Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

  • 1 Festival Square
  • Edinburgh,
  • Scotland
  • EH3 9SR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve and check-in to a room.

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 363 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel. great staff, the spa let them down I have to say that this was one of the most memorabale stays at any hotel that my wife and I have had. The staff without exception were attentive, friendly happy to help and very warm. The location of this hotel and the view of the Castle were fantastic the food was fantastic the spa was a let down. Michelle was very helpful the first day that we arrived other than her no-one really seemed interested in helping us with any part of the Spa or the Gym. At one point I went to use the toilets in the locker room but could not due to the seat being covered in urine amongst other nasties. I told one of the staff who responded by walking away from me whilst saying "were to busy". I had to return to my room to use the toilet. No tour of the gym or its electronic machines was offered or given, I was pointed in the right direction with a smile at least. Some of the areas of the "thermal experience" were unoperational without explanation. In summary great hotel experience shame about the spa.... it would have been easy to avoid this review by caring about their service. March 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Wonderful hotel with great staff, and elegant and comfortable rooms July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic stay Spent my birthday at the Spa and an overnight stay. The hotel was excellent; room was so comfortable, clean and kitted out with everything I needed (at last, a decent hairdryer in a hotel!). February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Edinburgh's best hotel Excellent all-round stay. The staff were very friendly and professional. The facilities are as good as you will find anywhere in the city. Very comfortable and peaceful. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Despite the not-so-glamorous location at something of a crossroads between interesting points of Edinburgh, the newly refurbished Sheraton is a great place to stay. Rooms are very modern and pleasant, views of Edinburgh Castle are amazing, and staff is friendly and attentive. Stayed here twice whilst the refurb was still going on, but despite the minor nuisance of a temporary reception, rooms fully exceeded expectations. Got upgraded to Club Rooms with access to a nice Club Lounge, very good selection of drinks and canapes in the evenings, and a somewhat more disappointing breakfast, although breakfast could be had at the main restaurant. An unexpected highlight of the stay was room service: in a city where nights are cold food options aren't that great (especially on Sunday nights!), it was well worth staying in an ordering some of their pasta dishes which were positively great and very good value. Spa is very good, but can't help thinking access should be complimentary, at least to Platinum members (see Le Meridien in Stuttgart, which has a similar spa, and free access). The gym though, was very big and well equipped. April 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel The hotel was lovely, with a nice location. One is easily able to walk all over Edinburgh. The concierge staff were fantastic, gave numerous restaurant suggestions, and all but 1 were fantastic. Great experience. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Edinburgh We really enjoyed our stay at the Edinburgh Sheraton. Thank you! January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by luxury, but t's need to be crossed We booked a castle suite. To the hotel's credit, the room really was a suite. All too often you just get a big room, which they call a suite, but this actually had separate bed- and living rooms. Nice. My point of criticism, is that housekeeping should be a bit better. For example. When we arrived, around 4pm, there were dirty plates outside our room, probably left there by the previous guests. The dirty plates remained there for quite some time. Also, when we prepared coffee during the day, housekeeping would not clean them during turn down service. Final point of criticism: the shower was beautiful, but the water pressure was too low. Still had a good time, and would recommend the hotel. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely room for our Anniversary trip Our room was amazing/ cozy with a beautiful view of the Edinburgh Castle. The staff was very accommodating! One night we ordered room service and they brought it down to us at the bar after closing time, as we wanted. The bar staff was friendly and made great drinks! We wanted to experince the spa services, but had to cancel last minute. The Spa staff was very understanding. We really enjoyed the view from our room. We had a wonderful stay here and will stay here again in the future! July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I am shocked by the positive reviews The hotel is ok looking and the staff in the bar restaurant are very nice. My main complaint is the manager,the staff at the front desk and the concierge desk except the main concierge. We were given directions to a restaurant that first night which was no longer there by personel at front desk. We were also almost told to go to the wrong train station, but luckily the main concierge overhead the conversation and corrected the mistake.The first night we got there they upgraded us to a club room which was great. We have been upgraded to a club level numerous times and have never not been given access to the club room. But we found out that we were given a club room but not access to the club facility for breakfast etc. I talked to the manager and he would not budge and was somewhat arrogant about the whole thing. Although he did offer us points ,but wouldn't it have been nicer to given us access since we are such supportive starwood members. I find that sheraton hotels staff are not given high level training on how to treat guests. I would think twice about going to another sheraton hotel and may even opp out to go to another chain if a higher level hotel is not available. Too bad. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First timers Spa weekend given as a gift in club rooms very lovely room and club lounge facilities excellent July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplory Hotel My wife and I have just spent a week at the Sheraton. It was our first visit to Edinburgh so our first stay at this location. In summary this is a truly 5 star hotel. It would be easier to just say that we found no flaws rather than try and list all the positives. But here are a few anyway - Helpful staff, spotlessly clean (not easy to impress my wife with that one), magnificent breakfasts, free use of pool, comfortable lounge, knowlegable concierge,central location,etc.. We loved Edinburgh and will certainly be going back and when we do we have no reason to look for a different hotel. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good I found the hotel very good July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great hotel. We spent 2 nights here at the end of May and i cannot find fault with anything. From the moment we arrived through to us leaving we were given 5 star treatment. The staff were friendly and efficient and when we discovered there was only one bathrobe in the room another arrived within 3 minutes. We booked a table in the restaraunt and had a pre theatre meal which was excelent. The room had a fantastic view of Edinburgh Castle and was of a very high standard. We particularly liked the mood lighting in the bathroom and the bed was the large and very comfortable. Overall an excelant short break and we wouldn't hesitate to return here for another break. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Probably the best Sheraton in the world! Another return to this fabulous hotel, my mood changed the instant I was greeted at the front door by Glen, luggage whisked away, car keys traded for the valet ticket, no line at checkin, rapidly to our Castle suite with a spectacular view of the Castle and Edinburgh. There are so many reasons to praise this hotel, others may have a different bias: Great location - easy to access yet easy to walk to the shops and sites Excellent property - internally well appointed subtly modern Scottish decor, clean and well presented (it's not much to look at externally!), always a great breakfast to set you up for the day, oh and the spa! SPG recognition - consistently excellent with personal recognition from staff Outstanding staff - a cross of cultures infused with Scottish warmth and hospitality. In summary, probably the best Sheraton in world! (Disclaimer: I have a Scottish relatives!) July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything you need from a hotel We stayed for our daughters 18th Birthday so needed three rooms which were all to a high standard. We were on floor 7 so we could use the club room. Which we loved well worth the extra cost and a nice place to meet up before going out in Edinburgh. The staff were great and very helpful getting us seats together and drinks quickly. If you are looking for a relaxing hotel please book here as spa was amazing but most of all it was a great nights sleep. I was not woken by lorries, people, doors or the normal hotel noise you get! Thanks to all the staff we will be back. October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay at Sheraton First time in Edinburgh and Sheraton here. We enjoyed every minute. The staff were extremely professional and friendly. Food, room and bar supergood. The gym was also very good. I will especially point out Peter in the bar. He was truly one of the best. We stayed many more hours in the bar just because of him and the fantastic Espresso Martini. We will for sure come back to this hotel. Highly recommended. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel I booked this hotel as a weekend break using the SPG points / cash option. I was delighted to be upgraded to a suite in regonition of my Platinum status on arrival and then the stay just kept getting better. Fantastic efficient and friendly service in the Club Lounge - dinner in the resteraunt was first class and reasonably priced too. I must reccomend the kippers for breakfast also - so good I had them twice ! Highly reccomend this hotel - thanks for the excellent service - keep up the great work and dont worry I'll be back - Jon SPG Platinum member. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful This was a truly wonderful short stay. Although we didn't dine in the hotel we did enjoy a lovely breakfast in bed and also some delicious cocktails in the bar. Service in the bar was a little slow, the drinks taking a long time to arrive even though it was not busy. The room was beautiful - book a Castle View it is well worth it. The lighting in the bathroom was great fun with the different coloured lights. Visit the Spa and if you don't have a treatment even just using the facilities is more than worth the additional to get access. My partner and I loved it - even in the rain being outside on a rooftop jacuzzi was wonderful. Amazing stay and we will certainly be back for longer next time! Thank you June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay We stay here a couple of times a year and we're always well looked after. The hotel has, within the last couple of years, undergone a huge rennovation and the rooms are truly sumptious with beautiful bathrooms, innovative & stylish lighing, and stunning furnishings. The rooms are an adequate size but we booked a Club Room in the hope that it might be slightly larger - as, for the first time, we took our toddler with us and required a cot. However, the room was exactly the same as a standard room and it was a bit of a squeeze with the cot. That said, we enjoyed some great benefits with our room including: - free access to the spa - access to the club lounge for breakfast and evening drinks & canapes The location is perfect for exploring Edinburgh city centre November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel We had a fantastic stay on 28th June, the hotel has been completely refurbished since we were last here in 2010. The One Spa was wonderful as usual, highly recommend going to the Escape at One package and spending time in the hydro therapy pool. We didn't eat here but we had drinks and as our room was on the Club level, we enjoyed the complimentary evening canapes and drinks. Cannot wait to stay again, glad I'm now an SPG member. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Hotel This was my first visit to this hotel, and it exceeded my expectations. From the time my wife and I checked in, to check out, our experience was outstanding. The staff was warm and friendly. The overall facility is neat, clean, and modern. Our room with a castle view was spacious, and exceptional. The location is Edinburgh is great for convenient walking to shops, pubs, restaurants, historical sites, or just exploring the city. We also had dinner at the One Square restaurant which was very good. I highly recommend this hotel. October 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by christmas stay We stayed along with our children and partners over christmas and had a wonderful time; In particular the christmas lunch and service and food were terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed our day. A few members of staff need to smile more and anticipate needs we always had to'ask for drinks in the bar area from the 'newer' staff members..We recognised some faces from Santinis and as ever they were attentive and helpful. We had a great time and will be back soon, the reception and concierge were happy and helpful at all times. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel We have just returned from a stay a the newly refurbished Sheraton Grand, we have been visiting this hotel for about 14 years now and it never fails to please. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. The refurbishment is very different from the old Sheraton we knew however the service and friendliness has not changed. I would recommend this hotel if you visit Edinburgh and book a castle facing club room the extra is well worth the price. Many thanks to all the staff and we look forward to our next visit. August 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by professional and outstanding service I have stayed at this hotel in Sheraton several times over the past four years. The staff always remembers me , my room is always ready no matter the time I arrive, the Concierge is the absolute best. The rooms are immaculate and updated and the beds are the most comfortable experience. The hotel is located in the hub of everything. I travel often and this is my top hotel. I also have to mention the pool and spa, amazing. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fresh Look Traditional Service My first time back since the refurbishment was completed. I've been coming here since 1999 and I have to say - I love the new look. Gone is the stuffy tartan and heavy wood decor - welcome new, fresh, clean, contemporary. All the public spaces feel like a modern private members club. Rooms are fresh, clean and comfortable...once you work out how to work the mood lighting. Lots of space to work and all the power options you are ever likely to need - no matter where you come from! Great for the business traveller. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Booked this as a filler hotel on our trip around Scotland, ended up rebooking our departure dates to stay longer and decided to stay at the Sheraton again on our last night. Rooms were "W" ish in style - which isn't my style preference, but they were extremly comfortable and well laid out. Lobby was expansive and comfortable. Club Lounge was very good , comfortable, service was good, breakfast and cocktails also nice. The real treat was the rooftop spa - i could have stayed there all week. May 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Breakfast Cost is High Most often when I travel, breakfast is included. Not at the Sheraton in Edinburgh. While the buffet is extensive, it very, very, very expensive. You can order off the very limited menu, but that did not provide the diet balance I needed. I therefore had to do the expensive buffet. I am going to be challenged by my company on these expenses. Not happy. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prof Jeff at the Edinburgh Grand I returned to the Grand in Edinburgh now the refurbishment is finished. What a transformation it was good to be back. The new lobby is open and welcoming and the staff seemed to have a new lease of life. The new bathrooms are great and the design is innovative. But one of the biggest differences was the restyled restaurant which now includes a bar. It is open, spacious and a great all day menu with a variety of dishes that cannot fail to please. Well done, thanks. Prof Jeff September 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing experoience Have just spent two nights in this wonderful hotel. The room was clean and luxurious and the facilities top quality. The spa and gym were fantastic . Loved the rooftop pool and the hydropool. The gyms facilities and space were excellent. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The tretments were the best we have ever had and felt truly nurtured. This hotel was luxurious without being pretentious. Saving up to return! Oh and the cooked breakfasts should not be missed! January 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>