Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 222 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Hotel Just superb place to put up on vacation June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location for Everything Boston! Great location for a great Boston weekend. Fantastic hotel with a comfort and charm that comes with age. Solid walls - no noise and extremely comfortable room. Location is great, just a couple blocks from Harvard Square and the T. Definitely take advantage of the T. You can get anywhere in Boston from this hotel very easily. Be sure to spend time exploring Harvard and the Square! The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful with suggestions and advice. Had limited opportunity to check out food and beverage - but what we did try was great. Thanks to the entire staff for a very peasant stay. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeding Expectations We have happily stayed at The Commander many times during our daughter's time at Harvard. But the wonderful hospitality in the form of complimentary ice cream, Bailey's and coffee, champagne and strawberries, chocolate fountain, photos, and gifts of the charming Dr. Seuss book and photo mug... WOW! All of this combined with the warmth of the staff made this the BEST place to stay for graduation. You made this once in a lifetime occasion even more special. Thank you!!! June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Happiness We have always been happy during our many stays in Cambridge at the Commander. The location is perfect, the staff are very supportive and attentive, and the facilities mix old school charm and quirkiness with modern supports and comfort. June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient to Harvard This nicely appointed hotel is close to Harvard but is also a quiet place to stay. The club room is well provisioned and competently managed. The dining room is surprisingly good May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff, excellent location. We went to attend my sisters graduation. We had a great weekend due to the great service and comfort provided by your staff and facilities. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by night away Our check in was great efficient and upgraded which is rare in this area. I would say the only negative about this hotel is housekeeping. I had a 4 pm check out and starting at 3:15 pm they were calling our room. After that they stood outside our door where we could hear them. It was particularly stressful as my boyfriend had an upset stomach so I was packing up on my own. The location to Harvard Square is perfect and the food around is great. May 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why Amenities at the $60 Day's End accommodation? I have no idea what "SPG" means. Why would you use abbreviations for a survey with the general public?....When I get later in survey prompted to check Starwood preferred status, so learned what SPG means. Your communications incompetence is compounded when you use an acronym I don't recognize for a group I belong to!! At the rates you charge, the least one can expect is for you to provide mouthwash and a shower cap! More outrageous is the fact that your TripleA write up says that guest's amenity is a choice of newsapers, but the staff tell guests they are not complementary, like most high-class hotels, you pay for a newspaper like anyone else buying at the store! Do you ever stay at your competitor's even middle-level accommodations? You should try it; see what your competitors offer!! Staff never gave me the answer I wanted to expected when I had a question. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A much needed restful sleep. Nice room at a good price We were in Cambridge to help our daughter move out of her dorm and take her home for the summer. We would not think of staying anywhere else. The staff is friendly, the rooms comfortable and you can not beat the location for a Harvard parent, with a 5 minute walk to Harvard Square. We had two busy days of packing and moving boxes and we enjoyed the peace and comfort of the hotel. May 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is falling apart Very poor water pressure in the sink. Minimal hot water in sink. Hallway smells like a locker room. Air conditioner has a mind of its own. Aside from its great location no one would want to stay here. May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A local Cambridge hotel this is a great Harvard Square hotel option. May 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by could be better the room heating system needs upgrading very loud at night otherwise a great location and nice staff. but for sleeping not good. May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by why can't the TVs work? I have stayed at the Sheraton Commander more times than I can count. The rooms are very well kept and, as I have frequent business in Harvard Square, I will keep coming back. So I offer the following constructive criticism as a long-term customer... How hard is it to make the TVs at this place work properly? In my room, the remote had problems. The channel up/channel down button didn't work, so I had to type the digits in to get the channel to change. Plus, the Bruins were on TV the night I was there, and the TV in the room did not have the channel (how is that possible?). Then, in the exercise room, I used three different pieces of equipment--the (one) recumbent bike, the (one) upright bike, and one of the treadmills--and the TV had problems on each piece of equipment (eg, no picture at all, the picture very fuzzy, and/or the sound doesn't work). I think a quality brand like the Sheraton would be able to address such problems. But like I said--this hotel gets the basics right (room, bed) so I will be back. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a great location The hotel has a fantastic location for anyone who has work in Harvard. The staff are proactive and responsive. I really enjoyed staying there. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Service The Sheraton Commander is an outstanding hotel - comfortable, well appointed, but what marks it as a must-stay place is its service. I was given a SPG room on the first night, but , on the second, there was a noisy high school dance on the floor beneath me. The staff immediately moved me to a different, but equally luxurious room, where I got a great night's sleep. The mark of greatness is when the staff takes care of the unexpected. Bravo. April 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems I stay here a lot - I like the location and generally like the hotel but this time there were major problems. Room 439 : Heat malfunctioning - either too hot or too cold, hard to get a good night's sleep, pull on shade broke off, bathroom fixtures need repair, no decent water pressure in the shower. Quality of the food at breakfast was poor. Pastries hard as a rock, stale. No excuse for this ina city with good bakeries nearby. April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location I was very disappointed that no one alerted us that there was construction going on in the hotel. The noise was very annoying and non-stop. I think it's best that you give your guests a heads up. The price of the room was steep to be having to deal with the noise level. I have stayed here before and love the location and the hotel itself but this visit was disappointing. I was in town for the marathon which itself was certainly a positive experience. April 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The location is excellent - otherwise unwelcoming I wanted to love this hotel. It is an excellent location for business trip to Harvard. I just had to walk a block and I was there. But I did not love it. There was no warm welcome upon arrival - in fact no welcome at all. Reception is tiny and there was a line. The check in person did not go out of her way to be welcoming or helpful, just to tell me that there was no shot for the upgrade I asked for. Throughout our entire stay there was not one friendly encounter with staff. They were generally not to be seen and certainly avoided any interaction with us when we were around a staff person. As mentioned in other reviews of this hotel the elevators are laughably small. It is an old building so I guess there is nothing for that. The rooms are tiny too as is the bathroom. Most channels on the TV were not HD. The decor in the room was outdated. The room was clean thank goodness and nothing was broken. Overall it was a not a memorable stay and bordered on unpleasant sorry to say. April 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff is great the staff was really wonderful, kind and responsive. bed and sheets very nice. very clean. a bit of moldy smell in hallways. April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy + malfunctioning AC I came up here for my 5th law school reunion. The first night, them thermostat didn't work at all and the room was sweltering. The second night I called maintenance and it turned out the AC unit had been turned off by pressing a button on the plug. The next two nights the AC was noisy and kept me and my wife awake. I will not return. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Commander Great location, friendly staff, cool historical building. April 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude and direspectful staff The receptionists were very rude and disrespectful. They wouldn't let me get into my husband's room even though he let them know in the morning that I was arriving in the afternoon. They didn't even want to see my ID with the same last name & address. They insisted that my husband (who was at the conference) calls them and even then, they would not trust that it was him. That's really the last thing that you would expect as a welcome at the hotel after a long trip when you have only an hour to freshen up and get ready for the day. My husband and I do this at least 20 times a year (me or him checking in later than the other) and I never encountered such a rude and disrespectful behavior. It rather belongs to some kind of a hotel that rents rooms on hourly basis. I stayed in this hotel numerous times, and I noticed that the quality went down drastically lately. The staff definitely needs some training in basic civility and manners. Not to mention that they would certainly be issued a DOB violation (if it happened to be in NYC) for the pervasive smell of mold in the corridors. Definitely mine and my husband's last stay here. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service, great place We found ourselves at the last minute needing a place to stay in Cambridge with an accessible bathroom. The staff here was unbelievably helpful and kind. While the purpose of our visit--getting our injured son back to school and situated back in Cambridge--was not fun, the location, the facility and the staff made our stay as good as it possibly could have been. We look forward to a visit that is just for pleasure sometime soon. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Centrally Perfect Wonderful location, great staff and beautiful rooms. The food served was delicious and the presentation was excellent. We were there for a family event and everything was professionally handled. we'll be back March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a lot more work Staying at the Commander was like going back in time, not in a good way though... The elevator is tiny, the decor is very dated, the rooms are big but again very dated but the prices are still high to stay here so I would not recommend this hotel to others at this time. There seems to be construction on some floors but they have a long way to go. March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay great hotel. clean rooms, friendly staff, great location March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheila My thanks to the reception staff who were excellent. March 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, but showing its age a little. Great hotel, stayed there before. Enjoyed our stay, but the hotel is starting to show its age a little. Heating system was very loud and "clangy", knew every time it came on and went off. Hot water in the bathroom sink and shower took a loooong time to get warm. Staff, as usual, was excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was fine, and the location, if you're visiting ART at Harvard, can't be beat. February 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Room Overall I would recommend this hotel. The rooms were "comfy". There are only two caveats to this: first, The room heater is very very noisy - so much so that it will wake you out of a deep sleep when it comes on in the middle of the night. Second, I think the staff parking is on the side of the building. If your room heater is on and a car is running under your window, it pulls in the exhaust from the car... On the plus side, the room/bed/chairs were quite comfortable and I really liked how they have an umbrella in every room for emergencies. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay This is one of my favorite Starwood properties. Friendly service from the front desk to the hotel bar staff. With each visit I am reminded why I continue to choose Starwood when traveling for business. Looking forward to my next visit! January 31, 2014
  • 2016-08-29 T12:51:34.240-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_222, tr_222
  • loc_en_US, sid_607, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>