Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was convenient We were visiting colleges in the area and this hotel was conveniently located. Given the city location, I was not surprised that parking would be limited. However, I was not made aware that there would be an additional charge to park with the hotel. I was also disappointed that the hotel was unwilling to accept my AAA card and discount my room rate. November 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG Guest Hello, My overall complaint is how I was treated as an SPG member. I was on a business trip with multiple SPG members all which were treated like SPG members and I was not. For example my colleague is an SPG member and has only accumulated 1000 points, but he had access to the SPG lounge. If you look at my Activity I have built up quite a bit of points. Needless to say, every other hotel I have stayed at I have received the SPG status except for the Sheraton Commander. I will be traveling back to the Boston area, but I don't think I'll be staying an SPG hotel unless we can get this rectified for the next time. I don't hear from anyone on this matter I will assume that it won't be resolved and I'll plan on booking my hotel elsewhere. November 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Placed a family above a nightclub atmosphere We have stayed at this hotel many, many times before and always gave it a great rating. However, our stay this time left us very disappointed. They booked a function that was extremely loud and actually had guests stay in the rooms immediately above the function. We heard the beat of the music until very early in the morning. There were 2 children in our party, and this was totally unacceptable when there were other rooms that would have been more quiet. Perhaps the guests at the function could have had the rooms, since they would have gone to bed after the music ended. When reported to the front desk, the lady had a "I could care less attitude" November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but very noisy Here are the details... We checked in a little earlier (2:00 PM) which was nice. Although my Gold status was recognized I don't think I got an upgrade. Usually an upgrade is on the higher floors and we were placed on the second floor. While the room is very nice and clean (there's nothing they can do about the size of the bathrooms), the noise coming form the outside traffic was very loud. I had a hard time getting any sleep at all during the night because of the noise. Maybe on the higher floors is not that bad, but I think the lower floors need a window upgrade for a better soundproofing insulation. Restaurant and gym were very nice and if they fix the noise problem this would be a very charming hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Traffic & Construction The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I would have appreciated advanced notice of the construction being completed on the building. They started at 8:30am and were quite loud. Lastly, there is a ton of road construction in the area, so traffic was terrible. The hotel location was good for Harvard Square, but not anywhere I wanted to go. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location Food was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Great location .... minutes to the subway. November 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positive Experience This hotel was in the heart of the Harvard campus. Everything was what you would expect of an SPG hotel; friendly and accommodating staff, and large and comfortable rooms. My only complaints are related to the parking being difficult to locate (I came at night) and there is no starbucks on property (personal preference). Otherwise my stay was great!!!! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Cambridge Excellent comfortable Highest quality mattress and bedding. Parking on site and pleasant staff add to the quality experience of the Hotel, Outstanding buffet breakfast at NuBar(hotel Restaurant- made to order omlett too! November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by NYC Parent Great location; very close to Harvard Square. Good value; clean, comfortable rooms and a friendly staff. November 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed I am a gold starwoods member and didn't get access to the lounge area. What is the point of having gold status? It was also noisy due to a halloween party the same night i stayed. Don't recommend staying here. October 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great staff but hotel facilities needs lots of work The staff here is very friendly and efficient. However, the hotel itself needs serious refurbishment. Also,the floor between the room and bathroom has a serious unevenness which is quite dangerous. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great sleeping! Not a review but a suggestion for room improvement: Soap Dish in shower not functional; fills with water so cannot leave soap, etc. in it. Remove and add one higher up that DRAINS so it can be used. Also in bathroom and powder room - need to have wastebaskets. There were none and we took the ones in the room and moved them which left no basket (except recycling one) in the desk area. Beds, linens are excellent!!! October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by moishe Convenient for Harvard events October 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor rooms, poor service Hello - I stayed in room 606. 1) The sink water pressure was too low during my stay - shaving and washing my face were very difficult. 2) When the bathroom fogs up, the words "I see you" can be clearly seen written across the mirror - clever prank but freaky none-the-less. 3) I was told at check in that I don't need to call for a cab in advance because they are lined up outside all morning, but when I went out to get a cab there were none. 4) The doorman tried to radio the front desk to call for a cab and then went inside but never came out. I waited around for a while and finally found a cab going by. I did appreciate the breakfast and thought the room and common areas were nice and clean, but overall I'll be staying elsewhere next time. October 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loud! Road noise! Unbearable! Reserved a King Size bed months in advance and a room off the street. Was put in a room overlooking the street and a queen size bed. Hallway was musty, smelled of mold. Don't stay here. October 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Embarrassing example of SPG hotel. Plastic cups in bathroom. Strong odor of mold/mildew in all elevators and hallways. This is completely unacceptable for any amount of money (never mind 16,000 SPG points). I am totally shocked and absolutely disgusted. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Most poorly designed hotel bathrooms ever The bathroom design is a disaster in every way. September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Proximity to Harvard's Campus Upsides: location near Harvard Yard; well-kept older hotel; comfortable beds; sunlight-blocking window treatments. Downsides: valet parking only; inattentive service at breakfast in Nubar, the on-site restaurant. September 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great advantages It is very well located, the atmosphere prepares you well for a visit to Harvard, staff is very friendly and helpful. September 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Definitely Older The hotel is going for an older feel which is not inline with my preferences. They have REALLY old small elevators, that take forever to come up to or down from the 6th fl. Again part of the charm of an old style hotel. The A/C unit would blow really hard/cold air directly across the bed as it was on the floor right next to the bed and there was no way to adjust it other then on/off. I had to cover the vents with pillows to redirect the air. The TV remote did not work, the wallpaper was starting to separate off the wall and the previous customer left the alarm on the clock set for 5 am so I got an unexpected wake up alarm. Look in the end not a terrible place just not for me given the other spg options September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 41 years I first stayed here in 1972, when I began working for the DOT in Washington. On the trip up to Boston, my host at the DOT Transportation Systems Center recommended the Commander. Close to TSC, Harvard Square and the MBTA. I have since stayed there both on business and pleasure with my family. The hotel still provides the same satisfaction that it did earlier. September 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good SPG hotel Start with the negative: I booked three separate reservations due to some schedule uncertainties, but the front desk combined two separate reservations when one of my roommates checked in. She combined the wrong two reservations so my suite upgrade got cancelled but fortunately I got the email notice, so I was able to call in and get the suite, although I told her I need a king size bed, I got two double beds when I checked in. It;'s all good from there. The roo was very nice and all my friends were happy with the hotel September 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Nice I was pleased with the facility overall. The elevators are small and soooo slow! They have a "go green" plan in place tied to your SPG points, but you have to redeem these cards at check out to get the points. I forgot to hand in the cards, so I didn't get my 500 points. Kinda hate that. I live by the philosophy, "Just do it." If I say I want to do it, then just do it for me. Don't put these conditions on me getting the points. Cheapens the effect IMHO. September 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Many historic features Overall, I would give this hotel a good review. It is an older hotel so do not expect outstanding features. My room definitely could have used some updating in regards to decorating & its bathroom, However, I have to say the mattress was great....so comfortable!! Also, noise factor & smell of room(OLD CARPET perhaps?).. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service Not feeling warm and fuzzy as a Starwood Preferred member. Arrived early and were told we 'd be notified when our room was ready. We were not notified. At 3:05 we went back up to the counter and the hotel clerk wisely offerred us a smaller bed and upgraded is to Club level. The other clerk 20 minutes earlier had made no such offer. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Changing the bedding made the bed less comfortable I always thought the Sheraton bedding provided an extremely comfortable night's sleep. For some reason, the hotel changed the duvet and replaced it with one that is heavy and, even more importantly, slips off the bed constantly. This significantly impacted my night's sleep on 2 visits, leading me to downgrade my satisfaction with the overall rating as well as with the room comfort. I'd hoped that the problem was remedied after my first visit, which was why the facility did not meet my expectations. September 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few big problems. A/C was as loud as a truck all night long. At various times throughout the night, we had to turn the system off and on to get it to quiet it down. So although the bed and pillows were very comfortable, they were not enjoyed. Toilet and mirrors seemed to have been designed for very short people. Toilet appeared to be built for a child. I had to bend down to see my face in the mirror. The water pressure was so low, it made it difficult to shave. The wireless Internet connection was very week. I could not access the Internet on an Ipad. In conclusion, we left with very mixed feelings about this hotel. It is a wonderful location with a very "Cambridge"feel, but these details prevented us from having complete satisfaction. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay I would highly recommend this hotel for accomodations, staff and location! August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff comendation This was a return visit for my daughter and me. The staff couldn't have been more well informed or helpful. We dined at the hotel restaurant several times and followed the staff's recommendations to local restaurants. What can I say, I will be returning to a very comfortable home away from home. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Stay The service at the hotel is superb. The room is very accommodating and the staff are friendly and courteous. In the future this will be my hotel of choice. August 22, 2013
  • 2015-05-02T19:52:40.300-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_201, tr_201
  • loc_en_US, sid_607, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>