Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 162 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Harvard Trip This hotel falls below the standard usually expected of Sheraton. Starting with the big illuminated sign outside where most of the letters are out. Room was not made up on first night of stay, food trash was not removed, bed made or bathroom cleaned. Front desk offered no explanation or compensation. Service in the restaurant was slow and inattentive - although food was good. Even for an old building, hotel displays its wear and verges on the shabby. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understaffed My only complaint was the hotel appeared to be understaffed at the front desk and check in took longer than necessary. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Hotel in a Great Location We have stayed at this hotel many times and have always had a great experience. The location is excellent (1/4 mile from the Harvard T Stop), the staff is friendly and rooms are full of character. The management has done an excellent job in making improvements to this classic hotel to meet the needs of contemporary travelers (Workout room, Business Center, SPG Club, etc.). This is a perfect location for those visiting the museums, restaurants, shops and historic sites of Cambridge . February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by CONSISTENTLY AMAZING Without doubt one of the BEST Sheraton properties in the WORLD! ABSOLUTELY AMAZING ATTENTIVE STAFF! No stay in Cambridge is complete without a visit to the Commander. Lounge facilities are good. NuBar has been redone and it's BRILLIANT! Flatbreads, chowder and truffle fries are sensational. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Hotel Just superb place to put up on vacation June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by night away Our check in was great efficient and upgraded which is rare in this area. I would say the only negative about this hotel is housekeeping. I had a 4 pm check out and starting at 3:15 pm they were calling our room. After that they stood outside our door where we could hear them. It was particularly stressful as my boyfriend had an upset stomach so I was packing up on my own. The location to Harvard Square is perfect and the food around is great. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeding Expectations We have happily stayed at The Commander many times during our daughter's time at Harvard. But the wonderful hospitality in the form of complimentary ice cream, Bailey's and coffee, champagne and strawberries, chocolate fountain, photos, and gifts of the charming Dr. Seuss book and photo mug... WOW! All of this combined with the warmth of the staff made this the BEST place to stay for graduation. You made this once in a lifetime occasion even more special. Thank you!!! June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "NuBar" restaurant is a great addition! I've stayed at the Commander twice this month (and filed a separate review on one stay), but this review addresses the new upgraded hotel restaurant "NuBar". Food quality exceeds expectations, using lots of fresh, high quality ingredients. It's not your typical humdrum hotel fare. January 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Happiness We have always been happy during our many stays in Cambridge at the Commander. The location is perfect, the staff are very supportive and attentive, and the facilities mix old school charm and quirkiness with modern supports and comfort. June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient to Harvard This nicely appointed hotel is close to Harvard but is also a quiet place to stay. The club room is well provisioned and competently managed. The dining room is surprisingly good May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff, excellent location. We went to attend my sisters graduation. We had a great weekend due to the great service and comfort provided by your staff and facilities. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why Amenities at the $60 Day's End accommodation? I have no idea what "SPG" means. Why would you use abbreviations for a survey with the general public?....When I get later in survey prompted to check Starwood preferred status, so learned what SPG means. Your communications incompetence is compounded when you use an acronym I don't recognize for a group I belong to!! At the rates you charge, the least one can expect is for you to provide mouthwash and a shower cap! More outrageous is the fact that your TripleA write up says that guest's amenity is a choice of newsapers, but the staff tell guests they are not complementary, like most high-class hotels, you pay for a newspaper like anyone else buying at the store! Do you ever stay at your competitor's even middle-level accommodations? You should try it; see what your competitors offer!! Staff never gave me the answer I wanted to expected when I had a question. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Harvard Square treat Just returned from a stay at the Sheraton Commander...we got a very nice upgrade to a one bedroom suite...large living room with a nice two-double bed bedroom for myself and my business partner. My son, who lives in Boston, was with us for check-in and thought the hotel was quite nice compared with other hotels in Cambridge, and I agree! I like the Commander's old-style aura, superimposed on the current Sheraton overall brown color scheme...upgraded TV and baths with a nice club lounge and breakfast buffet... Highly recommended for it's Harvard/colonial ambiance and really comfortable rooms! December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A much needed restful sleep. Nice room at a good price We were in Cambridge to help our daughter move out of her dorm and take her home for the summer. We would not think of staying anywhere else. The staff is friendly, the rooms comfortable and you can not beat the location for a Harvard parent, with a 5 minute walk to Harvard Square. We had two busy days of packing and moving boxes and we enjoyed the peace and comfort of the hotel. May 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude and direspectful staff The receptionists were very rude and disrespectful. They wouldn't let me get into my husband's room even though he let them know in the morning that I was arriving in the afternoon. They didn't even want to see my ID with the same last name & address. They insisted that my husband (who was at the conference) calls them and even then, they would not trust that it was him. That's really the last thing that you would expect as a welcome at the hotel after a long trip when you have only an hour to freshen up and get ready for the day. My husband and I do this at least 20 times a year (me or him checking in later than the other) and I never encountered such a rude and disrespectful behavior. It rather belongs to some kind of a hotel that rents rooms on hourly basis. I stayed in this hotel numerous times, and I noticed that the quality went down drastically lately. The staff definitely needs some training in basic civility and manners. Not to mention that they would certainly be issued a DOB violation (if it happened to be in NYC) for the pervasive smell of mold in the corridors. Definitely mine and my husband's last stay here. April 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Twice shy The good things about the Commander are: it's near the heart of Cambridge and George Washington did something nearby. There is a huge sign on top that says "Sheraton Commander" Bad things: It sort of smells There is a ton of road construction nearby right now The construction goes all night The whole place needs a face lift The staff is worn out and jaded It has extraordinarily small elevators It's overpriced I've been here twice and as all other Boston hotels were booked solid, I'm back here confirming my initial reaction that this place is busted. July 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is falling apart Very poor water pressure in the sink. Minimal hot water in sink. Hallway smells like a locker room. Air conditioner has a mind of its own. Aside from its great location no one would want to stay here. May 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Visting Harvard? Stay Here! The Sheraton Commander over looks Cambridge Common where General Washington assembled his first army during the American Revolution. Stay here for that reason alone. Other reasons? It's a short walk to the middle of Harvard Square. And, it's a much better deal than some of the newer hotels in and around Harvard. I was upgraded because of my gold status and had a lovely suite over-looking a leafy street. This is one of the best Sheraton properties I have ever visited. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Service The Sheraton Commander is an outstanding hotel - comfortable, well appointed, but what marks it as a must-stay place is its service. I was given a SPG room on the first night, but , on the second, there was a noisy high school dance on the floor beneath me. The staff immediately moved me to a different, but equally luxurious room, where I got a great night's sleep. The mark of greatness is when the staff takes care of the unexpected. Bravo. April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A local Cambridge hotel this is a great Harvard Square hotel option. May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Hotel in the Heart of Cambridge We stay at this lovely hotel whenever we are in the greater Boston area. The staff is efficient and professional and seems to be exactly the same whenever we visit. The property location, right on the edge of the Harvard campus, is optimal. The property has a number of interesting architectural elements which have been beautifully restored. This is a charming property! August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by why can't the TVs work? I have stayed at the Sheraton Commander more times than I can count. The rooms are very well kept and, as I have frequent business in Harvard Square, I will keep coming back. So I offer the following constructive criticism as a long-term customer... How hard is it to make the TVs at this place work properly? In my room, the remote had problems. The channel up/channel down button didn't work, so I had to type the digits in to get the channel to change. Plus, the Bruins were on TV the night I was there, and the TV in the room did not have the channel (how is that possible?). Then, in the exercise room, I used three different pieces of equipment--the (one) recumbent bike, the (one) upright bike, and one of the treadmills--and the TV had problems on each piece of equipment (eg, no picture at all, the picture very fuzzy, and/or the sound doesn't work). I think a quality brand like the Sheraton would be able to address such problems. But like I said--this hotel gets the basics right (room, bed) so I will be back. May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by could be better the room heating system needs upgrading very loud at night otherwise a great location and nice staff. but for sleeping not good. May 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems I stay here a lot - I like the location and generally like the hotel but this time there were major problems. Room 439 : Heat malfunctioning - either too hot or too cold, hard to get a good night's sleep, pull on shade broke off, bathroom fixtures need repair, no decent water pressure in the shower. Quality of the food at breakfast was poor. Pastries hard as a rock, stale. No excuse for this ina city with good bakeries nearby. April 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel Stayed here for the first time on June 29, 2013. Was not greeted and thanked for being a Gold Member. Was not offered a choice of the 3 usual bonus items. I was upgraded to Club Level which is expected if available for Gold members. Was very impressed with the room and overall apperance of the hotel. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff comendation This was a return visit for my daughter and me. The staff couldn't have been more well informed or helpful. We dined at the hotel restaurant several times and followed the staff's recommendations to local restaurants. What can I say, I will be returning to a very comfortable home away from home. August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location I was very disappointed that no one alerted us that there was construction going on in the hotel. The noise was very annoying and non-stop. I think it's best that you give your guests a heads up. The price of the room was steep to be having to deal with the noise level. I have stayed here before and love the location and the hotel itself but this visit was disappointing. I was in town for the marathon which itself was certainly a positive experience. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very thoughtful staff In the busy world we live in where no one really seems to listen anymore, I was astonished by the kind and generous treatment initiated by the front desk staff when they heard that I was staying at the hotel under trying circumstances. Very thoughtful folks. December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by unique historical hotel what's bad: hotel has all the problems of very old building - small and very slow elevators; very small toilet rooms; clogged sinks; dirty carpets; noisy aircond systems what's good: historic interiors; location; food what's very good: service! June 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Accomidations for Boston Vaca! This hotel met all of my family's needs and more for our Boston vacation. Great location to enjoy Cambridge and connect to the rail. This Starwood property had all of the luxuries plus the old world charm!! October 21, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>