Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 186 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by unique historical hotel what's bad: hotel has all the problems of very old building - small and very slow elevators; very small toilet rooms; clogged sinks; dirty carpets; noisy aircond systems what's good: historic interiors; location; food what's very good: service! June 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Accomidations for Boston Vaca! This hotel met all of my family's needs and more for our Boston vacation. Great location to enjoy Cambridge and connect to the rail. This Starwood property had all of the luxuries plus the old world charm!! October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just lovely This is a lovely place to stay and dinner was of the best quality on 12/29/12. My very best compliments to the chef who made the duck with faro and brussel sprouts and apple! December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Stay The service at the hotel is superb. The room is very accommodating and the staff are friendly and courteous. In the future this will be my hotel of choice. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by very comfortable hotel This was my first stay at the Sheraton Commander, and nothing disappointed. Location is great, and the room was wonderful. Services were also at high level. October 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Placed a family above a nightclub atmosphere We have stayed at this hotel many, many times before and always gave it a great rating. However, our stay this time left us very disappointed. They booked a function that was extremely loud and actually had guests stay in the rooms immediately above the function. We heard the beat of the music until very early in the morning. There were 2 children in our party, and this was totally unacceptable when there were other rooms that would have been more quiet. Perhaps the guests at the function could have had the rooms, since they would have gone to bed after the music ended. When reported to the front desk, the lady had a "I could care less attitude" November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super location! We stayed at the Sheraton Commander because it is close to our son's apartment in Cambridge. We were able to walk almost everywhere, and the T was close by as well. The room was very clean and spacious. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again on our next visit. The staff was incredibly helpful. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proximity This Hotel provides great proximity not only to Harvard University but also to the subway system into Boston. This is our second time using this Hotel and we will continue to utilize it in future trips to the Boston. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why Amenities at the $60 Day's End accommodation? I have no idea what "SPG" means. Why would you use abbreviations for a survey with the general public?....When I get later in survey prompted to check Starwood preferred status, so learned what SPG means. Your communications incompetence is compounded when you use an acronym I don't recognize for a group I belong to!! At the rates you charge, the least one can expect is for you to provide mouthwash and a shower cap! More outrageous is the fact that your TripleA write up says that guest's amenity is a choice of newsapers, but the staff tell guests they are not complementary, like most high-class hotels, you pay for a newspaper like anyone else buying at the store! Do you ever stay at your competitor's even middle-level accommodations? You should try it; see what your competitors offer!! Staff never gave me the answer I wanted to expected when I had a question. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good nights sleep My husband and I had a very comfortable stay when in town for a wedding. slept great! staff were wonderful. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Location, Friendly Staff, Quirky Rooms I frequently travel to Cambridge for business and I always try to stay at the Commander. Pros: Location. Can't beat being right next to the Cambridge Common and steps from Harvard Square. It's also an easy walk from the Harvard Red Line MBTA stop. Plenty of food and entertainment within easy walking distance. Staff. I've never waited more than 2 minutes to checkin at the Commander. Staff is always efficient and pleasant, especially Greg. I have a difficult to pronounce last name and he always remembers it correctly. In the once case when I had a problem with a room the front desk staff immediately moved me to another room and compensated with SPG points without being asked. Price. Compared to the other hotels in the Harvard Square area, the Commander is always competitive and often the best value. Rooms. This is an older hotel, but the rooms have been kept up nicely. I prefer not to have a cookie-cutter modern hotel layout, and the Commander has the perfect blend of unique rooms with modern amenities. The views are excellent if you get a room overlooking the Cambridge Common. SPG Recognition. As a Gold SPG member I've always been recognized and relatively often upgraded. The Commander has also participated in the SPG promos, which is increasingly rare in SPG hotels these days. Internet. Free wireless in every room. It's not super speedy, but certainly enough to get work done. Cons: Noise. Some of the rooms on the lower levels near the front of the hotel (Garden St.) can get a lot of street noise, especially the busses. It's not too bad, but if you are a light sleeper tell the front desk when you check in that you need a quieter room and they can put you in one away from the street. Elevators. These are some of the smallest, slowest elevators I've ever seen. Luckily the hotel doesn't have that many floors so it's not a huge deal. Overall this is a wonderful hotel that I frequently recommend to people who are planning stays in the Cambridge area. I've stayed in just about every hotel in the Harvard Square area, and this is the best. November 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quaint I like this hotel, it's quaint and old-worldly. Location is perfect for Cambridge. Yes, the hotel is old, and elevators aren't very fast at all, but it's part of its charm. I turned down an upgrade to a suite in favour of an early check in as I only stayed for a night. I really liked the Club Lounge here, as it was cozy and relaxing, with an espresso machine and good service. The room was nice, although I agree the bathroom was on the cramped side. Wifi, as well as cabled internet was not very fast at all, so there's room for improvement here. Also, front facing rooms suffer from noise as I don't think there is double-glazing. December 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average hotel with no wake up calls I spent 8 nights at the hotel; air conditioning problems and inattentive front desk; asked for someone to come fix the air conditioning and waited 45 minutes on a very hot afternoon for someone to come to my room and the person who came brought a a hair dryer! Obviously a mix-up. No one ever came to fix the air conditioner which was a window unit. I finally fixed it myself as no repair person was ever dispatched to the room even though I told the employee that they had mixed up the room numbers with a person who must have requested a hair dryer. The elevators are painfully slow and extraordinarily small. The final two insults were that I requested wake up calls at 4:15 and 4:30 am because I had a 7:00am flight out of Logan and I never got any call (thank goodness I set the alarm on my cell phone as a back-up) and when I returned home I found that the hotel had charged the entire stay on my credit card even though my room had already been charged to a master account for the group function I was attending. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Harvard Trip This hotel falls below the standard usually expected of Sheraton. Starting with the big illuminated sign outside where most of the letters are out. Room was not made up on first night of stay, food trash was not removed, bed made or bathroom cleaned. Front desk offered no explanation or compensation. Service in the restaurant was slow and inattentive - although food was good. Even for an old building, hotel displays its wear and verges on the shabby. June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment Tiny elevators size of a phone booth so two people with luggage cannot ride together; tiny room; could not adjust A/C - either hot and stuffy or bitter cold air blowing over you while you sleep; mattress and pillows uncomfortable; did not know pets allowed - awakened overnight by barking dog; asked for advice on nearby restaurants, but was simply given a list; so disappointed I used my SPG points to stay here 2 nights June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay in Cambridge I would likely have never foudn this gem if Boston hotels hadn't been sold out. A friend and I were stopping in Boston on the way back from other New England travel and couldn't find a room in Boston but got a room here. We were very happy when we saw the beautiful hotel! It is in a wonderful location and allowed us to do a lot of exploring around the local area. It is also very close to a Red Line stop so we could go over to Beacon Hill with no problem. The staff was friendly and we had no problems during out stay. The only thing is the elevator is REALLY small...like a closet. That was a little nerver wracking but certainly won't deter me from staying here again. September 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised After walking into the main lobby to check in, I was pleasantly surprised by my room. The room was spacious and clean and the temperature in the room was easily controlled. I had ample space and free in room Wi-Fi which was all I needed to keep up with my work while I was away at the conference. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeding Expectations We have happily stayed at The Commander many times during our daughter's time at Harvard. But the wonderful hospitality in the form of complimentary ice cream, Bailey's and coffee, champagne and strawberries, chocolate fountain, photos, and gifts of the charming Dr. Seuss book and photo mug... WOW! All of this combined with the warmth of the staff made this the BEST place to stay for graduation. You made this once in a lifetime occasion even more special. Thank you!!! June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Pleased My Most Unimpressable Friend While traveling around New England a friend and I decided to spend a night in Boston. All the hotels were sold out except for this gem in Cambridge. What serendipity! This hotel is beautiful and in a phenominal location. Not only is it very close to a Red Line stop (allowing my friend and I to explore Beacon Hill as we intended to do) but it is walking distance to everything you can possibly think of. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the staff is very polite. My friend can usually find fault with anything (the sky is too blue...) but she actually said she was disappointed that we were only staying a night because she loved the hotel. I will definitely stay here again! September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understaffed My only complaint was the hotel appeared to be understaffed at the front desk and check in took longer than necessary. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Older hotel and not too clean Hotel is in need of a better housekeeping staff. Rooms are not comfortable from an HVAC perspective. Bathrooms have wall heater unit. Rooms have older AC/Heat unit that blows directly over the beds - so either too hot or too cold. Fire alarm went off twice in one night - had to evacuate hotel and walk down 5 flights of stairs. Valet parking is a joke. You pay $30 a night to park your car in an uncovered lot at the end of the block and walk to the hotel. Calling for your car in the morning results in having to walk back to the lot to get it - they don't even bring it to the door. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Hotel Just superb place to put up on vacation June 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Definitely Older The hotel is going for an older feel which is not inline with my preferences. They have REALLY old small elevators, that take forever to come up to or down from the 6th fl. Again part of the charm of an old style hotel. The A/C unit would blow really hard/cold air directly across the bed as it was on the floor right next to the bed and there was no way to adjust it other then on/off. I had to cover the vents with pillows to redirect the air. The TV remote did not work, the wallpaper was starting to separate off the wall and the previous customer left the alarm on the clock set for 5 am so I got an unexpected wake up alarm. Look in the end not a terrible place just not for me given the other spg options September 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but very noisy Here are the details... We checked in a little earlier (2:00 PM) which was nice. Although my Gold status was recognized I don't think I got an upgrade. Usually an upgrade is on the higher floors and we were placed on the second floor. While the room is very nice and clean (there's nothing they can do about the size of the bathrooms), the noise coming form the outside traffic was very loud. I had a hard time getting any sleep at all during the night because of the noise. Maybe on the higher floors is not that bad, but I think the lower floors need a window upgrade for a better soundproofing insulation. Restaurant and gym were very nice and if they fix the noise problem this would be a very charming hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few big problems. A/C was as loud as a truck all night long. At various times throughout the night, we had to turn the system off and on to get it to quiet it down. So although the bed and pillows were very comfortable, they were not enjoyed. Toilet and mirrors seemed to have been designed for very short people. Toilet appeared to be built for a child. I had to bend down to see my face in the mirror. The water pressure was so low, it made it difficult to shave. The wireless Internet connection was very week. I could not access the Internet on an Ipad. In conclusion, we left with very mixed feelings about this hotel. It is a wonderful location with a very "Cambridge"feel, but these details prevented us from having complete satisfaction. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Swim weekend This hotel, while not having the typical hotel appearance (built in 1927), the accomadations were exactly what we expect with a Sheraton!! Staff was very helpful from the time we arrived late in evening to a late check out.!! The only downside were the elevators, small and slow, but for a 1927 structure, more than adequate. The Club lounge efor SPG members was always stocked and attended. entire facility was kept clean and spotless. We've been in the SPG family almost 5 years now and so happy we did!!. the SC hotel contributed to wonderful weekend in Boston!! December 10, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Room Overall I would recommend this hotel. The rooms were "comfy". There are only two caveats to this: first, The room heater is very very noisy - so much so that it will wake you out of a deep sleep when it comes on in the middle of the night. Second, I think the staff parking is on the side of the building. If your room heater is on and a car is running under your window, it pulls in the exhaust from the car... On the plus side, the room/bed/chairs were quite comfortable and I really liked how they have an umbrella in every room for emergencies. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Happiness We have always been happy during our many stays in Cambridge at the Commander. The location is perfect, the staff are very supportive and attentive, and the facilities mix old school charm and quirkiness with modern supports and comfort. June 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG Guest Hello, My overall complaint is how I was treated as an SPG member. I was on a business trip with multiple SPG members all which were treated like SPG members and I was not. For example my colleague is an SPG member and has only accumulated 1000 points, but he had access to the SPG lounge. If you look at my Activity I have built up quite a bit of points. Needless to say, every other hotel I have stayed at I have received the SPG status except for the Sheraton Commander. I will be traveling back to the Boston area, but I don't think I'll be staying an SPG hotel unless we can get this rectified for the next time. I don't hear from anyone on this matter I will assume that it won't be resolved and I'll plan on booking my hotel elsewhere. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A much needed restful sleep. Nice room at a good price We were in Cambridge to help our daughter move out of her dorm and take her home for the summer. We would not think of staying anywhere else. The staff is friendly, the rooms comfortable and you can not beat the location for a Harvard parent, with a 5 minute walk to Harvard Square. We had two busy days of packing and moving boxes and we enjoyed the peace and comfort of the hotel. May 18, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>