Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2007 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible staff Themost unpleasant and unhelful staff even by New York standards September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Time change not working with hotel wake-up call system Room was clean, location not in best spot but ok. The only real issue we had was that my husband was running in the NYC marathon during our stay, which was the same weekend of the 'fall back' time change. We set our phone alarms but were concerned that they may not change in time and mess up his early wake-up. So we used the hotel wake-up system as a back up, thinking the hotel would have the time updated. However, they didn't. And our wake-up call came through an hour earlier. it was disappointing that they time was not set right with the hotel and my husband got less sleep for his big race day. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Comfortable and clean, nice staff. March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Times Square Staff is exceptionally friendly February 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location- facility and staff issues We stayed in two rooms for two nights. Arrived at the hotel early around 10am and was put into the check in "que". Checked bags and came back at 4pm. When rooms were assigned I asked if they were close together. The response I received was no we are sold out. If you want rooms together you will have to wait. I had put my name in at 10am it was now 4pm and could not even get rooms on the same floor, I wasn't going to wait any longer as we had show tickets that night and needed to get settled in and changed. I wasn't asking for connecting or adjoining rooms, just the same floor. There were no apologies or anything. Then throughout our stay we were on the 23rd and 24th floors there was only one elevator working on our side of the building. There was no notice of this I just overheard the front desk agents discussing it and it was obvious throughout our stay as we often had to wait for elevators. The second morning we ended up walking down 24 flight of stairs because we waited about 15 minutes and the elevator came twice but both times was too full to get into. I expected better service and facilities for the price paid. The hotel however is centrally located and within walking distance to all major attractions. The roms were adequately sized for midtown hotels and the beds were comfortable. The water pressure when showering was minimal at best. December 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The service at the hotel, expescially for platinum members is not up to standards I was extremely disappointed during this stay. I found myself having to repeatedly place orders for room service and water (which as a platinum member is free - yet there never is any in the room). I had to wait 55 minutes for salt and two glasses to be brought up to the room. Additionally, I have been trying to use my suite night awards at this hotel for over a year now and it never seems to go through. It is no use having them if I am never able to use them/ Lastly, the breakfast on the club floor is lacking greatly in its standard. There is very limited amount of food with not much variation. For a 5-star hotel its breakfast is far behind many of its Starwood counterparts in the city. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by So Disappointed I travel frequntly with my job and I chose this hotel for this business trip because of past experience with Sheraton and other Starwood Hotels. Unfortunately it didn't meet the standards of others in the chain. As soon as I walked in I noticed my room smelled of sour mildew. I called down before ever unpacking to let them know and request a room change. I was told that it was probably my sheets (why would it be my sheets?) and that she would send someone up to change my linens. Reluctantly I went out for dinner only to find upon my return that noone had been to the room. It was rather late and having had a long day I decided to deal with the issue the next morning. The matter was worsened when I found that the bath towels had an even stronger mildew smell, especially when wet. It was so strong that I felt it was leaving the same odor on my skin. My complaints came with a response that someone would come replace my linens. My sheets were replaced the next day while I was out at meetings but the nicely folded, clean looking towels again were horrific smelling when wet. To top all this off, the ice machine on my floor did not work. Although this would have only been a minor complaint, considering my disgust with the room this only added to my overall dissatisfaction with this hotel. August 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Club Room Disaster. Save your Money Extremely disappointed and shall pass on my complaints to the Sheraton management. I had previously used Sheraton club rooms in Anaheim and had a pleasant experience, however this was poor value, very poor service and dreadfully overcrowded. We traveled as a family to celebrate Christmas and my sons engagement and were hoping for a special 'club' experience' . I booked 2 rooms for 6 days (12 nights) and my family didn't even bother using the facilities after the first 3 nights. We had breakfast most morning when we could get a seat. Every night and every morning provided the exact same offerings. Hors d'oeoves were not hors d'oerves at all.....cold...cheese (processed) and dips. This was misleading advertising. Alcoholic drinks were weak and expensive (no happy hour). The room was often with uncontrolled children late into evening. The breakfast was standing room only by 8 am. despite having a maximum capacity (definitely exceeded). Food that ran out was not replenished. You simply missed out if you were on time, but later. The coffee machine was broken 70% of the time. Can you believe that food was actually removed on the dot of finishing time .....while one was making toast (cos it took ages to get a seat). I shall post these reviews on Trip Advisor and yelp. A very expensive, overcrowded, disappointment. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Repeat customer I have to return often to NYC and use this hotel every time. The location is perfect for business and pleasure. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate my needs. I will be back. May 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations Each year I attend a conference at this hotel and travel with a colleague who is mobility impaired. The check-in clerk was surly and insisted that my mobility impaired colleague come to her to verify her identity. Someone who cared about customer service would have gone to the customer. My colleague's room was not as represented requiring a change of rooms. All in all, the check in process took over an hour. I also have a beef with high end hotels that advertise internet service and then charge separately for it. To add insult to injury, once I paid for wifi access, it only worked in the room and not on the conference floor. I found out that my group would have had to pay extra to allow wifi access on the conference floor. Finally, the hotel charged me $28 for the lunch time buffet. In comparison, I had a three course fixed price meal at a very nice Greek restaurant for $17.95. November 15, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by room checkin experiece When I arrived and checked into my room ifound TV not working, toilet runnung and lock brocek on door. I was locked out of my room after I put my things away and was unable to get back in, It took 2hours before anyone in the hotel was able to enter and I eventually had y room changed!! I was her for a business evenmt I helped plan and at leat 40 otrher peolle form my firmn staye here!! They gane me 5000 starwood pointed for my inconvenience and a bottle of wine and 2 aples and water! That was nice but I feel I should have gotten afree room for a future tsay for this tremenmdous inconvenience! September 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel. great location. As a 5 star elite owner and a platinum prefered guest for 11 years, my expections are very high, and we were not disappointed, from the moment we entered the lobby till we checked out 5 days later, We were upgraded and given an arrival gift and welcome letter, for frequent travellers as ourselves it is important to recognise loyality. The hotels' renovated lobby and bedrooms were made with good design, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and fresh, although a tad smaller than other hotel bedrooms but then again this is manhatten. The club lounge was very well laid out and breakfast and evening food was very tasty, I have to mention the club lounge staff and in particuliar VIP Manger Zoe, who went beyond her role to assist us with our next sheraton stay in vancouver, along with SPG. Supervisor Lacey, thank you both. and all the staff at this great guest orientated hotel. e courtney. Ireland. December 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton on 7th and 52nd This is a fabulous place to stay, we could walk to the Lincoln Center in about 15 to 20 minutes, to all of the plays on Broadway, and an easy stroll to 5th Ave, and there was so many good places to eat, it was hard to decide everyday on what to eat and where. The room service here was fantastic, and the food great. I would recommend this anytime for business or pleasure. June 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton Ever Seldom am I compelled to write a review, but this hotel, including service, amenities, room and etc. is not only the worst Sheraton I've ever stayed in (and I've been Sheraton Gold since 1994 - before there was a Starwood), it's possibly the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. There are no-star hotels I've enjoyed far more. I was there for a three night stay in August 2012. Worst experience among a laundry list: THE SHEETS SMELLED LIKE URINE AND SWEAT. THE PILLOWS SMELLED LIKE VOMIT. It was impossible to sleep. The next morning I asked for everything to be changed. Result: the sheets still smelled but were marginally better. the pillows did not improve...but NOW THE TOWELS SMELLED LIKE VOMIT. Again, I asked for everything to be changed. The half-hearted explanation I received was that they had changed their laundry service and were having a problem. Regardless, how can you not check the smell of the towels and sheets that a customer has explicitly asked to replace because of the smell. It is the height of casual disregard for service to do so and to replace. To top is all off, the staff was serviceable at best, not friendly, not helpful. When I checked in as a 16-year gold member, there was no offer of an upgrade - only free internet or a drink, and since I checked in 30 minutes before my scheduled check-in I was asked to leave my bags and come back and sent to wait in a line with six other guests. Really? 30 minutes early, a gold card member, close to 300 rooms and they couldn't find one for me? really? August 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations! I took my daughter to NYC on an overnight trip for her birthday and we got a great last minute deal to stay here. The location is perfect and the room was clean, comfortable, and spacious by NYC standards. The Front Desk Supervisor greeted us and engaged my daughter, not only making her feel special on her first trip to the city, but also going above and beyond by delivering a birthday treat (cake, cookies, etc.) to our room with a handwritten note. The extra effort by the staff and the overall experience will make this hotel my first choice and recommendation for any future trips to NYC. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel with super location! We stayed here on Spring Break for 2 nights. I can't say enough about this hotel! It's location is perfect, right in the heart of Manhattan. There is a subway entrance right outside and the location made it convenient to stop by the hotel for a rest, drink, etc. We stayed on the club floor which was fabulous! The club lounge was incredible and the best we have enjoyed of any Sheraton. In the evening, there were scrumptious hors d'oeuvres (hot munchies, veggies, dip, cheese, crackers, delicious kettle chips, cookies & non-alcoholic drinks). The breakfast was incredible with assorted hot & cold cereals, a delicious variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, coffee, tea). The breakfast was available until 11 which was very convenient. And the club lounge is open 24 hours a day so you can go and grab a soda, water, tea or coffee. The coffee machine offered lattes, cappuccinos, cocoa, etc. After a long day, grab some pastries at Fluffy's one block over from the Sheraton (excellent and reasonably priced) and take them back to the lounge to enjoy with a drink. The room was remodeled and clean. The room & bathroom are small but that is standard in NYC. The beds are very comfy. We are gold members and were able to check out of our room at 4 which was very helpful. The only (almost) negative was they seem to charge to hold your luggage ($3.25 per bag). We got to the hotel in the AM and the room wasn't ready since check in is at 3, so we checked our bags but when we came to get our luggage, they didn't charge us. Overall, this is a fantastic Sheraton! We can't wait to visit again!! April 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Facilities are ok, staff was not I got one of the newly renovated rooms so the room was very nice. A couple of things: 1. The hotel staff was largely not friendly. I didn't hear the receptionist tell me a couple things during check in (there were lots of ppl as the hotel was getting ready the UN convention the follow week) and the lady at the counter was very short with me when I asked further questions. I have never had any issues like this at any of the other Starwood hotels I stay in while in NYC. 2. I'm a nursing mom, so I called the day to request a refridgerator in my room. This was not done. I reminded them during my check in in the morning. This was not done. I came back to the hotel in the evening and made another request at the front desk. 2 hours later, this was still not done. I called downstairs to make another request. This was still not done!!! Finally, it's 10PM, I'm about to sleep, I made one more attempt and 30 minutes they brought one up. The staff that brought it was was very friendly, however, everyone else involved was not. 3. The best service from the hotel came from those bringing me food that I ordered for room service. By contrast, these professionals are some of the nicer hotel staff of any of the Starwood hotels in NYC. Overall, it was not a pleasant stay. I feel the staff could have been better trained, but perhaps it was because they had a lot going on in the hotel? That would be a very convenient excuse. I believe that no matter what other events they have going on in the hotel, the staff should strive to be their best, which I do not believe the Sheraton did this time around. September 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worse than past stays This hotel has gone downhill. Bed was old and uncomfortable. Radio did not work--no battery. TV with poor reception. Staff did not fulfill promises made in honor of our wedding anniversary. This used to be a much better hotel. At least in the past I had better rooms, beds, TVs and radios. June 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Long check in wait. No club level check in. Poor communication w parking garage. Chose to include parking w room. When we went to get our car difficulty paying the charge. No one seemed to know what they were doing. Bed and sheets were awful. Sheets rough and starched. No shower cap in bathroom. Called and it took 20 minutes to bring it. Club room didn't have enough room for everyone. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not stay here Unbelievably small and cramped. When we arrived pillows had no cases, duvet had a blood stain. Three calls to concierge before they came to remediate problem.Paid for the upgrade because I wanted to use my computer, only to find out that you had to go to club floor for wireless. (In room charge for wireless is $15. what a joke. November 16, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude Staff & Not friendly From the time we arrived there we were treated as if we were not good enough to stay there. I felt as if we were being judged by our appearance. The ladies at the front desk were mean. The rude man at the tickets and tour desk was the worst of all. He does not belong out in the public. I called guest services for information and was always transferred to another dept to only get voicemail. No one was able to guide us as needed. It was a horrible experience. I will tell all my family and friends NOT to ever stay here as we travel a lot. I will bad mouth this hotel as long as I can. March 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Yuck! For the price I paid, I expected a clean room with furniture that was intact. What I got was a bathroom with dirty floor/walls and a dresser with a piece of the top ripped off. (I have photos but no way of posting them here.) Also told that I couldn't have WiFi as it was available only on the upper floors! Why would this be?? November 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay elsewhere if you can Pros: 1) Relatively cheap Cons: 1) You have to pay to use the gym. 2) When a package arrives, they don't put it in your room or leave a note that it has arrived 3) Staff generally not very helpful and a bit rude. Especially one of the guys who stored my luggage 4) Not really good for the business traveler November 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Location, Soiled Room Amazing location - close to everything: Times Square, theater district, shopping, restaurants, etc... I checked into my room that was directly across from the ice machine room - so noisy! The rooms are not well insulated and full of inconsiderate and noisy guests at all hours. My room was barely cleaned: toilet seat and cover were soiled by previous guest's splattered vomit - how could the maid miss this? No shower curtain. TV screen and remote control covered in human fluid - disgusting. Since this was my last day of my NYC trip, tired and sick with the flu, I cleaned up the mess myself with sanitizing wipes and Purell. Why call housekeeping when they couldn't get it right the first time. Very disappointed. July 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by What upgrade? When we arrived we were given a complimentary upgrade and free wi-fi. We all loved the free wi-fi and recommend that you embed it in the price of the room and offer it as a freebie to make me feel good. Our "upgrade" to the room next to the lifts was not appreciated. However, the quick response to move to a better room the next day was! June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A place in New York Best location and a good hotel June 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Always fall short... The last time I stayed at this particular Sheraton I arrived around 8 pm, exhausted after a flight from Madison, WI and entered a room that had a bathroom that reeked of urine. Of course, the hotel was sold out and I had to make myself busy until the offensive odor was erased. With that memory in mind, I was very hesitant to book a room at this hotel. However, they offered a government rate and I had no other choice but to stay. When I arrived, I found out that they gave me an upgrade. Wonderful! I entered the room and was greeted with the fresh smell of Febreeze. Thank you. December 12, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lousy Services I reserved a two double bed room, but was told it was all taken when I checked in at 6pm of the day. The options given at the check-in were either come back at 9:30pm to see if there were such room available or check in a queen size bed. I have so much luggage and a kid with us. It does not seem i have much choice other than taking the queen size bed, which made a three-person stay very uncomfortable. I was further told there would be sure my reserved room available the next day, and I would be contacted the next day no matter what. But nobody ever called, or left message during my entire stay. So I have three people stay in a queen size bed for the entire three-night stay at the Sheraton. What a terrible stay! October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cleanliness was an issue As soon as we checked in I noticed unrine on the toilet seat. Then hairs on the bathroom bench. Then hairs all over the shower floor. Then I found an empty lubricant box in the cupboard. To top it over there were hairs all over our pillows. We told the reception staff and were assured that the room would be thoroughly cleaned. Was still not done. Compensated a small amount in room credit when compained. Otherwise the facilities were good and the location very handy. We came here based on my husband having stayed in the Sheraton in Australia and having a high regard for it. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Clean hotel located downtown New York City April 27, 2014
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 ... 68 next>>