Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2242 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversary Weekend My wife and I decided to try NYC for our 5th wedding anniversary. After checking numerous websites we settled on the parking package at this hotel. WOW – what a great weekend in the “Big Apple.” The parking is on site, Times Square is a short walk away, Central Park is even closer. The Russian Tea room which is 2 short blocks from the hotel for our dinner. Slight problem with the in room t.v., but it was repaired in short order by maintenance. All in all a very nice experience and I’ll be signing up to become a Starwood Preferred Guest today! January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT hotel experience! This was our second stay at the Sheraton Times Square. Our flight arrived in the morning, and we were allowed to check in early. Our room was on the 39th floor, and was very well appointed. We had a telephone call from Marie checking on us and offering to help us in any way possible. We also received some lovely amenities in our room to celebrate my retirement. That was very much appreciated, and what sets Sheraton apart! We loved our stay, and will definitely return! July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I would not recommend this hotel I have stayed at this hotel once before for business and this was my second time. This time I was expecting it to be better than my first because I was the highest customer loyalty platinum rating. The room was dirty, there was female long hair in the sink and the tub when I checked in, I was put next to the ice machine (as a platinum member I should receive an upgrade), and the walls are paper thin. I was not able to sleep at all in this hotel. To be fair and say something nice the housekeeping staff was polite and always said good morning. October 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel charges for packages sent to guests I usually stay in Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel. I was surprised when two packages sent to the HOTEL was redirected to FEDEX. When retrieving the item I was charged $20 for the "handling" of those packages. That is not right! The package was sent to the hotel not to Fedex. If the hotel uses Fedex services this should not be charged at the guest expense. I get to travel around the world and this is the ONLY hotel that charged me to receive a package. I believe customers staying at the hotel should not have to pay for such silly things. December 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by house keeping improvements I stay here often, the room was a bit dirty, small pieces of hair on the bathroom sink, I wiped it down. The over for the bed comforter was dirty (stains), I asked the front desk to info house keeping, to change sheets. They did not, I called again. They finally changed it. I also replied to the guest relations. They sent a new comforter to the room (not checking records that they were changed). This time, they just left a comforter on the bed. I like this hotel location and that there's a club room. The club room staff are always friendly. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a trip to the Sheraton Times Square! Recently returned from a trip with my daughter to the beautiful Sheraton TImes Square in NYC. Joe, Chelsea and Shirnette went beyond the call of duty in seeing that we had a beautiful room on a very high floor with a great view. My daughter and I loved the location of this Sheraton hotel which is close to Broadway and of course, Times Square. What we especially loved was the friendliness and helpfulness of the wonderful staff. Can't wait to do a return trip!!! We definitely give this hotel and staff an A plus. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Hotel lobby was always busy -- but not bothersome for our purposes. Perfect location - close to subway, Central Park, 5th Ave shopping, Broadway, etc. Housekeeping staff was great -- allowed us to sleep in every day - cleaned the room based more on our schedule. If I needed supplies, the housekeeper on the floor was always willing to provide them. Will stay here again. Did not eat at the hotel -- that is why I did not rate that section. July 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room not well serviced When we checked in, we realized that the room did not have a shower curtain and housekeeping had not provided wash clothes or hand towels. After repeated calls to guest services, we finally got them to install a shower curtain but we never got the towels. Additionally, the walls between rooms seemed very thin -- we could hear it when the person next door sneezed! When we checked out, we pointed out our issues to the person at the front desk, but he seemed like he couldn't have cared less that our experience was sub-par. He was obviously anxious to get us out of the way so he could take care of the next guest in line. We will not stay here again even though we have Starwood points. We'd rather pay to stay somewhere else than stay here for free. July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above & Beyond The staff in this hotel was excellent! I had excellent service at the reception desk upon my arrival and all of my requests were granted with the exception of a room with a view.....there weren't any available. However, there was one individual that stood out above the rest, the Front Desk Bell Captain whom worked 1st shift provided so much insight on getting around the city....what to do, where to go, how to get there. He was just AWESOME! He helped my husband and I create memories for our 4th wedding anniversary that we'll never forget. September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel watch for checked bags This was a great hotel for our stay in NYC for the Labor Day long weekend. I highly recommend using the tickets and tours desk as they were able to get us great tickets to a highly popular broadway show last minute without a huge mark up. The desk staff were also quite helpful in securing a black car for getting back to the airport at a cheaper rate than Über. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. The only surprise came at the end when we were charged 14 dollars to check our bags before we went home. This was really unacceptable given that I've never been charged to check bags at a Starwood property before and we weren't informed of the charger or that it was cash only until we picked our bags up. As a gold SPG member, I expect better. September 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I'd like to take a shower please.... I have stayed at this hotel multiple times. The location is perfect. On a previous stay in April I had some really loud, partying neighbors until the lady in the room on the other side told them to quiet down at around 3:30 a.m. On this trip something happened that has never happened before in any hotel I have been in......I went to take a shower and found out that there was no shower curtain! We called down to the desk and were told that someone would be right up. We waited approximately 45 minutes and then called again. We then had only a short wait until the shower curtain was brought up and hung! We will probably try again, but if there are any issues will switch to a different hotel next time as that will be 3 times in a row with a problem.... September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff is Exceptional Upon early arrival, the registration staff was extremely polite and did everything possible to make my room available. She was delightful. Only complaint is menu lacks vegetarian and vegan options. Very disappointing. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Week at Sheraton New York Times Square We were overwhelmed with the courtesy and helpfulness of Jonahan Lomitola who sent a letter welcoming us a few days before we came. He made sure to send us champagne and chococlate covered strawberries to celebrate our 59th anniversary, and assisted us in allowing a late exit from the hotel.We were also impressed on our arriveal with Matthew who was at the desk and was most helpful. We would definitiesly recommend this hotel hightly. Jonathan went out of his way to make this a memorable experience!!! June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by After Extensive renovations, small things still count Overall, we enjoyed our stay, though it started off a bit stressfully. During a holiday period, with massive crowds, the check-in desk, when we arrived, had two people working it. So, we waited in line for about 30 minutes. The manager, came out, apologized and extended some complimentary items. Very nicely handled. The room design left no room for storage. Not a single drawer anywhere. Just a few small shelves. There were not even any hooks in the bathroom to hang towels or robes. There also needs to be a make-up mirror. The guest lounge on the 44th fl, if one arrived early enough to get a seat, was a lovely place for breakfast with great views and a welcoming staff. The hotel's location is excellent for sight-seeing and strolls in Central Park. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall convenience and prestige Great location, right in between, at few blocks to Times Square and Central Park. There is a steady crowdness at the gate and lobby, as a consequence of huge capacity in a 50-floor-tall building. This confirms that you are in the dynamic and populated Manhattan, which is why you are there for.. If you look for a cosy, warm and silent piece of corner, it will not be the right choice for you. Despite the crowd, elevators are very effective (a speed of 2 floors/sec) and take you up to your room without any hassle. Staff helpful, an issue resolved fast enough. We have preferred a club room with lounge facilities and we are well pleased. A nice Manhattan view and coffee & internet services available for 24 hrs. In my next stay in NYC, I may prefer again. May 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trying, But Not Quite There This hotel has so much turn over and it is so busy, it is hard to completely keep up with expectations. This hotel usually works well for me due to the proximity of where I need to be. This trip, the shower had such low water pressure, you could barely shower. The clock on the night stand was not working, and there were a few cleanliness issues in the common areas. I did not complain about it because I was there for only two nights. I am sure the staff would have done something if I mentioned this. Usually they are very accomadating. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service, small room The staff was great from the maids to the bellmen to the desk clerks. They, as a group, went out of their way to be helpful. Room was clean and up to Sheraton stds, but (it being NYC) was smaller than normal. August 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Customer Friendly When I arrived in the room, the room was dirty with hair on the floor and sink. Clock was broken. The restaurant only has an overpriced buffet for breakfast. The oatmeal tasted like water, and I didn't eat it, so I was charged $30 for fruit. When I objected, the staff showed obvious disdain. I tried to contact the management, and could not get a response. I left a comment card on the front desk and never heard from them. Nobody at this hotel cares about the customer. Stay somewhere that treats their customers with respect and dignity. March 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, This hotel has a great location between Times Square and Central Park. We had a wonderful time, and the hotel was very nice, but probably not what I would have expected. Considering the multi-million $ renovation, the hotel looked more "worn" that I had expected. We had several minor issues in our room with plumbing, wallpaper tears, etc. Rooms were not sound proof, and the noise you heard from people in the hall made you think they were actually in your room. Overall, we had a great experience, but the room needed a little attention! April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by What is Sheraton's edge? The location is great, but otherwise the hotel has little extra and nothing that that you can't find anywhere else. In short: Positive: location Negative: internet stability, pricing and speed (useless if you need to work - Sheraton: please understand that charging for internet is not the future...), room doors are far from sound proof (felt like people passing by were in your room) and showers are not designed for tall people and have poor water preassure. There are other hotels with the same location - use them instead. May 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Crazy Place Excellent location but that is it! After the first night, we had to move rooms and our reservation was not moved in the system. So the next afternoon we were napping in our room and a hotel manager walks in on us. Does not knock. Did not try to phone. After she walks in and quickly leaves, then the front desk calls. Totally unacceptable. Lobby was total chaos day and night. Waited forever for elevators in lobby and on floor. Housekeeping was minimul. Bed made and fresh towels. July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location if you want to be near Time sq and Shows. Our first trip to NY and the hotel is located on one the the busiest street in NY. Lots of restaurants around. We got a Metro pass ( they only take $2.50 in coins as payment on the bus ) and took the subway up to Central Park area. It's best to take the street behind the hotel as it is less crowded ( 6th & 5th ave less crowded) and it takes you to the Museum of Modern Art that is a great place for lunch and Rockefeller Centre . It's a short walk to the discount show ticket booth and we got our show tickets there. Long line,but it moves really fast. BEWARE- Had a bad experience with the people who hustle CD's on the street,very aggressive and they will rob you blind. DO NOT STOP. Hope the city does something about them. We took Yellow Cab from the airport .There were three of us and the cost was reasonable . Do take a bus tour as you learn a lot. July 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Refurbishment disappoints I have been staying here for years and the location is still handy with the Subway to the main airports at the side and Visitor Information just over the road. There is no longer a bath to soak in. The room looked small this time. Views can be super! Platinum upgrades still not encouraged. Clubroom breakfast and hors d'oevres were much less than before. I found it hard to cobble together a snack. Restaurant empty and uninviting. The Avenue was lovely when it was open. For all my lack of enthusiasm, I'm used to the place, I guess.... November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Stay From the minute we walked into the hotel everything was perfect. The front desk people were great and remember us from our last trip to New York. The club level facility is the best in New York. Again the staff saw my daughter and came right up to her and asked if she needed anything. Muhammad is just the best. Every morning he had what we like to eat ready for us. Muhammad should get a raise. The health club was very clean with great equipment and staff was so nice. We come to New York 7 times a year and the Sheraton is just great January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Non-delivery of billing invoice Hotel not delivering invoice in room is leading to expense issue and forcing guests to come down and stand in long lines to get invoice. Not a good experience for loyal customers. August 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible room service & management team Will never live at here any more, I asked for slipper at 10pm and no one knock on the door till I check out. My request is nothing for them. Sheraton is as low as super 8 for me after that night. August 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed had a un-enjoyable stay. i am a SPG member and have been for some time. Stayed at this hotel a few times before. This time the room was dirty, amenities were not replaced after used, we were charged for things that we did not use or take, the fitness club was dirty. And most of all the front desk was un-friendly and not cooperative. I left my daughters name to pick up a key to the room on 6/1. I was told her name is in the computer and all she would need was to show ID and she can get the key. She met with a Lin at the front desk who was very rude and said no key and she could not get in the room. I had to call the hotel and give my credit card information and Lin continued to be rude and put us on hold. Never had this experience at a Starwood hotel before. June 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Customer Service Upon checking in at 7am, the desk clerk assumed that I had stayed the night before or going to stay one day. Did not give me a chance to tell her that I just arrived and checking in for 7 nights. Air condition was not cooling properly, complained about this 2 to 3 times. Not sure if it was fixed because there was no follow up calls or note left stating that it was fixed. I had to put the a/c down to 65 degrees to get air. Doing this can freeze the compressor but I had no choice. No offer to transfer to another room. On the day of checkout, I asked if I can have an extra hour in the room. The first question to me was "are you a platinum member", which I replied "no, but I am a Starwood owner". Here is the answer that I received "we are sold out". I wasn't asking for an entire day, just an hour. This is how they treat their owners. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Staff I appreciate the Staff/Managers working with me regarding my unique schedule and needs, and allowing me a late check out. August 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not up to par I am a Starwood preferred member and I booked a room, on a higher floor because I was under the impression I would be staying in a newly renovated room, that I paid extra for. This sadly, was not the case. Upon arrival, there was a line to check in. It moved fairly quickly. The room was not a newly renovated room, or at least, did not appear to be renovated. The sink leaked water, and the paint needed a touch up. The view was horrible. So after paying extra for a renovated room, I was very disappointed. The staff, however, was friendly and helpful. My husband and I were in town for the Margarito/ Cotto fight. We left our room and when we tried to open our door, the keys did not work. We were given new keys, and went on our way. The next day, we left for the fight and made sure our keys worked, which they did. When we arrived back to our room, very late, our keys did not work, again. We went downstairs, got new keys, informed the front desk this was the second time this had happened. We went to our room, which we couldn't get into because yet AGAIN our keys did not work. My husband went back downstairs to get new keys, which did not work either, so security had to come again. Apparently, there was a problem with the lock. I am highly disappointed because usually my stays are great at Starwood properties. I was let down because I paid for a renovated room, which apparently was not. The lock issue was frustrating, especially when it was 2-3 o'clock in the morning. I hope this is not the practice that Starwood Preferred Guests are left with. The staff was nice, and the location is great. Unfortunately, the value I paid for was not great. I hope Starwood can rectify the problem because I normally enjoy their properties. Especially the Sheraton Waikiki! December 7, 2011
<<prev 30 31 32 33 34 ... 76 next>>