Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2155 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience from start to finish Too many things happened in just 4 nights. First, after expressing concern about construction and renovation noise, we were assured we would be placed in a room as far away from construction as possible. We were given a room right in the middle of it, and there was scaffolding outside our window! It took an hour to move rooms with no help with luggage. Next day I was stuck in an elevator for 30 mins and VERY upset. I even missed my luncheon. I was told they would do something nice for me and they never even checked on me again to see if I was OK. Housekeeping never came one of the days. We were charged for mini bar item we never used and had to take time to get that resolved. Toilet didn't flush properly, tub won't drain properly. TV channels fuzzy. Security called and knocked at 6:30AM one morning, waking my husband. February 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed hotel stay The hotel lobby area was fine although printing a plane ticket was only accomplished by the concierges desk versus a common area computer. The lobby restaurant only had a buffet choice in the morning which was not what I wanted so I passed. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, with nice bed linen. The hallway at night was extremely noisy to the extent I was waken up every night and multiple times on one of the nights. Not the hotel's fault but a pain nevertheless. September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect place! Wow! I was impressed - Here's why..... I haven't been to NY in a few years and this was the first time in the Big Apple w family. Although the hotel was booked solid the front desk staff, mainly Nicole, went out of their way to get my two rooms right next to each other. Since I had Platinum status they upgraded me to a suite that had views of Time Square, Hudson and Central Park (You cannot get a better view of NY than any Sheraton room ending in xx01). Nicole (the front desk staff) even sent my daughter a goodie basket on the house. Furthermore, my second room was bigger than expected, for NY, and comfortable. The facility had a gorgeous SPG room that had a perfect view of Time Square etc. The work out facility was immense and fully stocked. Overall the staff was A+, very nice and on the ball! A must go to in the City. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pricey, but ok My wife and I were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. Our room was upgraded to the club level, which was nice. We had complimentary champagne delivered to our room (despite the fact that it was noted in the comments and I told the staff at check in that we didn't drink. So the cleaning lady got a free bottle I guess...). The hotel concierge was great! They recommended excellent restaurants in the area for us. The room seemed to be very small and not a lot of room to move around in, but overall it was fine. My only complaint was the doors to the room shut EXTREMELY LOUD. Not a pleasant thing to be woken up by in the wee hours of the morning. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Location but not up to SPG standards I stay at this hotel often for business because of its location but it is in need of a mjor overhaul and training of staff. The rooms are a box - I'm platinum and they say I'm getting an upgrade- but I'm not- my room is still a box, the bathrooms are horrible, mold on the ceilings, and in the tub, the wallpaper peiling, countertops cracked and you can't even get in the shower without closing door first - its so small. The decor is tired and in dire need of a a reno. The staff does the bare minumum I have never had a bell guy outside help me with my luggage and they are miserable and just lookning for a tip. Check in staff doesn't even check for upgrades- just says no! January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, Small Room The location was perfect! Walking distance to all the shows, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, and subways. We walked almost everywhere because of this location. The only drawback of this hotel is the room size. It is small (although I am sure most are in New York). We had three in the room and the bathroom was too small for all of our items. Also, if you like to unpack your bags, DO NOT stay at this hotel. This was the main drawback and the only reason that we would not return. We HATE living out of a suitcase. If you are only going for a day or two it is reasonable, but if you are spending 4 or more days it is extremely inconvenient. I have given this hotel an excellent rating because this hotel is perfect for location and hotel employee helpfulness and friendliness. BUT if you like to unpack, this hotel is not for you. December 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location Close to theaters and great places to eat, and easy and cheap to get to if you are flying in from Kennedy Airport via the E train and the link from Kennedy to Jamaica Station. Downsides are the usual iffy and often pricey cab ride to La Guardia and over-priced mini-bars in the rooms (one of my pet peeves). One caution--someone mismatched the coffee makers and the coffee supplier for this hotel, so the makers pour coffee all over the place with remarkable ease! October 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location, Fair Service This hotel is has a terrific location on 7th Avenue in NYC. It has never been my first choice of SPG hotels, and I only use it as a fallback when neither the Westin nor W are available. The newly renovated rooms are pleasant but relatively small. The last two times I visited I did not get my expected upgrade as a Gold Card holder. Also the restaurant buffet is terrible -- always cold and tasteless -- and very expensive. Not acceptable for a major hotel brand. November 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic After reading some of the review's, I was a little skeptical about going there. What a pleasant surprise. I had never been to NY City before, I reached the hotel, expecting slow service at check in, it took less than 5 minutes!! The room was spotless, and the people were extremely helpful! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and I plan on going back as soon as I can! My experience was amazing!! A big thank you to the staff at the hotel!!! December 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Renovation exceeds expectations Sometimes when selecting a Sheraton property I am hesitant, as my experience has been that some Sheraton properties can feel a little tired and in need of renovation. This was not the case at the Sheraton Times Square. The property had recently had a significant renovation. The property was warm, inviting and comfortable from the lobby to the guest rooms. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming. I felt recognized and rewarded as a SPG gold guest. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by There are better options I was in New York for five nights for a conference at the Sheraton Times Square so it made sense for me to get my room in the same facility. After five nights of terrible sleep, I will not be returning. To keep things simple, I will just highlight some key issues. Everything not mentioned here was fine. SPG Recognition: I am an SPG Gold member, as I travel quite a bit. I booked my room two months in advance, requesting a high floor and a quiet room. Out of the 50 floors available, I was placed on the 10th floor, directly in front of the ice machine and elevators. I spent five nights hearing intoxicated teenagers get ice and large groups of people get on and off the elevators. The 40 floors above me were entirely booked two months in advance? Obviously no room upgrade was available, but I would at least expect such easy requests to be honored. The check-in was also very unsatisfactory, with one person at the SPG Gold/Platinum desk and multiple at the standard check-in desk. Unfortunately, if you happen to be SPG Gold or Platinum, the standard check-in staff will not assist you - they just keep calling regular guests, while you wait in line for your single assigned staff member to check you in. It defeats the entire purpose of priority check-in. Bedding/Sleep Quality: Typically I do not comment on the bed, as it is very subjective. However, in this case, I will say that this bed had clearly reached the end of its useful life. It caved in towards the middle and was extremely uncomfortable. This alone is enough to ruin a hotel for me. Internet: Internet is included in the price, and I suppose the logic is that if they give it to you for free, you shouldn't complain. The problem is, I would much rather pay for it (or receive it as my SPG gift) and actually have a useful service than receive what they offered for free. It was just enough to open e-mails if I was lucky. Good luck trying to check facebook - the internet simply cannot handle loading pictures. I tried a brand new Sony Vaio laptop, an iPad, a Blackberry Q10 and an iPhone - and all of these devices normally work perfectly. I normally have great experiences with Starwood properties (hence my regular stays there), but this appears to be an exception to the norm. If you need to be in Times Square and must go Starwood, pay the premium and go to the Westin Times Square (as I have done in the past - a truly fantastic property) - or look for something entirely different. August 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The billing manager has tried to pull a fast one I have stayed here once of twice a month this whole year. I moved some things around in the mini bar and they charged me for everything. I drank one cranberry juice but charged me for moving stuff. I am a platinum member and this is insane. After I explained they made bill correct at check out and next day reversed it again. Have spent over 45 minutes trying to get resolved. Great location, gym and rooms are good - very low integrity on the billing side. August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay! I'd like to thank you for our stay at the Sheraton Times Square. Everything was perfect!!! Warren, the representative who checked us in at the front desk, deserves special recognition. He was incredibly nice and professional, and he made us feel very welcomed. In fact, he even arranged to have a bottle of wine sent to our room --- a great surprise! He really went above and beyond. Thanks to him and your entire staff, we look forward to coming back often. April 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location In between Central Park and Times Square. Easy to get to landmarks and museums on foot. Several nice restaurants in the vicinity. Staff were terrific - they surprised my daughter with a birthday cake on her 16th birthday. Thank you!! August 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay at the Time Square location August 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by too many problems Broken toilet seat - dust build up on shower head and on top of fixtures - temperature 65 no matter what thermostat said - lack of response to calls to fix these things. This may be the busiest Sheraton, but is far from the best. You get what you pay for and my bad for expecting more at the lower price of this hotel. Front desk staff was good at checkin and staff in club lounge was personable, but we will stay at other NYC places. Not the best. July 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Disappointed I've stayed at the Sheraton for years. I was terribly dissatisfied with the apparent overextension of your facility. After checking in two days prior, I was told I had to wait in a line of 200 people to use the elevator to get to my room. By the time I was able to get to my room, my dinner reservations were ruined. We stayed in that night because your elevators/staff were unable to handle the large crowd. April 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by morning housekeeping First of all, the roomst are not quiet as you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway. That happens a lot at hotels. The worst part is that you have maid service starting at 8AM in the morning and knocking loudly on every room around you with something metal. This metal tapping woke me up every 5 minutes. These housekeepers need to realize there are people tryng to sleep. it was so annoying that do not think I could stay there again. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location/Staff We decided to stay at the Sheraton for my upcoming 40th birthday, It was also my first time in New York, this hotel is in the perfect location, walking distance to 5th Avenue, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Centre etc, the Hotel staff were friendly and also on hand to help with questions on things to do etc, on our arrival we were surprised when we was told by the receptionist that we could have free wifi connection in our room just by becoming a Sheraton Prefered Guest member for free, we were on the 36th floor and had a lovely city view, the room was clean and comfortable, I would like to personally thank Anna (front office supervisor) and Anna Marie (VIP Services) for the lovely complimentary champagne etc for celebrating my birthday, which was a lovely surprise. I would definitely return to this hotel if I get to visit New York again November 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Happy Room booked and paid for 6 months in advance, but on arrival hotel is booked and we are trying to get you a room. First room given to us was a disabled persons room which smelt of vomit. Second room we were given had a bed which made more noise than the street outside, the springs in the base must have been broken, try to swap but no room available. Then 2 days before we checkout a room swap is available. To little far to late, never again. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal location to broadway-Times Square Hotel more than met my expectations for cleanliness and convenience. Staff was very polite and helpful. My only warning-if you faint at the sight of a high bill AVOID the bar in the hotel lobby!!!I had 2 Gin and Tonics-my wife had 1 Baileys on the Rocks.The tab..$43..Each Gin and Tonic was $14, the Baileys was $11...then they add "tax" on top for a total of $43..Plenty of other pubs and bars within walking distance that are much cheaper. November 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Irritating minor problems Analogue TV channels didn't work, and over a four day period, problem not solved. In room safe didn't work, and also not fixed. Maintenance man 'will be there in a moment' - 60 minutes later he arrived, and failed to solve either problem, then or later. Hot water tap leaked, even when cold water opened. WiFi in other hotels, Starbucks etc is normally free. To have 30 minutes free is OK, but really would be much better to have open WiFi. November 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location & value Luxury accomodations right in the middle of everything, walking distance to so many great NYC sites & also any subway stop is steps away. My second stay & would definitely stay here again! August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by personal touch when calling customer service, they answer by stating your name. When we couldn't raise the window shade, they sent a mechanic straight away. It was a simple fix, and once raised opened our view to the city. After the ball drop on NYE, the staff conducted the return of guests in an orderly manner so the elevators were accessible and the crowd did not become overwhelming, i.e.pushing, shoving, everyone wanting to be "first" in line. January 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and nice hotel but staff not too friendly I've stayed here for the past 3 years on my annual trip to NYC in December. Each time it was my birthday weekend but this time it was my 50th birthday. After mentioning this to the staff, they kind of just looked at me, never wished me Happy Birthday or acknowledged that I was a SPG guest or a returning guest. They just weren't very friendly at check in or out. Efficient but no personalized service. Great location and lobby is nice. December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time A Charm If you are travelling to Manhattan to visit and see the sites this is a perfect hotel that allows you to work from the Center and see all the surrounding sites. The staff were always very helpful. I will definitely choose this hotel when I visit again. PS. I was very impressed and surprised how helpful the local people in NYC compared to most city's I have travelled Thank You to All that made our visit so special. 5 Star all the way. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Nice Room, Just Poor Service Everything was great with the exception of the front desk staff. In particular one person was exceedingly rude and condescending to questions and requests. I'd recommend the hotel, just don't expect much from the front desk. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Big Disappointment My family made three visits to the Sheraton-Labor Day, Veteran's Day, and Martin Luther King's Day weekend. The renovations to the hotel were very nice but on each visit, the cleanliness of the bathroom, in particular the overwhelming mildew smell of the shower curtain made it unbearable to stay in our room. We were given another room but it had the same smell. After 3 visits, I realize that this is not a Starwood caliber property. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Security Staff I had left cash and an envelope in my room after checking out, but did not realize this until I got home. I called the hotel and spoke to John in Security. He took the necessary steps to go up to the room I had occupied and found the cash and envelope. I made arrangements to have these items picked up at the hotel the next day. John should get a Gold Star for his Honesty and Integrity, which exceeded my initial expectations !!!!! March 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home We had this month two stays at the Sheraton New York. As dozens time before we got the best treatment and recognitioon of my Elite Platinum Status - Suite Upgrade or Club Room, and other amenities. I would like commend the Hotel VIP team, and specially, Chelsea and Mhagen for the warm and personal response to our need. We will be back in March for another business visit to NYC and obviously will stay at the Sheraton NY. January 26, 2014
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 73 next>>