Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2161 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Everything about this hotel was good except if I am honest I do have one complaint. While in my room I could hear the elevators going up and down all day and all night. It was very noisy. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Hotel I have just returned from a 6 night stay. I had gone as a first time visitor to celebrate my 60th birthday and being 37 years married. I was greatly surprised to find our room was up graded to a superior one on 48th floor. The staff also provided birthday cake, champagne and flowers on arrival followed by cheese and wine later that night. Both Joy on reception and Michael were extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble and very happy to oblige. October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay This was my second stay at this hotel. Friendly, courteous and kind staff, ideal location, good onsite facilities - gym, massages, restaurant, good room rates, very good service. On check in they realised I would be spending my birthday there and without asking got a room upgrade, complimentary breakfast and internet .. that was a "wow" for me! October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous early anniversary stay I have loved this property and thought it closed when it stopped being called the Towers. Duh-just a more enticing location name. I find the Sheratons to be one of the better run properties in the Starwood Group even though they aren't in the higher categories. Sometimes higher rated hotels get lax and rest on their name and the service fails and the employees get a snooty attitude. Perhaps rankings should really include how the guests are treated and how issues, if any, are resolved. I did not have ANY issues, only raves, but have found Sheratons go out of their way to fix a problem and then do something nice for you because you had a problem. Refreshing, to say the least. Sorry to digress- The hotel is run by an obviously wonderful general manager (I have since found out his name is Terry so I cloud drop him an email) since the entire staff-regardless of position, is friendly, polite, and helpful.You don't get that kings of consistency without an example to follow, Steven at the front desk reception when he checked on something in our reservation request went and spoke with someone(possibly Anna from VIP services) and gave us a wonderful upgrade to a suite only to top that with chocolate covered strawberries with champagne left in our room with a lovely handwritten note-rare in any situation today from Anna in VIP services.. I emailed her to thank her and was surprised to get a quick response and once again very sweet. It is a shame that guests don't get to meet the people who keep this hotel running so well, because with this GM at the helm, I am sure they are so worthy of recognition for not just doing their job, but for doing their job well. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent hotel Terrific location in mid town Manhattan Clean, comfortable rooms with good amenities Friendly helpful service at front desk Attentive service staff October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel as always was great love location. very frienfdly staff October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay Location is great. Club lounge service, staff and view is incredible. Every staff member we encountered throughout our stay - concierge, bar, front desk, housekeeping and club lounge - was friendly, professional and very helpful. Room was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. We had a pleasant stay and will definitely stay here again. September 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad experience The day of the departure the elevators for the high rise part were not working properly. Waited for 35-40 mins and ended up taking the stairs all the way down from 46th floor,being late for my flight The support staff was not helpful in resolving this issue, offering to take service elevators which were not working either. There was another set of elevators which worked for 21-28th floors but it was not communicated to us when we asked if there is any other way to get out other than taking stairs all the way down. For the amount of people that stay at this hotel, they should have managed it better and provide appropriate communications on the issue May 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but expensive... Comfortable and well located... but to expensive, even before realizing the taxes charged! October 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistant! This is now my go to hotel in NYC for business and pleasure! I like to go where everyone knows my name, your front desk staff has made an effort to remember me, especially Alex Fish. hey go out of the way to make sure my staff is excellent. I appreciate the extra effort and continue to tell my colleagues about the great service and facilities. October 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by top for NY standrads NY hotel rooms can get you really down. Sheraton gives a good room at an affordable price, in a precious location. having access to the lounge, i.e. booking club level, makes a real difference and worth the price addition. Lounge staff are friendly, helpful and professional, and I mean the support team, not necessarily Britney and her team, although Anna should be mentioned for her will to help. Most people overlook the room cleaning team. I have noticed their professionalize work as well as their acknowledgment to the guest. this, as a manager myself (not in hotel, though...) i can probably attribute to their good manager. Bottom line- fantastic location affordable prices and good team, clean and quite. (make sure not to get the rooms ending XX08 as they are adjacent to the elevators and are really noisy). October 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very satisfied this time I've stayed at this hotel many times before, but this time I wasn't satisfied at all. We weren't allowed to check into our hotel room until after 5:00pm (even though check in time is 3:00pm), the man who did the preliminary check in told me he'd call when the room was ready, but he didn't, there was mold in the bathtub, peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling, black scratch marks on the wall above the window and when we called and asked for more towels from housekeeping, they never came. October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my Expectations I loved the Sheraton Times Square. I checked in 10/5/14 for my mom's 79th birthday celebration. The staff was wonderful. From the check-in with Iverson, Julia concierge, and Nancy & Stephani who purchased our broadway show tickets. They were all professional, helpful, and customer focused. They made this trip very special for my mom. Also, Rosario kept the room spotless! I would recommend the Sheraton to friends and family. Only one recommendation. I could hear my neighbor talk, cough, and sneeze. It was almost like we were in the same room. October 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is well located- but issue with staff I frequently visit NYC for pleasure (as well as plan trips for friends). I have been staying at the Sheraton NY for 20 years. The location and comfort of the beds is a big selling point. However, my recent stay was very disappointing. When I arrived the check in area had a very long line, I ended up getting told to check in at the Starwood Preferred area. I was checked in by a nice gentleman ( (J. L.?) told me my room would be ready in a hour. But, they would check my bags for free. 50 minutes later I reserved an email that my room was ready. I asked if I could go to the preferred line (later that day) to get my keys so I wouldn't have to wait again. The gentleman told me I sure could. My husband and I left and went on with our daily plans. When I came back there was a line at the regular check in, so I went to the preferred. The assistant mgr C.M. asked me ifI was platinum. I told her no, but went on to explain my situation earlier and what I was told. She told me I had to go to regular check in. I continued to explain I asked, I am frequent traveler etc. She told me what I was told was wrong and she would not honor it. I told her I'm sorry I was told the wrong thing, but since I'm a guest she should honor it and correct the situation later. She told me she would address tomorrow but would not help me to day (this discussion went back an forth for over 5 minutes- she was very rude). So, I saw an open agent in reception and went up and handed him my license and told him I just needed my keys. She shouted to him (over other guests to go in the back). He went to the back (with my license) and she met him there. After 5 minutes, she came back gave me my keys and didn't say anything to me. She was extremely unprofessional. In the past I have seen the main mgr be extremely friendly to guests, apologizes for the wait etc...She was the opposite.. My coffee barista is friendlier than she was. She obviously doesn't put the customer first. She would rather embarrass the guests. Very disappointing. I frequent my local Starwood resort and have never had an experience like this. Also, my room had socks left from the person before me....( October 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing service I come up to New York City about 5 times a year and generally this is my hotel of choice because the rooms are spacious by Manhattan standards, the rooms are generally reasonably priced, and I've been an SPG Gold member for several years now. This past visit on Saturday during the check-in process was the most unpleasant experience I've had in my 20 years of traveling. I dealt with three staff at the SPG Gold/Platinum line that although superficially professional, were either uncaring or somewhat rude. Saturday morning there was a long downpour in New York and many people were getting off cruises. My elderly parents who were traveling with me were wet and tired because it was hard to get a taxi to the hotel that morning. I had asked for an early check-in earlier in the week because I was reached out to be a service representative earlier in the week by e-mail. There were no rooms with double beds available at 11:40am when I first inquired. I asked for an estimate from the gentleman at the desk and he said he wouldn't be able to get me one but took down my cell phone number. It appeared that 20 minutes later he was taking his lunch break and at 12:40, I asked another SPG representative. She looked me up in the computer and said there weren't any rooms available. By 1pm, I had noticed that many people that were non-SPG members were getting rooms-- and perhaps these were rooms with single beds, but at no time during my 1.5 hours of waiting, did I see any effort being made to contact housekeeping to see if a room could be made available. There was another incident when I finally could check in that was customer unfriendly which didn't matter which I found very appalling whether I was an SPG member or not. I'm seriously thinking that the benefits of SPG are no longer worth it and that my SPG credit card might not be renewed this next time around. My overall rating for this stay would only be 1 star but I am giving the hotel 3 stars because past stays have been pleasant-- but this sort of treatment does color one's opinion of the hotel. It appears that some additional time is needed in staff training in customer service. The third representative did give me 500 additional Starwood points which I did not ask for, but elite customer service on the front end instead of attempted service recovery on the back end should be the standard. October 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy subway access from JFK Just over the road from Visitor information. Can walk to many places. Platinum Lounge food is even more frugal than it used to be. Hard to choose anything in the Hudson restaurant. Yet, I love the place. October 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Foul Odor in Room Bathroom had a sour, mildew like stink that did not go away. Also, there was a painted white rubber hose sticking out of the bathroom ceiling right by my head whenever I used the shower...nice renovation work! I was also asked to pay $50/night for use of the Starwood Club Room, which as a gold member I have never had to pay before at any other location. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features Everyone was very friendly. October 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location; average hotel Overall OK but mattress was hard and not the same quality as other Sheraton hotels. I booked 3 rooms for a weekend event. We were also not notified that gift packages were dropped off for us until the last day when someone had asked if we had recieved the packages. October 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, Great service Great location, Great service October 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by dirty bathroom hair and mold in bathroom room service food cold September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suite Night Upgrades Not working I always recommend Sheraton/Starwood but lately I have been having issues with upgrades - mainly while trying to use my suite upgrades. It seems since these have been introduced, I have not only gotten less upgrades but have gotten NO upgrades from these awards. I try to always stay at the NY Sheraton but my upgrades have been harder to come by. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort and convenience I always enjoy staying at this hotel because of the friendly staff and convenient location. Rooms are comfortable and it is worth paying for an upgrade in order to have access to the lounge. I look forward to my future stays. October 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like it But Lots of Room for Improvement I like this place even though there are things that aren't perfect. This old gem still gets the job done. The place, while renovated, is still a bit dated... but I still like the feel. Really like the space of the Concierge Level space... nice and open... The evening service only included cheese and crudites... no hot dish. Alcohol too expensive for a club like this. The attitude of the staff is generally good... service is a bit hit or miss. Weird that my suite had 2 charging cradles for the telephone (one in bedroom, one in living room) but only one handset... talk about cutbacks... completely unacceptable. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The best location! I enjoyed my stay at this Sheraton. I like the location that's not too close from Times Square, about 10 blocks away, meaning less crowded and subway station just around the corner. I didn't receive any room upgrade as Platinum member. I totally agree with the other recent reviewer , Djscinema, May 15, 2014 about how hard it is to get approved for Suite Night Award from this Sheraton. Suite Night Award should be applied before your arrival, NOT requested at front desk when you check-in. I applied for my Suite Night Award when I booked my room, which is 8-9 days before my arrival, but they didn't approve it. If a lot of Platinum members are complaining about this issue, The Management from Sheraton New York Times Square and Starwood Hotels and Resorts should investigate this matter to see if Suite Night Award program is working properly in this property. By the way, the Club Lounge is way to crowded for breakfast and afternoon reception, but we heard that from other reviewers before. I just want to confirm it again! May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude service As an spg platinum number the hotel was not only unable to upgrade me to the club level, but the front desk guy Hamilton is rude and insulting. When I entered the room it smells really bad, there was peanuts on the floor. July 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sad, Sad, Sad My hotel room was dirty, TV only worked when it wanted to, multiple outlets in the room didn't work, and shower drain was clogged. During any shower, I would have to stop the shower three (3) times to let the water slowly drain. And lastly, most of my colleagues who were also staying in this hotel had several issues with their rooms too. December 4, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Where to start..... - I requested an early check-in while making my reservation and was told it would not be a problem. Therefore, I took an early flight to NY only to find out that I could not check-in early. I had to sit around and wait for two hours. - I ended up going to get breakfast in the hotel restaurant and had to eat off the buffet because they don't offer a menu breakfast. It was OVERPRICED. $34 for a breakfast buffet and a 20% gratuity automatically added to my bill so the service was horrible. - Finally I was able to check-in and upon going into my room, the carpet was dirty. - The reason I was in NY was for business. I had a presentation to work on in the afternoon in my hotel room before evening events. It was IMPOSSIBLE to do concentrate due to the construction work. There was constant drilling for 3 hours and banging around. -The shower had hair in the tub and there was hair on the bathroom floor. - NO HOT water in my shower. - I went down to the front desk to ask to be moved to another room and the staff was RUDE and told me there were no other rooms and that I could check back later. I explained that IT IS THEIR RESPONSIBILITY to inform people of the construction during the reservation process versus showing up and finding out. I feel like the least thing the staff could have done is offered to call me on my cell or in my room when another room became available. I was paying $450 a night for the room, the least thing they could have done is acted like they appreciated their customers/guests. - I woke up the next morning at 7 am to more banging from the construction. It could have at least waited until 8 am. - I went down to the front desk and asked to be moved to a new room that had hot water, a clean bathroom/tub and a room away from construction. I had to wait a few hours to get this room. - In my new room, the shower drain was not working properly so I was standing in over ankle deep water. HORRIBLE experience, staff, hotel, food and I could go on. So bad, that my boss had a business trip the following week and had a reservation at this hotel. She cancelled it and will be staying some other place. I will NEVER stay at this property again unless they have some serious management changes and train their staff to be more courteous! December 10, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service is sadly lacking Location is fabulous and the travel and tours representative was helpful. That is all there is to like about this Sheraton. It is one of the most expensive sheraton I have stayed in, but one with sadly lacking service. I cannot believe that your priority number 1 is guest satisfaction. I had to call front desk for service. I called three times and each tme the phone rang till it went dead. The operator who transferred the call was indifferent and almost rude! We stayed on club floor and used the club lounge. The lounge was crowded, dirty and the food serving were not very enticing. The lobby was often crowded. Even as a platinum member we had to wait in line for about 20 mins to check in. Thre were lines for every service - concierge, travel and tours, checked baggage. Could you not put more people to reduce waiting time? We had a room with a toilet that did not flush well. Surely housekeeping would have noticed it but did not report it. December 14, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Location is the saving grace of this hotel Where shall I start? Booked four nights for our stay in NYC, to celebrate my dad's 75th birthday. Requested the suite night upgrade months ago, when we checked in our room, without any upgrade at all! Club lounge was super crowded and chaotic, feels like in a refugee camp during the labour day long weekend. People cutting lines and grab food right in front of you. Reflected that to hotel management, and basically was told that they were not about to do anything about it. You are hotel management, manage it! Front desk never opened my files on their record so that we could get the internet access from our room. Called four times, and everytime, we got passed on to anther phone line, finally ended somewhere as a call centre in India. And sure enough, the accounting department screwed up the bill and charged us $14.95 for the internet access that was supposed to be free for a platinum guest. So had to spent another 10-15 minutes waiting in line and sorted it out at the front desk. So what else do I need to say? Not recommend at all! So we will definitely stay at another starwood hotel next time when we visit NYC. September 7, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 73 next>>