Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 197 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff is rude and egoist I have stayed complete of times there. But during my last stay in Feb 2013, I have decided not to ever stay in this hotel. Gentleman who checked in was rude. My partner was there earlier than me. So when he was checking in, SPG staff told him that since ' platinum memberr' is not with him, they cannot give any platinum services. He explained that 'platinum member', (writer of this review) will join in couple of hours, but that did not change staff decision. We are were not given access to the lounge. I have never seen that staff smile ever. Rooms are old and smelly. Carpets are dirty. Breakfast selection is poor. Heating is not very effective and very loud. Whole experience is lousy. I used to pick this place due to its proximity to Harvard. But I would rather travel a little bit rather than see rude staff at the end of my hard day. March 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Service The Sheraton Commander is an outstanding hotel - comfortable, well appointed, but what marks it as a must-stay place is its service. I was given a SPG room on the first night, but , on the second, there was a noisy high school dance on the floor beneath me. The staff immediately moved me to a different, but equally luxurious room, where I got a great night's sleep. The mark of greatness is when the staff takes care of the unexpected. Bravo. April 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for business travel I've stayed here twice, once alone on business and once with my family. The rooms are nice, but small, so it was much better when I was alone. Two of the 3 elevators are tiny---don't use them for much luggage. Front desk was very nice and helpful. The price for a location just off Harvard Square was fair. The hotel is about 1/3 mile from a subway station, so it's easy to get to downtown Boston. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stately and Peaceful Retreat in a Wonderful Location We had a fabulous stay at the Sheraton Commander once again. The valet, the porter, and the front desk staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised by a complementary upgrade to a Club Lounge suite. The room felt very stately, elegant, and in keeping with the period. The furniture was a selection of tasteful, handcrafted pieces and the rugs were luxurious hand-knotted oriental rugs atop wide-plank tropical hardwood floors. The bathroom had a jetted tub and walk-in travertine shower with rainhead and hand-held shower wand. The best feature of the entire stay was the Toto bidet toilet with heated seat! The bed was exceptionally comfortable and had densely woven Egyptian cotton sheets. The Sheraton Commander is in a wonderful location, across the street from Radcliffe Yard. We had our two miniature dachshunds with us, and they were equally impressed with the hotel and its surroundings. We plan to return once again when our travels bring us back to the Boston area. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service at this hotel Each and every person who worked at this hotel was hospitable and service-oriented. Whether I asked for a great place to get a manicure or where the nearest Starbucks was located, I was provided the information. The staff even called ahead to secure the manicure appointment for me. Most importantly, I needed a double bed at the last minute and the staff was able to accommodate me for the duration of my visit even though the hotel was very busy. February 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment Tiny elevators size of a phone booth so two people with luggage cannot ride together; tiny room; could not adjust A/C - either hot and stuffy or bitter cold air blowing over you while you sleep; mattress and pillows uncomfortable; did not know pets allowed - awakened overnight by barking dog; asked for advice on nearby restaurants, but was simply given a list; so disappointed I used my SPG points to stay here 2 nights June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems I stay here a lot - I like the location and generally like the hotel but this time there were major problems. Room 439 : Heat malfunctioning - either too hot or too cold, hard to get a good night's sleep, pull on shade broke off, bathroom fixtures need repair, no decent water pressure in the shower. Quality of the food at breakfast was poor. Pastries hard as a rock, stale. No excuse for this ina city with good bakeries nearby. April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel Convenient location in Harvard Square. Away from high traffic. The remodeled club level lounge is great. September 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service, great place We found ourselves at the last minute needing a place to stay in Cambridge with an accessible bathroom. The staff here was unbelievably helpful and kind. While the purpose of our visit--getting our injured son back to school and situated back in Cambridge--was not fun, the location, the facility and the staff made our stay as good as it possibly could have been. We look forward to a visit that is just for pleasure sometime soon. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short visit In town to visit my daughter and her wife in Cambridge. First time at this hotel. Great location; well done guest room; surprisingly quiet and restful (there were weddings at the hotel and my room was right by the elevators - none of that a problem). Good value. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel I was very surprised by the size of the room and how quite the room was. The bathroom was extremely small. The lounge/computer area was very modern and clean. I will definitely stay again. Lots of restaurants and cafes in the area. Lots of shopping. We dined at the Red House restaurant twice. Loved it! August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, reasonable rate... great stay. The location couldn't have been better. 2 blocks from Harvard Sq. and campus. Walking distance to all bars and restaurants. The room was clean, the housekeeping staff did an excellent job of respecting my wishes when I didn't need the room cleaned. The staff was friendly, informative and accommodating. My only complaint is that breakfast in the dining room is a little pricey even by today's standards, but the food is good. August 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by What's with the bathroom? I've stayed at the Sheraton Commander twice in two weeks. Both visits were great. The hotel has many nice features, my favorite is a decent size fitness center that was clean and stocked with newer equipment. I have only one complaint, the bathroom size during my second week was too small. Let's be honest, when traveling for business, you don't need a large bathroom. However, when you cannot open the door fully, because it hits the commode, I mean really, the hotel believes that's acceptable? And when using it, the toilet roll holder is hitting you in the chest, because the entire commode is too close to the wall. This was room 417, and the architects worked hard to fit this room into a hole in the floor plan, and the bathroom, along with unsuspecting guests are the victims. The hotel is great otherwise, just avoid these trap rooms, and you'll have a great stay. November 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the price The hotel was nice and had a lot of potential but unless you are one of their SPGs, they don't care about you. For the price, parking was not included, nor was even a simple breakfast. The staff was very friendly while they thought you were a reward member, once they found out I wasn't they simply answered my questions to get me out of the way. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great sleeping! Not a review but a suggestion for room improvement: Soap Dish in shower not functional; fills with water so cannot leave soap, etc. in it. Remove and add one higher up that DRAINS so it can be used. Also in bathroom and powder room - need to have wastebaskets. There were none and we took the ones in the room and moved them which left no basket (except recycling one) in the desk area. Beds, linens are excellent!!! October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, but showing its age a little. Great hotel, stayed there before. Enjoyed our stay, but the hotel is starting to show its age a little. Heating system was very loud and "clangy", knew every time it came on and went off. Hot water in the bathroom sink and shower took a loooong time to get warm. Staff, as usual, was excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was fine, and the location, if you're visiting ART at Harvard, can't be beat. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you for your responsiveness We have stayed here comfortably several times. This is the first time we have encountered a glitch, in this case with the A/C in our room on arrival, and we were very pleased with your responsiveness in relocating us. We have always appreciated your efforts in de-feathering our room. Too bad to give up the lovely down accessories, but they don't agree with us and you have always responded. Thanks. August 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and convenient I needed to be close to Harvard Law School, and the location was perfect. The room was spacious and comfortable, and a short walk to Harvard Square provided access to restaurants, the Coop and general retail. I would stay at this hotel again. It may not be spanking new, but has plenty of charm. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A much needed restful sleep. Nice room at a good price We were in Cambridge to help our daughter move out of her dorm and take her home for the summer. We would not think of staying anywhere else. The staff is friendly, the rooms comfortable and you can not beat the location for a Harvard parent, with a 5 minute walk to Harvard Square. We had two busy days of packing and moving boxes and we enjoyed the peace and comfort of the hotel. May 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location near Harvard with unique rooms The location couldn't be beat. The property is only a 5 minute walk from Harvard Yard. There are tons of restaurants close by, and the hotel is close to the T and the bus. I read some of the reviews that complained about internet speed and slow elevators. I did not find problems with either one. The internet worked at a fair speed for email and downloading files. The elevators are not speedy, but hotel only has six floors. If they were faster, would I save 30 seconds from the lobby to the sixth floor? The hotel rooms are unique, but they are updated and are very comfortable. The club lounge had hot food during the evening and at breakfast (in addition to fruit, etc.). The lounge was not nearly as crowded as I'm used to from other properties, and the service was excellent. In short, I had a very pleasant stay at a reasonable price. I'll definitely come back here if I need to be in this part of Cambridge. December 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old style hotel near Harvard This Sheraton could easily have been branded as Luxury Collection. The restaurant offers a surprising variety with lots of southern accents. The hotel does not have a pool and the blinds in the room look nice but fail to keep the room dark early in the morning. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ELEGANT HOME AWAY FROM HOME This is my favorite place to stay in the Boston area. Proximity to Harvard Square (for walking around and casual shopping and time at the Coop bookstore) and to public transporation for trips into Boston are attractive to me. Most importantly, from the moment you walk through the door, you are WELCOMED. This is a hotel that embraces the notion of true hospitality. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super location! We stayed at the Sheraton Commander because it is close to our son's apartment in Cambridge. We were able to walk almost everywhere, and the T was close by as well. The room was very clean and spacious. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again on our next visit. The staff was incredibly helpful. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 41 years I first stayed here in 1972, when I began working for the DOT in Washington. On the trip up to Boston, my host at the DOT Transportation Systems Center recommended the Commander. Close to TSC, Harvard Square and the MBTA. I have since stayed there both on business and pleasure with my family. The hotel still provides the same satisfaction that it did earlier. September 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I Know You Can Do Better Room smelled like pesticides. Shower water pressure was among the worst I've seen. Took 3 tries to get someone on the phone to schedule a wake up call. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Courtesy at its best!!! My stay at the Sheraton was wonderful! The overall staff was courteous, pleasant, and professional. The rooms and bathrooms were quite spacious and comfortable. Refrigerators, when needed and requested were not readily available, however. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positive Experience This hotel was in the heart of the Harvard campus. Everything was what you would expect of an SPG hotel; friendly and accommodating staff, and large and comfortable rooms. My only complaints are related to the parking being difficult to locate (I came at night) and there is no starbucks on property (personal preference). Otherwise my stay was great!!!! November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a lot more work Staying at the Commander was like going back in time, not in a good way though... The elevator is tiny, the decor is very dated, the rooms are big but again very dated but the prices are still high to stay here so I would not recommend this hotel to others at this time. There seems to be construction on some floors but they have a long way to go. March 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was convenient We were visiting colleges in the area and this hotel was conveniently located. Given the city location, I was not surprised that parking would be limited. However, I was not made aware that there would be an additional charge to park with the hotel. I was also disappointed that the hotel was unwilling to accept my AAA card and discount my room rate. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet and Helpful Staff Just had an amazing three night stay. The lounge and front desk staff were sweet and knowledgeable. Also had a complementary upgrade with champagne + chocolates because of our to celebrate a special occasion. I've stayed in comparable and more "luxurious" places before, and the attention to detail this time just totally surpassed all expectations. January 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>