Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 210 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Nice I was pleased with the facility overall. The elevators are small and soooo slow! They have a "go green" plan in place tied to your SPG points, but you have to redeem these cards at check out to get the points. I forgot to hand in the cards, so I didn't get my 500 points. Kinda hate that. I live by the philosophy, "Just do it." If I say I want to do it, then just do it for me. Don't put these conditions on me getting the points. Cheapens the effect IMHO. September 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Many historic features Overall, I would give this hotel a good review. It is an older hotel so do not expect outstanding features. My room definitely could have used some updating in regards to decorating & its bathroom, However, I have to say the mattress was comfortable!! Also, noise factor & smell of room(OLD CARPET perhaps?).. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service Not feeling warm and fuzzy as a Starwood Preferred member. Arrived early and were told we 'd be notified when our room was ready. We were not notified. At 3:05 we went back up to the counter and the hotel clerk wisely offerred us a smaller bed and upgraded is to Club level. The other clerk 20 minutes earlier had made no such offer. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Changing the bedding made the bed less comfortable I always thought the Sheraton bedding provided an extremely comfortable night's sleep. For some reason, the hotel changed the duvet and replaced it with one that is heavy and, even more importantly, slips off the bed constantly. This significantly impacted my night's sleep on 2 visits, leading me to downgrade my satisfaction with the overall rating as well as with the room comfort. I'd hoped that the problem was remedied after my first visit, which was why the facility did not meet my expectations. September 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few big problems. A/C was as loud as a truck all night long. At various times throughout the night, we had to turn the system off and on to get it to quiet it down. So although the bed and pillows were very comfortable, they were not enjoyed. Toilet and mirrors seemed to have been designed for very short people. Toilet appeared to be built for a child. I had to bend down to see my face in the mirror. The water pressure was so low, it made it difficult to shave. The wireless Internet connection was very week. I could not access the Internet on an Ipad. In conclusion, we left with very mixed feelings about this hotel. It is a wonderful location with a very "Cambridge"feel, but these details prevented us from having complete satisfaction. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay I would highly recommend this hotel for accomodations, staff and location! August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff comendation This was a return visit for my daughter and me. The staff couldn't have been more well informed or helpful. We dined at the hotel restaurant several times and followed the staff's recommendations to local restaurants. What can I say, I will be returning to a very comfortable home away from home. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Stay The service at the hotel is superb. The room is very accommodating and the staff are friendly and courteous. In the future this will be my hotel of choice. August 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Excellent location for Harvard University Our room on the 4th floor, and the hotel in general, were ok but definitely needs refurbishment. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Hotel in the Heart of Cambridge We stay at this lovely hotel whenever we are in the greater Boston area. The staff is efficient and professional and seems to be exactly the same whenever we visit. The property location, right on the edge of the Harvard campus, is optimal. The property has a number of interesting architectural elements which have been beautifully restored. This is a charming property! August 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Twice shy The good things about the Commander are: it's near the heart of Cambridge and George Washington did something nearby. There is a huge sign on top that says "Sheraton Commander" Bad things: It sort of smells There is a ton of road construction nearby right now The construction goes all night The whole place needs a face lift The staff is worn out and jaded It has extraordinarily small elevators It's overpriced I've been here twice and as all other Boston hotels were booked solid, I'm back here confirming my initial reaction that this place is busted. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel Stayed here for the first time on June 29, 2013. Was not greeted and thanked for being a Gold Member. Was not offered a choice of the 3 usual bonus items. I was upgraded to Club Level which is expected if available for Gold members. Was very impressed with the room and overall apperance of the hotel. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rennovated old property - Slow elevators It's a classic, old building, decent room. But the old facility means that you often have to wait for a LONG time to get an elevator. Prices always feel steep - both for accommodation and food - but that's Cambridge. April 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff is rude and egoist I have stayed complete of times there. But during my last stay in Feb 2013, I have decided not to ever stay in this hotel. Gentleman who checked in was rude. My partner was there earlier than me. So when he was checking in, SPG staff told him that since ' platinum memberr' is not with him, they cannot give any platinum services. He explained that 'platinum member', (writer of this review) will join in couple of hours, but that did not change staff decision. We are were not given access to the lounge. I have never seen that staff smile ever. Rooms are old and smelly. Carpets are dirty. Breakfast selection is poor. Heating is not very effective and very loud. Whole experience is lousy. I used to pick this place due to its proximity to Harvard. But I would rather travel a little bit rather than see rude staff at the end of my hard day. March 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just lovely This is a lovely place to stay and dinner was of the best quality on 12/29/12. My very best compliments to the chef who made the duck with faro and brussel sprouts and apple! December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location; Great Room; Improve Elevator! The hotel has vastly improved rooms,including new, fresh showers, nice beds and linens, nicely decorated. The restaurant and lobby are nice and historical. Howerver, There is an odor of mold in the corridors and the elevators need to be updated (faster, roomier). Staircase alternatives are very complicated! December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms Very small room with an even smaller bathroom. Not very comfortable. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Harvard Square treat Just returned from a stay at the Sheraton Commander...we got a very nice upgrade to a one bedroom suite...large living room with a nice two-double bed bedroom for myself and my business partner. My son, who lives in Boston, was with us for check-in and thought the hotel was quite nice compared with other hotels in Cambridge, and I agree! I like the Commander's old-style aura, superimposed on the current Sheraton overall brown color scheme...upgraded TV and baths with a nice club lounge and breakfast buffet... Highly recommended for it's Harvard/colonial ambiance and really comfortable rooms! December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very thoughtful staff In the busy world we live in where no one really seems to listen anymore, I was astonished by the kind and generous treatment initiated by the front desk staff when they heard that I was staying at the hotel under trying circumstances. Very thoughtful folks. December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Needs Updating Although situated in a great area, this hotel deeply needs updating. The rooms are old and completely from the 1980's. There is one elevator that is the size of a closet that is used as a main elevator. December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff and amenities were excellent the staff provided quality service and food, bedroom and any problem was solved immediately. November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ELEGANT HOME AWAY FROM HOME This is my favorite place to stay in the Boston area. Proximity to Harvard Square (for walking around and casual shopping and time at the Coop bookstore) and to public transporation for trips into Boston are attractive to me. Most importantly, from the moment you walk through the door, you are WELCOMED. This is a hotel that embraces the notion of true hospitality. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by What's with the bathroom? I've stayed at the Sheraton Commander twice in two weeks. Both visits were great. The hotel has many nice features, my favorite is a decent size fitness center that was clean and stocked with newer equipment. I have only one complaint, the bathroom size during my second week was too small. Let's be honest, when traveling for business, you don't need a large bathroom. However, when you cannot open the door fully, because it hits the commode, I mean really, the hotel believes that's acceptable? And when using it, the toilet roll holder is hitting you in the chest, because the entire commode is too close to the wall. This was room 417, and the architects worked hard to fit this room into a hole in the floor plan, and the bathroom, along with unsuspecting guests are the victims. The hotel is great otherwise, just avoid these trap rooms, and you'll have a great stay. November 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff The staff's friendliness and helpfulness is very appreciated. It makes my frequent stays for business much more tolerable. If I have to travel I am glad I have such a warm and friendly place to stay. November 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dowdy and Overpriced Truly an average hotel. Nothing special. The rooms dowdy and worn. There is plenty of space in the world for hotels that are two or three-star. There is nothing wrong with that. What sets the Commander apart is its ability and therefore willingness to charge twice what it is worth. And that is because of its location. It's too bad they don't recognize this opportunity to get great rates and, instead of merely keeping ALL the profits, perhaps reinvest some of it and make more of it in a better stay for the client. As a footnote: I was stranded there during the hurricane beyond the two nights I booked. The hotel had many vacant rooms. The only thing they would do for me was to "hold" the rate I booked under which was huge money per night. How thoughtful! I stayed one extra night and the fled the sub-standard Sheraton and went out to the airport which had a far superior property at one-half the price. So if location is the only criteria you have, money is abundant in your life and everything else decent near Harvard Square is booked, then the Sheraton Commander is your clear choice! November 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful!! Experience far surpassed our expectations. As a Starwood associate, I didn't expect such a great room (free upgrade!) for the amount paid. WOW! October 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary service The old world character and service of this property reminded us of places we have enjoyed in London and new York. A perfect fit for Cambridge with a staff exceeded themselves with getting us into a room quite early and even upgrading us. Their extra effort made for a perfect stay. October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large room! We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. We had a room with two double beds. It had lots of light (3 windows), very comfy. Friendly staff. The internet was a bit irregular. That is my only reason for one less star on expectations. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Accomidations for Boston Vaca! This hotel met all of my family's needs and more for our Boston vacation. Great location to enjoy Cambridge and connect to the rail. This Starwood property had all of the luxuries plus the old world charm!! October 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location & nice hotel My only two complaints would be the small elevator and the hotel was a little overpriced. I did however love the location in reference to Harvard. October 20, 2012
  • 2015-11-30 T08:26:53.533-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_210, tr_210
  • loc_en_US, sid_607, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>