Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good nights sleep My husband and I had a very comfortable stay when in town for a wedding. slept great! staff were wonderful. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proximity This Hotel provides great proximity not only to Harvard University but also to the subway system into Boston. This is our second time using this Hotel and we will continue to utilize it in future trips to the Boston. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super location! We stayed at the Sheraton Commander because it is close to our son's apartment in Cambridge. We were able to walk almost everywhere, and the T was close by as well. The room was very clean and spacious. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again on our next visit. The staff was incredibly helpful. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff I cannot say enough about the professionalism of the staff of the Sheraton Commander, especially Stefanie Richardson. My recent visit to assist two grand children enroll at Harvard Summer School went flawlessly due to the staff and location of the Commander. All requests were handled in a timely manner and employees were polite and cheerful. I met Michael Guleserian, Gen'l Mgr, in the elevator and commented on his well-run establishment and great employees. Will ALWAYS return to his hotel on future visits to the Boston area. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average hotel with no wake up calls I spent 8 nights at the hotel; air conditioning problems and inattentive front desk; asked for someone to come fix the air conditioning and waited 45 minutes on a very hot afternoon for someone to come to my room and the person who came brought a a hair dryer! Obviously a mix-up. No one ever came to fix the air conditioner which was a window unit. I finally fixed it myself as no repair person was ever dispatched to the room even though I told the employee that they had mixed up the room numbers with a person who must have requested a hair dryer. The elevators are painfully slow and extraordinarily small. The final two insults were that I requested wake up calls at 4:15 and 4:30 am because I had a 7:00am flight out of Logan and I never got any call (thank goodness I set the alarm on my cell phone as a back-up) and when I returned home I found that the hotel had charged the entire stay on my credit card even though my room had already been charged to a master account for the group function I was attending. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised After walking into the main lobby to check in, I was pleasantly surprised by my room. The room was spacious and clean and the temperature in the room was easily controlled. I had ample space and free in room Wi-Fi which was all I needed to keep up with my work while I was away at the conference. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just a few minor details Overall, I had a lovely stay here. There were only a few minor issues. 1. First, I was told the "going green" option was simply that they don't change your linens. Not true - they don't clean your room at all, not even taking out the trash. Fine - just something to know. 2. Then there were a couple design flaws in the bathroom - the soap dish in the shower doesn't drain, so it just fills with water and makes the bar soap gross. And the tissue box on the counter was wet (because the counter had likely gotten wet at some point, and it's a cardboard box), so the tissues all came out damp. Just minor things to consider fixing. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment Tiny elevators size of a phone booth so two people with luggage cannot ride together; tiny room; could not adjust A/C - either hot and stuffy or bitter cold air blowing over you while you sleep; mattress and pillows uncomfortable; did not know pets allowed - awakened overnight by barking dog; asked for advice on nearby restaurants, but was simply given a list; so disappointed I used my SPG points to stay here 2 nights June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understaffed My only complaint was the hotel appeared to be understaffed at the front desk and check in took longer than necessary. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Harvard Trip This hotel falls below the standard usually expected of Sheraton. Starting with the big illuminated sign outside where most of the letters are out. Room was not made up on first night of stay, food trash was not removed, bed made or bathroom cleaned. Front desk offered no explanation or compensation. Service in the restaurant was slow and inattentive - although food was good. Even for an old building, hotel displays its wear and verges on the shabby. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Hotel Just superb place to put up on vacation June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location for Everything Boston! Great location for a great Boston weekend. Fantastic hotel with a comfort and charm that comes with age. Solid walls - no noise and extremely comfortable room. Location is great, just a couple blocks from Harvard Square and the T. Definitely take advantage of the T. You can get anywhere in Boston from this hotel very easily. Be sure to spend time exploring Harvard and the Square! The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful with suggestions and advice. Had limited opportunity to check out food and beverage - but what we did try was great. Thanks to the entire staff for a very peasant stay. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeding Expectations We have happily stayed at The Commander many times during our daughter's time at Harvard. But the wonderful hospitality in the form of complimentary ice cream, Bailey's and coffee, champagne and strawberries, chocolate fountain, photos, and gifts of the charming Dr. Seuss book and photo mug... WOW! All of this combined with the warmth of the staff made this the BEST place to stay for graduation. You made this once in a lifetime occasion even more special. Thank you!!! June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Happiness We have always been happy during our many stays in Cambridge at the Commander. The location is perfect, the staff are very supportive and attentive, and the facilities mix old school charm and quirkiness with modern supports and comfort. June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient to Harvard This nicely appointed hotel is close to Harvard but is also a quiet place to stay. The club room is well provisioned and competently managed. The dining room is surprisingly good May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff, excellent location. We went to attend my sisters graduation. We had a great weekend due to the great service and comfort provided by your staff and facilities. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by night away Our check in was great efficient and upgraded which is rare in this area. I would say the only negative about this hotel is housekeeping. I had a 4 pm check out and starting at 3:15 pm they were calling our room. After that they stood outside our door where we could hear them. It was particularly stressful as my boyfriend had an upset stomach so I was packing up on my own. The location to Harvard Square is perfect and the food around is great. May 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why Amenities at the $60 Day's End accommodation? I have no idea what "SPG" means. Why would you use abbreviations for a survey with the general public?....When I get later in survey prompted to check Starwood preferred status, so learned what SPG means. Your communications incompetence is compounded when you use an acronym I don't recognize for a group I belong to!! At the rates you charge, the least one can expect is for you to provide mouthwash and a shower cap! More outrageous is the fact that your TripleA write up says that guest's amenity is a choice of newsapers, but the staff tell guests they are not complementary, like most high-class hotels, you pay for a newspaper like anyone else buying at the store! Do you ever stay at your competitor's even middle-level accommodations? You should try it; see what your competitors offer!! Staff never gave me the answer I wanted to expected when I had a question. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A much needed restful sleep. Nice room at a good price We were in Cambridge to help our daughter move out of her dorm and take her home for the summer. We would not think of staying anywhere else. The staff is friendly, the rooms comfortable and you can not beat the location for a Harvard parent, with a 5 minute walk to Harvard Square. We had two busy days of packing and moving boxes and we enjoyed the peace and comfort of the hotel. May 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is falling apart Very poor water pressure in the sink. Minimal hot water in sink. Hallway smells like a locker room. Air conditioner has a mind of its own. Aside from its great location no one would want to stay here. May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A local Cambridge hotel this is a great Harvard Square hotel option. May 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by could be better the room heating system needs upgrading very loud at night otherwise a great location and nice staff. but for sleeping not good. May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by why can't the TVs work? I have stayed at the Sheraton Commander more times than I can count. The rooms are very well kept and, as I have frequent business in Harvard Square, I will keep coming back. So I offer the following constructive criticism as a long-term customer... How hard is it to make the TVs at this place work properly? In my room, the remote had problems. The channel up/channel down button didn't work, so I had to type the digits in to get the channel to change. Plus, the Bruins were on TV the night I was there, and the TV in the room did not have the channel (how is that possible?). Then, in the exercise room, I used three different pieces of equipment--the (one) recumbent bike, the (one) upright bike, and one of the treadmills--and the TV had problems on each piece of equipment (eg, no picture at all, the picture very fuzzy, and/or the sound doesn't work). I think a quality brand like the Sheraton would be able to address such problems. But like I said--this hotel gets the basics right (room, bed) so I will be back. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a great location The hotel has a fantastic location for anyone who has work in Harvard. The staff are proactive and responsive. I really enjoyed staying there. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Service The Sheraton Commander is an outstanding hotel - comfortable, well appointed, but what marks it as a must-stay place is its service. I was given a SPG room on the first night, but , on the second, there was a noisy high school dance on the floor beneath me. The staff immediately moved me to a different, but equally luxurious room, where I got a great night's sleep. The mark of greatness is when the staff takes care of the unexpected. Bravo. April 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems I stay here a lot - I like the location and generally like the hotel but this time there were major problems. Room 439 : Heat malfunctioning - either too hot or too cold, hard to get a good night's sleep, pull on shade broke off, bathroom fixtures need repair, no decent water pressure in the shower. Quality of the food at breakfast was poor. Pastries hard as a rock, stale. No excuse for this ina city with good bakeries nearby. April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location I was very disappointed that no one alerted us that there was construction going on in the hotel. The noise was very annoying and non-stop. I think it's best that you give your guests a heads up. The price of the room was steep to be having to deal with the noise level. I have stayed here before and love the location and the hotel itself but this visit was disappointing. I was in town for the marathon which itself was certainly a positive experience. April 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The location is excellent - otherwise unwelcoming I wanted to love this hotel. It is an excellent location for business trip to Harvard. I just had to walk a block and I was there. But I did not love it. There was no warm welcome upon arrival - in fact no welcome at all. Reception is tiny and there was a line. The check in person did not go out of her way to be welcoming or helpful, just to tell me that there was no shot for the upgrade I asked for. Throughout our entire stay there was not one friendly encounter with staff. They were generally not to be seen and certainly avoided any interaction with us when we were around a staff person. As mentioned in other reviews of this hotel the elevators are laughably small. It is an old building so I guess there is nothing for that. The rooms are tiny too as is the bathroom. Most channels on the TV were not HD. The decor in the room was outdated. The room was clean thank goodness and nothing was broken. Overall it was a not a memorable stay and bordered on unpleasant sorry to say. April 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff is great the staff was really wonderful, kind and responsive. bed and sheets very nice. very clean. a bit of moldy smell in hallways. April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy + malfunctioning AC I came up here for my 5th law school reunion. The first night, them thermostat didn't work at all and the room was sweltering. The second night I called maintenance and it turned out the AC unit had been turned off by pressing a button on the plug. The next two nights the AC was noisy and kept me and my wife awake. I will not return. April 15, 2014
  • 2015-05-03T18:35:14.885-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_201, tr_201
  • loc_en_US, sid_607, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>