Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 694 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Privacy Our room was not up to our expectations for the price we were paying. Other hotels have better construction than the Sheraton. I felt there was no privacy for us since we were able to hear every sound from the rooms on either side of ours. It was as if the walls were only a curtain! The bathroom was so cramped that one could not open or shut the door when seated on the toilet. We called for television service two different days, and on the second day the loss of reception was solved by switching the box with one from another room as there were no other boxes available. I felt the resort fee was unrealistic. There was no microwave in the room, we never used the tennis courts, or the ocean side pool, and the Rum Fire Restaurant was never available to us. December 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Kauai Poipu Paid The Hawaii Resident Discounted Rate, Absolutely No Value, Actually Feel I Was Grossly Overcharged In Terms Of What I Paid And What I Received. Small Tiny Room, Super Small Bathroom, No Sliding Screen Door! Had To Keep The Door Closed Always And Run The A/C Or Bugs Coming In. Room Was So Dark. Old Noisy Refrigerator, Couldn't Sleep. 1 Dinner Restaurant, Rum Fire, VERY Poor Limited Selection. Hotel Was A Total Rip-Off In My Opinion. The $30.00 A Day " Hotel Charge" Is An Absolute Farce. Rent A Condo. In The Area, You'll Do Much Better! October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the Sheraton Kauai This was my 57th Stay. I can't say enough good things about the staff at this hotel. They are warm and attentive. I would say that I was disappointed in the slow remodel of the fitness center. I missed having a treadmill in an air conditioned room with a TV. Since I was there for work travel it would have been a nice option. My only real complaint was that housekeeping kept providing me with the wrong sized lids for the coffee cups. It was frustrating since I was trying to leave for work at 4:30 AM when nothing is open on the island. September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Dissapointment Stayed 5 nights and booked room with SPG points. I took the time to call the hotel twice before arriving to confirm that an ocean view room preference would be indicated on my reservation. Zena was most difficult in accomodating us and said that all SPG members get a Garden View room and would have to pay for an upgrade but no rooms were available. The next day, to order to pay and move to an oceanview room, $75 per day, Zena asked that we be out of our room by noon, so we could get our new room. Waited 3-1/2 hours for our new room.]! July 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A mixed bag While the valet and front desk staff were attentive and professional, the housekeeping and concierge service left much to be desired. After hanging a do-not-disturb sign up for a single night, we were ignored by housekeeping for the rest of our 4 day stay. The concierge was not very knowledgeable about anything outside of the hotel grounds and insisted on trying to sell us a timeshare at other Sheraton properties. We found this annoying particularly because we just wanted simple information and got roped into a long talking-at. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced I expected more from this hotel. Resort fees for wifi that didnt work, ants all over the bathroom, the ceiling in bathroom tub falling apart. This was for our honeymoon and I thought the free champagne was nice but we had to pick it up. It would have been nice if it was already in the room. $30 to rent a beach chair is ridiculous. Breakfast buffet was lacking taste and variety. Everything closes so early. Bar at 7pm the little store at 9:00pm and lava at 11:00pm. I think hawaii was wonderful but I would never go back to Sheraton. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic Escape We were very pleased with our stay at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. Beautiful Beach, Great Pool and Hot Tub area. Room was very well appointed. Loved the Fire Pit in the cool evening. We were there in March. Staff was very personable and very helpful. We had an Ocean Front Room and the view was spectacular, as well as the sound of the Ocean Waves lulled us to sleep every night. Did not need air conditioning. Another bonus was the Shuttle Service provided to and from Shopping Areas. Will definitely return on our next visit to Kauai. March 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend in Kauai We are SPG members and always appreciate the way Starwood acknowledges it's members. We had an ocean view suite. Loved the suite and the ocean view was worth the price in itself. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is nicely located on the ocean edge in Poipu. For the price, we'd definitely stay again, especially if we could get an ocean view suite. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous three days We stayed at the Sheraton Kauai for three nights before going up to the Westin Princeville Villas and had a fabulous stay. We were upgraded to a great room, had two superb meals in the Rum Fire restaurant, and enjoyed the complimentary social hour with wine tasting for SPG members. We will stay there again!! March 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view from room, but that is it I really wanted to rate this hotel higher as the staff was helpful and attentive and the view from the room in the ocean wing was beautiful and the beach in front of hotel was better than expected. But the food at the hotel was not good, we ate every meal outside the hotel after trying both lava and rum fire restaurants which was not convenient at all Although this was not a business trip i still wanted wi fii access from my room but it barely worked..if at all so the only guaranteed internet was at the business centre.. November 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff We had a very wonderful week. My only comment was regarding the upkeep of general maintenance to the room. There needs to be some heavy cleaning behind the bed and the wood on the bed frame (sides of bed frame) needs to be addressed. We were in 2220. Maybe some scratch cover up. Also your little tables out by the pool need some repainting. Also the morning wait staff (Rum Fire) is a tad on the slow side w/returning to table. Your staff overall was exceptional accommodating our needs and smiles and friendliness were a delight. March 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place The hotel was a great places to stay. The room I had was in the back with a beautiful view of the gardens. It was clean, and housekeeping did a great job of keeping it that way. The staff everywhere was friendly, smiling, and made me feel welcomed. The responded to any requests I had in a timely manner and taking my schedule into consideration. When I had a problem with a clogged tub, they came and repaired it while I was out and did a great job. The only down side is that in this day and age of personal electronics, one would expect an electrical outlet near the desk and the nightstand to plug in chargers. I found one outlet near the exit and had to use the bench to keep from leaving the electronics on the rug while they are charging, which is a fire hazard. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location, beautiful ocean view The ocean front view is lovely. There is sandy beach and some lava rock, depending on the part of the hotel. There is a cafe with delicious breakfast sandwiches as well as a poolside lunch stop with fish & chips, fish tacos, salads and more. Deluxe ocean front rooms are nice and the suites are incredibly spacious and luxurious. March 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location! We were all looking forward to your breakfast buffet which we remember well from our last visit to Kaua'i (as do our friends), however we were quite disappointed to find that it's now all A La Carte, which takes considerably longer in the mornings. Waiters (Kevin and Roger to be commended - both efficient & lively (needed at breakfast!!)). Just wondering if you have received similar complaints? Our travel agent was unaware of the non-existence of the buffet. Cafe on-site is good, all facilities excellent (great pool area). December 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay Hotel was in a great location with a great view. Hotel is quiet at night we wished they had more of a night program. The staff was very nice especially housekeeping. We booked with the hotel that included a car. Dealing with Dollar Rental was terrible. We had to return our car 4 hours before our flight so we would avoid outrageous hourly charges-they were not budging. March 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by being ready Unusually cold and big swells led the hotel to not be ready for the pool. POOL WAS COLD! so we couldn't enjoy the pool in addition to the ocean being cold and having too many swells. We were sent to Kee for snorkeling since the rest of the island was closed down only to find that Kee was closed all day as well. got charged for the snorkeling gear we never used. We had the breakfast package, but it was the EXACT breakfast choices a week in a row. we ended up eating out or spending more money when we shouldn't have had to. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by wonderful staff in paradise Elaine and the other managers were truly great- they bent over backwards to make our stay marvelous, including late check out, new mattress, concierge services and polite interaction--- very much respected our spg status--- keep up the good work!they made our 40th wedding anniversary very special March 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some work Property is fairly worn, I was told that the rooms farthest from beach and front desk were the SPG rooms. Lets hope not, leaking AC had corner of rug soaked, worn doors, facility back there needed painting, just a beaten up property where I stayed. Breakfast buffet which Hawaiian quality hotels are known for was well below average for $25. Restaurant opening times were not well communicated, staff say one time, restaurant says another when you show up, just lacking customer service. January 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel offers a good breakfast buffet The breakfast buffet at the newly renovated restaurant was excellent. In fact, aside from the warm and friendly staff, the (buffet) is one of the primary reasons for returning to this hotel (vice going down the street to one the neighboring hotels) ... it was a nice touch before starting the day. Unfortunately, it saddened me that this hotel decided to get rid of the breakfast buffet. I understand that cost cutting measures are necessary, but these added touches makes me and my colleagues coming back time and again. September 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Resort ? GREATLY needs improvement As a platinum member of Starwood, my husband and I were excited to finally arrive in Kauai at the 5 star property, "expecting" an exceptional room. Why, for it is a FIVE star property, ......where the service, rooms, should be exceptional, nothing lived up to the expections of this platinum member. Kauai...what a major disappointment....so much so that I am writing my first ever bad review. Two exceptions, I shall begin there..... Valet parking is a bonus, appreciated. Two employees, Tracie at the front desk, and Armando in the main restaurant, Rum Fire. The Starwood properties of this caliber normally have a welcome bowl of fruit,and chocolates, with a gracious letter ...... nothing! Welcome Platinum member! The bed had a sheet, as expected, yet the comforter was so heavy that getting comfortable was an issue. Didn't. The rooms, are small, with one chair, if you are lucky, a tub with a shower above, must be agile, bathroom tile floors that were FILTHY, just a few of the issues, in my "upgraded room". Yes, it was ocean front which was lovely. Shouting /partying in the unit below, called security and they were on top on it instantly. Bravo. People of ALL ages running in the hall....... didn't call, as enough is just that, enough After my initial check in with Tracie, when I approached the front desk with questions I felt like, where is she as others treated me as.........why are you bothering me. Just to ask a simple question. ........Rum Fire where the restaurant opens for breakfast at 7:00 a.m., least that is what the sign says. NEVER did it open at 7;00 am. in fact one morning it was 10 minutes late while you could observe employees just walking about. What? Then once door opened the hostess looked at you like.....what are you doing here, I was busy. Once served, had to beg for a second cup of coffee. This went on for DAYSSS. Dined in the evening once........... enough, as the service was so, so....also the menu was very limited, yet the alcohol was lengthy. Valet parking were a bonus, until you have bird stool on your front driver side window at your vision point. When I asked the older valet to please did he have a wet rag to clean he responded, use your wiper. Appalled, I used my water bottle and a napkin. Becoming embarrassed to complain again............. Management of this hotel needs to change for today standards this is unprofessional and unaccommodating, where making no effort to improve.......... read the other reviews..... If you are using your points, look beyond this property. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than ever Spent last week at this hotel. It was my 4th visit in the past 9 years. I agonized the past year as I read difficult reviews that happened during construction. These situations are always difficult and beg the question as to whether it makes more sense to close down during those periods. Having said that, being able to experience the finished product was a treat. I loved this location before and love it more now. Kauai is my favorite island and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Looking forward to visit #5. June 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Perfect Kauai Experience This is our second stay here and we think the multimillion dollar improvements made a great hotel only more perfect. We love the new pool area, the wonderful beach that God gave the hotel, and the great staff. Everyone smiles, cares, embracing that wonderful Aloha spirit. The food was good, the drinks strong, and the garden area with fire pits serene and beautiful. Not sure if there is a better location to see the sunset. Also well located to walking to shops and restaurants. We will be back...hopefully soon. August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Honeymoon The grounds at the hotel had beautiful landscaping. So many koi ponds and a great new pool and spa. It was convenient to walk over to a great beach for snorkeling. The only reason we did not have a great honeymoon vs a nice honeymoon was not receiving an special treats as newlyweds. Maybe I have watched too many movies and TV shoes, but I expected a complimentary glass of champagne at the restaurant or one night at an oceanfront room or something other than the very warm congratulations at the front desk. Instead we learned the room we were assigned had twin beds even when I had checked an option stating that it was our honeymoon. The only perk was that we were able to get a king size bed! Again, great place to stay for a vacation but it did not meet my honeymoon expectations. September 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Hotel I have read other reviews that haven't been positive and cannot understand why. This was the best hotel out of four that we stayed at during our trip, and that includes places like Grand Wailea on Maui. The hotel location, staff, and RumFire restaurant were top shelf. We even cancelled a trip to the Disney resort on Oahu to stay here an extra three nights! I want to say thanks to all at this great hotel and to let you know we will return soon! February 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by location is good The room was ok. We had a delux ocean view room. The beach on the property is tiny and the charge $50 for using the chairs on the beach. The restaurant rumfire, is shiny new but the food was pretty bad. The drinks were watered down so much that we had to check with the server if the drinks we got was virgin or alcoholic.. food was mediocre too. If you plan to stay, go out for meals and the luau. The location of the hotel is pretty that you have quick access to good restaurants and beaches off the property. December 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amazing sunsets!! Good things - Ocean Front room is big and comfy also nice view straight to beach - Beach was excellent and clean - Hotel area and gardens are beautiful - Parking is close to hotel, 150m from main lobby - Good restaurants at shopping villages, located near hotel, about 1,5 km walking. Negative things: - No buffet at Rumfire, just a very expensive and simple ala carte - Cleaning didn’t work at all. Our room was cleaned in the afternoon between 3-4 pm every day. Also cleaning lady in our floor was tired to her job. - iLink café was expensive. Go to shopping villages if you need food or water. - High resort fee. I believe that snorkels and small surfboards are included in the price, but no, You have to pay if you rent those. Tennis is included, but court surface is not in good shape. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel We just have 9 great nights at the hotel. We had a garden view 4th floor room, in building 6. It was beautiful. We had read several reviews before we got there and were wondering if we would like it. The room was excellent, staff was always helpful and happy, the food was good, and the views were outstanding. We were going to upgrade for a couple of nights to the ocean view but decided the room we had was good and we spent many hours on the beach and at the pool area. Look forward to staying there again. February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great I would happily stay here again. Especially since Starhot could fit me in. However the long hair all over my bathroom shower wall and stained linens was gross. Not interested in complaining as part of corporate and no compensation is required. However it is a fundamental cleaning aspect. Overall Sissy at Front Desk, Dolores at the booking / concierge and Vance in Lavas were outstanding customer service, remembering me by name, my preferences and just being genuinely interested in me. High quality staff. December 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good, but.... The hotel is clean and bright. The staff is helpful without being intrusive. The Ocean View rooms are fantastic; spacious, clean and with magnificent overlook of the ocean and coastline. The pool and related facilities are excellent and inviting. The Wi-Fi- is awful with virtually no signal strength. When you can get online, you'll get kicked off repeatedly. The area has weak signal strength in general, but if you're going to offer Wi-Fi, at least have the hardware to make it work properly. September 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent stay The hotel has an excellent location with a good to excellent restaurant. The staff was very attentive and interested in our satisfaction. The partial ocean view could include noise from the pool below. March 19, 2014
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 24 next>>