Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2276 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Times Square NYC The $160MM dollar renovation has paid off! The Sheraton NY Times Square was perfect for our family vacation to NYC. The room was very comfortable, the staff was friendly, and you can't beat the location. One of our favorite SPG properties in the city! September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 50 th Wedding Anniversary Terry thanks for your personal welcome. We both had a most enjoyable stay and can only praise your staff for thier kindness and caring attitude toward two seniors. A wonderful end to our anniversary trip. Thank You September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New York Stay June 17-21, 2014 Overall our experience was excellent. Our Room maid was superior and my wife made sure that she was tipped accordingly. The hotel location was excellent, My only negative experience involved the restaurant breakfast. After being seated by the receptionist my waiter brought a carafe of coffee, did not pour any and brought the bill. I was offended to be charged a 15% service fee for that. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by "Guest Services" could use some training! The hotel was nice, the room was ok. The room staff (maids) were great. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and they were VERY friendly. Called the front desk about LOTs of hallway noise, they sent me to guest services. The response? "what do you want me to do about it?" Get these folks some training! Or fire the rude ones! (12/23/12 @ 3:00 am in the morning-That person should be fired!) January 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by everything was fine except for shades in room I stay at this hotel very often and notice that in a lot of the rooms, the black out shades show a lot of wear and tear and don't work very well. In this room, it was worse in that there was no cord or way to pull them down, and so the room was lit all night with the lights from the buildings across the street. maybe because it was a accessible room, there was a switch somewhere that i couldn't find. January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rude Front Desk Staff While the concierge service was excellent, two different members of the front desk staff were not only rude, they were also not helpful at all. One woman acted completely disinterested at check in and an older man was just down right rude when I asked for assistance with a business center question. He basically pointed to some computers in the lobby and told me to figure it out on my own. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3rd return visit Exceptional service from curb to express checkout.SPG Club 44 was very useful and comfortable. I will return again next trip to NYC. October 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Better Starwood Properties in NYC Over 140 SPG nights logged last year and several stays at this property. The location for midtown is convenient. Keep in mind this is a true tourist hotel so be prepared if you are a business traveler. The lobby is always packed and expect longer than normal lines at check-in which may be one of the reasons the front desk staff is not as friendly as most SPG properties.. The gym is a true full size gym with lots of free weights and machines. Rooms have been recently remodeled. They are nice but much smaller than other SPG properties in midtown. The walls and doors have little soundproofing so expect to hear every conversation in the hallways. Big SPG lounge that is swarming with tourist in the morning. The food is comparable to most SPG Sheraton properties. If you are a business traveler or higher level SPG member that likes attention to detail, look at other SPG properties in midtown. January 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location, location, but... The hotel is at walking distance to many attractions between Central park and 23rd str. Unfortunately, the lilliputian sizes of the rooms and beds (full-size beds in case of families) are irritants, as is the 15$/day in- room Internet charge (per device!) and 45$/day parking fee. Not the kind of add-on charges that leave pleasant souvenirs, but they are apparently standard practices in New York. April 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, clean hotel with an excellent fitness center but WiFi is terrible Overall, a good hotel at a good location. The club lounge was good and the fitness center was excellent. My only two concerns with the stay 1. Wifi was very spotty and kept disconnecting even though the signal itself was strong 2. Room service took away the floor mat in the bathroom on day 1 and did not replace for the next 3 days. I would have expected a better service for an SPG platinum member. May 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel 2 big problems When we arrived there was a huge line at check-in, there were only 4 people working and we had to wait in line almost 15min. The day we checked out they had 2 elevators down, we first pushed the button to go down at 10am and didnt get on a elevator until 10:25am and that was only because we pushed our way onto one. Our room was very comfortable and the club was a great place to get my work done. March 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by motion control thermostat great motion control thermostat, assuming cost is number one concern and not guess comfort. the hall was cooler than my room. couldn't set temp any lower than 65 and during the night the room temp would get warn enough to wake me. it would be a nice feature if the hotel could provide someone to sit in my room during the night while I sleep to keep the motion detector active and my room cool. May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Renovations are great! We reserved 2 rooms for a trip to NY for my wife's parents who had never been to NY. First implressions can be critical and they just loved the hotel! The newly renovated rooms were first rate and while there were signs of renovations to the exterior of the hotel, the inside areas especially near our rooms were very quiet. I sometime have business in the area and will definitely stay there again! April 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Long check in wait. No club level check in. Poor communication w parking garage. Chose to include parking w room. When we went to get our car difficulty paying the charge. No one seemed to know what they were doing. Bed and sheets were awful. Sheets rough and starched. No shower cap in bathroom. Called and it took 20 minutes to bring it. Club room didn't have enough room for everyone. June 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Top location, but rather disappointing updates I stayed for one night in room 2402 and late into the night the neighboring room had a sort of gathering of people - i could hear everything they were saying through the badly isolated door separating the rooms - a feature from old times that has not been properly fixed. Otherwise, hotel is located in a great area, close to Times Square and Central Park and the internet connection was excellent. April 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Years Eve Time Square This hotel was at full capasity so the staff was very over loaded. The staff i restaurant for the dinner package was confused and we were told 3 different things as to what the package included. The hotel cleaning staff through out my bag of gifts & ran out of coffee for the room. Staff was friendly but too stressed and unorganized everywhere. I would not stay there again. Rooms are very small. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton New York With the number of hotel choices in New York, I chose the Sheraton New York becuase of the staff. There is Tommy, Momhad and team in the club; Gary to hail you a cab; Matthew, Joy and Cynthia at the front desk, Ernesto in the resturant, and many others that will make your stay in New York a wonderful experience. Thank you all for the wonderful service every week! July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment Though the hotel is conveniently located in Midtown with a quick access to several subway lines, I would not stay with Sheraton a second time and here is why. - old, aluminium-frame windows that let the street noise get in. Hotel needs renovation. - tiny beds. You cannot expect an upgrade. - slow response from the staff. Calls to get room done have to be repeated. - breakfast location can accomodate only a hundred or so guests at max while the hotel claims 1750-room capacity. Expect 15 min wait to get to your breakfast to be charged twice as much as a nearby 24/7 dinery does. I cannot help saying the front desk tried to resolve the matter of not cleaning the room for 3 days in a row, however, sending a bottle of NY sparkling wine with a screw-top (non-corked) bottle is a clumsily pathetic move. In a nutshell, I stayed at Sheraton because of the conference, next time will search for any other but this one. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It felt like home. I highly recommend this hotel! My wife and I stayed at your hotel back in October for our 14th anniversary. It was the 1st time, figured I would give it a try. Well it was fabulous, all of the staff were so helpful and friendly, The room was clean and the elevators were fast. And then we stayed again this time we brought our kids, well again it was great, the kids told us they didn't want to go home, We all enjoyed or stay. December 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location / Great Service Stayed at the Sheraton Times Square for a quick holiday getaway and we loved it. If you're doing the "tourist" thing, it's the perfect location, close to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave, etc... The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the room layout was exactly what we needed for a family of three. The reason I am giving a four instead of five star rating is their policy on bag check. If you're checking out and want to leave your bags at the hotel while you explore, the cost is $4 per bag. This is the only hotel that I've ever experienced some sort of bag check fee. Also, we were told that if we "complained" that the charge would be waived. Seems like a silly policy that is only semi-enforced, so why not just not have the fee at all. Overall, great hotel, great staff, great location, and I'd recommend it for any family looking to get the full New York experience. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rough check in process Check in at the hotel is confusing and time consuming. We arrived by car and pulled up in front of the hotel and were ignored by the bellboys. We finally realized that we had to pull around to the side of the hotel for the parking. We were early and were not allowed to check in. We waiting in line for about 5 minutes find out that. We had to come back and do that later. We then waiting about 20 minutes to check our luggage. When we came back later in the evening, the check in process was ok. I guess you could say the staff was friendly (for NYC). The staff did not seem to go above and beuond as most hotel staff seem to do at this level facility. The room was small, and the bathroom miniscule. The room was fresh, nice decorations and a comfortable bed. Great location! Overnight parking is around $50. The food is quite expensive. If you are looking for a great location, this is not a bad choice. October 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Travel I like the hotel and its in a great location. Unfortunately my room was right next to the ice room and near all of the elevators and it was very noisy. Also I happened to have a noisy neighbor who came back one night with his family at 1:30 am in the morning; door was slammed multiple times and made my sleep challenging. Overall the hotel is great; it was the room I stayed. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton New York. I especially want to thank Pearl who provided my wife and I with a gift of wine & cheese to help us celebrate our 20th anniversary. The room was quite comfortable for us on our 5-night stay. All hotel personnel were very friendly and courteous to us. The next time we travel to NYC, we'll stay at this hotel again. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This was my first trip to New York and I was more than satisfied with my accomodations. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the guest room was clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is perfect for tourists - a close walk to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and subway stations. I would recommend this hotel and I look forward to staying at the Sheraton again. August 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay My wife and I just returned from a four night stay in New York, and the Sheraton was ideally located near Times Square and all the theater we went to see. The hotel staff was perfectly helpful and friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable. There were three minor issues with the room that kept this from getting a five star rating: 1) the dead bolt on the door did not work, 2) the shower did not have strong enough water pressure even when trying the various settings on the showerhead. and 3) the room temperature did not appear to be adjustable... We wanted the room to be around 73 degrees, but no matter how high we set the thermostat temperature or fan, the room temperature stayed at 70 or 71 degrees. None of these issues made our stay unpleasant and weren't worth complaining about during our stay; and we will definitely consider staying at the Sheraton again on our next visit to New York. August 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Forget about ever getting an upgrade I probably stay in this hotel 30-40 nights a year for the last 3-4 years, primarily because the location is convenient for me. The rooms are ok, the gym is great, front desk staff helpful, room service generally good (though the server was exceptionally rude this last stay). I'm only writing this review because of a conversation with a friend who stays nearby and gets special treatment, including suite upgardes, all the time, even during busy season. I will note that in all my years staying here, despite the fact that I am Platinum/Your24, I have gotten upgraded maybe 4 times (and usually only after front desk staff make a special effort), even never with a Suite night request, despite the fact I stay here every month of the year. I've occasionally wondered about it, as it's much different at other Starwood properties, and but I was really never motivated to write until the recent conversation. April 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location and staff Took the family to Times Square for one week. Stayed at the Sheraton in a connected room. Excellent view of the city and the staff were fantastic. The front desk and concierge took extra efforts to ensure our comfort and that we had a fun family vacation in mid-town. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This hotel has a great location with Broadway, Times Square and the MoMA just a few minutes walk away. If you don't feel like walking, there is a subway station just steps away from the main entrance to the hotel. Room size was decent and in line with other hotels; however, the bathrooms are very, very, very small. In general, employees were very friendly. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great location This hotel was a wonderful place to stay for our first visit to New York. It was a short walk to Times Square, the MoMA, and Central Park and the staff was helpful in answering our questions about finding different sights around the city. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but the staff sent up a complimentary bottle of wine and some snacks later. A very nice touch. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ladies Weekend trip-Perfect location We were in town for a broadway play. This hotel is in the ideal location. We were walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do! The only use of public transportation was to and from the airport. The hotel took care of our ride back to the airport which was great. The rooms were nice. Despite being extremely busy, each guest was treated like they errrr the only guest. Great hotel! August 26, 2013
<<prev 38 39 40 41 42 ... 77 next>>