Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2212 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed The accommodations were lacking and the staff carried an arrogance that was not akin to serving others. The worse Sheraton I have ever stayed in before. The phones in the guest rooms were not designed for usage. We were there for a family reunion and no one made me feel welcome except the cleaning women. I felt like I paid someone to mistreat me and my family. Will not come again!!! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel is Excellent location. It was very comfortable and nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful with everything I needed. The bell boys were very friendly and helpful with directions also. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in the Heart of the Theatre District We stayed at the Sheraton New York Times Square so we could go to the theatre nearby. The room was very well appointed and clean, the workout room had lots of cardio machines, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There are lots of elevators and the waits are very short, surprising in a hotel as large and busy as this one. Once we checked in, we discovered that MOMA was less than 2 blocks away and, of course, there is lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again. July 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Always fall short... The last time I stayed at this particular Sheraton I arrived around 8 pm, exhausted after a flight from Madison, WI and entered a room that had a bathroom that reeked of urine. Of course, the hotel was sold out and I had to make myself busy until the offensive odor was erased. With that memory in mind, I was very hesitant to book a room at this hotel. However, they offered a government rate and I had no other choice but to stay. When I arrived, I found out that they gave me an upgrade. Wonderful! I entered the room and was greeted with the fresh smell of Febreeze. Thank you. December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3rd return visit Exceptional service from curb to express checkout.SPG Club 44 was very useful and comfortable. I will return again next trip to NYC. October 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cleanliness was an issue As soon as we checked in I noticed unrine on the toilet seat. Then hairs on the bathroom bench. Then hairs all over the shower floor. Then I found an empty lubricant box in the cupboard. To top it over there were hairs all over our pillows. We told the reception staff and were assured that the room would be thoroughly cleaned. Was still not done. Compensated a small amount in room credit when compained. Otherwise the facilities were good and the location very handy. We came here based on my husband having stayed in the Sheraton in Australia and having a high regard for it. March 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lousy Services I reserved a two double bed room, but was told it was all taken when I checked in at 6pm of the day. The options given at the check-in were either come back at 9:30pm to see if there were such room available or check in a queen size bed. I have so much luggage and a kid with us. It does not seem i have much choice other than taking the queen size bed, which made a three-person stay very uncomfortable. I was further told there would be sure my reserved room available the next day, and I would be contacted the next day no matter what. But nobody ever called, or left message during my entire stay. So I have three people stay in a queen size bed for the entire three-night stay at the Sheraton. What a terrible stay! October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A special thanks to Marilyn! We visited NYC the week of 9/11 and chose to stay at the Sheraton NY Times Square. I'm a firefighter, and the purpose of our trip was to see the Memorial, Museum, etc., so this was an extremely important trip for us, hopefully without complications. We were traveling with other family members, but arriving at different times. When we checked in, we asked to try and have our rooms relatively close to one another, preferably on the same floor. Marilyn was awesome. Even though the hotel was fully booked, she not only went out of her way to accommodate us, but moved us to a quieter location, and we ended up in adjoining rooms. This was a perfect situation, and the 5 night stay couldn't have been better. All the staff that we came in contact with was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We had a wonderful visit to the Big Apple, and a great stay at the Sheraton. We would highly recommend this hotel. Easy access to much of Manhattan, nearby restaurants, etc. Thank you Marilyn for your exceptional customer service. We appreciate it very much. September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel was very nice, the location is perfect and the Concierge staff was very helpful and took their time until we had all our questions answered. I would recommend and come back to this hotel. August 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by not worth the rating This hotel is not worth its starwood category; . Rooms are small, bathrooms are VERY small, amenities in bathrooms ( even in club floor) are less than average. The club lounge evening hors d'œuvre are almost equivalent to non existence ( just cheese and crackers..) September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible stay! We absolutely loved our stay at the Sheraton Times Square. The hotel was in the perfect location, a few blocks from central park and really close to Broadway, as well as the Subway to get anywhere. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were great. The room was very clean. When we checked in we told them it was our anniversary, so they sent up champagne, cheese and chocolate covered strawberries. Everyone was so friendly and knowledgeable. We were incredible spoiled and thank you so much for a great stay that made our time in New York fun and memorable! September 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My go-to in NYC I travel to New York at least once per month. I stay at this hotel time and time again for several reasons: location is excellent, rooms are great, staff is friendly, and the prices are reasonable. It is central to midtown Manhattan - Central Park and Times Square are short walks away. There is a subway station on the corner, although catching a cab here has never been an issue. The rooms are a good size by New York standards. They are well-decorated and clean. The bathrooms are equally good. The fitness center is HUGE and there is something for everyone. February 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice large upgraded room, but... very filthy and lack of guest service response I've stayed at this hotel 3-4 times this summer and while I've had minor complaints in my last two stays (including one two days prior), this one takes the cake. For the record, I've contacted a number of guest service supervisors from the site to no avail. First the positive - loved the staffperson at check-in, who offered to upgrade me to a larger room overlooking Times Square. He did mention there was a Murphy bed (which I learned are not comfortable for me), but the view was fabulous. The negative - once I arrived in my room, the toilet was used and filthy. I called Housekeeping to come and clean the room, but nobody came by before I left for dinner, nor did anyone come by at all that evening or next morning. Second, there was a section of carpet that was sticky and filthy (imagine me stepping on this at 11 at night with my bare feet - ew!). Lastly, my favorite white blouse was ruined when I tried to iron it the next morning and found the plate was filthy with black and blue marks all over (which left the same permanent stains on my blouse - not removable even after using bleach and washing :( ). Oh, and the staff never emailed nor issued me my check-out folio so I can't get the hotel stay reimbursed by my company! I requested speaking with the supervisor upon checkout the next morning, and while the gentleman came by after a few minutes wait, he didn't offer his name nor did he take anything more than my room number. He promised to look into my account and email, but he never followed up that afternoon. I have since written to multiple guest services supervisors/assistants at the Sheraton (and the Westin down the street where I stayed the previous night) over the past week to no avail. I'm very very disappointed, especially as a SPG member, and have to recommend AGAINST staying at this hotel. A shame, since my experience with Sheratons and Westins has always been positive in the past. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Sheraton has declined Check in wait of 35 minutes. Inadequate staff on duty. Available check in stations were unstaffed. Personnel had little concern and no interest passing on my concerns to their supervisor. Dirty tray tables in the hallways all night and much of the morning. I have stayed here many times in the past but never again. The interest in service has deteriorated markedly. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location! Having read the reviews for this hotel, I approached my stay with some trepidation, expecting a smallish room, standoffish staff and little assistance with problems. Nothing could have been further from the truth. Despite being 100% booked the night I arrived (NYC Marathon weekend), everyone from the front desk people to the housekeeping staff couldn't have been more accommodating or helpful. Yes, the room is small. Welcome to NYC. On balance, I was on a higher floor with a nice view of Central Park in the distance. Best of all, the location is outstanding. Everything is close, from Central Park to Times Square, theaters and MOMA. Highly recommend the breakfast. Fantastic buffet. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to NY. October 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I had to change rooms at 11:00 p.m. because the guests in the room next door were doing drugs Seher Funk is an excellent employee. When I booked my room using my Starwood points, I was charged for a nights stay. It took 10 phone calls and one month to clear up the charge even before I arrived. Seher finally resolved this for me. When arrived to check in with my family it took 1/2 hour because there were not any rooms available at 6:00 PM and Seher had blocked one for me. This is unacceptable. During my stay last weekend I had to move my children ( 5 and 7) because the guests in the room next door were smoking marijuana. We called security and at first they were ineffective and our room smelled horrible. After another phone call, the head of security came up and confirmed it was in the room next door and fined the guests $300.00. My husband and I had to move our family to another floor in the middle of the night when we had to get up at 5:00 the next morning to fly home. I told the manager on the phone that I wanted my Starwood points back. She told me she could only extend 2,000 points which I have not receive and I think we deserve more for the inconvenience. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Choice I was looking for a hotel in Times Square near the Gershwin Theatre. This was the perfect spot!. A room on a high floor facing times square is a must. The room itself was on the small side, but still comfortable given we were only there to sleep. Centrally located to Letterman, Radio City, Rockefeller Center, Gershwin, Times Square, etc. Not much need for cab and plenty to do in the area. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Location, but uncomfortable bed. PROS: Excellent location near Times Square, Broadway Theaters, Carnegie Hall and all major subway lines. CONS: Noise from streets and in the halls until late at night from the 18th and 19th floors. Very uncomfortable beds (no pillow tops here) with bed linens that are scratchy even though they appear to be top quality. I'm wondering if they use starch or something to make them look nice ignoring how they actually feel. Breakfast buffet is $30 but doesn't include any made to order items (omelets, eggs, etc.) and has horrible coffee included. The cab from airport to hotel was $76 but the cab back from hotel to airport was $94, even though the hotel's bell captain made the arrangements. Only Platinum SPG members get recognized at this hotel. October 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by unfortuately disappointed we stay in N.Y. city at least 4 times a year we have been in a variety of hotels all over the city, the Sheraton 7th ave and 53rd was the 1st time we were disapointed! we were in overnight with AMERICAS 911 FOUNDATION on a motorcycle run. The room was very clean but it was the bathroom sink and shower that absolutely did not drain properely something the housekeeping had to notice when the room was cleaned and prepared for us. the towels had a strong mildew oder which we realized upon getting out of shower. when we made them aware they did not seem overly surprised or concerned we got a sorry and please pay your $346.61 bill.So no we will not stay there again and with all the beautiful hotels in the city you should stay elsewhere as well! August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location We were in NY for the US Open tennis tournament and enjoyed staying at this hotel. Subway stops were close, trains to US open easy to get, hotel just north of the busy times square madness. Enjoyed the concierge floor and all the staff. Our personal on-property liaison Jonathan Lomitola was very friendly and efficient. Got us the pillows we needed, made sure we could check in early. September 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Stay Ever For three brutal nights, I had to endure a facility overrun by high school students attending what I presume was a mock United Nations event. The kids were completely out of control and unfortunately scattered across all floors, making it impossible to "get away". The noise they made, until 3am, was totally unacceptable and made my three days of jam packed meetings an unpleasant experience to wade through on little sleep. You may have booked a large block of rooms, but in doing so alienated your most loyal customers - the business traveler. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation Big Apple My first stay with the family at the Sheraton Times Square was a great one! It started at check in. As a new gold member, I requested an upgrade and was given a suite. Front desk attendant Alex Fish gets 5 stars for his customer service and pleasant demeanor ( not always easy to find in NY). Walls were a little thin, but the room was spacious and bed was very comfortable. Location,location, location, can't beat it. We will definitely be back! July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SHERATON - NEW YORK - FANTASTIC Family of 14 ..coming from Hawaii... we had 5 rooms .. first time visiting NY. Everything was wonderful .. from the late night arrival and greeting of the staff. You can imagine what 14 people checking in late at night and tired would be like. Rooms a dream; in room meal service prompt - food hot & delicious, and beds .. best night sleep .. Woke early & refreshed to start our NY experience. Loved the entire trip,people& places seen. Family can't wait to return. Thank you everyone @ Sheraton that made our stay fantastic ... bellboys; wait staff; housekeeping; front desk; room service; courtesy desk; .... patience w/ our questions, recommendations of what to see and where to eat and go, etc. Can't wait to return Already making plans for next year. October 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I hated it!!! I will never ever return to any hotel of your chain. I was put in a room near a room that was in construction. The renovation guy was drilling and grinding and I could feel and hear it just like if he was in my room. He started early in the morning so he woke us up. When I called Guest services, they told me they knew but that the guy could not stop. I asked why put the rooms around available if they know there would be so much noise! The person I talked to was condescending just like the guy who was keeping our luggage and the guy that helped us check out.... from A to Z it was bad. You should teach your staff how to be more customer oriented. It was pathetic. 4 star the hotel? I never ever received such attitude from so many people in a same place. February 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is terrible! This hotel was our standard when staying in NYC, but I will never return to this property! It was overcrowded and you had to wait up to 15 minutes to for an elevator. We are Platinum members and so we upgraded to the club floor. This was way overcrowded and no longer exclusive. Breakfast was a feeding frenzy, and my 9 year old grandson referred to it as "The Hunger Games". We ended up having breakfast at Toasties on 49th Street. The hotel generally tired and dirty, and service was below average. We will never return to this property. January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Place To Stay This property is definitely my favorite place to stay in Manhattan. Convenient location, newly remodeled guest rooms as well as a dedicated professional staff. Front Desk Associates Marilyn and Milly were customer service personified as was Ingrid, the General Manager's Administrative Assistant. They were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was perfect. I plan to return to Manhattan at the end of August and The Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel is where I will be staying....again! April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location Location Location Plus! Sheraton New York Times Hotel has all the features that are important to me when in New York for business or pleasure. Location in midtown is excellent. There is a subway station right outside the hotel. I can arrive at Penn Station and easily take the subway from that point to get there or it's a short ride by taxi. If driving, it has valet parking too or other parking garages just steps away. The hotel is located within walking distance of Broadway, MOMA, 5th Avenue and Central Park. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Club lounge is convenient for breakfast, cocktails or a snack. Nice hotel. I will return to the Sheraton when in New York for business or with my family to see a show. It's a good choice when you're in the city, I highly recommend it. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location Had a great stay at Sheraton times square. Location was perfect for adventures and good times. The room was clean, no bedbugs (we checked carefully), friendly staff and spacious rooms with large firm beds, lots of pillows and soft warm duvets. LOVE the comfort of the beds. Slept like a baby! But, the lighting at the room wasn't particularly good. Moreover,the front door soundproofing was awful, if people were talking in the outside hall, it sounded like they were in the room with you. There is also a $3,75 (approx.) charge for guests checking out to keep their luggage at the hotel.The concierge (Allan), was very helpful and had some wonderful suggestions. He was very good at his job. All in all, I really will recommend this hotel to family and friends !! October 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by confirmed room not available upon checkin Arrived about 6pm-my confirmed room(2 doubles)was not available told to come back in couple of hours-then told had to take a king room with chaise for my family of 4-husband had to sleep on chaise-very uncomfortable-stayed here in past and loved it but unacceptable that confirmed room was not available. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay! This has been my "go to" hotel for many many years. This stay was the best service so far.Lots of congenial available staff in the lobby to help. Check in was very gracious and helpful and the room was very fresh, clean, and ready for occupancy. For my business and social needs, this location is perfect! July 20, 2014
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 75 next>>