Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 775 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful views Our stay at the Sheraton was nice but lacking in a few categories such as room cleanliness, welcome and politeness of staff. When we first walked into our room we noticed the amazing views, however after closer inspection a dirty diaper was found behind the entertainment unit...gross! It was promptly removed, thank goodness. Also, don't expect a warm welcome from the valet. The welcome was underwhelming and we actually had to ask for a shell lei that was in plain site. Obviously they were not overly friendly, not the way you want to be invited to a resort where you'll be spending a week on vacation. Overall the experience interacting with the staff was standard, nothing memorable. The lady working the Link Cafe was rude and was coughing as she made our pizza. She made it clear that she did not enjoy her job by the way she interacted with guests and haphazardly prepared food. The only two staff members that left an impression during our staff was Vicky and Meiko at the concierge. They made sure that our activities were booked and were available to answer any questions about driving in the area. The beach and newly renovated pool area I would rate as five star! February 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The start of our Hawaiian experience What a beautiful way to start a vacation. Everything about this resort is wonderful. The staff, services, rooms and the location. July 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by DIRTY/MUSTY/RUDE/CHEAP WALLS Awful…. will never return and the Sharaton brand must be in trouble. Dated rooms-bad attitudes. FAIL March 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT FOR EVERYONE THE LOCATION IS NICE THATS THE ONLY THING GOING FOR IT . DID NOT GET WHAT WE PURCHASED . TREATED LIKE SECOND CLASS CITIZENS FROM THE TIME WE SHOWED UP TILL WE LEFT. THE BATHROOMS WHERE JUST A LITTLE BETTER THAN PUBLIC RESTROOMS WITH WATER STANDING IN THE BATHTUB SMELT LIKE MILDEW CARPET LOSE IN THE ROOM I'VE STAYED IN NICER LOW BUDGET HOTEL'S LAVAS WAS VERY OVER PRICED IF YOU ARE GOING TO SERVE POWDERED EGGS I THINK 25 DOLLARS A PLATE IS EXTREME YOU CAN GO ANYWHERE ON THE ISLAND AND GET A GOOD BREAKFAST FOR THAT AND WAS SUPPOSE TO BE INCLUDED HAVE TO TALK TO MY AGENT TO SEE WHO WAS AT FAULT FOR THAT WHEN I HAD TO PARK ON THE STREET BECAUSE OF EVENT AND CARD READER WAS NOT WORKING THEY TOLD ME IT WAS AND ARGUED INTERNET WAS LIKE DIAL UP.WHEN SOME ONE HAS A COMPLAINT IT SHOULD BE DEALT WITH OR RESOLVED I WAITED TO HEAR FROM SOMEONE BUT I GUESS THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO EXPRESS MY FEELINGS I WAS CHARGED 31 AND SOME CHANGE PER DAY TO PARK HAVE INTERNET ETC. THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE INCLUDED AGAIN TALK TO THE AGENT BECAUSE NOBODY CARED I WOULD'VE LIKED THIS VACATION TO BE UNFORGETTABLE. BUT THAT WAS NOT THE CASE IF I RAN MY BUSINESS THIS WAY I WOULD BE OUT OF BUSINESS January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! Hotel was a perfect location. It met all our needs! Fun activities included in resort fee. Fantastic stay! June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved our stay We were upgraded to a beautiful room and treated as honored quests! We plan to come back next year! October 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Lovation Very nice facility in great location. Poipu is a great area for sun, surf, and adventure February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was our 3rd time staying, we love it here! We love the new renovations and the beach is the best in Poipu! September 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay - Great Hotel Best stay on Hawaii! Beautiful location. Wish to come back! September 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool We missed the pool slide this year! March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a wonderful place!!!!!! I write this halfway through our stay, sitting on my balcony overlooking a beautiful garden area with a slight glimpse if the ocean. I must admit, in planning our trip to Kauai I read review after review on all of our "prospects" for potential locations. I perhaps over read and totally stressed out. On this particular location I became really concerned with booking a garden view room based off all of the negative reviews. I decided to just go for it and did it. Let me tell you right off, we could not be more satisfied. Our room is awesome (would have preferred a king to two queens) and we have no complaints. No bugs, no thin walls, no dirt, etc as others have described. We had considered asking for an ocean front upgrade but soon realized we are hardly in the room anyway as this resort and the surrounding area are lovely. We have had no issues with staff or the Lava bar. We have not eaten at Rum Fire or the resort luau. Be prepared for high prices on food, alcohol and other items. I would recommend stopping at WalMart or Costco on the way to the resort to load up on water,soda, and alcohol I have had a wonderful 50th birthday celebration as well as an awesome delayed 10 year wedding anniversary with my wife. We could not be happier with this resort!!!!! There are lots of families and couples at this resort. Makes for an enjoyable experience. We especially like watching the younger kids as we miss our 8 year old son and 19 month old daughter. We definitely want to bring them here on our next trip. The beach is just a short walk across the street however it can be rough at times, and even a stray Portuguese Man of War. The pool was nice but it is definitely not top notch as you would find at other resorts. The view however is awesome. There are plenty of restaurants and shops just a short one mile walk from the resort. We did not use valet as self parking was easy and always had a space for us. Thanks Sheraton for a wonderful vacation. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Love With This Hotel From the beginning at check in we had a great front desk agent who was very nice and catering. Our room was amazing Deluxe Ocean Front. Just in love with the spaciousness of the room and view. Well worth the money and I recommend getting this room. We ate at Lavas and the food was good and our waitress was great. The valet and bell people were catering. I enjoyed the café next to the lobby. They have a great banana bread. So good I bought some before I left the hotel. Overall my view of this hotel was 5 stars for it's cleanliness of room, view, property and people that work there. So Happy that I'm staying in June for my daughters bday. Can't wait! May 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worse I have spent over 600 nights in Starwood properties and the Sheraton Kauai was one of the most disappointing experiences I can remember. It was so bad that I am writing my first negative review ever. There are some things that were related to facilities, but there were several personnel issues that could be improved by proper training or basic management. First, the front desk did very little to make me feel welcome, let alone special for being Platinum. I don't need anything special, just saying they were cold. My room was not ready so I had to wait for several hours. No suite upgrade came through and there was no upgrade for me. This news was delivered to me in a way that made me feel that the woman checking me in was happy that I did not receive any special treatment. It was almost offensive. Second, the room smelled of sewage and the drain in the tub did not work. The room felt old and dirty. Location of the room was remote and had to be one of the least desirable rooms on the property. Third, the service in the cafe was horrible. I felt like I was disturbing them every time I wanted to make a purchase. I felt like they resented that I was there in the first place. Finally, the fitness room was small, had old equipment, and a third of the machines did not work properly. Valet was very efficient - that is the only positive I can think of. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost very happy This is our second time at the Sheraton Poipu Kauai resort. It has many fine qualities and a first-rate staff. That said, I would add three thoughts for improvement. The breakfast plan was something we were really looking forward to on our return trip. What a disappointment. The food is still good and the portions are endless, but what happened to the wonderful breakfast extravaganza? The selection was much smaller this time, and there was no variation day to day. The impressively beautiful open-air breakfast location has been switched to a smaller open-air location that feels more like a coffee shop. My second suggestion is to PLEASE IMPROVE YOUR INTERNET RELIABILITY. It was erratic and very slow. I spoke to the front desk and to tech service. They sent a Belkin router, but it did not help and left me constantly switching between the hotel connection when away from the room and router when in the room. I wasted several hours of my vacation time with this issue. I needed to connect with my office VPN and things that should have taken 10 minutes took several hours. I needed to download a large file about Kauai - forget that - it was impossible. One last suggestion: The TV menu was difficult at times. It was not intuitive and would often default back to the home screen during a TV program. As I say, we love Kauai and this resort is very, very good. But, it can be improved. July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprise!! I booked a 25th anniversary trip for my wife and I which was a surprise till we arrived at the airport the morning of departure. We had stayed at the Sheraton Resort on our honeymoon 25 years earlier and went back for this trip and am I glad we did. The resort was even more beautiful than we remembered and the room we had reserved was outstanding. Spacious, clean, 2 big Queen beds, soft luxurious linens and a view of the beach, ocean, sunrise and sunset to die for. The staff was also excellent. From the bellmen to the check-in to activities, everyone was efficient, knew there jobs very well and were genuinely happy to help you have a nice stay. In fact, this is the first resort I have been at that the people working for your company put our needs in front of anything else when we needed something. Example, while talking to the girls in the coffee shop and asking them their opinions of some places we should see while on the island, a crowd was backing up behind us. Instead of rushing us out to help those behind us, we had the undivided attention of those ladies until we were finished. No comments that others were waiting, no glances back at the crowd behind us, nothing but US until we were finished. Back East in Boston we would have been run out of the shop for taking that long and told never to return. Exceptional service all around. In fact my wife and I couldn't find fault with the resort if we looked for it. Wonderful property, wonderful staff and a wonderful anniversary. We will be back November 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by "Tired Rooms" This was my fourth visit to this property in four years and will most likely be my last. While this hotel is the closest to the beach you can get, the property has decided to invest in the public areas and neglect the rooms. This time we had (yet again) an ocean front room and the view is great, however I had the 2 of the worst night sleeps due to a worn out bed that I've had in my 500+ hotel nights over the last 7 years. Other items that the room was 'tired'. 1. Mold/Mildew in the bathroom. 2. Paint peeling around baseboards (everywhere). 3. Cracked bathroom sink 4. Wine stains on the tile/grout (like a bottle dropped). 5. Loose hot water facet handle 6. UNCOMFORTABLE beds. 7. Hair in sink and tub The other part is the $30 daily resort fee. While it's great to bundle everything into this such as activities, WiFi and parking, the WiFI NEVER worked from our room and one of the activities we scheduled, the instructor was a no-show which was bad because the activity was at 2pm and we could have done something else. I regret to say that on our next visit in Oct '14 I don't think this property will be on our list to stay at unless the rooms get attention. I would like to thank them for waiving the early departure fee (even though I checked out at 11am) and went another property 2 miles down the road road. Very disappointed, hope you can get things together as we use to enjoy our stays here. Email received from Hotel was only "We will look at putting in a new mattress in the rooms". Nothing else. Disappointed. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice stay, but Wi-Fi is atrocious Overall, the hotel and stay were nice. Very friendly staff and the grounds were beautiful. Three things to change that would get you five stars in my book: 1. Upgrade the wi-fi. It's 2013, and your wi-fi is atrociously unavailable and slow. I know it's Hawaii and people are there to relax, but speedy access for work or fun is now a standard in the hotel world and you are way behind. 2. Use fitted or larger bottom sheets. I found myself sleeping on a bare mattress more than once as the sheet was shifted during sleep. 3. Use electric leaf blowers and hedge trimmers to reduce noise. It's tough to relax with loud, gas-powered equipment running for hours. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice Stay I rarely comment and have only written when I had negative experiences (which is rare), but I would like to write today to say that the staff at Sheraton Kauai were excellent. Sissy at Checkin, Chantelle at Concierge stand out, but really everyone including pool staff made an effort. My Platinum status was well recognized. My only negative was the lack of chairs on the beach itself. They are all the pool. One must pay extra to rent chairs on the beach and I did pay the $50 one day but that is really taking advantage of guests. Also, there are not enough umbrellas at the pool thus forcing one to do the beach rental. Overall, great stay and great staff. November 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Step Down We have stayed in amny a Sheraton hotels previously and were looking forward to our stay at your facility in Poipu. At first glance everything seems to be consistent with the Sheraton brand; however, once we had been on the property for a couple of days it became apparent that this resort had several shortcomings. 1) The facility is outdated and the Garden View room we stayed in isin dire need of a remodel, the shower/tub and ceiling above showed a need for immediate attention. The ants/roaches that came out when the lights were off...that was enough for us. 2) The shuttle service is extremely limited in terms of hours of operation (1000 - 2200) and very limited range. We wanted to visit the UKE Shop and had to hire a taxi for $10.00 each way; we had to hire another taxi for an early tee time and then waited over a 1/2 hour for the shuttle to actually pick us up after we called twice. 3) Service at Lavas (outdoor grill at pool) can be great or very poor depending on who you get for a server. On the whole, the food was very good but the portions were small for the price. 4) We were caught off guard when we wanted to extend out check out time because the Concierge staff member had made an early tee time for us the morning of our departure. We were unable to extend past the 1100 check out (most facilities have a 1200 checkout time, I recommend you consider this...), however, we were offered and did utilize the Hospitality suite to "freshen up". The Concierge services were great and the housekeeping personnel were wonderful. The bartenders at Lavas & Rum Fire were excellent; as well as the majority of the bell staff. We cannot comment on parking or valet services since we did not rent a vehicle. In the unlikely event we would stay at this resort again, we would rent a vehicle because of the limitations with the shuttle services. September 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE TREATMENT for SPG MEMBERS The hotel itself is a GREAT hotel. Probably a favorite for my wife and I. But the front desk staff was horrific. I am a frequent traveler on SPG and a platinum member for some time now and I had asked for an upgrade to a suite if available. My wife was also 6 months pregnant. They had suites available during my stay but wanted to charge me an extra $500/night, even though they were not booked and I am Platinum November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Class in Every Way! The resort location (proximity to the ocean) and quality of the room accommodations are unbeatable....with one exception: the resort staff!! We were just thrilled with the clean and spacious living quarters and beautiful patio with several chairs and chaise recliners perfect for viewing the spectacular ocean waves rolling in. As close as one will get to Heaven on earth! Unfortunately our stay was interrupted by a family emergency forcing us to leave paradise early. Lonnie, Sissy, and Elaine were beyond empathetic, kind, and helpful....you have some remarkable people working at The Sheraton Kauai. We will be returning soon to complete our romantic getaway...everything is outstanding here, but the employees put The Sheraton Kauai over the top! October 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff and facilities, but avoid building 5 I decided to stay in the Sheraton Kauai after a great experience with the Sheraton in Maui. Hotel location was great. There was a nice beach right outside the pool and there were two shopping centers close by. The facilities were very nice. All staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially the bartenders at Rum Fire. The room furnishings were comfortable and the room was clean. However, in building 5, the rooms had a lot of noise. You can hear the person in the next room snoring, talking, using the restroom, babies crying multiple times in the night, etc. Also, the smell of the next room creeps into your room very noticeably. August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Expectations We stayed in room 4306 is accross the street from the main lodge. The room is due for some updating. There was a half inch gap on the right side of the entry door, the carpet was not stretched tightly and there was only one chair in the room. We had two iPhones and an IPad. We had to put the phones on the floor to charge them at night because there were not enough outlets in the room. We had to do laundry while we were there and the soap dispenser did not work and I don't think the laundry room had ever been cleaned. After the Lava restaurant closed there were not many food options. The water faucet in the shower was really stiff. March 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A much different platinum experience for me... I cannot speak for the experiences of other platinum members that gave this a single star but mine were dramatically different: When we arrived my GF was sick and we arrived maybe around 1400. The lady at desk was very polite and told me the room was not quite ready (this wasn't a surprise to me, but clearly others are bothered). I politely asked if they were upgrading platinum members (we had booked the lowest level room) to which she verified we had been upgraded. However the room was not a single King but a pair of doubles. We briefly discussed my GF's situation and decided we would take that room but if a King was available would like to move if possible. She coordinated this for us and checked in later letting us know they had something available for us the next day. For the inconvenience she gave us some additional free drinks. Ultimately we stayed in the room we were initially assigned because the vaulted ceiling + a fan + an open door was about the most perfect room condition you could ask for. They also called to ask how my GF was feeling later on and if there was anything we could do. Overall - the staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. The maid even gave us one of her water bottles because the staff had not replaced ours before we were leaving. Again, I cannot speak for the other experiences but I travel extensively and I have found that a smile and some courtesy on the client side of the desk will often get you rewarded. It has *always* worked for me and did here as well. I don't think I would stay here without at least a partial ocean view and while the rooms have been upgraded I do feel they could make them a little less "busniess-y" by offering different shampoos and remodeling the bathrooms from a step in tub to something a little more upscale. That being said - I didn't go to Kauai to sit in a hotel room and the facilities were very comfortable. We both liked that it felt a little isolated and more relaxed than the other resorts we have been to and over all were very happy with our trip! November 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old hotel in need of updating The Sheraton Kauai is directly on the ocean and can provide spectacular views. But beyond that, it leaves a lot to be desired. It's a very old hold and needs some TLC (aka renovations) I arrived at 4:30 pm and waited 10 minutes in line for the valet/bellman. The driveway was jam packed! The valet said to leave my bag in the car and come back to tell them my room number when it was assigned. I then waited 10 minutes in line to check in. Luckily the concierge was able to help me book a few dinner reservations while I waited. There was no SPG preferred check-in lane. At check-in I was told that they weren't sure if my room was ready. They had to send someone to check. I sat in the lobby and waited, and waited, and waited. After an hour of waiting I went up to the desk. It seemed that the girl who first helped me was gone and no one was following up on my room. The new person seemed dry unsure and needed to call housekeeping. That's when I got a little upset. The manager came out and instantly my room was ready. Amazing. She was very kind and apologetic that I'd waited more than an hour and gave me a credit to my room so i could have dinner on them. Very nice. The room had a great view of the ocean, but is angled slightly so you can see directly into the rooms of the next building. Odd design. The pools and grounds around the lobby and beach are very nice. The hotel is looted on both sides of the road. It's strange. The groups on the other side (no oceanfront) didn't look as nice as the main grounds did. The rooms are old. The carpet needs some massive cleaning. The bathtubs have permanent stains (rust most likely). The beds are pretty comfortable. I like the sheraton beds for the most part. Wifi is atrocious. It's really very slow and the speed varies depending on where you are in the hotel. The wifi in the room is not so good. Must be a Hawaii thing. The staff all are very friendly and genuinely seemed to care. Very different from some other stay's I had earlier in the week. I probably wouldn't return to this hotel unless I had no other options. It would be my last choice due to age of property and need of renovations. December 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, Horrible Staff The hotel property and rooms are very nice and well kept. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. The beach is outstanding and offers a beautiful sunset view. Unfortunately, the pool is freezing (it was a very common occurrence to hear "Oh my gosh, it's FREEZING in here" as adults (and kids!) stepped in to the pool and then immediately back out). We literally never swam in the pool (we never saw more than 2 people in it at one time, it was empty most days), but enjoyed the hot tub in the late afternoons/evenings. We asked the front desk about the pool temperature and were snidely told, "There's only two heated pools in Kauai and it's not one of them." We were also asked to wear wrist bands while spending time at the pool/beach... I understand it's a public beach, but sitting on one of Sheraton's striped orange towels (which I had to check out with a towel card- and was only allowed one towel) should make it fairly obvious I'm a guest at the hotel. I didn't notice any non-guests sneaking in to the freezing pool during our week long stay and found the wrist bands a bit dramatic. The staff at the hotel were the worst we've seen at an SPG resort. Not terribly friendly at check-in and no attention from the Bellmen until we mentioned we were checking in. The waitresses around the pool were eager for tips, but their service was slow. We even had very poor service at Rum Fire, the only restaurant open in the evening. The menus at both the pool side restaurant, Lavas, and Rum Fire were LACKING- very small selections and the food was average. The Bellmen again watched us walk by them with all of our luggage when it was time to check-out. We were quite used to the poor service by then, but it would have been nice to enjoy a kind send-off. The location of the hotel is great and we enjoyed the resort... just not the service. We spent much of our time really enjoying hiking, kayaking, surfing, etc... but it would have been nice to come back to kind service after sightseeing. I'm still at a loss as to what the $30 daily resort fee provided... the slow wifi definitely wasn't worth $30/day. This beautiful resort really deserves better management/staff. January 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was not what I expected This hotel is perfect for young people (early 20s) who don't have much set in line for expectations other than a poolside drink. So disappointed that I spent so much money on a lackluster hotel. It didn't feel like a Hawaiian vacation- the grounds were not lush, the pool was very small, the food was good, however the rooms on the garden side were horrible. I thought it was tacky that towels were hung outside on railings and that there wasn't much of a welcome when I arrived. This trip was meant for a getaway for relaxation but we spent most of the time trying to get away from the hotel (which was slightly depressing). August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay We have traveled yearly to Hawaii to celebrate our wedding anniversary since 1999. Each year we visit a different island and stay and/or dine at one of the Sheraton hotels for our actual Anniversary night. Our stay this year was one of the most special starting from the moment we drove our rental car to the valet check in and never stopped. We were treated like royalty, from the check-in desk and never enjoyed ourselves more. Normally we look for a oceanfront cottage vacation rental by owner, and just stay at a Sheraton for the one night, now for the first time in fourteen years we will have to re-think that strategy as we plan our trip to Maui this year. April 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bed requests are that, not a guarantee The room was lovely, clean and comfortable, BUT, I had "requested" a king size bed. On checkin, they only had a room with two double beds. I pointed out the discrepancy and it was met with a quick reminder that I had only requested a king bed, but that does not mean you'll get one. This was from a reservation made many months ago. You think planning would have been in place to meet a "request" that was made many months beofore my arrival. I was also unhappy that my room was across the street from the beach. I did not see that called out on your website and it was another source of discontent. I will let others know who plan to make a reservation of this finding. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is so friendly We spent a week there with our 3 year old twin girls. We really enjoyed ourselves, there are lovely beaches and a great pool, beautiful views, and lots to see and do nearby. I just want to call out the friendly staff - they got to know our girls right away and were very friendly. In particular, I want to call out the valet staff who were super friendly, particularly Frank. They were so friendly to the girls, including bringing bread for the girls to feed to the fishes in the pond, which turned out to be one of their favorite activities. It seems like a small thing, but it added hugely to our enjoyment of the trip. Thanks guys! December 7, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 27 next>>