Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 166 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This hotel was great from the very beginning. Upon check in we were upgraded to Jr. suites and still were able to use the concierge level. The staff was so nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff in the bar were also exceptional, as were the people in the breakfast room. The location is perfect. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another pleasant stay at this Sheraton The Sheraton Commander is probably our favorite dog-friendly hotel in the USA. We stay here every Christmas season when visiting friends and family in the Boston area. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful. The rooms are always comfortable and elegant. December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Many historic features Overall, I would give this hotel a good review. It is an older hotel so do not expect outstanding features. My room definitely could have used some updating in regards to decorating & its bathroom, However, I have to say the mattress was great....so comfortable!! Also, noise factor & smell of room(OLD CARPET perhaps?).. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location; Great Room; Improve Elevator! The hotel has vastly improved rooms,including new, fresh showers, nice beds and linens, nicely decorated. The restaurant and lobby are nice and historical. Howerver, There is an odor of mold in the corridors and the elevators need to be updated (faster, roomier). Staircase alternatives are very complicated! December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious service From the moment I arrived everyone was very welcoming, calm, and genuinely happy to help. Everything I inquired about was met with a polished and polite response. The restaurant had a great wine selection and again, even though the service was over a holiday weekend, everyone was helpful and very kind. November 29, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good time at Sheraton Commander Comfortable hotel at Harvard Sq. Rooms were clean, comfortable beds, good pillows and towels. Restaurant better than average Desk staff was inconsistent in its service, but other staff good. Rooms were a bit dark and water flow in sinks light (water savers?) December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! I just stayed here for one night. The staff was excellent. The room was great...roomy, comfy and niclely appointed. They have an impressive workout room as well. I am attending an executive education program at the Kennedy School and this is very close. I will stay here again upon my return. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Quality As we arrived, staff immmediately welcomed us ,asked us if we needed help with our luggage etc. Gorgeous suite. Excellent service at NuBar. Always asking if we needed anything. Loved our stay. Would definitely stay again and recommend hotel. Wedding accomodations perfect!! Thank you all. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Harvard square, so location is excellent. The hotel is exactly what one would expect from Sheraton...immaculate and excellent service. The beds are exceptionally comfortable.Rooms are spacious enough for a roll-away. The fitness center is well equipped. September 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but noisy Overall the hotel is very excellent. My only complaint is the in-room climate control system was noisy to the point that I suspect it was broken. It woke me up every time it kicked on. I tried sleeping with it turned off but it got way too cold. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is not SPG points friendly The hotel is quite nice for its age, and its location is excellent. The SPG club was well stocked and comfortable. Our problems with the hotel were that we found whisker clippings in the sheets and we were shunted to a less desirable room because we used points to pay for our stay. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary service The old world character and service of this property reminded us of places we have enjoyed in London and new York. A perfect fit for Cambridge with a staff exceeded themselves with getting us into a room quite early and even upgrading us. Their extra effort made for a perfect stay. October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay This hotel is very accommodating, we loved the club lounge, and the staff are all very helpful. We brought our dog with us and the staff was friendly and welcoming. Overall, we truly enjoy our stay. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by exceptiionally helpful staff from sara on the club floors patient efficient and smiling service to the helpful desk staff who assisted when my husband fell and we required an additional day at the Commander, I can't say enough positive about the staff and my stay December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel close to Harvard We have stayed here many times, and are never disappointed. The hotel offers real value -- clean and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, graceful lobby, new equipment in the gym, and gracious helpful staff. We will definitely be back. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander, Boston Perfect location for visiting Harvard University and nearby area. Clean hotel very very helpful staff. Breakfast somewhat expensive at $17 per head. Easy subway connections to Boston downtown. Much better value for money than staying in similar facility in Boston itself. June 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient location The primary reason of our visit was Harvard, and the hotel is the perfect place. Close to the University, restaurants, walking distance to everywhere in Cambridge. Clean, spacious, great staff. We have made reservations on this hotel for all of our visits to Harvard. September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great city hotel- We were delighted. This place is old, and well-kept . I'd say elegant even. It is a welcome relief from cookie-cutter hotels one finds in many cities now. The staff was warm and friendly, the whole place clean and welcoming. November 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent hotel Ive stayed here over a hundred times, so I can't say it doesn't do the job. However like so many of the older Sheratons the internet connection really needs an upgrade. Id swear sometimes that they have the whole hotel running on a single dialup connection October 21, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid four-star hotel I was on the 6th or Club Floor, and found all my expectations and needs met by staff and facilities at that level. No surprises. Will stay again when Cambridge is my business destination. December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by comfortable elegant rooms This is a lovely hotel when you want to be near Harvard Square, especially in the winter. The staff is good, and the rooms are very nice, even if some are on the smallish side. December 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Cambridge Excellent comfortable Highest quality mattress and bedding. Parking on site and pleasant staff add to the quality experience of the Hotel, Outstanding buffet breakfast at NuBar(hotel Restaurant- made to order omlett too! November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large room! We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. We had a room with two double beds. It had lots of light (3 windows), very comfy. Friendly staff. The internet was a bit irregular. That is my only reason for one less star on expectations. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by College Visit Great work out room! Clean everything you could need. Great breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and made to order omeletes and great location. Especially liked the big red sign atop the hotel that always made it easy to find our way home. July 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Embarrassing example of SPG hotel. Plastic cups in bathroom. Strong odor of mold/mildew in all elevators and hallways. This is completely unacceptable for any amount of money (never mind 16,000 SPG points). I am totally shocked and absolutely disgusted. October 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed I am a gold starwoods member and didn't get access to the lounge area. What is the point of having gold status? It was also noisy due to a halloween party the same night i stayed. Don't recommend staying here. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Proximity to Harvard's Campus Upsides: location near Harvard Yard; well-kept older hotel; comfortable beds; sunlight-blocking window treatments. Downsides: valet parking only; inattentive service at breakfast in Nubar, the on-site restaurant. September 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loud! Road noise! Unbearable! Reserved a King Size bed months in advance and a room off the street. Was put in a room overlooking the street and a queen size bed. Hallway was musty, smelled of mold. Don't stay here. October 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great staff but hotel facilities needs lots of work The staff here is very friendly and efficient. However, the hotel itself needs serious refurbishment. Also,the floor between the room and bathroom has a serious unevenness which is quite dangerous. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rennovated old property - Slow elevators It's a classic, old building, decent room. But the old facility means that you often have to wait for a LONG time to get an elevator. Prices always feel steep - both for accommodation and food - but that's Cambridge. April 21, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>