Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 731 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable & Great Location Po'ipu Beach is well-rated for swimming and snokeling, two major reasons we came to Kauai. This Sheraton is well-located on the beach and close to other beaches, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel provided snorkel gear, towels, and badminton gear. The concierge answered all questions. The rooms were slightly older but very comfortable. The beds and bedding were luscious! Even though we had a garden-view room, we could see and hear the ocean. The views at sunrise and sunset were beautiful. The only negative was the food at Lava's and Rum Fire were not up to expectations, yet was expensive. Also, we had signed up for evening tidepooling, but no staff met us at the appointed time and no one could help us find out what had happened. December 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was HORRIBLE when it came to quietness, easy accessibility We stayed across the street from the main hotel. It was ridiculous to get to one point to another. We waited for over an hour for lunch and then it was wrong. The place was NOT crowded. I have NEVER been to a hotel where you could hear EVER word that was said in the next room. You did not even have to raise your voice. We were awoken twice by a 4:30 am alarm because we were able to hear it as if it was in our room.... You could not even tell people to be quiet because they were just talking. The children who were a little louder made our stay unbearable. August 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shaeaton Kauai - a great stay The staff and hotel were absolutely fabulous. We stayed in a deluxe ocean front room with two balconies facing the ocean- one facing east so we could watch the sunrise and the other facing south just a stones throw from the beach. I would rate the hotel a perfect 10 except for two small issues. The bathroom was a little dated compared to the rest of the room and the included breakfast which we paid for did not include toast - $3.00 for two slices toast was a bit much. Otherwise a solid 9.5 and many fond memories of our stay at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, with some issues Overall, this is a nice hotel. The room decor is a bit dated, but nice nonetheless. The overall facilities were very good, and the staff with whom we interacted were pleasant, helpful, and polite. Two issues bothered us: one was the persistent presence of some small insects (some type of ant, perhaps) in the lavatory area. Much more of a nuisance was using the WiFi system. Each device (4 maximum) had to be registered every day; in the case of an iPad or iPhone, that was several times daily. The process was NOT fast. As someone who's worked in and out of IT for 30+ years, I can assure you there are better ways of doing this. One final point: even for Hawaii, the service in the pool area, including the bar, needs a lot of improvement. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay in Kauai! We stay at this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed very much. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The property is well maintained...very clean. Our room looked like it had been renovated fairly recently. We had a great view of the garden pool. Only downside to our room was noise from other rooms to the sides and above, but very common just about everywhere we have stayed. The amenities at the resort were nice. They had two nice pools, fitness center, business center, concierges desk, and a couple food places. The RumFire grill was good, a little on pricey side for their brunch. The Cafe had some good offerings for quicker meals and snacks. Overall, we had great experiences at this Sheraton and would return if we get to Kauai again. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent property restaurants could be better The hotel staff was great from the front door to the maid service. Very hospitable and work to ensure you have a great stay. Room was excellent and incredibly comfortable. Being a Sherwood member was recognized surprisingly well and really paid off. Pool and poolside service was great. Grounds were very beautiful and well maintained. Only area needing improvement would be on site restaurants. Rum fire was just ok, overpriced, and just not a fun experience overall. It's a great location but just misses the mark. Lava is fine for happy hour but again prices are too high and service was slow every time. We had breakfast as part of our room and it just fell far short. I would eat out or at the cafe next time. Overall great stay would return. December 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very unhappy. Worst hotel of our trip We upgraded to a room with a view of the bar roof. Thank you so much Sheraton Reception. Rooms 2216, 2217, 2218 are utterly blighted. You buy a room with an ocean view, spend good money and get a view of a roof. A dirty old roof at that. I should have complained there and then. Now I'm kicking my self because I didn't and am now very disappointed with Sheraton. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Resort on the Beach at Poipu The resort is just lovely in every way. But the staff really made our week an outstanding vacation. My grandchildren loved the lei making, hula and surf classes that are given throughout the week at no extra charge. The beachside luau is a great one and right at the hotel. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel! The hotel is beautiful and well located in a lovely setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a great place to relax and enjoy the beach. June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Size and Location We loved the moderate size of this hotel. Steps from the beach, excellent service. Would have been rated excellent overall if rooms were updated - bathrooms and new carpeting. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place to relax Great beach service and location. What more do you need for a Hawaiian vacation ? This place has it all. June 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Kauai Poipu Paid The Hawaii Resident Discounted Rate, Absolutely No Value, Actually Feel I Was Grossly Overcharged In Terms Of What I Paid And What I Received. Small Tiny Room, Super Small Bathroom, No Sliding Screen Door! Had To Keep The Door Closed Always And Run The A/C Or Bugs Coming In. Room Was So Dark. Old Noisy Refrigerator, Couldn't Sleep. 1 Dinner Restaurant, Rum Fire, VERY Poor Limited Selection. Hotel Was A Total Rip-Off In My Opinion. The $30.00 A Day " Hotel Charge" Is An Absolute Farce. Rent A Condo. In The Area, You'll Do Much Better! October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinaire expérience Thanks to our no 1 guy, Ryan the concierge--that help us plan a fab week. Everyplace we went to have fun or eat was golden to his expertise. I asked several times for a form from hotel when I checked out and never received one?? Thanks for our great servers Rose, Brittany, jasmine, Jancy and Jacqueline---all so very professional and fun--made our dining one to remember. We had such a fab time--Dee and Peter May 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Privacy Our room was not up to our expectations for the price we were paying. Other hotels have better construction than the Sheraton. I felt there was no privacy for us since we were able to hear every sound from the rooms on either side of ours. It was as if the walls were only a curtain! The bathroom was so cramped that one could not open or shut the door when seated on the toilet. We called for television service two different days, and on the second day the loss of reception was solved by switching the box with one from another room as there were no other boxes available. I felt the resort fee was unrealistic. There was no microwave in the room, we never used the tennis courts, or the ocean side pool, and the Rum Fire Restaurant was never available to us. December 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Dissapointment Stayed 5 nights and booked room with SPG points. I took the time to call the hotel twice before arriving to confirm that an ocean view room preference would be indicated on my reservation. Zena was most difficult in accomodating us and said that all SPG members get a Garden View room and would have to pay for an upgrade but no rooms were available. The next day, to order to pay and move to an oceanview room, $75 per day, Zena asked that we be out of our room by noon, so we could get our new room. Waited 3-1/2 hours for our new room.]! July 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the Sheraton Kauai This was my 57th Stay. I can't say enough good things about the staff at this hotel. They are warm and attentive. I would say that I was disappointed in the slow remodel of the fitness center. I missed having a treadmill in an air conditioned room with a TV. Since I was there for work travel it would have been a nice option. My only real complaint was that housekeeping kept providing me with the wrong sized lids for the coffee cups. It was frustrating since I was trying to leave for work at 4:30 AM when nothing is open on the island. September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well placed hotel The Sheraton is a well placed and well run hotel. The gardens are beautiful and it's proximity to Poipu Beach with its turtles and monk seals makes for a great stay. Well recommended. May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced I expected more from this hotel. Resort fees for wifi that didnt work, ants all over the bathroom, the ceiling in bathroom tub falling apart. This was for our honeymoon and I thought the free champagne was nice but we had to pick it up. It would have been nice if it was already in the room. $30 to rent a beach chair is ridiculous. Breakfast buffet was lacking taste and variety. Everything closes so early. Bar at 7pm the little store at 9:00pm and lava at 11:00pm. I think hawaii was wonderful but I would never go back to Sheraton. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A mixed bag While the valet and front desk staff were attentive and professional, the housekeeping and concierge service left much to be desired. After hanging a do-not-disturb sign up for a single night, we were ignored by housekeeping for the rest of our 4 day stay. The concierge was not very knowledgeable about anything outside of the hotel grounds and insisted on trying to sell us a timeshare at other Sheraton properties. We found this annoying particularly because we just wanted simple information and got roped into a long talking-at. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic Escape We were very pleased with our stay at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. Beautiful Beach, Great Pool and Hot Tub area. Room was very well appointed. Loved the Fire Pit in the cool evening. We were there in March. Staff was very personable and very helpful. We had an Ocean Front Room and the view was spectacular, as well as the sound of the Ocean Waves lulled us to sleep every night. Did not need air conditioning. Another bonus was the Shuttle Service provided to and from Shopping Areas. Will definitely return on our next visit to Kauai. March 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by resort review relaxing and peaceful--incredible ocean views, great beach, great food, all staff was helpful and pleasant-loved the luau May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff We had a very wonderful week. My only comment was regarding the upkeep of general maintenance to the room. There needs to be some heavy cleaning behind the bed and the wood on the bed frame (sides of bed frame) needs to be addressed. We were in 2220. Maybe some scratch cover up. Also your little tables out by the pool need some repainting. Also the morning wait staff (Rum Fire) is a tad on the slow side w/returning to table. Your staff overall was exceptional accommodating our needs and smiles and friendliness were a delight. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay In researching the hotel I found quite a number of negative comments stating that the staff was less than friendly and not helpful and the rooms were dated. This made me a bit apprehensive about what I would encounter. After staying a week my wife and I could not have had a better experience. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and we always had our concerns addressed (there were few). The bartenders at Lavas were very personable and full of information. As far as the rooms being dated, I would rate them average. You're in Hawaii do you really care? We had an ocean view room on the 4th floor with almost a 180 deg view. Every day we watched the whales, one afternoon for almost two hours. The beach is the probably the best feature of the hotel. We will definitely book this hotel in the future. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A decent place to stay Overall, a decent place to stay for the money. We would stay there again, but there are some big pros and cons. Pros: -Great location, convenient to restaurants and shops in Koloa -Fronts a beautiful beach and nice pool -The grounds are very lush and well-maintained -The room, while not amazing, was clean and in good condition -Cleaning, front desk, and pool staff were friendly Cons: -Incredibly thin walls. You hear every closet that gets opened, every time someone drops something, etc., in any of the rooms around you -The casual restaurant, Lava's, is expensive, not very good, has poor service and surprisingly odd hours (I think they start closing up by around 5:30PM?!) -The sheets were incredibly stiff. I felt like I was sleeping on a camping tarp. Overall, we would stay here again...the hotel experience was average, but the location really sells it for us, and being next to a nice beach was key. May 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view from room, but that is it I really wanted to rate this hotel higher as the staff was helpful and attentive and the view from the room in the ocean wing was beautiful and the beach in front of hotel was better than expected. But the food at the hotel was not good, we ate every meal outside the hotel after trying both lava and rum fire restaurants which was not convenient at all Although this was not a business trip i still wanted wi fii access from my room but it barely worked..if at all so the only guaranteed internet was at the business centre.. November 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place The hotel was a great places to stay. The room I had was in the back with a beautiful view of the gardens. It was clean, and housekeeping did a great job of keeping it that way. The staff everywhere was friendly, smiling, and made me feel welcomed. The responded to any requests I had in a timely manner and taking my schedule into consideration. When I had a problem with a clogged tub, they came and repaired it while I was out and did a great job. The only down side is that in this day and age of personal electronics, one would expect an electrical outlet near the desk and the nightstand to plug in chargers. I found one outlet near the exit and had to use the bench to keep from leaving the electronics on the rug while they are charging, which is a fire hazard. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location! We were all looking forward to your breakfast buffet which we remember well from our last visit to Kaua'i (as do our friends), however we were quite disappointed to find that it's now all A La Carte, which takes considerably longer in the mornings. Waiters (Kevin and Roger to be commended - both efficient & lively (needed at breakfast!!)). Just wondering if you have received similar complaints? Our travel agent was unaware of the non-existence of the buffet. Cafe on-site is good, all facilities excellent (great pool area). December 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by being ready Unusually cold and big swells led the hotel to not be ready for the pool. POOL WAS COLD! so we couldn't enjoy the pool in addition to the ocean being cold and having too many swells. We were sent to Kee for snorkeling since the rest of the island was closed down only to find that Kee was closed all day as well. got charged for the snorkeling gear we never used. We had the breakfast package, but it was the EXACT breakfast choices a week in a row. we ended up eating out or spending more money when we shouldn't have had to. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Boooooo The toilet in the room was loose. I cut my leg at the beach. walked to the front desk ask for a first aid kit. it took about 15 minutes for some one to come and open a door to get 2 band-aids and one alcohol wipe. The bars all closed at 11pm which was not fun. There was no shuttle so it was a 50 dollar taxi ride. May 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel offers a good breakfast buffet The breakfast buffet at the newly renovated restaurant was excellent. In fact, aside from the warm and friendly staff, the (buffet) is one of the primary reasons for returning to this hotel (vice going down the street to one the neighboring hotels) ... it was a nice touch before starting the day. Unfortunately, it saddened me that this hotel decided to get rid of the breakfast buffet. I understand that cost cutting measures are necessary, but these added touches makes me and my colleagues coming back time and again. September 26, 2012
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 26 next>>