Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2249 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location great but so many extra costs I enjoyed staying at the Sheraton Times Square. Front SPG desk staff were amazing, nice and very thorough. While I understand the hotel charging to use the internet in our rooms, I am truly disappointed in being charged to use the gym when I am a guest at the hotel. $10 to use the gym when I already redeemed my points, paid for Internet access...I could not believe it. I was ready for a quick morning workout before my conference and I was told I had to pay $10. Ridiculous charge not only for an SPG member but for ANY guest! December 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by dispappointing terrible line to check in early in morning - then to pick keys over 30 people - should of had a line just to get keys. concierge gave us misdirection re store opening hours rude front desk staff when trying to adjust rooms charge from one room to another misprinted key when we left one in room - didn't apologies when we went down to same front desk person who instead asked for id again - though we had just gone through the process 2 minutes before! asked room service to bring clean wine glasses to room and remove dirty glasses and old cheese tray...never came.. Chelsea great at front desk...sent us wine and tried to make our stay pleasant May 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont stay here Not only was the hotel really dirty but the service was terrible. Not only was i given a two bed room ( even though I reserved a one bed) but the room itself was extremely dirty. The wall paper was peeling off the wall. The sink and shower were dirty. i was placed next to a room where the construction was happening so early in the morning ( around 5am) i was woken up by drilling.Thank god i only stayed one night. And if it wasnt because another hotel where I had a conference at was booked i would have never stayed here. February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Needs to Decide if it Wants Business Travelers Front desk receptionist acted as if I was doing her a favor by checking in. Her immediate answer to getting the room I requested was "no." Of course, wasting my time and invovling the manager resulted in getting the room I had requested, despite receptionist having told me none were available. Also, pimping business travelers $10 to "hold" a fed exp package (per package charge) is unforgivable. If hotel is that cash starved, they should close. Hotel also charges for fitness center - even to frequent Sheraton guests. September 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Bad Experience Dear Starwoods customer service I stayed at Sheraton New York during 10-14 August 2013 and experienced very bad service and I cant believe this hotel is Sheraton ! Usually I am easy going kind of people and not demand or complain often. I checked in at 6 pm on August 10 (which was already late for check in ) but was told that one of the room was not ready and if I came back at 10 pm, I can have 100 USD rebate. I decide not to get the money so they told me to back around 8.30 pm . I went out for dinner and traffic was bad so I was back around 10 pm anyway . After I check in and shower, I found out that there was only hot water in shower which you could not shower then, so I called reception but nobody answered so I had to go down (and my room was also far from the elevator) to tell the reception myself. I asked if I can change the room ( I got double bed but I said I was Ok to take King size bed if they not have) but they said the hotel was very full so let ‘s see if mechanic could fix it. After mechanic came, they said they could not fix it and they will tell reception to change the room for me. My son and I waited for another half hour but no call(and no phone pick up !) so I had to go down to lobby again to ask. They said they know and please wait in my room to get the call. On the way up, I met the mechanics and they were surprised my room had not changed. I waited again and no people contacted me so I went down again and somebody told me my new room number and told me that someone will deliver me the key, please waited in my room. I went up and wait and go down again since nobody contacted me. This happened many times and finally, I got new room after midnight. I was very tired until I almost cried. For my new room, the shower works but the coffee machine was broken so I tried to call Housekeeping. Again, nobody picked the call. I finally leave a note at the coffee machine telling the house keeping that please help change it. First day, nothing happened . Second day, they moved the machine out but not replace it so I had to gout drinking coffee outside. I work as Senior Executive in one of the big company in Thailand and the service of Sheraton In Thailand is very good so I cant believe this is the experience I had in Sheraton New York . (I understand Sheraton is also US chain). This is the worst experience I ever had although I travel often. I think you better improve the service to protect your reputation. Best Regards Customer September 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Slow draining shower, Inconsistent customer service QUICK SUMMARY: Customer service at this hotel is horrible. In order to address customer complaints, it felt like their philosophy was to push it aside and tell the guest to come back later. I stayed here for a regrettable three days. DETAILS: When I visit NYC business, I usually stay at another SPG hotel in a lower category. I decided to branch out and try the Sheraton New York. Huge mistake. A list of grievances: 1) Shower was slow draining. Imagine standing in about 4-5 inches of dirty bath water during your entire shower. Gross. 2) Shower had incredibly low water pressure. I'm assuming that it was probably set this way to compensate for the clogged drain. 3) Inconsistent customer service. When I checked into the hotel, I had a lovely reservationist who had exceptional customer service skills. Even though the I requested a King size bed, they only had two doubles available. She nicely apologized.. so I thought, "no big deal" Encounter #1: After discovering the slow-draining shower, I tried to switch rooms. I called down to the operator and they told me to check back in the morning. I thought that was understandable. Encounter #2: The next day, I brought it up to the reservations desk. Deana, the reservationist, did not give me the time of day. She was rude and dismissive and told me to check back in a few hours. After telling her about my shower issue, she said she would ask housekeeping to fix it. They never did. Encounter #3: The next day, I went down to the same desk, and a different reservationist again told me to check back in a few hours. Really? Third time in a row, guys? Encounter #4: On check out day, I noticed that there was a duplicate charge for internet access. I went down to the reservationist desk and luckily, I got Deana again. Didn't give me the time of day when I mentioned my concern about the bill. In fact, she blamed it on me and told me that I must have signed into the network on another device (apparently, guests are charged per device). In actuality, however, I only signed in on one device. To her chagrin, noted by a huff and an eye-roll, she erased my charge from my invoice. Dear Sheraton New York— I am hugely disappointed. A simple apology at the time would have sufficed. I strongly urge you to retrain your staff on how to deliver quality customer service. Next time I travel for business, I'll stick with my go-to hotel. Even though they're in a lower-tiered category and the beds aren't as comfortable.Their staff is beyond nice. They're friendly and personable. And that alone made my stay enjoyable. January 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Messed up room I am Starwood Platinim and used my points and suite upgrades. I was specific we needed tow beds both when booking the room and on check in. We got a room with one bed and no pull out couch as promised and at 11pm had to move rooms and then were moved again th following day. The final room was great, but this should not have happened, why not give us the promised room at check in? The VIP coordinator saved the day as did Joy at the front desk. The rest of the front desk staff were terrible, rude and uninterested. January 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a holiday hotel This is a business hotel and not geared up for people on holidays. They obviously take care of people who stay at the hotel a lot but for everyone else don't expect anything special - even if you are a platinum SPG member. I was told at check in at any point in time there are about 400 platinum SPG members staying at the hotel therefore upgrades are only for their most important guests. I don't understand if you consistently have 400 Platinum SPG guests in your hotel, why would you "renovate" your lounge to accommodate 60-70 people seated. Needless to say he wait for a seat at breakfast as up to half an hour. After being treated like a second class citizen on check in the front desk attendant failed to inform me that the fitness centre is pay to enter, which is ridiculous. January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Check in needs improvement Being a Starwood Elite member, I had a very bad experience checking in. The receptionist was not nice at all. She would not give me the key to the room since the reservation was in my husbands name. Gave me a very hard time. I had to call starwood and they had to verify that I was and wanted to speak to my husband to make sure I was able to check in without him.. I felt as an member in good standing and owning alot with Starwood all she had to do was check my account and she would have seen with my I did that I also was an owner not just my husband. It took at least 30 to 45 minutes for me to get my room. Very upset and dissapointed int this. I have never had this kind of problem any other reservation or check in. I'm not really sure if I will ever book at this hotel again. December 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by TERRIBLE EXPEREINCE The hotel itself was fine - the room was nice and clean and the location was great but we waited about 45 minutes to check in and there was ONE person behind the desk helping people. For a hotel that size in that location it was totally unacceptable. When I asked to speak to the manager he said that they were sold out that weekend - I don't care! Waiting 45 minutes to check in is totall crazy. He offered us breakfast the next day but we already had plans. I'll never stay there again!!! Totally not worth it! April 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value in Manhattan but NYC small rooms This hotel is very well and nicely located, close but not on Times Square and much closer than the Times Square hotels to mid town shopping. The rooms are New York small, something that as a tall guy I don't like about New York anywhere I stay. We were given pretty much all Platinum considerations except standard suite upgrade, but it was just before Christmas so on a reservation made the night before I'd have fallen over had that been given me. Only true negatives are small rooms (welcome to NYC) and a very crowded Club Lounge. Given the entire experience, this is a rather decent hotel approaching value for money as much as any in New York City. December 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of promised "upgrades" A few days before my stay, I received a text message from my SPG account letting me know my reservations were "upgraded". Yippee! I arrived at the hotel, was given a very standard room and no one including the manager on duty knew about the text message. I called Starwood and they indeed confirmed the upgrade. This is a classic example of how to make 100% sure that your customer is disappointed. I would have been OK with the room, but to promise and not deliver left a really bad taste in my mouth. December 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst Starwood Hotel On All Levels! When we arrived at the hotel, the bellman who took our bags from the curb to the lobby (less than 100 feet) said, "This is where it ends for me", while hinting to be tipped! The hallways, our bedroom, and worst of all, the bathroom, smelled like mildew and sewer. Is this what they considered to be renovated and refreshed?! Every morning, there were employees outside our door engaging in obnoxiously loud conversations. I even peeked outside to see what was going on, but they just glanced at me then kept on with their rants about management and other staff! So unprofessional! The lobby was always crowded and loud like a train or bus station. We've stayed at numerous hotels around the world with top-notch facilities and staff. And we're from Las Vegas, where tourism is our bread and butter and excellent customer service is the norm. This hotel lacks all of that and more. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous early anniversary stay I have loved this property and thought it closed when it stopped being called the Towers. Duh-just a more enticing location name. I find the Sheratons to be one of the better run properties in the Starwood Group even though they aren't in the higher categories. Sometimes higher rated hotels get lax and rest on their name and the service fails and the employees get a snooty attitude. Perhaps rankings should really include how the guests are treated and how issues, if any, are resolved. I did not have ANY issues, only raves, but have found Sheratons go out of their way to fix a problem and then do something nice for you because you had a problem. Refreshing, to say the least. Sorry to digress- The hotel is run by an obviously wonderful general manager (I have since found out his name is Terry so I cloud drop him an email) since the entire staff-regardless of position, is friendly, polite, and helpful.You don't get that kings of consistency without an example to follow, Steven at the front desk reception when he checked on something in our reservation request went and spoke with someone(possibly Anna from VIP services) and gave us a wonderful upgrade to a suite only to top that with chocolate covered strawberries with champagne left in our room with a lovely handwritten note-rare in any situation today from Anna in VIP services.. I emailed her to thank her and was surprised to get a quick response and once again very sweet. It is a shame that guests don't get to meet the people who keep this hotel running so well, because with this GM at the helm, I am sure they are so worthy of recognition for not just doing their job, but for doing their job well. October 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bellman the worst i've ever encountered The hotel is positioned well, but is quite old and i believe they are updating it, what they also should update is some of their staff, their bellman will abuse you if you don't give them what they believe is a sufficient tip, they will also interupt your phone call to repaetedly let you know "this is where i will leave you" urging you on to give them a tip. March 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG Gold member received no recognition Although I'm a Gold member none of the upgrade/ ammenties were available to me except the 250 points. When I asked about breakfast the first day, I was told that the quota had been met. When I asked the second day, I was told I had to pay $25.00. Also, every morning I was awakened by what sounded like a hammer banging on steel. One morning, it sounded like the hammering was right outside our door (on the eighth floor). I asked about it at the front desk. The clerk couldn't understand the problem. He said that there was no construction going on. Overall the stay was okay. Just thought I would get better treatment as an SPG Gold member. September 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Remodel is great, service not so much... Just completed a one night stay at the Sheraton NYC. The property is in the midst of a remodel and while I can attest that the new rooms are very nice, the staff needs to catch up to the new standard. Its painfully clear that on the weekends the guests grossly out number the employees and as a result we're left waiting for just about everything. From reception to housekeeping it just feels like everyone is playing catch up and it shows in the quality of service provided. The above said, this property if one of the better values in NYC and so if you come with the above expectations in mind I'm pretty sure you'll get what you pay for. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and clean hotel Check in was smooth and we got our room right away. Despite it being a large hotel, full of tourists and people attending conferences the hotel common areas were clean, helpful staff- especially Edward! He was very professional and esay going. The hotel left us a nice welcome message and even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine and snacks!! Nice comfortable beds. Some people complain about the elevator wait time was long, not our experience and the hotel was full of people for college BB including a marching band! Very nice exercise facility and spa. Wonderful hotel overall and great location! Make sure to get a room in new tower. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Trip I have enjoyed staying in your hotel almost every week for the last year and have had the pleasure of meeting and interacting with your staff. They have been, without exception, courteous, efficient and friendly. This past weekend I brought my family to New York to see the sights and to see where Dad works and lives every week while traveling. I used SPG points to book my room and let both Cynthia and Brittany know that I was bringing my wife and my two daughters, ages 24 and 12. They told me not to worry and said that they would “take care of everything”. The arrangements that they made were incredible; I have been traveling as a consultant for over 25 years and have never had a hotel staff completely blow me away with service and hospitality the way that Cynthia and Brittany have. From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated like royalty. The bell staff's handling of our bags, Christian’s check in of the family, Maggie’s set up of our room, and the staff in the Club Room were all outstanding. I had reserved one room with double beds, but Cynthia and Brittany surprised us with a beautiful suite of rooms on the 42nd floor with gorgeous views of Times Square and the Hudson River. In addition, I brought three dozen roses to the hotel the day before, and they kept them for me overnight, then placed them in the rooms in a vase before we arrived. They also provided a lovely bottle of wine along with snacks and treats for us. My family was delighted and quite impressed. Maggie personally came to our room and cleaned the inside of the windows, and then arranged for the window washers to wash the outside of the windows the next day. My wife is an avid photographer, and she loved taking pictures out of the windows. The whole family spent hours each day enjoying the beautiful views of New York from our room. It was actually difficult for me to get them to leave the room to see the sights in the city since they were enjoying the view so much. The entire staff at the 44th floor Club Room was extremely welcoming to us and made us feel very special the entire weekend. The concierge helped us get a wonderful dinner reservation at the last minute on Saturday night. He had to check with numerous restaurants, and his recommendation was great. We had a lovely meal. I can't thank Brittany and Cynthia enough for all of their behind the scenes arrangements. While they make me feel special every week, they made this an extraordinary weekend for my entire family. I’m not sure how I can ever match this family trip because they have set the bar very high! They are two remarkable hospitality employees, and I am lucky to get to interact with them each week. You should be proud of your entire staff. They are truly hospitality experts. Best regards, Jerry Ostrowski and Family September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Great Service This hotel is perfectly located to many of the cities cultural landmarks, theatres, shopping, etc. The front desk service is friendly and efficient. Definitely will return to this hotel in the future. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this great hotel is in the perfect nyc location the location and hotel are excellent.. the staff always amazing and always friendly and attentive. I have stayed here many times and its always great!! August 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Starwood property is AWFUL I must start by saying the Men at the attractions desk were extremely helpful and kind. The young lady at check-in was very pleasant as well. Our rooms were clean but extremely warm. We had to keep the window open all day and night in order to stay comfortable. As a starwood owner, I have a certain standard I expect at all starwood properties. The staff at this location was arrogant and completely unapproachable. They seemed to do everything they could to make things as difficult on the guests. I tried to get a box to ship items home and they transferred me 4 times to an obnoxious nasty girl named Kim in the Fed-Ex office. I have NEVER been treated so horrible. We usually stay at the Westin or the W Times Square when we come to New York, and I can guarantee we will never ever stay at this Sheraton again. The Westin or the W are the most comfortable and accommodating hotels in the city. They're location is great and the hospitality is amazing. This sheraton hotel gives Starwood a big black eye!! November 15, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Small beds We were really disappointed with the room we got because there were only two double beds (they call them "full beds"), but we had asked for queen beds. We had specified that we were three adults sleeping in the room and we were charged for three adults, but there was really room for only two adults (or four skinny ones). When we raised our concerns to the staff, some three of them apologised but did not even bother trying to find a solution. The fourth employee we talked too actually tried her best but finally conceeded that the beds were two small for us three. She gave us a bigger room, that all she could do. It unfortunately did not solve our problem. August 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by If you don't mind a dirty room... I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February, 2013. My room was never made up or cleaned after the first night. Although I provided a tax exempt form at check-in, I was still charged tax, and had to bypass the speedy checkout to again speak with registration staff to correct the bill. The prices in the bar and in the restaurant (for breakfast) are outrageous, even for NYC. The breakfast buffet was cold and overpriced. Would not recommend to anyone. February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience We stayed here the weekend before Thanksgiving and had a fantastic experience. We were upgraded to an executive suite which was huge and very nice. The club lounge was nice, but very busy in the morning, difficult to get a seat. We were provided a nice welcome in our room by the General Manager which was a nice WOW factor. Only complaint is that we asked for additional towels, but had to call a second time as they were not delivered for several hours. December 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another wonderful stay We usually pick this Sheraton when we visit NYC. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable for sleeping. Housekeeping has been pleasant and remembers our requests when they are made. This past visit we had to extend our stay for an extra day unexpectedly and were accommodated with no difficulty at all which was very much appreciated. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much bettter than the reviews read A special thank you to Hotel Mgr Kenny & Front Desk Rep Joy for proving the prior negative reviewers of this hotel worng. The bed was & room extremely comfortable. A great nite's sleep!!!! Large flat screen TV and mini bar was fantastic. Very clean room, except for the bathroom which had a slight musty smell (shower curtain). Otherwise a very nice stay & parking was convenient having driven my new Porsche to NYC without any problems with parking. November 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay This was my second stay at this hotel. Friendly, courteous and kind staff, ideal location, good onsite facilities - gym, massages, restaurant, good room rates, very good service. On check in they realised I would be spending my birthday there and without asking got a room upgrade, complimentary breakfast and internet .. that was a "wow" for me! October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel treats guests well I always return to the Sheraton because they are attentive to their guest's needs and respect their loyalty to the hotel. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bed Uncomfortable I stayed in a regular 1 king bedroom and did not get upgraded to executive suite. The shower drain was apparently perpetually clogged and my wife and I had to deal with showering in 3 inches of water up to my ankles. The bed was uncomfortable. I guess they are going through renovations too. I hope you get better beds and fix the plumbing. Unlikely I will stay there again. The fitness center was good and it is close to the broadway shows. December 26, 2011
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 76 next>>