didn't know where to go or where to leave the car as we checked in. After 15 or 20 minutes, another person showed up and things moved along. After that our stay was fine. Did have to go to desk to check out. We're used to having final bill under door in the morning. A minor quibble as long as there are enough people to handle the check out desk. August 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Try harder I don't know where to start. I should have kept a journal during my stay, because it's easy to forget many details. Here's an overview: Room appearance: Acceptable, but somewhat disappointing. Small window. Cramped bath. Room cleanliness: Somewhere between acceptable and poor. Carpets were in great need of a thorough vacuuming (even after we had our room "cleaned"). We have an infant who crawls on the floor, so having a clean carpet was important. Visible mold on the shower ceiling. Moldy "overflow" drain in bathroom sink. Service: Poor. We stayed for 3 weeks due to business, giving us much time to observe the hotel, its staff, and assess its strengths and weaknesses. Though staff were always friendly when the need to interact presented itself, there seemed a profound level of miscommunication and ineptitude. Service cont'd: For our three week stay, we turned down maid service 17 times. Each time, we were due a $5 coupon. The coupon was forgotten at least three times. We asked for our room to be cleaned 3 times -- essentially once per week. The first time, we left our room for 8 hours and returned to it untouched. We were forced to take our tired family to a local park while we waited for the maid to be rushed to our room to quickly clean it. Upon return, only the bed was made and towels replaced. No toilet cleaning, no vacuuming, no dusting. The second week there, we asked for our room to be cleaned. We made this request at 10 AM at the front desk. We left for the day, expecting a clean room upon our return in the evening. Nope. No one came. Once again, a maid was scrambled to our room and we made ourselves scarce (with a cranky infant) while the room was cleaned. Upon our later return, the room was not vacuumed. Pieces of cereal were all over the carpet (courtesy of our 1-year-old son). This time, we demanded that the maid return and vacuum while we awkwardly sat in the room and she worked around us. When finished, we were regaled with her story of how her coworker had called off and how overworked she was. Though moving, this was not our problem. We only wanted a clean room. Restaurant: Mica's food was often bland. One evening, I ordered a hamburger cooked to medium. We were the ONLY people in the restaurant, so the cook should've been able to focus all his attention on our meal. The burger was cooked well done, and it was clearly frozen beef as it had nearly no flavor. We ate at Mica's a few more times (for no reason other than convenience and our $5 coupons) and were disappointed nearly every time. Restaurant staff: Very friendly...but sadly, very inattentive. It was usual and customary to have to ask for a high chair several times, and staff frequently showed up only to present the check. Never once were we asked how the food was. If we wanted a refill of coffee or water, we almost always had to ask; exceptions to this were rare. Bar: $13 cocktails. Seriously? No wonder the bar was lifeless most of the time. You could leave the hotel and walk for a block to find much better places to enjoy a beer, wine, or spirits for half the cost and with twice the atmosphere. Misc: 1. Elevators were often slow and overused. We unfortunately stayed during a home audio expo, and the expo spanned multiple floors. It wasn't unusual to wait 10 minutes for an elevator up to our room on the ninth floor. 2. Our bedroom door was "out of true" -- basically not plumb and fit poorly in the doorframe as though it had been damaged previously. To open the door, you needed to really yank it. To close required a slam. This was bad when my wife left early each morning for her conference and the baby would wake up unnecessarily. 3. Room HVAC was 85 db. Very loud. It also would get stuck on, making our room that we set to 71 degrees drop to 66 degrees overnight. 4. Pool was cold (unheated), small, and really something that looks good on the Sheraton website thanks only to the skillfully captured photo. In person, it's an easy disappointment. 5. Internet was barely over dial-up speed. To add insult to injury, the charge is $13 per day. We fortunately did not have to pay this as it was included with a deal we got on our room. I pity any traveller who'd have to pay for this. And frankly, charging customers for the use of the Internet is simply greedy. Include it in the price of the room as you do your other utilities. 6. Often, I was stuck in the room with my son while my wife was at her conference. If there were any clouds or rain, I was guaranteed not to be able to view 25% of the few channels available. They have abysmal satellite TV service at this hotel. I could go on, but isn't this enough? Sheraton Silver Spring: Get your act together. Some things you can't change (like your slow and too few elevators) but some things you can and should (especially your staff's communication and attentiveness issues). August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff makes a great stay This hotel was recently renovated and now offers most features we have come to expect for this class of accommodations. However, what makes it stand out and what truly brings a difference in the experience is the welcoming and courteous atmosphere provided by the staff; from the front desk to the bar lounge. When travelling for business, at the end of a busy day, an outstanding bartender like the one at Sheraton Silver Spring can help recharging. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by DC Trip Great atmosphere. Great bartender, great food, great service... July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay The location and service at this hotel was outstanding! During the worst heat wave of the season the staff kept their cool. I enjoyed the great sitting area near the lobby and the business center. Many thanks to the drivers of the shuttle bus. They were true professionals. July 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by What's Up With? We visited several floors of the hotel and each one had a blower unit and what appeared to be a dehumidifier on the hallway close to the ice machines. It doesn't look good. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to take care of our needs. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Needs Training Upon arrival and check-in the first thing I get is a "By the way there is a $14 charge for parking per night" which wasn't noted in the reservation. Then I asked for the free breakfast as the platinum amenity and they give me one breakfast for myself and nothing for my wife. So that's lead to the first argument. At checkout, we get charged for Internet service in the room and I go back and forth with the reception lady about that is a complimentary service for platinum at all Starwood hotels and she tells me twice that it's only free if you stay on the club level. When I see I'm getting nowhere with this, I ask for a manager and suddenly she reverses course and removes the charge. Either she gets a cut of the additional charges or she doesn't know her job. July 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expect from Sheraton This was a complete surprise as my family stays in Sheratons often. More than once during my stay, the staff forgot to clean my room, refill the coffee, towels, etc. Not a pleasant surprise when I come back at night wanting to go to bed. Also, the breakfast in the morning was very plain and they forgot to mention that during the holidays they are not serving it, but yet they are charging me for it. After complaining, they gave us a ticket to eat downstairs at the restaurant. The front desk staff was helpful but after the fact. July 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by need safe deposit box in room no place to leave a wallet, apple i pad June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestion Would like to have had shampoo and conditioner available in the bathroom. With travel restrictions now a days it's difficult to bring and most hotels do have it complimentary for you. I did not bring any so was caught by surprise when I arrived. The shuttle service was great, would love it if it could go beyond the 3 mile service location. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine for a short stay Room had a funky smell, staff was really nice and accommodating . No bellhop service. Due to location, no room has a particularly good view. June 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good hotel in silver spring This is a good place for SS, MD.Mathew Starbucks attached is nice. Could provide free breakfast and improve heir restaurant as there isn't abthibg to eat till 3 blocks away in a mall. June 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location We chose to stay here for its location as we have been to the DC area a lot and like visiting different areas. The location is fantastic, next to the Mall (?), restaurants, train, movie theatres and accessibility to the highway. We could walk 2 blocks to just about anything we wanted to do including the Farmers Market on Saturday. However, we got a little crowded with 2 double beds and wanted a roll away and were denied. The room service was good and the food was excellent June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable Room was large and very comfortable. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pictures are deceiving The tv or phone did not work. The hotel was a little dirty and we had a hard time finding anyone outside to ever retrieve our vehicle from the valet area. The breakfast "buffet" was $14 and not very good. There was a wedding going on as well so our hotel room "thumped" all night long.. June 10, 2013
  • 2015-05-03T18:59:01.294-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_179, tr_179
  • loc_en_US, sid_3771, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>