Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 772 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hawaiian Holiday Great hotel with a tremendous staff. We've been there several times and they never cease to surprise us with their warmth and hospitality. September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacation Destination Very friendly, wonderful Hawaiian experience...it has a beautiful beach and pools. It can be as relaxing or as eventful as you would like. July 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by DIRTY/MUSTY/RUDE/CHEAP WALLS Awful…. will never return and the Sharaton brand must be in trouble. Dated rooms-bad attitudes. FAIL March 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful views Our stay at the Sheraton was nice but lacking in a few categories such as room cleanliness, welcome and politeness of staff. When we first walked into our room we noticed the amazing views, however after closer inspection a dirty diaper was found behind the entertainment unit...gross! It was promptly removed, thank goodness. Also, don't expect a warm welcome from the valet. The welcome was underwhelming and we actually had to ask for a shell lei that was in plain site. Obviously they were not overly friendly, not the way you want to be invited to a resort where you'll be spending a week on vacation. Overall the experience interacting with the staff was standard, nothing memorable. The lady working the Link Cafe was rude and was coughing as she made our pizza. She made it clear that she did not enjoy her job by the way she interacted with guests and haphazardly prepared food. The only two staff members that left an impression during our staff was Vicky and Meiko at the concierge. They made sure that our activities were booked and were available to answer any questions about driving in the area. The beach and newly renovated pool area I would rate as five star! February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problem Areas The room I had really needed some updating and there were "ghost" or small ants all over the bathroom sink area during the entire stay. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Re-defined What you'll remember most about your stay here is how genuinely some of the staff cares about you. We had a pretty rocky start of our surprise honeymoon with flight delays, wrong room, then a room that was way worse than what we expected, until I spoke to the manager Laura. She promised nothing. She asked for nothing. She just had a very lovely conversation with me. Took the time to hear about how things were going. She didn't make me to do the work to figure out what I wanted her to do to make things better. She listened and then proposed a solution that I would love. She even went as far as to give me her cellphone and asked me to call her even when she's off duty to personally guarantee that our stay will be a memorable stay given the occasion. That's unheard of unless you're paying a ridiculously high premium for the service (sort of what my clients pay me and I do the same for them). I was on vacation, I didn't want to fight, I didn't want to be upset, I didn't want any negative feelings, and I didn't want to have to work to get what I had paid for. I walked out with a fantastic outcome with only as much as saying 'here's what didn't work out'. May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! We loved this hotel! The grounds are beautiful, the pool was nice, and the beach was gorgeous. The staff seemed to go out of their way to make sure we had an excellent vacation. The valet was so great! He had good recommendations of where to go to see different things on the island and everyday he would let my daughter feed the fish (probably the best part of the trip for my 18 month old!) The only complaint I have is that we found the employees at the concierge desk to be quite rude. They made a big deal at check-in to stop by the concierge desk and get our free gift but when we stopped by the lady there couldn’t have acted more bored. On another occasion, I asked for suggestions of what to do with a toddler and she said the only thing she could do was ride some train, not very helpful. The last night we were there, we tried to make reservations for the restaurant and called the number listed in our room. The concierge answered and without even putting my husband on hold said to someone in the background, “I don’t know why these f---ing people are calling me.” Definitely not the professionalism we saw with the other employees who were all wonderful. December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The start of our Hawaiian experience What a beautiful way to start a vacation. Everything about this resort is wonderful. The staff, services, rooms and the location. July 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT FOR EVERYONE THE LOCATION IS NICE THATS THE ONLY THING GOING FOR IT . DID NOT GET WHAT WE PURCHASED . TREATED LIKE SECOND CLASS CITIZENS FROM THE TIME WE SHOWED UP TILL WE LEFT. THE BATHROOMS WHERE JUST A LITTLE BETTER THAN PUBLIC RESTROOMS WITH WATER STANDING IN THE BATHTUB SMELT LIKE MILDEW CARPET LOSE IN THE ROOM I'VE STAYED IN NICER LOW BUDGET HOTEL'S LAVAS WAS VERY OVER PRICED IF YOU ARE GOING TO SERVE POWDERED EGGS I THINK 25 DOLLARS A PLATE IS EXTREME YOU CAN GO ANYWHERE ON THE ISLAND AND GET A GOOD BREAKFAST FOR THAT AND WAS SUPPOSE TO BE INCLUDED HAVE TO TALK TO MY AGENT TO SEE WHO WAS AT FAULT FOR THAT WHEN I HAD TO PARK ON THE STREET BECAUSE OF EVENT AND CARD READER WAS NOT WORKING THEY TOLD ME IT WAS AND ARGUED INTERNET WAS LIKE DIAL UP.WHEN SOME ONE HAS A COMPLAINT IT SHOULD BE DEALT WITH OR RESOLVED I WAITED TO HEAR FROM SOMEONE BUT I GUESS THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO EXPRESS MY FEELINGS I WAS CHARGED 31 AND SOME CHANGE PER DAY TO PARK HAVE INTERNET ETC. THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE INCLUDED AGAIN TALK TO THE AGENT BECAUSE NOBODY CARED I WOULD'VE LIKED THIS VACATION TO BE UNFORGETTABLE. BUT THAT WAS NOT THE CASE IF I RAN MY BUSINESS THIS WAY I WOULD BE OUT OF BUSINESS January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ocean views are amazing! Our first time in Hawai'i (visiting four islands). Kaua'i was our third. Ryan, our concierge, is absolutely great! He listened to us; made excellent suggestions; assisted with obtaining reservations for tours and made us feel like family. For beach/pool activities, Shawntel is an excellent instructor (she taught me to snorkel and feel comfortable doing so--even with my water issues). She is friendly and especially patient. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Our ocean view room was to die for. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! Hotel was a perfect location. It met all our needs! Fun activities included in resort fee. Fantastic stay! June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Lovation Very nice facility in great location. Poipu is a great area for sun, surf, and adventure February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved our stay We were upgraded to a beautiful room and treated as honored quests! We plan to come back next year! October 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was our 3rd time staying, we love it here! We love the new renovations and the beach is the best in Poipu! September 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was not what I expected This hotel is perfect for young people (early 20s) who don't have much set in line for expectations other than a poolside drink. So disappointed that I spent so much money on a lackluster hotel. It didn't feel like a Hawaiian vacation- the grounds were not lush, the pool was very small, the food was good, however the rooms on the garden side were horrible. I thought it was tacky that towels were hung outside on railings and that there wasn't much of a welcome when I arrived. This trip was meant for a getaway for relaxation but we spent most of the time trying to get away from the hotel (which was slightly depressing). August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay - Great Hotel Best stay on Hawaii! Beautiful location. Wish to come back! September 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Love With This Hotel From the beginning at check in we had a great front desk agent who was very nice and catering. Our room was amazing Deluxe Ocean Front. Just in love with the spaciousness of the room and view. Well worth the money and I recommend getting this room. We ate at Lavas and the food was good and our waitress was great. The valet and bell people were catering. I enjoyed the café next to the lobby. They have a great banana bread. So good I bought some before I left the hotel. Overall my view of this hotel was 5 stars for it's cleanliness of room, view, property and people that work there. So Happy that I'm staying in June for my daughters bday. Can't wait! May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool We missed the pool slide this year! March 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worse I have spent over 600 nights in Starwood properties and the Sheraton Kauai was one of the most disappointing experiences I can remember. It was so bad that I am writing my first negative review ever. There are some things that were related to facilities, but there were several personnel issues that could be improved by proper training or basic management. First, the front desk did very little to make me feel welcome, let alone special for being Platinum. I don't need anything special, just saying they were cold. My room was not ready so I had to wait for several hours. No suite upgrade came through and there was no upgrade for me. This news was delivered to me in a way that made me feel that the woman checking me in was happy that I did not receive any special treatment. It was almost offensive. Second, the room smelled of sewage and the drain in the tub did not work. The room felt old and dirty. Location of the room was remote and had to be one of the least desirable rooms on the property. Third, the service in the cafe was horrible. I felt like I was disturbing them every time I wanted to make a purchase. I felt like they resented that I was there in the first place. Finally, the fitness room was small, had old equipment, and a third of the machines did not work properly. Valet was very efficient - that is the only positive I can think of. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service Here's a big shout out to Sissie [Front Desk] and Shantelle [Concierge] for their superior Aloha attitude and follow-through on my recent 8-night stay at Poipu. Everyone I encountered was friendly and supportive. I worked a lot with these two ladies and all aspects of our dealings were first-rate. And, yes, the facility is superb and well-maintained. October 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost very happy This is our second time at the Sheraton Poipu Kauai resort. It has many fine qualities and a first-rate staff. That said, I would add three thoughts for improvement. The breakfast plan was something we were really looking forward to on our return trip. What a disappointment. The food is still good and the portions are endless, but what happened to the wonderful breakfast extravaganza? The selection was much smaller this time, and there was no variation day to day. The impressively beautiful open-air breakfast location has been switched to a smaller open-air location that feels more like a coffee shop. My second suggestion is to PLEASE IMPROVE YOUR INTERNET RELIABILITY. It was erratic and very slow. I spoke to the front desk and to tech service. They sent a Belkin router, but it did not help and left me constantly switching between the hotel connection when away from the room and router when in the room. I wasted several hours of my vacation time with this issue. I needed to connect with my office VPN and things that should have taken 10 minutes took several hours. I needed to download a large file about Kauai - forget that - it was impossible. One last suggestion: The TV menu was difficult at times. It was not intuitive and would often default back to the home screen during a TV program. As I say, we love Kauai and this resort is very, very good. But, it can be improved. July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprise!! I booked a 25th anniversary trip for my wife and I which was a surprise till we arrived at the airport the morning of departure. We had stayed at the Sheraton Resort on our honeymoon 25 years earlier and went back for this trip and am I glad we did. The resort was even more beautiful than we remembered and the room we had reserved was outstanding. Spacious, clean, 2 big Queen beds, soft luxurious linens and a view of the beach, ocean, sunrise and sunset to die for. The staff was also excellent. From the bellmen to the check-in to activities, everyone was efficient, knew there jobs very well and were genuinely happy to help you have a nice stay. In fact, this is the first resort I have been at that the people working for your company put our needs in front of anything else when we needed something. Example, while talking to the girls in the coffee shop and asking them their opinions of some places we should see while on the island, a crowd was backing up behind us. Instead of rushing us out to help those behind us, we had the undivided attention of those ladies until we were finished. No comments that others were waiting, no glances back at the crowd behind us, nothing but US until we were finished. Back East in Boston we would have been run out of the shop for taking that long and told never to return. Exceptional service all around. In fact my wife and I couldn't find fault with the resort if we looked for it. Wonderful property, wonderful staff and a wonderful anniversary. We will be back November 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by "Tired Rooms" This was my fourth visit to this property in four years and will most likely be my last. While this hotel is the closest to the beach you can get, the property has decided to invest in the public areas and neglect the rooms. This time we had (yet again) an ocean front room and the view is great, however I had the 2 of the worst night sleeps due to a worn out bed that I've had in my 500+ hotel nights over the last 7 years. Other items that the room was 'tired'. 1. Mold/Mildew in the bathroom. 2. Paint peeling around baseboards (everywhere). 3. Cracked bathroom sink 4. Wine stains on the tile/grout (like a bottle dropped). 5. Loose hot water facet handle 6. UNCOMFORTABLE beds. 7. Hair in sink and tub The other part is the $30 daily resort fee. While it's great to bundle everything into this such as activities, WiFi and parking, the WiFI NEVER worked from our room and one of the activities we scheduled, the instructor was a no-show which was bad because the activity was at 2pm and we could have done something else. I regret to say that on our next visit in Oct '14 I don't think this property will be on our list to stay at unless the rooms get attention. I would like to thank them for waiving the early departure fee (even though I checked out at 11am) and went another property 2 miles down the road road. Very disappointed, hope you can get things together as we use to enjoy our stays here. Email received from Hotel was only "We will look at putting in a new mattress in the rooms". Nothing else. Disappointed. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice stay, but Wi-Fi is atrocious Overall, the hotel and stay were nice. Very friendly staff and the grounds were beautiful. Three things to change that would get you five stars in my book: 1. Upgrade the wi-fi. It's 2013, and your wi-fi is atrociously unavailable and slow. I know it's Hawaii and people are there to relax, but speedy access for work or fun is now a standard in the hotel world and you are way behind. 2. Use fitted or larger bottom sheets. I found myself sleeping on a bare mattress more than once as the sheet was shifted during sleep. 3. Use electric leaf blowers and hedge trimmers to reduce noise. It's tough to relax with loud, gas-powered equipment running for hours. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice Stay I rarely comment and have only written when I had negative experiences (which is rare), but I would like to write today to say that the staff at Sheraton Kauai were excellent. Sissy at Checkin, Chantelle at Concierge stand out, but really everyone including pool staff made an effort. My Platinum status was well recognized. My only negative was the lack of chairs on the beach itself. They are all the pool. One must pay extra to rent chairs on the beach and I did pay the $50 one day but that is really taking advantage of guests. Also, there are not enough umbrellas at the pool thus forcing one to do the beach rental. Overall, great stay and great staff. November 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Poipu in October 2014 We arrived October 6th before the 3pm checkin and our rooms were not available. The front desk said they would call us by 3pm but we did not ever receive a call. We went to the front desk around 4pm and our rooms was still not ready. When we finally got a room assignment, it was in the corner of the property in the designated smoking area. The front desk representative kindly moved us to another location. We checked in to our room, got settled and open the doors to the lanai. Unfortunately, there was very loud construction noise that went on for over an hour into the 6 o'clock hour. When I called the front desk to inquire about the noise, I was told that there is no construction going on and no one else is complaining. I asked about the room replacement and remodel of the building right next to ours and they confirmed there is a renovation going on. (?) They offered to move my room again but it was back to the smoking area so I had a choice of jack hammering noise or cigarette smoke. I chose the noise. There is a $31 per day resort fee that covers WiFi and other amenities. The WiFi never worked in our room or in the gym. We got the best reception with no WiFi standing on the beach. If we wanted to use our phones, we had to leave the room. This is very inconvenient, especially when you are paying for a service. Three of the classes/sessions that we pre-signed up for (also part of the $31 per day resort fee) were canceled last minute with no notice because the instructor did not show up. This is very inconvenient when you plan your day/vacation around the activities you've set for each day. If the classes were not going to happen, the hotel could have contacted us to alert us so we didn't rush back. In an overall general comment, the staff seemed unhappy most of the week we were there. There was one very friendly woman who worked in the Linked Cafe that was very helpful and nice. The three people we tried talking to at the Concierge desk where short and not helpful so we ended up planning most of our excursions on our own. Where is the aloha spirit? I loved Kauai but would definitely stay at another property next time. October 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Step Down We have stayed in amny a Sheraton hotels previously and were looking forward to our stay at your facility in Poipu. At first glance everything seems to be consistent with the Sheraton brand; however, once we had been on the property for a couple of days it became apparent that this resort had several shortcomings. 1) The facility is outdated and the Garden View room we stayed in isin dire need of a remodel, the shower/tub and ceiling above showed a need for immediate attention. The ants/roaches that came out when the lights were off...that was enough for us. 2) The shuttle service is extremely limited in terms of hours of operation (1000 - 2200) and very limited range. We wanted to visit the UKE Shop and had to hire a taxi for $10.00 each way; we had to hire another taxi for an early tee time and then waited over a 1/2 hour for the shuttle to actually pick us up after we called twice. 3) Service at Lavas (outdoor grill at pool) can be great or very poor depending on who you get for a server. On the whole, the food was very good but the portions were small for the price. 4) We were caught off guard when we wanted to extend out check out time because the Concierge staff member had made an early tee time for us the morning of our departure. We were unable to extend past the 1100 check out (most facilities have a 1200 checkout time, I recommend you consider this...), however, we were offered and did utilize the Hospitality suite to "freshen up". The Concierge services were great and the housekeeping personnel were wonderful. The bartenders at Lavas & Rum Fire were excellent; as well as the majority of the bell staff. We cannot comment on parking or valet services since we did not rent a vehicle. In the unlikely event we would stay at this resort again, we would rent a vehicle because of the limitations with the shuttle services. September 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE TREATMENT for SPG MEMBERS The hotel itself is a GREAT hotel. Probably a favorite for my wife and I. But the front desk staff was horrific. I am a frequent traveler on SPG and a platinum member for some time now and I had asked for an upgrade to a suite if available. My wife was also 6 months pregnant. They had suites available during my stay but wanted to charge me an extra $500/night, even though they were not booked and I am Platinum November 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bed requests are that, not a guarantee The room was lovely, clean and comfortable, BUT, I had "requested" a king size bed. On checkin, they only had a room with two double beds. I pointed out the discrepancy and it was met with a quick reminder that I had only requested a king bed, but that does not mean you'll get one. This was from a reservation made many months ago. You think planning would have been in place to meet a "request" that was made many months beofore my arrival. I was also unhappy that my room was across the street from the beach. I did not see that called out on your website and it was another source of discontent. I will let others know who plan to make a reservation of this finding. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff and facilities, but avoid building 5 I decided to stay in the Sheraton Kauai after a great experience with the Sheraton in Maui. Hotel location was great. There was a nice beach right outside the pool and there were two shopping centers close by. The facilities were very nice. All staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially the bartenders at Rum Fire. The room furnishings were comfortable and the room was clean. However, in building 5, the rooms had a lot of noise. You can hear the person in the next room snoring, talking, using the restroom, babies crying multiple times in the night, etc. Also, the smell of the next room creeps into your room very noticeably. August 13, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 27 next>>