Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2287 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tough To Handle As a Gold Preferred & Starwood Vacation Owner, and having stayed at other Sheraton's in the city, I found this one disappointing (a 2nd time). The floors were dirty when I checked in late and they stayed dirty throughout my stay even with requests for vacuming. The FD Mgr credited Points back for the issue, but overall, this hotel didn't make for a pleasant stay...& if you're not Platinum, don't plan for an upgrade to Club. December 28, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by 11/6-9/14 I was checked into and given keys to a room that was occupied. That didn't make me feel very safe--if I was able to access someone elses room, who could access mine?? The second room I checked in to had fresh linens and towels, however, the floors had not been vacuumed, the bathroom was not clean and there was trash in 2 trash cans. The front desk staff and manager were very helpful and got me into a clean room, but I definitely was put off by the first 2 rooms I was assigned. I have reservations next week and am hoping that I do not have any further issues with this hotel as I'm a loyal SPG member. November 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff employee This is the second time this year we stayed at your hotel, Sheraton Times Square. we met your front desk manager Seher Funk the first time Jan 2014, when there were some issues with the room. Not only did she fully understand, but every time we walked into the hotel she was there to greet us by name. We stayed again, primarily because of her, in July, and again received a very personal congenial greeting and assistance , including solving rain related issues. Employees such as she, are hard to find and you should be proud of her attitude and understanding of guest relations. I think she will go far in your organization. September 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Poor management We had a terrible experience on our second night there with people running and screaming in the hallway. We called 5 times to the front desk asking for their help or to change our room. We got about 4 hours sleep that night. I spoke with the front desk the next morning and was told they would take care of this out check out. I wanted to make sure this would not happen again that night. There were jackhammers going on so I could not even nap that day to catch up on some of the sleep I missed that night and I was totally exhausted. Upon check out I was told that there was no report of my calls or complaint the next day. I feel the guest was an employee due to the converstation I overheard about them begging security not to take it to the corporate level. I was very dissappointed in the whole experience and unsatisfied to say the least. I will never stay there again. February 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by below expectation The service of this hotel is far behind starwood standard, cannot even compare with other Sheraton hotels in Asia. The employees are not friendly at all, especially the receptionist and the hostess at the restaurant for breakfast. They gave me a room which the toilet is not well cleaned. After complaining, they changed me to another room, but no apology about it. The hotel should cross check the rooms before selling it. February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable stay! This hotel is in a perfect location if you're planning to spend any time at Broadway or Central Park. I spent an extended weekend here in early February and I must say it was the most comfortable hotel stay I've had in a long time. The bed was so comfortable, I got the most restful sleep I've had in a long time! Very clean hotel throughout the hallways and lobby as well. February 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Business Hotel Stay Experience Stayed at Sheraton Times Square because of CGI and the convenience. We could not receive emails from our Earthlink email because of the Hotel Firewall. And, we had ongoing severe issues with outbound emails on our business account. I spent 12 hours over 6 days during the late hours of the night working with the outside IT/Tech support. It was a disaster. We left a VM message for one of the managers, who called us back 2 days later. The front desk management was pleasant and tried to appease us. The $150 credit and one night's stay in point was ok for me but not for my colleague who is not a Starwood member. I will never stay there again or recommend the hotel. September 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is noisy and uncomfortable We have always stayed at the Sheraton Hotels on our travels and have had wonderful experiences at your hotels in Seattle, Bellevue, and other locations. When we decided to take a trip to New York, it was a given that we would stay at the Sheraton. Unfortunately, the room was incredibly noisy. In fact, you could hear the conversations of other guests in the rooms next to us as if you were in the same room with them! January 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Housekeeping needs improvement Housekeeping needs improvement. Should not expect to see mold on the bathroom tiles and hair left over from previous guest upon check in. Also, would be great if housekeeping could ensure that all components of the coffee service is consistently provided--at most Sheratons this is an issue (whether they supply all decaf and no regular, sometime no cream, sometimes no heat sleeve). This should not be so difficult November 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worst stays! This has been one of the worst stays in any hotel. I heard every elevator ring, the staff woke us every morning wanting to clean the room. If it weren't for cleaning the room, the mini bar lady knocked on the door wanting to inventory the minibar! We found a piece of used soap bar in the bathroom. There was strange gross pieces of something in the towels! The hotel was crowded, noisy and the staff clueless! November 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by cramped rooms We stayed at the Sheraton NY over Thanksgiving weekend. Although our reservations were made months out, the hotel gave away 2 of our rooms, then put us in cramped handicapped rooms - referring to the change as an "upgrade". The hotel was booked to capacity and seemed unable to handle the crowd. Decor was nothing but drab! It's unfortunate so much money was spent on renovations - the hotel didn't show it! December 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here if you want to get any sleep There was no allowance made for business travelers - we were put next door to spring-breakers who slammed doors, held loud conversations in the hallway and partied in their rooms until at lest 3 AM each night. Calls to the front desk for help in keeping order on the floor went ignored. If you want to party, this is your hotel. If you need to get some sleep for your next day's job, find someplace else. March 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Management This hotel should be great but is not. There are long lines to check in but there were never more than 2 people at the check-in counter (even the priority line). Everytime a new problem was encountered, we had to wait in the line. The room was not ready until after 4. We tried to check in at 2. Our luggage was left in the lobby on a cart and we had to walk it over to the bag check desk ourselves. Our room key did not work in the club lounge so we had to wait in line again to have this corrected. The next morning at 9:00 the sound of drilling was deafening. When I called the main desk I was offerred ear plugs. (we had a rennovatted room). The next morning the bathroom ceiling leaked (actually gushed water). Went to the main desk and asked the gentleman there to be proactive and deal with the situation while we went out to explore NYC. When we returned nothing had been done and he had the nerve to tell my husband that I wanted to stay in the room. My husband got us moved to a lesser room and we were given 12,000 points. One bright note on the whole stay was the club staff. They were very accomodating and should give the front desk and management lessons on customer service! January 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall good, but... I've stayed at this property multiple times over the years when I am in town. It is located very conveniently and the service is usually very nice. This time around, I noticed a few changes that I thought were interesting. The walls in the renovated rooms seem to be thinner. I could literally hear the conversations going on next door. The Club lounge, while having long and flexible hours, no longer serves hot breakfast food except for oatmeal. Happy hour snacks are also reduced to vegetable sticks and cheese. The Guest Services hotline also seemed to be less helpful than before. Simple requests such as borrowing a roll of packing tape was apparently very unusual and somewhat frustrating. Overall, my stay was still good. But it was not how I remember my past stays here. It would still be my choice of hotel in NYC, and I hope that future stays will be back to the level it was before. March 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor service First off I got a room with twin beds instead of a King, without a prior warning at check in. The reading lamp was not functioning and replacement did not come in till I asked for it next night. At that time they left the broken lamp in my room. Flush worked such that the water came out of the commode. Refused to serve me a kid's meal since I did not have a kid registered with me as a guest. May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value Ever We were delighted with everything this hotel delivers for an extremely reasonable price which is difficult to find in Manhattan. Staff friendly, coffee maker in room, newspaper every morning early under our door, beautiful breakfast buffet with heaping luscious fruit and miso soup offered along with traditional items. All amenities were well thought out. Kudos to the management and staff. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good location, staff, food... A perfect location for tourists, if you come from the JFK Airport you can arrive by train which has a station right next to the hotel. The food was excellent although there was not much variety during our stay, they told us that a new menu beginning next week which should be good because the Chef cooks very well. We attended 2 Latino waiters who were very friendly especially a Puerto Rican which I do not remember the name. The hotel has a big Lobby and several computers for guest use. The concierge was very helpful and they know the city as I know the Palm of my hand. The room is comfortable and the bed I wanted to bring to my house because it was very comfortable. Overall it was a good stay. I Work as a Cost Analyst and all I can say is that the restaurant has great potential and I hope to work the new menu carefully and intelligently so they can generate the greatest possible income. Thanks a lot February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best with upgrade This hotel has had a lot of renovations and its better than ever. If you get a regular room they are New York City small but as a platinum member, getting an upgrade here turns it from a small room to the best room in NYC. Cub lounge is great and gym is outstanding. It's a real gym vs small room in a hotel. People from all over the world stay here. Like it better than the westin now. January 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lost Trust The concierge team provided inept recommendations. The first day I was sent to a restaurant that had already closed & then sent me to a nail salon that was a rip off. When I went back the evening team was surprised I had been sent to that place sine the one the one they recommend Is cheaper & friendly. As a gold member, I expect the concierge service to be competent & they were not. August 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by internet problems couldn't access internet in room - called downstairs and front desk referred my call to an "outside" source whom I needed to give my IP address, and etc... didn't feel comfortable doing so, but needed access. The "outside" source eventually connected me. Went to business center to print papers, and none of their computers were working. Really? Some people do need to actually do some business at the hotel - apparently they had problems with internet all weekend and finally I had to use the front desk computer AND printer - for such a nice hotel one would think internet access and printing are basic needs that should be available - not everyone is just there to shop! December 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Your Hotel needs help asap !! 1. Carpets needs a good cleaning in the lobby / elevator area. 2. Free Computers near the lounge stink. The keyboard keys are worn out. Can't see the letters!! 3. Check-out very slow ..... why can you just "drop off' the room key on exit if you don't have any extras on the bill? You will save a lot in labor costs. 4. Room not clean - hairs (and not mine !!) in the bathroom. September 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Great location but way overpriced I booked this hotel because of a conference in another hotel nearby and wanted to give a little luxary to my wife who was joining me. Big disappointment. Small room, no view, standard bathroom(it's beetter at a Day's Inn!). No pool. You may go to fitness center at surcharge. You may leave bags (at a surcharge). The one advantage was the great location near Times Square. October 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not family friendly, bad elvators We had 2 issues that necessitate me writing my first ever hotel review. 1) when travelling as a family we normally have a drink or two in the evening when the kids are winding down. Both waitresses were not visibly irritated that we were there - one even make a negative remark. Keep in mind that we were in the lobby, not the bar it self - and there were plenty of other seats available for other customers. 2) We were in a section of the hotel with only 3 elevators. Only 1 was in service the entire 4-night stay and that one was not working well at all - so poorly that staff recommended we take the stairs 4 flights to another floor which had access to more elevators. December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met my Platinum Expections Every morning I recieve a USA Today outside my door. The hotel staff treat me as a valued guest, always looking for the best room available and offering an upgrade. A bottle of sparkling water and fresh fruit were sent to my room to welcome me back. It's the little touchs that make a platinum guest feel welcome. Yes, the rooms could be bigger. And the lounge could provide evening appetizers a little bit later (hard to get there when you work until 7pm even night - not convenient for the business traveller). But compared to other SPG properties in NYC, this one offers the most ammenities for a Platinum Guest. Thank you! June 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a Mess Construction starting at 6 AM and running until 9 at night on the ceiling above my room. Was told it goes from 9-4 at check in, but obviously was lied to. Called desk for message that was left and waited 17 minutes on hold before hanging up. When I called to ask about construction was basically told tough luck. Worst 2 nights and $700 I ever spent in a hotel. February 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another wonderful stay We usually pick this Sheraton when we visit NYC. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable for sleeping. Housekeeping has been pleasant and remembers our requests when they are made. This past visit we had to extend our stay for an extra day unexpectedly and were accommodated with no difficulty at all which was very much appreciated. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and location I have to admit that I was not expecting much from a hotel located near time square... but I was pleasantly surprised. Edward at the front desk went above and beyond to make me feel welcomed. The suite I checked into was great. Hotel was clean and well appointed. Best of all its close enough to all the action without having to be annoyed with the TS crowd. October 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Remodelling We stayed last year at this hotel as well and the remodelling has really made the hotel lighter and classier. The excellent service is still in place from the Concierge to the front desk to the room cleaners. The beds are comfortable and the rooms laid out well. Wifi in the lobby at no charge is great but it would be nice if it was always included in room. July 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like it But Lots of Room for Improvement I like this place even though there are things that aren't perfect. This old gem still gets the job done. The place, while renovated, is still a bit dated... but I still like the feel. Really like the space of the Concierge Level space... nice and open... The evening service only included cheese and crudites... no hot dish. Alcohol too expensive for a club like this. The attitude of the staff is generally good... service is a bit hit or miss. Weird that my suite had 2 charging cradles for the telephone (one in bedroom, one in living room) but only one handset... talk about cutbacks... completely unacceptable. September 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel I have ever visited! I was tagging along on a business trip with my husband who was in New York for a conference. We arrived at the hotel, checked in and made our way to our room. Room is over stating, it was the size of a closet! No drawers to put your clothes, the in room safe was locked and the heater wasn't working! The morning after we checked in, promptly at 8:00 am, the whole room started shaking!! Not an earthquake, but construction that was being done! It was so loud the mirror in the bathroom was vibrating!! I wish the front desk had warned us about the construction! We stayed a total of two days and it was an absolute nightmare! You couldn"t even hear yourself think, much less carry on a conversation! I don't think I would recommend this hotel to anyone, nor would I ever stay here again! November 5, 2011
  • 2015-03-28T17:49:49.623-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_2287, tr_2287
  • loc_en_US, sid_421, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 77 next>>