シェラトン・カウアイリゾート

  • アメリカ合衆国
  • 96756
  • ハワイ,
  • カウアイ
  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • マップ

空室状況&料金

閉じる

お子様/1室

この情報をご提供いただくことで、お客様のご宿泊に最適な客室を探して、ご到着に備えて客室を準備することができます。

折り畳み式ベッドと追加人数料金については、客室規約と詳細情報をご覧ください。

Rated 4 out of 5 by 732 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Resort It was a very nice resort, as you may read it's best to stay in the main hotel on the beach. You can get that with a deluxe ocean front but also a deluxe garden view room - we had the deluxe garden view and it was in the main building (not across the street) our view was of the lagoon and it was fine. You can tell they've remodeled the rooms and lobby, but the hallways still show the old finishes but still nice. The restaurants on the resort are good but nothing spectacular - skip Lava's for breakfast we ate there one morning just for convenience but wouldn't recommend for the buffet. The wifi is spotty - sometimes it works well and sometimes it doesn't. The ocean pool is nice but the configuration makes it small and it can get crowded in the afternoon but you're right off the beach so that you can always enjoy that. I would recommend renting a bungalow for a day, it's nice to have your own personal spot at the pool. Also, if you're dining in the immediate poipu area make sure you take advantage of the courtesy shuttle for drop off and pick up - it's super helpful since getting a taxi is a bit of a challenge. Overall, I would stay again hopefully next time in a deluxe oceanfront room :) PS: A massage in a cabana by the beach is also very nice!! July 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rating for Sheraton Kauai Wonderful facility and great service! August 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ocean view great ocean view and helpful staff March 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience overall Great location and good service. January 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Back to our honeymoon hotel It's our 4th time staying at this hotel, and Sheraton has made numerous upgrades and changes since our last visit (2008). Though most of which were great, there were some that didn't feel right to us. One thing that disappointed us was the changes made to the old Shell's restaurant--we loved the open-air dining and the clear, unobstructed view of Kiahuna beach. The whole place has been changed (to Rum Fire) and is now completely enclosed (not sure if they open the windows on certain days, though). The breakfast buffet at Rum Fire was also a disappointment--the selection is not what one would expect paying $23 pp (caveat: we only ate there once during our stay). The upgrades to the oceanside-pool are very nice. We also took advantage and rented one of the cabanas, which our kids loved! One complaint I got from my 6 yr-old son, is having to go around other guests' lounge chairs right at the edge of the pool (especially near "Lava", where the entire entrance to the pool is almost always blocked by the chairs). Despite of the setbacks said, we still enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Room comfort/quality, location of the hotel (right off a sandy and pictureque beach), and the views that it affords from the room (beach/ocean views) are simply spectacular! June 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service See below- recommend the hotel February 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kauai Great experience perfect. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms and Fitness Centre Updated required in rooms February 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Kauai Resort needs Leadership Attention My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Kauai Dec 21 - 26. We like Starwood hotels, and this makes our experience in Kauai even more concerning. The Sheraton Kauai, is in trouble. Clearly the draw for most travelers to this hotel is the location. But, we were not the only guests who immediately recognized the Sheraton Kauai needs leadership attention. We spoke to at least 6 different supervisors / managers who agreed with our concerns but kept blaming the circumstances on holiday short staffing. We asked to speak with Chip (the GM) everyday, but nobody really knew if he was on-site, in the 2nd floor office (whatever that means), or just missing-in-action. We tried to make the "best of it" since it was Christmas and we didn't want our entire vacation to focus on negativity. So, we found ourselves waking-up and leaving the hotel premises to experience what should have been delivered on the Sheraton Kauai grounds. The final day as we were headed out the door, and tried 1 more time to speak with Chip, again, nobody knew where he was, so we settled for the new F&B Director. Nice lady, but no skill set with service recovery. I know I have not detailed-out the myriad of issues we had, but frankly after explaining them numerous times, I'm exhausted and don't want to waste my time. January 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Deceiving Website If you do not want to pay the extra $$ for an ocean side room or the nicer garden rooms...then don't bother stay somewhere else. This is a LARGE property and only 25% of the rooms are on what I'd call the "resort" side, which is very nice. The other rooms are across the street. We checked in at the lobby & then had to cross the street & walk forever to get to our very disappointing room. It was dark & I did not feel like I was in a resort property in Hawaii... I felt like I was in an economy hotel. When we complained we were offered to pay an extra $100 a night which we reluctantly did. This ocean view room was 500 times better. However not the start to a vacation that you want, disappointing room, then having to haggle and complain to the front desk & have a manager called to save your vacation. The positive...once we were finally in our upgraded room that we had to pay for...the pool area is nice & the beach is very well maintained and the "better side" of the property actually on the water had the resort feel that I was expecting. The resort side looked as the website describes the other side is not well represented on the website at all. Perfect if you are on college spring break & just want a cheap room by the beach but if you want a resort experience insist on the beach side of the property. November 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This once beautiful resort needs improvements really soon We stayed in room 8210, upon arrival we noticed that ceiling above AC unit had yellow mold stain. Our pillows smell of mildew so much that we requested them to be replaced on first night. Also bedding had black mold stains on it, that were replaced next day. There was only two electrical outlets available for us to charge our equipment, one in the bedroom and one next to the sink in bathroom. Room was supplied with Starbucks paper coffee cups, and plastic disposable water cups?!? That was way to tacky it give us feeling of "flee motel" rather that a resort in Hawaii. Beach bar served our drinks in small plastic disposable cups while we were seated at the bar, seriously "cheep" feeling. Only one restaurant served breakfast and lunch, forcing us to leave resort or to eat overpriced average burgers and fries. Most of the staff was of foreign origin and couldn't assist us with any advices regarding local attractions. On the positive side location was awesome, Valet that help us to our room on first day was great source of information for local attractions and places to eat and visit. He even went out of his way to provide us with a map of all of the attractions that he pointed us to. Grounds were Immaculate , free parking was a perk that i loved so much. Beach Cabana Staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. June 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience We reserved a room with a queen bed. Upon check-in we were told we were being given a room with two double beds. The desk clerk switched us to a room with a king. As we entered we saw a Gecko on the nightstand. ( I know, its Kauai ) Our room was billed as a Deluxe Garden View but all we had a view of was the parking lot. We were right next door to the laundry room and could hear through the wall when people were getting bills exchanged for quarters. I mean WE COULD HEAR EVERY QUARTER DROP! If we walked out to our patio we had a crew of construction workers working on the roof of the laundry room right next to us. When they brought out the concrete drill it sounded like it was right in the middle of our room. ( Also, minor, but the iron in the room only got lukewarm ) We went to the desk and they said we could upgrade for $100 more per night. No thank you! We ended up moving to the opposite side of the complex and stayed with our Garden View room which actually had a real view of the garden and pool area. Upon entering our new room, we had to air it out because of a very bad smell in the room. The vent in the bathroom didnt work so everything fogged up while showering. Bottom line, the original room SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN RENTED OUT TO ANYONE!! Especially while construction was going on. Will not stay here again! October 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but lots of drawbacks Great location but lots of drawbacks: No microwave or only ones to rent for $10 per day. No BBQ's-you have a huge courtyard on the backside of our room which was 6408 that was not utilized, it could have easily been made into a family gathering an eating area since this is called a resort and not just a hotel. Housekeepers were very irregular in the manor or depths of their service. it was not consistant. Found a cockroach, not good! Very unfriendly head Valet, wow was shocked at the attitude and rudeness everyday. Both my boyfriend and myself our quite successful in business but because he is tatttoed pretty much from neck down I felt a total judgement from your staff. I am seriously insulted by this in this day and age. Our money is probably more clean then a lot of the guest! Ok a few goods besides location. Loved "Jan" at the front desk, she was super nice and helpful as were the conceirge. "Free" kinda (exccept for the resort fee) valet parking everyday. Super nice and appreciated. Back to the location, loved Sheratons beach! We spread our 10 days in Kauai inbetween the North and Southshore. First 6 were at the Westin Princeville which was amazing and had every ammentiy that one could have wanted except a nice beach. Sheraton failed in comparrision by a mile in ammenities. I hate saying that. So thats my review! Julie Safley (Sanders) December 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed from the start When we booked our oceanfront room well over 2 months in advance we called 3 different times requesting a certain building and were told it wouldnt be a problem. Upon check-in we were put in a buiding far from the one we requested. They said that there werent any available unless we wanted to move to one the last night of our stay. A big shout out to Burt who brought our luggage up. Extra helpful and friendly! We kept getting woke up our 1st night by the mini fridge making really loud noises. I was wearing earplugs and still heard it. We called and they replaced it the next day. We ate at Rumfire our first night and we werent impressed. There are more drinks on the menu than food items. The prices are high for the size of the portions. My husband had the $30 steak and it was a very small piece with a few fries. He was still hungry. The breakfust buffet was just OK. The best part was the young man making the omelets. He was talking to everyone and made you feel at home. I enjoyed hearing his laugh across the room. There arent as many umbrellas at the pool as there were last year when we were here. If you want shade you are forced to rent a cabana. This was our second stay at this hotel. We were here last year before the renovations were complete and wanted to give it another try. We will probably be staying elsewhere next time. September 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Plan your stay ahead. We had a good stay, but it took careful planning after reading the reviews. We are Starwood Gold and I was using points for this stay. It took several phone calls and a few extra points to reserve at least a Garden Room in the main section of the hotel. This is a very large resort with many buildings, several being across the road. these rooms can be far from the beach area. We had seen several review mentioning reliability of the the WiFI. At check in we told them it was imperative that we had good WiFi service. We were immediately given a wireless router to plug in. It work flawlessly. If you need service mention is at check in. The front desk, at times, is a bit dysfunctional. As least twice I found a long line and a single person at the desk. the manager on duty's office is right next to the desk I went right in an was helped immediately. They responded quickly and help myself and other., I attempted to get a 1 pm checkout and was turned down twice. Although they apparently had a large number of check-ins they can't clean all the rooms a the same time. Although the pool is small the location is on a great beach. You are right at the water and face a beautiful sunset if the clouds allow. Our room was fine with adequate storage and a refrigerator and coffee maker. The valet service was excellent that staff was reliable and provided very timely service. November 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a fancy resort The hotel is actually two hotels, one on the beach, and one across the street, which appears to have the garden view rooms. The garden side appeared dark, deserted and depressing. No one appeared to use the pool. No one ever appeared in the empty lobby. The room was very small (very cramped for two people) and was dark all day long. Whatever Sheraton says about their mattresses, our mattress was so soft I "hit bottom" if I sat down on it. I called and spoke to the manager who assured me the mattresses were the same in every room. The ceilings were low. Walking to our room in the evening from the dark self park was a bit creepy. Crowing roosters occupying the grounds were at work every morning at 6AM and rendered it impossible to sleep in. We ate only one time at the poolside restaurant--nearly walking out when our food took almost an hour to reach us. Our waiter completely disappeared and we checked with another waitress who came off as surly and unhelpful. When our waiter reappeared with the cold and shriveled food, he argued that the kitchen was busy and backed up--however there were only two other tables occupied. The staff didn't seem helpful, the few pieces of workout room equipment were rusty and old, and although we were looking forward to the programmed classes, after one session of Yoga, we never went back. If the hotel was filled with guests, it still felt lifeless and deserted. January 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Island This was our 1st visit to Kauai Sheraton and we loved the look of the hotel. Even our Ocean view room was great for a while. We enjoyed our entire stay even with some little flaws with the hotel. All employees of the Sheraton were very polite and helpful. The room was great until you run the air conditioner and the unit leaks. I understand that it will leak but by the time we left the carpet was soaked in that area, the dampness made its way to the floor by the bed. I never made a complaint or asked to change room becuase I felt at 1st this was normal and we had 2 more nights before we left by the time I thought we should say something and moving rooms might be more of a hassle then dealing with this issue. We were out all day on the 2nd to last night and when we entered the room that had been closed up all day, it smelled wet and not good. We left our sliding door open and kept it open through the night. I thought when they were cleaning the rooms they would notice the moisture of the room but I was wrong. As I would recommend this hotel I would suggest maybe upgrading to an ocean front room. . We were tempted to upgrade to the Ocean front room but never did. Being this was our 1st visit to Kauai, we know what to look for in the future and what we want when coming back to this hotel. Even with the little flaws we had, we enjoyed our visit and anniversary termendously. Thank you and your staff. October 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement We checked into the hotel and everything appeared fine. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. As we were about to enter our room, a worker just exited the room saying that he was fixing the hot water. That was agood thing. When we entered our room we read a notice explaining what the "resort fee" that we paid approximately $30.00 for included; 2 bottles of water. Being that our stay was for just one night, that was the only realization we would get from the fee. There was no bottled water. That was minor. In the morning I try to make coffee in the coffee maker and the used coffee pouch from the previous guest was still in the machine. That grossed me out. My thought was to draw a bath, get ready and call the front desk with my complaints. No hot water! I call the front desk and ask for the key to an empty room so that I can shower and get ready for my day ahead. The staff working the front desk were accommodating and helpful. I walked across the street to the front desk and picked up a key to another room and go to shower not knowing that at the same time, a worker drops off the bottles of water outside of my room. I wish they had just given him the key to bring to me instead of me having to go all the way to the front desk. I asked that the manager on duty to give me a call which she did. She apologized and waived the resort fees and other uncharged fees. They handled it correctly and professionaly, I just wish we didn't have to undergo all of the inconvenience. December 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay Our room was gross, 3307, it had gross carpet that was coming up on the edges and had a huge bump, the light fixers were so dusty and gross, the tv stand/dresser is broken one drawer in the middle wont close, the cleaning service didn't give enough towels, the large mirror was old and peeling and broken around the edges. The resort fee was NEVER explained to us properly, both the pleasant holiday travel agent AND the front desk lady when we check in said the 25 dollar daily fee was only for parking in the parking lot, which we NEVER did. So when we went to check out the front desk told us we owed 275 dollars for the fee we knew nothing about. That girl sent us over to the pleasant holiday girl, who said it was with the hotel, she got us a manager who was so rude and said she didn't believe me and I had to pay the fee. The fee wouldn't have been a problem if we were told up front about it and paid when we booked not when we were leaving and got hit with it. Someone needs to make sure people know about the fee and let people know they have to pay it Also the luau should not change from week to week, the first week we were there we could see the luau from our window, the location and all the events, the next week we went to it, it was moved to a worse location with less events by 30-45 minutes. They took out the whole pig part where they explain how they cook it and unbury it. But yet we paid the same amount We will never stay at Sheraton again October 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The good & the bad Since vacations are supposed to be relaxing, I like to research and plan in advance. Where I go is as important as where I stay. I had an early flight and drove straight to the hotel and arrived at the front desk around 9am. I was told my room wasn't available, which I expected b/c checkout is 11am & checkin is 3pm. They took my cell number and said they would rush to get a room ready and call me. A few hours passed & no word, so I went to the desk. The same woman who checked me in and took my number, seemed as though she didn't remember me. Upon stating I checked in earlier she then called to see if my room was available and it wasn't. At 3pm, still no call. I went back to the desk & the staff had changed. I asked about my room and it wasn't ready. A little after 4pm I got a call. As a SPG member, I'm not sure why my room wasn't at least ready by 3pm. While laying on the beach, I happened to meet 2 other guests who shared similar checkin nightmares. One guest was to,d she had to switch rooms after her 1st night without a reason. To make matters worse, that night I found a roach in the room. The desk and phone looked like they hadn't been dusted in days. When reading other comments I saw another one about a roach. They seem to have a problem. This is unexceptable for a SPG Category 5 hotel. There is only 1 restaurant, Rim Fire. Lavo is by the pool area and only open from 12-5. They need more staff at Lavo to deliver food on the beach, especially since non- hotel guests use the beach & pool. The views are fantastic but the gym is very small. There's 1 treadmill and 1 elliptical, with other weight equipment. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Pros: We paid for an ocean-front room and at check-in they upgraded us to the next category which I think was luxury. That was nice and we enjoyed the ocean view, which is why we chose the ocean-front room. The concierge called us a week in advance to introduce herself, which was a very nice touch. The bed was awesome with beautiful four posts and excellent comfort. The double-vanity bath was very convenient. We learned to play the ukulele and to make leis from Sunny, the activities director. He was great! Cons: Those people who do not have an ocean view should be advised that there is no shade anywhere in the pool/beach area. If you love laying in the sun, then you'll like it. But if you have to stay out of the sun, you must have your own sun umbrella or rent a beach bed for $50 per day. There are also beautiful cabanas pool side which have shade, but I think that those are $100 per day. It is strange that there are no umbrellas provided. Also be advised that the ocean is extremely rocky. Bring water shoes. The swimming and floating were not easy because the surf kept pushing us toward the rocks. There is no lifeguard. I've heard that there are some beaches in Kauai that have more sand and a longer beach, but it is not in Poipu. The food in the two restaurants was extremely expensive, so we ate elsewhere. I would recommend that you must rent a car to be able to get around to other beaches and restaurants. Parking is included with the resort fee. Also included is Internet access, and they gave us our own router because the signal was extremely poor without it. Overall, we were very pleased with our week at the Sheraton Kauai. May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 It's obvious they care about their Guest, Just wish it was all the guest The location is terrific and I will say we had some wonderful experiences with some of the staff, those experiences are what keep me from rating our stay lower. Without dragging into every detail (small rooms with broken/stained fixtures, overpriced BAD food, front desk issues, etc.) and experiences, the overall feeling we had was "eeehh". We've stayed at Sheratons a lot and have been to the one in Maui (loved it) and Hawaii (Really Loved it), but this one left us missing those two, I think what happened is, our stay was bookended by two large groups and those groups took a lot of focus and energy from the staff. The staff was nice (we REALLY liked Candie at the Concierge Desk, she was great!), but overall we we're met with the "sorry we have a group . . ." excuse. I get it. They are big revenue. I can't really fault the Hotel for taking care of the big customer and would say if you have a large group event this may be a great option. In the future, As a couple traveling, I will take my SPG points and Vacation Money to a different Resort when we go to Kauai. If you are looking at the South Shore of Kauai for a get away as a couple or the family, I can't recommend this hotel, but the area around there is really nice, the people are great, and there are some FANTASIC place to eat off property. We saw some other resorts that looked nice that may be more accommodating than what we had. Again, it's not horrible (it could be fantastic under different circumstances) we were just hoping it would compare to the stays and service we have had at the Sheraton's in Hawaii (Kona), Maui (Kaanapali), and San Francisco, but it just didn't come close to our expectations. To be fair, we had High Hopes. November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not What We Expect from SPG The hotel has touted many renovations, but those seemed specific only to the restaurant and grounds (which were very nice); the back building across the street that we were put in seemed to be pretty neglected. Upon check-in, the Sheraton Kauai employees not only didn't recognize my spouse and I as Platinum members (we both are), but didn't even have the appropriate room available and gave us two double beds. We had to change rooms after the first night to the appropriate room and certainly didn't get upgraded - we were lodged in the back, neglected building. Valets were rude, there was no welcome (most customers got shell leis) or assistance with luggage upon our arrival, and concierge was uninterested and unhelpful (the only one that seemed "enthusiastic" was a gentleman who tried to sell us a timeshare.... certainly NOT what we wanted help with.) The most frustrating thing was that we had contacted the Kauai Sheraton's concierge as well as the SPG platinum line and were ensured there was plenty of availability at the hotel so an upgrade was "pretty much guaranteed," and also that the resort was "dead" that week and time of year. When we arrived, we learned there was not only a convention at the hotel, but also overflow from a convention at a neighboring hotel. Some communication to that effect would have been helpful, or at least it would have been nice not to have been told the exact opposite of the truth (which was that the hotel was at 100% occupancy and an upgrade was virtually out of the question, AND that the room type we booked wouldn't be available). It was not the kind of service I have come to expect from SPG, especially as a platinum member who almost exclusively stays at SPG properties. February 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel We had a great view and room in the ocean deluxe 4th floor corner room with 2 lanais even. Close proximity to most things, but then nothing is really very far away when staying on Kauai. We never did see when the luau was, just advertising that there is one there. Seems like you have to ask the concierge about that. Parking was okay although a bit tight since we had a truck rental and if you were not gone by the time the surfing rental people showed up, you had to go get them from the lawn next to the lot to come move their vehicles. They were very polite and cooperative about it. Friendly staff everywhere in hotel, which we really appreciate. Rem in the restaurant, you are amazing and friendly and we cannot remember her name there in the restaurant also, but she served us two different mornings and she gives incredible service. Always responds to requests with, "certainly." I tried using our dinner SPG coupon that was good until 6:30pm, but when we arrived before 6:30 and there would be a 15-20 minute wait, they said they would not honor it as we would not be seated before it expired. We chose then to go eat at one of the other local restaurants in town. Would also be nice to see the pool servers come around more often. Happy hours are always nice to have. They did not have this, but a special of the day drink instead. Really enjoyed the tide pool adventure offered by the hotel in the evening. Just remember to wear water shoes or runners/sneakers as it can be slippery on the rocks and it is dark. They do supply flashlights and the guide identifies all the critters in the pools. I really wish they would offer an island orientation and description of activities to do like we had at the Sheraton on the Big Island. That would be very helpful. February 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful property, but beware of noise and wifi issues My overall stay with the hotel was very pleasant and is in an absolutely beautiful location, however there are a few very glaring items that need immediate attention on Sheraton's part for the price they are charging: 1. Noise levels and insulation in the rooms - I stayed in both an ocean front room and a garden view/partial ocean view room during my stay. In any of the non-ocean front rooms, you will hear EVERYTHING going on outside your room whether it be someone blowing their nose in the room next door or people talking in normal voices outside your room. There is hardly any insulation between rooms and as a result my fiance and I were awakened starting at 5 am the first morning there. The ocean front rooms do not seem to have this problem, but all others do. 2. Wifi service - Or lack of service in this case. As part of your exorbitant resort charge of $30/day, you receive free wifi access. What they fail to mention is that in most places around the property and in your room, the signal is minuscule and cuts in and out constantly. For $300+/night AND a resort charge, this should not be an issue. 3. Attention to detail - Little things like toilets in multiple rooms needing to have the handles held down to flush instead of just pushing it like all other toilets, clocks that weren't set, missing do not disturb placards, outlets that didn't work, and lights that aren't plugged in are small individually, but when added up along with 1 and 2 above and the fees they are charging and this hotel does not rate 4-stars to me. Most of the items above should be able to be easily fixed (with the exception of the insulation). If you want to hold yourself out as a true 4-star resort, then show that you are one and don't make me feel like I spent $300 to spend a night at the Motel 6. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 30 year anniversary My wife and I spent one week here,June 20-27,for our 30 years of marriage.There could not have been a better place to enjoy our time.There was not one employee that we came across that did not offer a smile and greeting.The customer service at this hotel is excellent.The people who work here do honestly enjoy what they do,which makes the services they perform even greater than any other.We passed employees even on the street who took the Sheraton name on their name tag to a respect that should be commended by any and everyone.Tiffany,assistant manager of food services,was so gracious and pleasing every time we saw her and always on top of her job at hand.Darlene was our waitress for breakfast at the RumFire most of our stay and was excellent.Paul,the bartender,was great and friendly even when he saw us the day we were leaving at another location outside the bar.Sunny and Josh(scuba),that gave my wife lessons in their special activities were fantastic.My wife really enjoyed these activates along with the snorkling and surfing lessons that were taught by a young man whose name regretfully I do not remember.Concierge Ryan helped me set up a surprise romantic dinner on our 30th.To top this dinner, our waiter (GeoFranco) was more than a waiter.He made the dinner more memorable than anyone could imagine with his knowledge and respect for his job at hand.Even in the wind and rain and another function going on, he surpassed his job.There are so many people to acknowledge that we had contact with that if I could list each name with a star rating they would all receive all 5 stars.This Sheraton has got to be the best on so many levels.We look forward to our next stay.The people who work at this resort, should be held high and respected in the eyes of anyone and everyone.As you can tell we truly enjoyed our stay and thank you for the great experience. June 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Paradise in Poipu! I visited the beautiful island of Kauai for my 30th birthday and was conflicted about where to stay: The North end of the island in the fabled land of Hanalei? Or The South side of the island in close proximity to the airport and available for a lot less redemption points? Well, I decided on the latter and I'm so glad I did! I absolutely adored this hotel and hands down would be excited to stay here again! No-it's not as posh as some of the other Starwood hotels on this magical island, but nevertheless, it was perfection! Casual, comfortable, clean and convenient which was just what we needed! My 30th birthday was all about adventure - living and loving life! You will definitely need a rental car to explore and may I suggest an SUV, sans the roof! The super-friendly staff at the hotel was able to provide directions and suggestions for the very best places to sightsee and believe it or not I think we covered every driveable destination on the island. We decided to drive up to the Northern end of the island and visited some of Starwood's other properties while up there to swim in Hanalei Bay. Took a bit of time, but totally worth the drive. On the other days during that week, we visited the Polihale Beach (beyond words), the absolutely breathtaking Na Pali Coast/cliffs, the must-see Waimea Canyon, cultural Luas, zipline adventures high above the trees and swimming beneath cool waterfalls. All to come "home" each day to a hotel with fun activities, entertainment and evening Mai Tais! Plus great snorkeling at the beach just beyond the open air restaurants of the hotel where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. We also had a nice dinner at the hotel one night but there were so many highly rated restaurants neaby that we ventured out most evenings. Doesn't this sound like paradise to you, too? The Sheraton Kauai was a great choice when looking for adventure in Kauai!! January 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old hotel in need of updating The Sheraton Kauai is directly on the ocean and can provide spectacular views. But beyond that, it leaves a lot to be desired. It's a very old hold and needs some TLC (aka renovations) I arrived at 4:30 pm and waited 10 minutes in line for the valet/bellman. The driveway was jam packed! The valet said to leave my bag in the car and come back to tell them my room number when it was assigned. I then waited 10 minutes in line to check in. Luckily the concierge was able to help me book a few dinner reservations while I waited. There was no SPG preferred check-in lane. At check-in I was told that they weren't sure if my room was ready. They had to send someone to check. I sat in the lobby and waited, and waited, and waited. After an hour of waiting I went up to the desk. It seemed that the girl who first helped me was gone and no one was following up on my room. The new person seemed dry unsure and needed to call housekeeping. That's when I got a little upset. The manager came out and instantly my room was ready. Amazing. She was very kind and apologetic that I'd waited more than an hour and gave me a credit to my room so i could have dinner on them. Very nice. The room had a great view of the ocean, but is angled slightly so you can see directly into the rooms of the next building. Odd design. The pools and grounds around the lobby and beach are very nice. The hotel is looted on both sides of the road. It's strange. The groups on the other side (no oceanfront) didn't look as nice as the main grounds did. The rooms are old. The carpet needs some massive cleaning. The bathtubs have permanent stains (rust most likely). The beds are pretty comfortable. I like the sheraton beds for the most part. Wifi is atrocious. It's really very slow and the speed varies depending on where you are in the hotel. The wifi in the room is not so good. Must be a Hawaii thing. The staff all are very friendly and genuinely seemed to care. Very different from some other stay's I had earlier in the week. I probably wouldn't return to this hotel unless I had no other options. It would be my last choice due to age of property and need of renovations. December 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit deceiving from online site...however, great location They advertise recently renovated, however, they fail to mention that there are many buildings within the Sheraton Kauai and not all have been renovated and if they have, I'm sure they spent more money on the main building which houses the pool, restaurants/bar. If your in the other buildings it's as if you're an outcast with your own pool that has no food or beverage options. They also advertise the Rainforest Spa. The spa doesn't exist. I found this out after the front desk sent me looking for the "spa" in my building and after searching around I asked the Salon staff and found out the spa was actually in a hotel room - the one below my room. The pillows were flat and uncomfortable and the bathroom was extremely dim. The shower also had no water pressure (an issue I heard among many guests). We also were put in a room that had no towels and were told it would be a few hours to get them (another issue shared among guests) In the rooms we had no cell service and terrible wifi. Most of the time you loose connection. As far as food - in the book of guest services it states that breakfast is from 7:30-10:30am (pretty early considering the times of all other hotels) - found out the hard way that they changed their hours to 7:30am-9:30am - even worse and we missed breakfast. When we finally made it to Rum Fire for breakfast the next day it was a good 15 minutes before we were asked what we would like to drink...another 15 minutes before we got our coffee and juice. And, much later before we got our food. Needless to say, we did not go there for dinner due to terrible service. Luckily, we found The Shops at Kukui ula and stumbled upon amazing food places for a quarter of the prices at the Sheraton. The location of the actual main pool on the beach was beautiful. Due to the lack of amenities (spa, room service -which doesn't serve breakfast fyi) I would not stay there again. We were on our honeymoon and expected to relax in a spa, not have to rush out for breakfast and were very disappointed. October 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great stay, with the exception of the beach cabanas Pros: Location, location, this area is very good for restaurants, whether off resort in the small shopping center of at other resorts. Rum Fire was good at the Sheraton. Hotel is dated but well maintained. The staff was excellent, the SPG recognition was very good and they were very accommodating of different reasonable requests, I'd say this was among the best staff I've seen at Sheratons. Upgrades: Even though we had booked a king bed, they gave us an ocean view 2 double beds for 2 nights and then we changed to a king bed ocean view. The view, well, was stunning and made the stay very pleasant. Cons: There is only 7 beach umbrellas for the pool and none at the beach, so you have to "rent" cabanas, the not so great ones at the beach are $50 per day and the really nice ones at the pool at $100 per day, very steep IMO and proven by the fact that only about 10% are rented. This is such bad pricing that it pushed us to spend all our time off resort, which is bad for the resort itself, other people got our spending money. Also, whenever we mentioned the outrageous pricing to the staff, the convenient excuse was that it's a 3rd party vendor. Well, sorry management, but you can easily control that for your guests' enjoyment. As a platinum SPG member for a few years now, I spend a lot on hotel and I somewhat know what is good pricing, at least I think :) The Lava's breakfast as mentioned by others is the same every morning. The staff however was amazing there, so this helped a bit. My wife has celiac and they were really accommodating. Gym is falling into pieces, needs lots of improvements there. Resort fee: We called from the airport on whether there was a parking charge, they responded that yes it was $31 a day, so we opted for a cab ride to the hotel only to learn that the resort fee was the $31 and that it covered parking. Well, took a cab back to the airport to rent a car, nice $100 wasted. Someone could have been specific on the phone to say NO PARKING fees since it is included in the resort fee. All in all, it's a good resort due to location and excellent service, but I'd say rent a car and go buy a cheap umbrella for the beach at K-Mart or WalMart before driving to the hotel. The cons restrained me from giving a 4 or 5 star. Especially the cabanas, someone needs to seriously review that pricing. June 3, 2013
<<prev 22 23 24 25 26 next>>