Sheraton Charlotte Hotel

  • 555 South McDowell Street,
  • South Tower
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28204
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 2.3 out of 5 by 128 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Charlotte although it was under construction and i was informed of this, the trip was dissapointing. jammed with multiple events, it seemed staff was unprepared. room wasn't cleaned two days in a row by my return at 4pm. when i brought it to staff attention desk person was rude, non responsive, and overwhelmed. just not good experience. May 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Diamond in the rough! I have just read all the previous reviews and must admit that I have to disagree with most of the comments about the staff. Yes, the property is still under renovation but the staff is and has been superb!! Nathan at your front door, Mario at your front desk and Jerome and Cameron in your dining room are all superb and exhibit all the traits needed to be successful in the business of welcoming travelers into your establishment and making them feel comfortable! They are young but experienced and their advice and conversation are genuine and come from a real desire to ensure that you enjoy all that there is to enjoy in Charlottte! Once these renovations are complete this will be the main Sheraton hotel in Charlotte, I have no doubt! My advice to hotel guests until these upgrades are completed is to tolerate the physical amenities that may be affected but to enjoy the staff assets that are ready and willing to assist! My wife and I are still here and will be here until Sunday and we are planning on enjoying their company as much as they enjoy ours! To the Sheraton top brass, you have chosen wisely and my wife and I have already decided that we will be back in 2015 for our wedding anniversary! Mr. & Mrs. P Devonshire, Bermuda. April 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised! Based on the reviews, I was not sure what to expect. We were in town for MNF, so the hotel was booked-full. There was a hiccup with our reservation, which management corrected immediately. The elevators are being updated, so patience is needed-no big deal. The room was nice, the view of the city was outstanding. The walk to the stadium is an easy 15 minutes - great location. Returned post-game and the bar stayed open for all the returning guests, and brought in reinforcements to help. There was a bit of a wait, but to be expected. As titled, I was pleasantly surprised and would stay here again for a football game just for the ease of access to the stadium and the professional nature of the staff. November 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by mr took forever view of roof, service bad, room bad, May 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No more washcloths? I recently stayed in this under construction hotel, which gets a pass on a few things because of it. What I can't excuse is being told that they ran out of washcloths. Another strike would be when I returned to my room and it was supposed to be cleaned and there is still trash in the garbage cans. After my first night, I was given plastic cups that you get at the $1 store instead of the glasses that I had from the first night. The last issue is that the room is way to dark, one more lamp would have made a difference. March 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel should be closed for renovation This hotle should not currently be open. Much of the lobby area is under renovation. Also, the cooling system did not work while I was there and the fitness facilities are lacking; they have some cardio equipment but not all of it works and the TV in the area is broken. The renovation was not adequatly idsclosed on the website. I was also not offered an amenity as a Gold SPG member. Some staff was helpful including the maintenance person who found me a fan to cool the room down and the banquest manager. January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by no title Renovations understandable, and I was prepared for, but for the rate per night and all other charges, were not worth it, or at least notuntil renovations are completed. A few problems: No idea how to turn on lights when I got into room. Hurt myself on luggage rack trying to find my way through the dark. Used wash cloth, from previous guest I assume, was left hanging on shower curtain rod. Bar and restaurant were as bright as a surgical suite. uncomfortable. In room coffee maker unusable (and no coffee offered in lobby) based on coffee pouches were wrong size and did not fit the maker. Would think that to make guests stay worthwhile during renovations, other concessions could be made. The $10 plus to use wifi was highly annoying after all the other inconveniences. November 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff My girlfriend and I stayed here over the weekend. We were not made aware of renovations. We had to relocate rooms because of plumbing issues and several channels would never come in properly on cable. The food was subpar but staff was great. Everyone we met was friendly. Arthur was very professional and made us feel special. April 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is not ready for business. We arrived at 1:00 AM and the room was not ready despite booking ahead and calling a half hour before arriving. After waiting 20 minutes, we were given room keys. The crib we had been assured was not there yet. We were also disappointed that there was no hot water. This hotel is under active construction. They were using circular saws in the lobby at 1:00 AM when we arrived. It is clearly not ready for business. We do not recommend staying here. March 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Jt Never stay here again. Even though this hotel was under construction, never saw a maid in 3 days. No vending on any floors, expensive buffet breakfast. Was there for business meeting, otherwise would not stay or recommend this hotel to anyone. April 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Swanky Lobby My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton South in downtown Charlotte. Upon arrival we were greeted with opened doors by the doorman. They were very cordial. The front desk staff was very pleasant to work with and very professional. The look of the lobby was quite impressive. The lobby had a very modern and chic look that I absolutely loved. Everything about our stay was great until we went to sleep. Our room was very clean, which we loved. The only problem is that we didn't sleep comfortably. The bed for my husband was too firm and the pillows weren't comfortable to me. Some people love firm beds but not us. I'm accustom to my contour pillow and the over-sized fluffy pillows offered put a strain on my neck. Next time I'll have to bring my pillow but I'll definitely stay with Sheraton again. October 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great remodel but lots of little things The hotel is in a model of a remodel and will be beautiful. Personnel at the front desk and at the restaurant were extremely gracious. That said, there were several things that were just design issues. There were no open outlets by the bed or desk. Really? I noticed the alarm clock and desk lamp were unplugged upon my arrival. The reason is to plug my phone, laptop in, there was no other way. The only open plugs in the room were on the far wall. They were also using the old bath fixtures. For some reason the hot water was in a constant surge mode. No way to set the water consistently. Several of the channels on the tv including HBO (or SHO) would never come in properly. At breakfast, the grits were watery, the scrambled eggs had some odd lemony taste and the gravy (biscuits and) was amazingly salty. Someone just needs to do line check. Like a said, lot's of little things. Add some plugs, fix the fixtures and check the food. March 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Charlotte I was not overly impressed with the condition of the hotel. I stayed here because it was the only hotel available due to a basketball tournament. There was a great deal of construction during my stay. This did not impact me in terms of noise but on a couple occassions it required me to walk down 11 flights of stairs to leave the hotel as the elevators were just not available. The room itself needs to be remodeled. March 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Well below expectations This hotel is tired and needs upgrading in both building and staff. Club lounge is a converted bedroom. No signs at all saying where it is. Had to ask reception if they had one. What breakfast there was closed at 9am. Nothing Hot. Hotel elevators interiors had stickers all over to hide cracked mirror glass in 2 of the 4 elevators I used. The finish was peeling off the lift control panel and badly worn. By far the worst Hotel in the SPG program I have stayed in. January 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by More renovations needed and staff improved My experience was less than satisfactory. First, the elevators rarely work properly so you are stuck waiting 5-10 minutes. The renovations made in the room are not up to par- rips and stains in the carpet, plumbing did not work properly- hot water didn't work in the shower. The staff needs improvement. I called down three times about the room next to me throwing a party. They finally stopped around 2:00 am. The food was not good via room service or in the restaurant. November 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Renovations Still Undeway... The hotel is mostly renovated, but not completly and unfortunately it is hard to navigate as their are no directional signs to get to the parking deck, find the restrooms, etc. Also, the main issue was that we stayed on the 11th floor and their was only one working elevator. We ended up walking down 11 flights of stairs with my wife in an evening gown and heels, due to the elevator never showing up. This was a complaint from many of the guests we encountered. December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel wasn't ready Conference & meeting spaces are exceptional. Food was also outstanding, both for conference and restaurant. Restaurant construction was not completed as promised and provided no reasonable ADA accommodations. New rooms in Center City tower have multiple problems. Shower did not operate properly, even after two repairs. Room had no room service menu, trash can or do not disturb sign. We has to ask for soap. Not all electrical outlets had power. No convenient electrical plug near desk. Internet service went off and on and each time your had to sign-in again, agree to terms, including $10.95 daily charge (even though it says 3 devices for 24 hours). Our room were supposed to have free internet so it was removed from our bill. The rooms have big wall clocks but the times are not set. Hotel lost the preauthorization for a credit card direct bill/pre-paid for two rooms resulting in one individual in our party of 7 rooms having to pay with their personal credit card. Several common spaces in hotel (roof-top deck/lounge and swimming pool) were not completed as promised. Shortage of bellmen (only one and had to search for a cart)to assist with luggage when checking in for a conference of 230 attendees. April 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This will be a great hotel once renovations are complete. We were not informed that the hotel was undergoing renovations prior to our stay, so we were totally surprised. The renovations were noisy and caused congestion in the lobby because the workers were in the way. Additionally, more guest elevators or faster ones are needed to accomodate hotel traffic. The staff was great, no complaints there! March 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Uninformed, unorganized staff First and foremost, the young men who opened and valet the door were awesome, positive and very friendly. The rooms were mediocre, the restaurant staff guessed at drink prices and were different from day to day and person to person. There is no coffee maker and no clock in my room. MAJOR construction going on, in my opinion should not be opened until it is more complete. No stairs that lead to lobby so you MUST take the elevator, and only 3 of the 4 work. We were all checking out at the same time for the same convention and were all being charged different prices for parking. One was 13 a day, the next was 20 a day. Unacceptable. I honestly cannot believe Sheraton put their name on this hotel. I will never stay in this location again and if I ever have an experience like this with a Sheraton again, it will be my last. There are too many choices to choose this one. January 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience As a parent to two all star cheerleaders, we do extensive traveling and this stay at the Sheraton in Charlotte was by far the worst experience. Our room was dirty with one electrical socket being burnt black. The elevators were a joke and the fact that luggage carts could only be used by bell boys who then expect to be tipped was absolutely ridiculous. Next year I will be sure to book a room in a different hotel. January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is undergoing renovation The hotel and adjoining Le Meridian have yet to be completed. Room was ok, though common areas and amenities, gym, restaurants, gift shop and so forth are inadequate or nonexistent. Hotel staff was as accommodating and supportive as possible given the circumstances. In bad weather the distance to Uptown is a problem. On balance, the hotel shuttle will take guests into Uptown. February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Subpar for the price; poor location The hotel is a 15 minute walk to any food options (further to most), and the on-site hotel resutarant is very pricey ($5/glass of milk). Staff were not helpful nor was literature in the hotel room to assist with finding alternatives to the hotel restaurant. There are also no microwaves or fridges in the rooms, although you can rent each for $15/day surcharge. There is not an ice machine but on the 7th floor. $11/d for internet November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wayne is the Best!! Had a problem getting my folio, but Wayne was the HERO of the day. After calling the hotel several times, with no resolution, I decided to try one more time. Wayne answered, I explained my simple issue (just needed a copy of my folio for my expense report), and he researched and resolved this issue. When you go to the hotel, ask for Wayne at the front desk! February 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Cleaning I have to say I was surprised. I went to get wash my face. There was no was clothes. Now that means two things 1) they just for got or 2) room was not cleaned up thoroughly. I proceeded to call Hotel staff to get me a towel after 30 minutes I called a second time. I then decided to go to the front desk and still waited 10 more minutes for a hand towel. When going back to shower. The tub looked like it had only been washed down, there was a hair in the shower and looked like dirt specs. So I washed out the dirt spec and hair. Showered and decided that to make sure house cleaning cleaned that room thoroughly this time. I used all the towels in the room. Made sure that had to put in toiletry in the bathroom and shower. pulled off all the sheets of the bed. Now the bed had been made but upon pulling sheets there was some dirt on the sheets. The Sheraton has been a nice place, but I think the new upgrades could have been done better. February 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by just awful I understand my stay was during their remodeling... however, in my room, the AC was making loud noise whenever it was running, there was no cold water in the morning to shower... overall, if the hotel is not ready to host guests, then dont open for business. March 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good experience Hotel was under major renovation that we didn't know before we came -- would have made other arrangements if we'd known. Room was not cleaned well. I asked to have it revacuumed and it wasn't. Discussed this with the manager and he asked me to call the front desk if it hadn't been done -- couldn't reach anyone at the desk. February 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst Sheraton experience ever! I traveled to Charlotte, NC from Virginia for a 4 day Big Bang Dance Classic event that was booked in your facility. Although the function was great, the accommodations were the absolute pits!!! By all means, if you are going to modernize or reconstruct or remodel your hotel, shut it down! There were well over 200 people with our event. The hotel is 13 stories with 4 elevators, of which only 2 and sometimes only 1 were functioning! The maze through the lobby construction area was very bad. The only saving grace for our stay was the staff. The staff went out of their way to take care of us and tend to our needs. I am afraid that this left such a bad taste that I will be hard pressed to stay at another Sheraton. And for sure will not stay at this one any time soon. Very disheartening and certainly not up to the expectations that I had. I expected more from Sheraton. To say the least, I was and remain very disappointed with the accommodations. February 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience During our stay the hotel was "under construction". Our room had no shower - it had a hose coming out of the wall and a drain in the floor. After showering, we had to wade through water that covered the entire bathroom floor while trying to get ready. Our TV didn't work (each time we changed the channel, the picture would freeze then the screen would go black) and we had no phone with which to call and complain to the front desk. Our friends called the front desk multiple times to report issues in their rooms and the calls went unanswered each time. Only after calling the main number from a mobile phone were they able to reach someone at the front desk. The maintenance workers that were supposedly dispatched by the front desk never arrived. The hotel charged $20 for us to park our own car in the parking lot and $10 per day to use WiFi. Because the hotel was "under construction", the elevators didn't work. Our friends got stuck and had to pry the doors open and we had to climb out twice because the elevator stopped between floors. The morning of checkout, the elevators failed completely and all of the guests were forced to carry their own baggage down a dark stairwell, then through a hallway full of boxes and piles of old carpet. We had to carry multiple suitcases down from the 16th floor and the hotel staff was unwilling to assist any customers with their baggage or extend check-out times until the elevators were working. We were given no apologies, no refunds, and got a very dismissive, sarcastic "thanks so much and come again" from the manager. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again if my life depended on it and Sheraton should be ashamed to have their name associated with such a dump. In a nutshell - terrible staff, terrible management, terrible hotel. April 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel in Charlotte Hotel was horribly overwhelmed - elevators were not operating and with the construction in progress, the hotel was in chaos the majority of the 2 days. The hotel was understaffed for the amount of people staying this weekend - the lines were bad and the staff was exhausted - it went beyond the ordinary busy weekend. February 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Drywall mess....Public Safety Hazard The lobby area was under renovation and permitted overhead drywall work in corridors that we had to walk through. Dust and joint compound got on our shoes/clothes and workmen were unsupervised. Workmanship in renovated rooms was poor quality. March 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>