Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2221 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Feels like you are still at the airport When i pay $440 for a hotel room even in NY, I expect to be treated better than I do at the airport. Waited in line 30 minutes to be told no room was ready. then paid $3.75 for them to store my bags for the 4 hours it took for them to get me a room. Of course, I had to wait in line 10 minutes to check my bag. Then I had to wait in line another 20 minutes to ask about my room again. It was ready but then another 10 minutes at the bag storage area to get my bags. Unbelievable! The room was fine once I got there but being treated like a herd of cows prior to getting there was not worth. I will never stay there again. May 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Location I enjoyed staying here. The room was very clean. October 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No flexibility with client needs Both check-in and check-out processes were stressful - with just 3 rooms & 6 people. Internet system (used to pull up information) is limiting staff to give faster service, to pull up client requested information, and the inability to respond to client concerns. Without the flexibility or genuine willingness to listen to a client's needs and situations, you will lose clientele. Also, our room was connected to another room (via a door) and noise carried through, which made it hard to rest. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel! I stay at this property several times a year and have always had outstanding stays. The staff really cares about the level of service you receive. The rooms are in excellent condition. The club lounge is one of the best in the Starwood system. Zoe and her staff really care about providing excellent customer service. I have never been disappointed when staying at this property. I have stayed at many of the Starwood properties in NYC and this is my first choice when traveling to NYC. February 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Below expectation I fly from hong kong to NYC to spend weekend, all I want is a king size bed high rise room, but when I get there I was told the toilet was broken in my room and they can only give me a low rise double room, or I could wait in the lobby for two hour until they fix it?! And the receptionist was not nice at all after all these. I try to argue and she became impatient and had no smile all the time. Finally I got to talk to manager to get it arranged. P.s. wifi for 15$?! No bath tub?! September 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy subway access from JFK Just over the road from Visitor information. Can walk to many places. Platinum Lounge food is even more frugal than it used to be. Hard to choose anything in the Hudson restaurant. Yet, I love the place. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! Comfortable rooms! Close to major attractions, easy to return to drop packages off or for quick rest. Staff was very attentive. Club room run very well. Beds are comfortable and quiet! October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in great location This was our third stay at this hotel...obviously we like it. The location is great and as ladies we appreciate the feeling of safety. The Concierge was extremely helpful in suggesting what to see and gave us excellent instructions on how to get there by using the subway. October 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not satisfied I have worked in Hotels before and this was not acceptable. The man checking me in at the front desk was rude and did not even confirm how many nights I was staying! I had to wait over 20 minutes to even check in maybe you should hire some more front desk staff because everyone was complaining about it! Then I left my glasses in the hotel room and an english friend of mine went to pick them up and he was made fun of because of his accent by the hotel staff!! July 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Foul Odor in Room Bathroom had a sour, mildew like stink that did not go away. Also, there was a painted white rubber hose sticking out of the bathroom ceiling right by my head whenever I used the shower...nice renovation work! I was also asked to pay $50/night for use of the Starwood Club Room, which as a gold member I have never had to pay before at any other location. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic choice of hotel i stayed in this hotel at the end of november 2011 for 5 nights, it is absol;utely excellent the position is so close to everything 3-5 mins walk fromm central park, rockerfellar centre, times square 5th ave etc etc it is spotlessly clesn and the staff were very accomodating (although we didnt really need to ask them much)!! it is a safe area in the evenings especially for a group of females!11 definately would stay there again its PERFECT!! and well priced too January 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable It started at check-in. I got in line behind 2 other gentlement in the non-Gold/Platinum line. That check-in was staffed with 2 people while there were 0 people in my check-in line. Each of us watched as people cycled through the Preferred line with not a single staff member even looking our way. Finally, after 30 minutes, the gentleman in front of me shouted for one of them to come over there. To add insult to injury, it sounded like someone was using a jackhammer 2 rooms away. When I called Guest Services, they informed me that.they were removing scaffolding outside my window. No apology. Nothing. Good luck working from your hotel room when everyone asks you what that noise is? May 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Welcome Staff Needs Improvement Upon our check-in, we were welcomed, asked our reservation information and then asked for payment to keep on file. All standard at any hotel. However, that was the extent of our session. We were given our room key and sent to our room. After talking with other guest, we were told specifics of the hotel. The front desk never informed us that there was a per day charge for room WIFI. I was never told that there was a workout room and once I found it, I was not told that there was a per day charge. The minibar and procedures were never explained. I felt very uniformed as a consumer. You would think that as amenities that you offer, for a fee or not, you would like your staff to make guest aware. The Concierge was very friendly and helpful in offering information about the town and how to travel. October 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DOUBLE CHECK YOUR BILL DOUBLE CHECK YOUR BILL WHEN YOU LEAVE. I booked through Priceline and was charged one fee. Then saw on my bank account that a SECOND fee of $300+ was charged to my debit card from Sheraton. Apparently, there was a "credit card mix-up" and someone else's room was charged to mine. THAT IS NOT 4-STAR QUALITY SERVICE. I'm told it's going to take almost 2 weeks to rectify, and no solution other than "sorry" has been offered. Absolutely terrible. July 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service let me down When checking in for an Easter weekend visit to New York with my family, I found out only then that it was not possible for me to hire a roll-out bed to accommodate my family in a single room, even though my reservation indicated I could do so. Presumably, the recent renovations of the hotel rooms no longer allows for any roll-outs to be hired. I had to book a separate 'starwood ' room (lucky I had enough points in my 'Platinum' account to do so) to avoid cancelling my entire holiday weekend. And then, since our rooms were not available, we had to endure another frustrating wait in line to not only store but also pick up our luggage later, only to discover that they'd 'lost' one piece, which we ended up recovering after another anxious hour or so wait. Constant and lengthy line-ups for bag drop would discourage anyone from returning to stay here. April 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Continues to be a bad experience 2 months later We arrived at the hotel on July 5th for a dance convention that my daughter was attending. I had made reservations in JAN for this hotel. Upon checking in I was told that they did not have a double bed room that I reserved that they only had a king bed with a chaise; so started my horrible experience. I told the girl that would not do and she went and got her manager Kenny. Kenny and basically says the same thing and I ask HOW if I reserved a room 6 months ago and you not have it. He told me he could try and explain it but it didn’t matter because they didn’t have it. He said it with such attitude and condensation that caused me to get angrier at this situation. He then tried to blame it on the dance convention we were attending and I told him that wasn’t going to work since it was SHERATON I had booked with. He told me it would be the next day before they would have a room with a double bed and that I would need to contact them in the morning and be in my room so they could get us moved over. We took the room they had and I left to join the group. Upon talking to another mom in my group she was told they didn’t have a room ready but that the housekeeping staff was behind and it would be ready soon and they offered her $50 off per night she was there. She and I went back to the desk so someone could tell me why I was told something different and why nothing was offered to me as a discount. Spoke with Kenny AGAIN and got the same answer with the same attitude that the other mothers witnessed as well. Lucky for me another mom in our group said that the room we got would be better for them and we were able to switch, NOTE I FIXED THE ISSUE NOT SHERATON!!!!!! The following say I called down to find out the status of the fridge we had requested since as well that had not been received. I had been told the night before that there was a waiting list and I should get one soon. Of course when I called down and spoke to an agent who got me manager on duty Luke he didn’t have me on the waiting list. He and I spoke at length about the previous night and how I fixed the problem myself and he told me they would allow me to keep my credit of $50/ per night. I laughed… ALLOW ME that wasn’t even a question anymore. He told me he would call me back in 15 minutes about the refrigerator. He did and told me it would be brought to our room in 15 minutes. 45 minutes later I call back down and get someone in “guest services” I asked to speak to Luke she asked if she could help and I said no I need to speak to Luke, She transferred me and I got his voicemail. I called back got the same lady and she gave me her manager who got on the phone and was yelling (the other mother with us in the room could hear her across the room) at me about how Luke shouldn’t have promised me anything. I said he did and she said well she would just get me the General Manager… Finally I thought… No, I got his VM so I called back to ask to have him paged or something and I again got the same “guest services” lady who told me, Ms we cannot just get him out of a meeting to talk to you I will leave a message with his secretary and she HUNG UP ON ME!!!! I grabbed me hotel key and set off to find the manager myself I was directed to the 4th floor and got to talk to him face to face.. He apologized and spoke very frank which I appreciated and I thought things were solved. We enjoyed the rest of our trip, got my bill before we left and saw that they would credit me and home we came… It’s now 2 months later and I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE THE CREDIT ON MY BILL!!! GO FIGURE… I would not recommend this hotel at all. August 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing service I come up to New York City about 5 times a year and generally this is my hotel of choice because the rooms are spacious by Manhattan standards, the rooms are generally reasonably priced, and I've been an SPG Gold member for several years now. This past visit on Saturday during the check-in process was the most unpleasant experience I've had in my 20 years of traveling. I dealt with three staff at the SPG Gold/Platinum line that although superficially professional, were either uncaring or somewhat rude. Saturday morning there was a long downpour in New York and many people were getting off cruises. My elderly parents who were traveling with me were wet and tired because it was hard to get a taxi to the hotel that morning. I had asked for an early check-in earlier in the week because I was reached out to be a service representative earlier in the week by e-mail. There were no rooms with double beds available at 11:40am when I first inquired. I asked for an estimate from the gentleman at the desk and he said he wouldn't be able to get me one but took down my cell phone number. It appeared that 20 minutes later he was taking his lunch break and at 12:40, I asked another SPG representative. She looked me up in the computer and said there weren't any rooms available. By 1pm, I had noticed that many people that were non-SPG members were getting rooms-- and perhaps these were rooms with single beds, but at no time during my 1.5 hours of waiting, did I see any effort being made to contact housekeeping to see if a room could be made available. There was another incident when I finally could check in that was customer unfriendly which didn't matter which I found very appalling whether I was an SPG member or not. I'm seriously thinking that the benefits of SPG are no longer worth it and that my SPG credit card might not be renewed this next time around. My overall rating for this stay would only be 1 star but I am giving the hotel 3 stars because past stays have been pleasant-- but this sort of treatment does color one's opinion of the hotel. It appears that some additional time is needed in staff training in customer service. The third representative did give me 500 additional Starwood points which I did not ask for, but elite customer service on the front end instead of attempted service recovery on the back end should be the standard. October 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would Not Let Me Check In I had a reservation for 2 nights. The website said the checkin time was 3 pm. I got to the hotel at 5 pm and they said there were no rooms available. I was not allowed to check into my room until 10 pm so I missed a whole day. The front desk staff was not helpful. I had to complain twice the the supervisor (I think her name is Meredith) before I could get my room at 10 pm. Other people were in the same situation and were not happy. September 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location I gave the staff and location 3 stars. The room was very small and the revocation work was very messy. The paint around the door was not finished and generally had a sloppy look. I did not eat in the hotel. October 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Trip I have enjoyed staying in your hotel almost every week for the last year and have had the pleasure of meeting and interacting with your staff. They have been, without exception, courteous, efficient and friendly. This past weekend I brought my family to New York to see the sights and to see where Dad works and lives every week while traveling. I used SPG points to book my room and let both Cynthia and Brittany know that I was bringing my wife and my two daughters, ages 24 and 12. They told me not to worry and said that they would “take care of everything”. The arrangements that they made were incredible; I have been traveling as a consultant for over 25 years and have never had a hotel staff completely blow me away with service and hospitality the way that Cynthia and Brittany have. From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated like royalty. The bell staff's handling of our bags, Christian’s check in of the family, Maggie’s set up of our room, and the staff in the Club Room were all outstanding. I had reserved one room with double beds, but Cynthia and Brittany surprised us with a beautiful suite of rooms on the 42nd floor with gorgeous views of Times Square and the Hudson River. In addition, I brought three dozen roses to the hotel the day before, and they kept them for me overnight, then placed them in the rooms in a vase before we arrived. They also provided a lovely bottle of wine along with snacks and treats for us. My family was delighted and quite impressed. Maggie personally came to our room and cleaned the inside of the windows, and then arranged for the window washers to wash the outside of the windows the next day. My wife is an avid photographer, and she loved taking pictures out of the windows. The whole family spent hours each day enjoying the beautiful views of New York from our room. It was actually difficult for me to get them to leave the room to see the sights in the city since they were enjoying the view so much. The entire staff at the 44th floor Club Room was extremely welcoming to us and made us feel very special the entire weekend. The concierge helped us get a wonderful dinner reservation at the last minute on Saturday night. He had to check with numerous restaurants, and his recommendation was great. We had a lovely meal. I can't thank Brittany and Cynthia enough for all of their behind the scenes arrangements. While they make me feel special every week, they made this an extraordinary weekend for my entire family. I’m not sure how I can ever match this family trip because they have set the bar very high! They are two remarkable hospitality employees, and I am lucky to get to interact with them each week. You should be proud of your entire staff. They are truly hospitality experts. Best regards, Jerry Ostrowski and Family September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Unbelievable customer service. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Front desk, concierge, restaurant, doormen, etc… Our TV didn’t work and we reported it when going to breakfast and it was working when we returned. The location is great, central to everything. Ask for help and you receive. Prices were extremely reasonable for the room and it included breakfast. We have been to New York before and we will stay here again. February 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This was my worst visit to NYC I was truly disappointed with my experience at the Sheraton NYC Times Square and will never stay here again. The room was not ready; the two queen beds with a sleeper reserved online was not the truth upon checking in - we were given two double beds. Most of all, a hair brush was left on the window sill, the window sill was not clean and there were pieces of potato chips or fritos left behind a small sitting chair. July 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inconsistent .. poor customer service I stayed at this property several times this year, service has been inconsistent at best. On my last stay it turned from inconsistent to rude .. I am an SPG gold member on starwood and other major chains. I travel a lot and done most W properties in NYC. I understand Sheraton is a different product .. but being called a liar from a front desk clerk is not inline with any of my standards ..will not return September 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement I checked in under the Romance package. The front desk did acknowledge the wine and strawberries to be sent up and asked me what time I would like it sent up but nothing about breakfast being included. I had asked for delivery at 5 and at 5:20 I called to see if it was on it's way and they did not have it scheduled. When I realized I did not know what to do for breakfast, I called the front desk and the lady told me to come down and get new keys to access the 44th floor club. The next morning, I went to the club and the keys did not work. When I questioned the front desk (after standing in line AGAIN) I was told that I was not supposed to go to the club but order from room service. Everyone was nice but very confused. Also when I checked in, the toilet was NOT clean - it had remains from the last guest on the toilet seat! The bed and TV remote WITH a sleep timer were the hightlights. March 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Two Times and rooms not ready !!!!! I take my family in to New York city twice a year. I stayed two times at this hotel with my family and I told them how good SPG is and treats everyone well ! Both times we arrived at the hotel at 12:00 PM and both times the rooms where not ready until after 6:00 PM I understand that check-in is at 3:00PM but if you know people are waiting and you tell them you have 6:30PM dinner reservations and a show you think they would make the rooms a priority but no !!! I never ever had this issue at any other SPG property I feel the staff in this hotel just doesn't care !!! I will never stay here again ! November 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again After 4/5 days in the hotel (nice location but pretty below average for facilities or so), the day of the check out i reported to the concierge that my iphone was missing. She seems not to care much, anyhow, insisting she called the security person, who approached me in a very rude way. I am an eager traveler and i have been in hotels (and many starwood among those) around the globe a lot. I have never been treated like, moreover i wasn't asking for nothing and i was doing my duty in reporting an item missing.. Didn't involve the police with that guy at sheraton only cause i didn't have time March 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by dirty bathroom hair and mold in bathroom room service food cold September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent We stayed at the Sheraton Times Square in October '14 and it was excellent. There was six of us staying in three different rooms and all of us commented on great the hotel was. Clean, comfy and convenient for Times Square and basically all the places you would want to visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. October 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement Staff at reception desk very rude, linens were so stiff they were 'crucnhy', bed skirt filthy, beds very uncomfortable. Gap around the door so wide the light shining in kept us awake. A dozen or so teens across the hall having a party all night- nothing was done to stop it and again we could hear it all due to the large gap around the door. November 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by very disapponting stay When I entered in my guestroom at first, I was really shocked because there was used toilet paper in the toilet without a flushing. Also, there was several strains on the mattress cover. I tried to contact the concierge to complaint this matters, they seemed to be busy serving guests in heavy rain, so didn't answer. It was a horrible stay. August 20, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 75 next>>