Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 176 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suites need improvement The suites should be an upgrade over a regular room, but are all on the front side of the hotel which is much noisier. I had asked for a quiet room having reserved a two bedroom suite so family could gather in the living room area. I was not only on front side but also directly under the executive lounge where breakfast set-up could be heard. In addition, it seems that the smallest bathrooms in the hotel are in the 2 BR suites where you could potentially have four people staying. The one BR suites and the ordinary rooms had more counter space and room to turn around. The huge conference table in the 2 BR suite is a waste of space. Better to have a second bathroom or a larger bathroom and a closet in the larger bedroom. The noise and size of bathroom were the biggest problems and would make me not get a 2 BR suite the next time. Some insulation of windows and reallocation of space would greatly improve things. Still it was nice to have the living room. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 41 years I first stayed here in 1972, when I began working for the DOT in Washington. On the trip up to Boston, my host at the DOT Transportation Systems Center recommended the Commander. Close to TSC, Harvard Square and the MBTA. I have since stayed there both on business and pleasure with my family. The hotel still provides the same satisfaction that it did earlier. September 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positive Experience This hotel was in the heart of the Harvard campus. Everything was what you would expect of an SPG hotel; friendly and accommodating staff, and large and comfortable rooms. My only complaints are related to the parking being difficult to locate (I came at night) and there is no starbucks on property (personal preference). Otherwise my stay was great!!!! November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was convenient We were visiting colleges in the area and this hotel was conveniently located. Given the city location, I was not surprised that parking would be limited. However, I was not made aware that there would be an additional charge to park with the hotel. I was also disappointed that the hotel was unwilling to accept my AAA card and discount my room rate. November 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Traffic & Construction The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I would have appreciated advanced notice of the construction being completed on the building. They started at 8:30am and were quite loud. Lastly, there is a ton of road construction in the area, so traffic was terrible. The hotel location was good for Harvard Square, but not anywhere I wanted to go. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A classic hotel in historic Cambridge I basically lived in the Sheraton Commander for three weeks. It was very pleasant - overall I have never had a better stay at any other hotel. The staff was conscientious and very helpful. The rooms were immaculate and pleasantly furnished. I will definitely stay again any time I need to return to Cambridge. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service Not feeling warm and fuzzy as a Starwood Preferred member. Arrived early and were told we 'd be notified when our room was ready. We were not notified. At 3:05 we went back up to the counter and the hotel clerk wisely offerred us a smaller bed and upgraded is to Club level. The other clerk 20 minutes earlier had made no such offer. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay great hotel. clean rooms, friendly staff, great location March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This hotel was great from the very beginning. Upon check in we were upgraded to Jr. suites and still were able to use the concierge level. The staff was so nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff in the bar were also exceptional, as were the people in the breakfast room. The location is perfect. October 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Many historic features Overall, I would give this hotel a good review. It is an older hotel so do not expect outstanding features. My room definitely could have used some updating in regards to decorating & its bathroom, However, I have to say the mattress was great....so comfortable!! Also, noise factor & smell of room(OLD CARPET perhaps?).. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay This is one of my favorite Starwood properties. Friendly service from the front desk to the hotel bar staff. With each visit I am reminded why I continue to choose Starwood when traveling for business. Looking forward to my next visit! January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheila My thanks to the reception staff who were excellent. March 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location; Great Room; Improve Elevator! The hotel has vastly improved rooms,including new, fresh showers, nice beds and linens, nicely decorated. The restaurant and lobby are nice and historical. Howerver, There is an odor of mold in the corridors and the elevators need to be updated (faster, roomier). Staircase alternatives are very complicated! December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious service From the moment I arrived everyone was very welcoming, calm, and genuinely happy to help. Everything I inquired about was met with a polished and polite response. The restaurant had a great wine selection and again, even though the service was over a holiday weekend, everyone was helpful and very kind. November 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another pleasant stay at this Sheraton The Sheraton Commander is probably our favorite dog-friendly hotel in the USA. We stay here every Christmas season when visiting friends and family in the Boston area. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful. The rooms are always comfortable and elegant. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! I just stayed here for one night. The staff was excellent. The room was great...roomy, comfy and niclely appointed. They have an impressive workout room as well. I am attending an executive education program at the Kennedy School and this is very close. I will stay here again upon my return. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Quality As we arrived, staff immmediately welcomed us ,asked us if we needed help with our luggage etc. Gorgeous suite. Excellent service at NuBar. Always asking if we needed anything. Loved our stay. Would definitely stay again and recommend hotel. Wedding accomodations perfect!! Thank you all. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Harvard square, so location is excellent. The hotel is exactly what one would expect from Sheraton...immaculate and excellent service. The beds are exceptionally comfortable.Rooms are spacious enough for a roll-away. The fitness center is well equipped. September 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary service The old world character and service of this property reminded us of places we have enjoyed in London and new York. A perfect fit for Cambridge with a staff exceeded themselves with getting us into a room quite early and even upgrading us. Their extra effort made for a perfect stay. October 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is not SPG points friendly The hotel is quite nice for its age, and its location is excellent. The SPG club was well stocked and comfortable. Our problems with the hotel were that we found whisker clippings in the sheets and we were shunted to a less desirable room because we used points to pay for our stay. July 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good time at Sheraton Commander Comfortable hotel at Harvard Sq. Rooms were clean, comfortable beds, good pillows and towels. Restaurant better than average Desk staff was inconsistent in its service, but other staff good. Rooms were a bit dark and water flow in sinks light (water savers?) December 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander, Boston Perfect location for visiting Harvard University and nearby area. Clean hotel very very helpful staff. Breakfast somewhat expensive at $17 per head. Easy subway connections to Boston downtown. Much better value for money than staying in similar facility in Boston itself. June 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but noisy Overall the hotel is very excellent. My only complaint is the in-room climate control system was noisy to the point that I suspect it was broken. It woke me up every time it kicked on. I tried sleeping with it turned off but it got way too cold. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient location The primary reason of our visit was Harvard, and the hotel is the perfect place. Close to the University, restaurants, walking distance to everywhere in Cambridge. Clean, spacious, great staff. We have made reservations on this hotel for all of our visits to Harvard. September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by exceptiionally helpful staff from sara on the club floors patient efficient and smiling service to the helpful desk staff who assisted when my husband fell and we required an additional day at the Commander, I can't say enough positive about the staff and my stay December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel close to Harvard We have stayed here many times, and are never disappointed. The hotel offers real value -- clean and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, graceful lobby, new equipment in the gym, and gracious helpful staff. We will definitely be back. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent hotel Ive stayed here over a hundred times, so I can't say it doesn't do the job. However like so many of the older Sheratons the internet connection really needs an upgrade. Id swear sometimes that they have the whole hotel running on a single dialup connection October 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay This hotel is very accommodating, we loved the club lounge, and the staff are all very helpful. We brought our dog with us and the staff was friendly and welcoming. Overall, we truly enjoy our stay. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large room! We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. We had a room with two double beds. It had lots of light (3 windows), very comfy. Friendly staff. The internet was a bit irregular. That is my only reason for one less star on expectations. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great city hotel- We were delighted. This place is old, and well-kept . I'd say elegant even. It is a welcome relief from cookie-cutter hotels one finds in many cities now. The staff was warm and friendly, the whole place clean and welcoming. November 21, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>