Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2075 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is excellently located Sheraton New York is excellently located for subway access, and walking distance for Times Square, Madison/Park Avenues (shopping), Jewelry District, and Radio City Music Hall. November 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by You can do better Staff isn't friendly. Hotel can't handle the number of guests. Long lines, bad service. They even want to charge you $3.50 a bag to store your luggage. Go somewhere else. Anywhere else. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is wonderful My only problem is that on Sunday when everyone is checking out it is totally impossible to get and elevator. I have had to wait as long a 45 minutes to get one from my 32nd floor room. May 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by great location the attitude of the front desk was nasty. the room was smelly and the type of reservation was not honored. The hallways at night were extremely noisy. October 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great helpful people This was our first visit to New York.The concierge was so incredibly helpful and patient answering all my questions and addressing concerns. With their advice, we had the best stay. It was everything we had hoped for. Thank you again. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful experience We have stayed twice at this property in the past 2 weeks and found teh accomodations and staff excellent, helpful and excited to be part of the Sheraton staff January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location for a visit to NYC! Jo at the front desk was phenomenal! She went above and beyond to accomodate my mom and I. She was helpful, friendly and offered superior customer service throughout our transaction. She made checking in an absolute breeze. The hotel itself was absolutely stunning with all of the holiday decorations. The lobby was warm and inviting and felt so cozy. The rooms were very clean and just the right size. (The one downfall we experienced was a very long wait in the restaurant as the staff seemed like they were completely unorganized and had no idea what they were doing.) I would definitely not recommend eating in the hotel restaurant but I would absolutely recommend staying at this hotel! November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location; friendly staff Awesome holiday; location - plus plus; rooms - very roomy / clean; staff - helpful & friendly. Thanks for the wonderful experience :) March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Location The updated rooms are great. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of all major attractions. You can't beat the price! November 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for business, leisure, or romantic getaway SPG Meeting Planner since 2001, phenomenal property, great rooms, outstanding catering services, and the location is second to none! February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by new york trip Was very close to all the thing we wanted to see and do for first trip to new York city July 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE i was treated bad by the staff especially the guest reception . Stephanie at the reception had a bad attitude and was rude to us August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by From a frequent guest I am in NYC for business a lot and often stay at the Sheraton. The best aspects of this hotel: Location is within walking distance for tons of places and the Subway is very close when you do not want to walk or take a cab. Club Lounge Staff are friendly, helpful and that is either a breakfast or evening time frame. Tommy makes is a greater experience than anywhere else. (One downside is the less offerings in evenings than what they once had) None the less, if you have to pay extra for the access, it's worth it (even though I would rather have less people so I can eat my breakfast easily). It's NY, you might have to navigate your way through crowds at times, but grab a table, enjoy your Starbucks coffee that they always have fresh, the local bagels, and stunning views. Whether you are solo for business or here for a family or romantic occasion, it's worth it. (Don't worry Starwood, I'm not asking for a commission if this ups your visitor count). Just my honest opinion based on many many stays. Check in is easy. The rooms are NY Small, but the renovation took it up a few notches. The Fitness Center is great, but can get busy so plan your workouts accordingly. January 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet issue The first night we were there, someone nearby had a yapping dog. The hotel staff was gracious, but there wasn't much they could do...the hotel is pet friendly and they cannot enter the room etc. etc. Yes, I love my dog...but leaving animals alone in a hotel room is cruel. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service that matches the great location I had an opportunity to evaluate many aspects of this hotel's total quality. It surpassed expectations in every instance. Herewith some specific examples: * As a platinum member, I was upgraded to a parlor suite, which had an amazing view * Front desk staff were always extremely warm and helpful. When a woman tried to cut the queue in front of me, the desk associate handled it perfectly, with warm firmness. * Whenever I encountered staff around the hotel, I was greeted with genuine warmth. One member (possibly a housekeeping manager) asked me in the elevator about my stay and if there was anything they could do to make things better. * We managed to blow a fuse or breaker in our room. I don't know exactly how long it took for maintenance to come up and fix it -- but I'm sure it was well under 5 minutes. That's probably the fastest response I've experienced in several decades of hotel stays. * The two gentlemen at the concierge desk were very informative and helpful arranging a tour for us. Based on reviews and our own experience, they definitely recommended the best one. They also sent a nice amenity to our room! * The lounge has a spectacular view -- though it is a bit crowded. The lounge staff work hard and are excellent overall. For example, when one staff member saw me looking quizzically at the coffee make, he immediately rushed over to make sure it was working right for me. I stayed at this property last year, but don't remember being that impressed. I am impressed now. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always excellent, truly flawless great service always recognized as starwood preferred, staff is exceptional and so is management January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was great. Hotel was great but don't like a $14.95 per day charge if you want wifi. That needs to be FREE! May 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Very small room. Not comfortable. Charge for workout center. Way to crowded. Great location. May 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful hotel! Dsguisting, rundown room, rude staff. Typical New York at its worst. I hated my stay. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by NY Getaway Great location close to everything.Service was great. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible staff Themost unpleasant and unhelful staff even by New York standards September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk is awesome - most of the time I recently checked in with Christian who has been of service to me in the past. He is terrific. He speaks to customers and gives me ideas, he is courteous, he anticipates what I may need, he always asks if there is anything he can do and suggests items like an umbrella since it was raining, called trhe COncierge for me, and offered the Concierge level since my room wasnt ready as a Platinum member. Many of the other clerks could take a page out of his tremendous service. July 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location close to everything. Overall, our experience was positive, but I should have demanded to be relocated to another romm when maintenance showed up stating there was a work order issued for a problem with the toilet before the bellman had even unloaded our luggage from the cart! The problem occurred the entire 7days we were there. We even tried to alleviate the issue ourself by pouring buckets of water down the toilet, but that only lasted 1 night and the horrific fecal odor returned. Every day we had someone from maintenance trying to fix the problem only for it to reappear. Pearl, the hoesekeeping manager, was very understanding and very nice, but she was at a loss as well as to where the problem was coming from. I was just a bit surprised that the front desk staff never offered to have us moved. I realize it was an extremely busy week at the hotel, but it did not matter if I was a VIP member or not; I didn't receive any special treatment or credits. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Time change not working with hotel wake-up call system Room was clean, location not in best spot but ok. The only real issue we had was that my husband was running in the NYC marathon during our stay, which was the same weekend of the 'fall back' time change. We set our phone alarms but were concerned that they may not change in time and mess up his early wake-up. So we used the hotel wake-up system as a back up, thinking the hotel would have the time updated. However, they didn't. And our wake-up call came through an hour earlier. it was disappointing that they time was not set right with the hotel and my husband got less sleep for his big race day. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Comfortable and clean, nice staff. March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Times Square Staff is exceptionally friendly February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Place To Stay This property is definitely my favorite place to stay in Manhattan. Convenient location, newly remodeled guest rooms as well as a dedicated professional staff. Front Desk Associates Marilyn and Milly were customer service personified as was Ingrid, the General Manager's Administrative Assistant. They were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was perfect. I plan to return to Manhattan at the end of August and The Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel is where I will be staying....again! April 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Of all the SPG hotels I have stayed at, this is the worst. My entire experience with this hotel was a complete and utter debacle. Starting with receiving an email a few days before my arrival saying I could upgrade to Club level. I immediately called the hotel's number listed on the email in order to take advantage of the offer emailed to me. After being transferred around multiple times and being put on hold and eventually disconnected multiple times, I was finally able to leave a message. I was later told that there was no upgrade available and there had not been any available for numerous months. Once I arrived, my check-in took nearly an hour to complete. The woman. The woman checking me in was very nice, but had no authority to do much and was constantly waiting on management. She said she would credit me a day for my inconvenience, but upon checkout, I was not given the credit, even though the same woman helped me and recalled saying it. She did not have the power to do so, once again. Once I was finally checked in, we were told to move the refrigerator from our previous room to the current room ourselves. I was told this by a manager. The room was constantly hot and never seemed to work correctly, I was promised extra towels my whole stay, yet only got the bare minimum. When I mentioned the lack of enjoyment during my stay I was promised better service, but nothing ever changed. I was given one breakfast to make my stay better. The breakfast was decent, but in no way made up for the lack of service. I understand that I was at the hotel during the NYCDA National convention, but I have stayed at many hotels during many conventions. Between dance competitions, Bar (attorney) conventions, I have never had such lack luster service. The staff themselves seemed very nice and very sorry for my poor experience, but they either had no authority, or their actions did not follow what was promised. I will never stay at this hotel again. There are many other choices in and around the same area that I have heard wonderful things about. Maybe if I had been the only one in this situation,I would give it another shot, but every single person in our group had a poor experience. It was almost as if the staff knew we had to stay there because of the dance convention and didn't care at all if we were comfortable or happy. In all honesty, the elevators were so slow , I could have easily stayed at any one of the hotels around the corner and been able to arrive at the convention in the same amount of time. July 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The service at the hotel, expescially for platinum members is not up to standards I was extremely disappointed during this stay. I found myself having to repeatedly place orders for room service and water (which as a platinum member is free - yet there never is any in the room). I had to wait 55 minutes for salt and two glasses to be brought up to the room. Additionally, I have been trying to use my suite night awards at this hotel for over a year now and it never seems to go through. It is no use having them if I am never able to use them/ Lastly, the breakfast on the club floor is lacking greatly in its standard. There is very limited amount of food with not much variation. For a 5-star hotel its breakfast is far behind many of its Starwood counterparts in the city. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by So Disappointed I travel frequntly with my job and I chose this hotel for this business trip because of past experience with Sheraton and other Starwood Hotels. Unfortunately it didn't meet the standards of others in the chain. As soon as I walked in I noticed my room smelled of sour mildew. I called down before ever unpacking to let them know and request a room change. I was told that it was probably my sheets (why would it be my sheets?) and that she would send someone up to change my linens. Reluctantly I went out for dinner only to find upon my return that noone had been to the room. It was rather late and having had a long day I decided to deal with the issue the next morning. The matter was worsened when I found that the bath towels had an even stronger mildew smell, especially when wet. It was so strong that I felt it was leaving the same odor on my skin. My complaints came with a response that someone would come replace my linens. My sheets were replaced the next day while I was out at meetings but the nicely folded, clean looking towels again were horrific smelling when wet. To top all this off, the ice machine on my floor did not work. Although this would have only been a minor complaint, considering my disgust with the room this only added to my overall dissatisfaction with this hotel. August 30, 2012
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 70 next>>