Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2162 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would NOT recommend I am easy to please but this was a BAD experience. Many room issues from sink to blinds. What is wrong with the elevator that never stops on the 32nd floor? Seemed like there was a phone ringing in the corner of my room but it never got answered. March 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The front office staff did not arrange the room type as we reqeuested before Once we checked in at hotel on Oct.4, the front office staff told us that no queen bed room available and only can arrange twin bed. But we booked queen bed room type through starwood website, quite disappointed with this arrangement. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and Welcoming Hotel I have stayed at this hotel several times and I always feel welcome. The staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel is conveniently located. Great value! I have 4 more trips booked in the upcoming year. Looking forward to my stays. August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Sheraton This hotel is in a great location for all the Broadway shows,Times Sq. and Central Park. It was quiet and convenient. August 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by How bad can it get? Room filthy No robes although paid for concierge floor-not on it no robes brought despite request TV broken-not fixed for 24 hours after I called twice Check in took over 45 minutes on SPG line June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SUPERB SERVICE for an Icon Property One would not expect great attentive service from a large city hotel. Well, the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel delivers! I was greeted with exceptional check-in service by Matthew F. at the Front Desk. He immediately recognized my SPG membership and went out the the way to ensure that I had a great room (with an incredilbe view of Time Square). Everyone from the Front desk, Hotel Security and the Club Floor Attendants were Friendly and Professional. Kudos again to Matthew (Front Desk) and the Hotel Staff and Management for their genuine hospitable service. December 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service They charge for everything including Fitness Center. Service was poor and the staff were rude anytime you called the Guest services September 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too large. Poor service Too large and cold hotel. Location good and rooms reasonable because of renovations. Feels like a 3-4star hotel November 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Nightmare Of A Hotel This hotel is way below Starwoods standards. When I arrived there was no doorman. I had to wait to register with no preference given to my Starwoods gold status. The room I was upgraded to was tiny, no room to move, a stuffed shower drain, hardly any shower pressure, and the television did not work for over 24 hours. The staff is unfriendly and not helpful at all. When I went to use the health club, I had to wait for the attendant to finish reading the newspaper. When I asked about arranging a massage, he had no info and told me to call back in one hour. December 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by worse hotel ever Horrible experience, smelled like dead person in the room August 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is like a rush hour crowd Always bustling and not at all relaxing. There is a crowd at check in, there is a crowd rushing for every elevator and then they fill up so you have to wait again. There is always a crowd in the lobby. The first room we were given had a dirty rag hanging from the shower and then the drain didnt work and dirt came up into the tub. We had to switch rooms and it took 3 phone calls with lots of holding on time and then 30 minutes to arrange so we had to rush to get ready for a dinner appointment. The only good thing about this hotel is its location March 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel service needs to be improved We stayed for 5 nights and where not happy at all with the place. 1. The safe in the room had no door. Every day the staff promised to get it repaird. Nothing happend. 2. I am used, as a hotel guest to have free access to the gym. Not here! 10$ 3. After 5 day we wanted to leave the luggage at the lobby. Usually it's fee of charge. Not in this hotel. 4. There is a scaffolding outside the building but on evidence that someboy is working. Has probably been forgotten to be removed. I travel a log around Asia. This hotel is far from Asia Sheraton standards!!! September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EJR01 Ok, so for the 3rd time in 3weeks SPG/Starwood rescued my trip. First, at the Sheraton 4Points Times Square 2 weeks ago, then , in Alexandria, VA. This time, I was actually registered at another "prominent presidential" historic NYC hotel where the room was so shocking, I called the SheratonTimes Square before putting my bags down. I booked a wonderful room and ran over to find everything I had expected. I lost money on the lesser hotel, but the Sheraton more than made up for it. The front desk, the great concierge and the world class doormen gave me every reason to come back. And I will. Tip: stop wasting time & money on "deals" at other places. Book with SPG. Lesson learned. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Times Square NYC The $160MM dollar renovation has paid off! The Sheraton NY Times Square was perfect for our family vacation to NYC. The room was very comfortable, the staff was friendly, and you can't beat the location. One of our favorite SPG properties in the city! September 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by overall mess The AC was not working properly and they had to come to the room twice over the weekend. The blinds would not close. I broke a nail trying to close them. They came in and all they did was just close them half way. The ice machine was not working on the floor and we had to goto another floor to get ice. Front desk was so busy it took the forever to attend to people. It took me a long time to save my points and it was not what I expected. It was a holiday weekend and I left early. September 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Low water pressure on high level floor The water pressure in the shower on the 44th level (SPG preferred guest level) was dismal. Barely enough to shower. I should have called after the first night but I was so tired to complain on the second night of my business meeting. I do hope this is fixed quickly for the sake of other guests. Definitely, not what I expected for the Sheraton Times Square. September 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worst hotel stays I have ever had From the very beginning it was a bad experience, the front desk staff, arrogant, poorly trained with comments from the Front Desk Supervisor stating "it doesn't matter whether you are gold or platinum there are no rooms (even though we were confirmed to have rooms and they were prepaid in the Club Level). The rooms on the executive level are basic, small and no frills. Although advertised to have water bottles, the entire 3 day stay no waters were to be seen. The rooms on the executive floors were small and certainly not worth the $500+ per day that they charge. The club lounge was always crowded, the hotel operator, concierge or guest services operator had long waits to answer and one would eventully hang up because of the long wait. No one ever apologized for anything that went wrong. By the way the pool and spa are in a hotel across the street, so if you work out in their fitness center (it was nice) you have to get dressed and go across the street if you want to swim or take in a sauna after your work out. went to look at it and it was dirty and old. It was like the staff was doing the guest a favor for staying there and no one ever said "How may I help you". This hotel does not deserve to be a member of the SPG family. As a frequent traveler and a soon to be Platinum member of SPG, the company should be embarrased to have this hotel as part of its offering of properties. The ENTIRE staff needs to be trained on customer service and hospitality services. This was 2 stays in one, first and last, at this hotel December 21, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Would stay here again I attended a conference at the hotel and found it comfortable, clean and conveniently located. The conference facilities were adequate and, in the evenings, I found it easy to walk to Broadway or nearby shopping. I looked at similarly priced hotels and their quality was far below the Sheraton. I would stay here again. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would definitely stay here again! We used our Starwood Points to pay for the two rooms and I must say, the people working the Preferred Guests desk were eager to service our needs despite being sold out. It was extremely busy! One nasty rep can ruin a hotel stay but each and every person had a smile on their face. We had a delightful stay. Our rooms were warm, however. We attempted to adjust the temp but to no avail so we opened the window just a crack and we were comfortable. December 6, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location great but so many extra costs I enjoyed staying at the Sheraton Times Square. Front SPG desk staff were amazing, nice and very thorough. While I understand the hotel charging to use the internet in our rooms, I am truly disappointed in being charged to use the gym when I am a guest at the hotel. $10 to use the gym when I already redeemed my points, paid for Internet access...I could not believe it. I was ready for a quick morning workout before my conference and I was told I had to pay $10. Ridiculous charge not only for an SPG member but for ANY guest! December 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Great experience. Our room was upgraded by a lovely employee named Joy. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to people staying in times square. September 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by dispappointing terrible line to check in early in morning - then to pick keys over 30 people - should of had a line just to get keys. concierge gave us misdirection re store opening hours rude front desk staff when trying to adjust rooms charge from one room to another misprinted key when we left one in room - didn't apologies when we went down to same front desk person who instead asked for id again - though we had just gone through the process 2 minutes before! asked room service to bring clean wine glasses to room and remove dirty glasses and old cheese tray...never came.. Chelsea great at front desk...sent us wine and tried to make our stay pleasant May 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont stay here Not only was the hotel really dirty but the service was terrible. Not only was i given a two bed room ( even though I reserved a one bed) but the room itself was extremely dirty. The wall paper was peeling off the wall. The sink and shower were dirty. i was placed next to a room where the construction was happening so early in the morning ( around 5am) i was woken up by drilling.Thank god i only stayed one night. And if it wasnt because another hotel where I had a conference at was booked i would have never stayed here. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Customer Service Was Exactly What We Needed My wife and I just enjoyed six nights at the Sheraton Times Square, arriving for the birth of our second grandchild. This trip required instant arrangements and maximum flexibility because the schedule of when we would actually begin staying in the hotel would be dictated by the health of our daughter and her baby. That is why it is not an exaggeration when I say that the customer service provided by both the Sheraton Times Square staff, and the Starwoods Preferred Guest staff in accommodating and cooperating to make everything work for us, was in my experience without parallel or peer in quality. Not just in travel either, as I am in the customer service business and they were wonderful. Everyone from the top down cooperated to help and accommodate our every need. This began with finding us room in a hotel that was completely booked up, to providing flexibility on deadlines to change our plans without running into any cancellation penalties, to upgrading our room to the club floor and maximizing my Starwoods gold points and free nights, to finding two beds instead of one when there hadn't been any available, to just relieving any hassle on the hotel side so that we could concentrate on helping our family. Ingrid Ordonez and Jorge Leiva were two of the staff that were particularly helpful, and I just wish I could recall the name of the SPG staff who helped me on the phone for 90 minutes on June 25th, to set up our original change when we came to New York. She was great too. I have not mentioned anything about the great shape of your updated facilities, excellent cleanliness, fantastic fitness center (one of the best hotel fitness centers I have seen), because as good as they were, it was still the service my wife and I received during a very difficult time that really showed us what kind of place the Sheraton is. It will be our pleasure to return to your fine hotel again, and since I hope to see my grandchildren many more times in the future, I expect we will be there many more times. July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Needs to Decide if it Wants Business Travelers Front desk receptionist acted as if I was doing her a favor by checking in. Her immediate answer to getting the room I requested was "no." Of course, wasting my time and invovling the manager resulted in getting the room I had requested, despite receptionist having told me none were available. Also, pimping business travelers $10 to "hold" a fed exp package (per package charge) is unforgivable. If hotel is that cash starved, they should close. Hotel also charges for fitness center - even to frequent Sheraton guests. September 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Bad Experience Dear Starwoods customer service I stayed at Sheraton New York during 10-14 August 2013 and experienced very bad service and I cant believe this hotel is Sheraton ! Usually I am easy going kind of people and not demand or complain often. I checked in at 6 pm on August 10 (which was already late for check in ) but was told that one of the room was not ready and if I came back at 10 pm, I can have 100 USD rebate. I decide not to get the money so they told me to back around 8.30 pm . I went out for dinner and traffic was bad so I was back around 10 pm anyway . After I check in and shower, I found out that there was only hot water in shower which you could not shower then, so I called reception but nobody answered so I had to go down (and my room was also far from the elevator) to tell the reception myself. I asked if I can change the room ( I got double bed but I said I was Ok to take King size bed if they not have) but they said the hotel was very full so let ‘s see if mechanic could fix it. After mechanic came, they said they could not fix it and they will tell reception to change the room for me. My son and I waited for another half hour but no call(and no phone pick up !) so I had to go down to lobby again to ask. They said they know and please wait in my room to get the call. On the way up, I met the mechanics and they were surprised my room had not changed. I waited again and no people contacted me so I went down again and somebody told me my new room number and told me that someone will deliver me the key, please waited in my room. I went up and wait and go down again since nobody contacted me. This happened many times and finally, I got new room after midnight. I was very tired until I almost cried. For my new room, the shower works but the coffee machine was broken so I tried to call Housekeeping. Again, nobody picked the call. I finally leave a note at the coffee machine telling the house keeping that please help change it. First day, nothing happened . Second day, they moved the machine out but not replace it so I had to gout drinking coffee outside. I work as Senior Executive in one of the big company in Thailand and the service of Sheraton In Thailand is very good so I cant believe this is the experience I had in Sheraton New York . (I understand Sheraton is also US chain). This is the worst experience I ever had although I travel often. I think you better improve the service to protect your reputation. Best Regards Customer September 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Slow draining shower, Inconsistent customer service QUICK SUMMARY: Customer service at this hotel is horrible. In order to address customer complaints, it felt like their philosophy was to push it aside and tell the guest to come back later. I stayed here for a regrettable three days. DETAILS: When I visit NYC business, I usually stay at another SPG hotel in a lower category. I decided to branch out and try the Sheraton New York. Huge mistake. A list of grievances: 1) Shower was slow draining. Imagine standing in about 4-5 inches of dirty bath water during your entire shower. Gross. 2) Shower had incredibly low water pressure. I'm assuming that it was probably set this way to compensate for the clogged drain. 3) Inconsistent customer service. When I checked into the hotel, I had a lovely reservationist who had exceptional customer service skills. Even though the I requested a King size bed, they only had two doubles available. She nicely apologized.. so I thought, "no big deal" Encounter #1: After discovering the slow-draining shower, I tried to switch rooms. I called down to the operator and they told me to check back in the morning. I thought that was understandable. Encounter #2: The next day, I brought it up to the reservations desk. Deana, the reservationist, did not give me the time of day. She was rude and dismissive and told me to check back in a few hours. After telling her about my shower issue, she said she would ask housekeeping to fix it. They never did. Encounter #3: The next day, I went down to the same desk, and a different reservationist again told me to check back in a few hours. Really? Third time in a row, guys? Encounter #4: On check out day, I noticed that there was a duplicate charge for internet access. I went down to the reservationist desk and luckily, I got Deana again. Didn't give me the time of day when I mentioned my concern about the bill. In fact, she blamed it on me and told me that I must have signed into the network on another device (apparently, guests are charged per device). In actuality, however, I only signed in on one device. To her chagrin, noted by a huff and an eye-roll, she erased my charge from my invoice. Dear Sheraton New York— I am hugely disappointed. A simple apology at the time would have sufficed. I strongly urge you to retrain your staff on how to deliver quality customer service. Next time I travel for business, I'll stick with my go-to hotel. Even though they're in a lower-tiered category and the beds aren't as comfortable.Their staff is beyond nice. They're friendly and personable. And that alone made my stay enjoyable. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Exceeded Expectations I can’t say enough about the great level of service we received during our stay Jun 25-27. Beginning a few days before our stay all the way to check-out each staff interaction we had was well above our expectations. My wife and I visited NYC to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and the Sheraton New York Times Square staff went above and beyond to make our stay very memorable. One thing that SPG does well beyond other hotel chains is they get the little things right. Every staff interaction is an opportunity to win guests over and they knocked it out of the park for us. On arrival, check-in was hectic due to sold out status, but that didn’t deter welcome staff from apologizing for the wait and passing out bottled water to guests. Once at the check-in desk everything went fast; elite status recognized, elite benefits provided including upgraded room, bottle of wine for the wait, etc. One thing I had done prior to the stay was reach out to a housekeeping email I received to request a fridge. On arrival to the room we were delighted to find the fridge already in room. Another great personal touch was the fact the housekeeping manger (shout out to Pilar) had left us a personalized note welcoming us and acknowledging our anniversary. Shortly after arrival a few complementary treats arrived to help us celebrate. Thanks again to all those who helped make our 5 year anniversary a memorable one, we look forward to returning in the future. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Messed up room I am Starwood Platinim and used my points and suite upgrades. I was specific we needed tow beds both when booking the room and on check in. We got a room with one bed and no pull out couch as promised and at 11pm had to move rooms and then were moved again th following day. The final room was great, but this should not have happened, why not give us the promised room at check in? The VIP coordinator saved the day as did Joy at the front desk. The rest of the front desk staff were terrible, rude and uninterested. January 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a holiday hotel This is a business hotel and not geared up for people on holidays. They obviously take care of people who stay at the hotel a lot but for everyone else don't expect anything special - even if you are a platinum SPG member. I was told at check in at any point in time there are about 400 platinum SPG members staying at the hotel therefore upgrades are only for their most important guests. I don't understand if you consistently have 400 Platinum SPG guests in your hotel, why would you "renovate" your lounge to accommodate 60-70 people seated. Needless to say he wait for a seat at breakfast as up to half an hour. After being treated like a second class citizen on check in the front desk attendant failed to inform me that the fitness centre is pay to enter, which is ridiculous. January 4, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 73 next>>