Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 221 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Needs Updating Although situated in a great area, this hotel deeply needs updating. The rooms are old and completely from the 1980's. There is one elevator that is the size of a closet that is used as a main elevator. December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff and amenities were excellent the staff provided quality service and food, bedroom and any problem was solved immediately. November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ELEGANT HOME AWAY FROM HOME This is my favorite place to stay in the Boston area. Proximity to Harvard Square (for walking around and casual shopping and time at the Coop bookstore) and to public transporation for trips into Boston are attractive to me. Most importantly, from the moment you walk through the door, you are WELCOMED. This is a hotel that embraces the notion of true hospitality. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by What's with the bathroom? I've stayed at the Sheraton Commander twice in two weeks. Both visits were great. The hotel has many nice features, my favorite is a decent size fitness center that was clean and stocked with newer equipment. I have only one complaint, the bathroom size during my second week was too small. Let's be honest, when traveling for business, you don't need a large bathroom. However, when you cannot open the door fully, because it hits the commode, I mean really, the hotel believes that's acceptable? And when using it, the toilet roll holder is hitting you in the chest, because the entire commode is too close to the wall. This was room 417, and the architects worked hard to fit this room into a hole in the floor plan, and the bathroom, along with unsuspecting guests are the victims. The hotel is great otherwise, just avoid these trap rooms, and you'll have a great stay. November 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff The staff's friendliness and helpfulness is very appreciated. It makes my frequent stays for business much more tolerable. If I have to travel I am glad I have such a warm and friendly place to stay. November 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dowdy and Overpriced Truly an average hotel. Nothing special. The rooms dowdy and worn. There is plenty of space in the world for hotels that are two or three-star. There is nothing wrong with that. What sets the Commander apart is its ability and therefore willingness to charge twice what it is worth. And that is because of its location. It's too bad they don't recognize this opportunity to get great rates and, instead of merely keeping ALL the profits, perhaps reinvest some of it and make more of it in a better stay for the client. As a footnote: I was stranded there during the hurricane beyond the two nights I booked. The hotel had many vacant rooms. The only thing they would do for me was to "hold" the rate I booked under which was huge money per night. How thoughtful! I stayed one extra night and the fled the sub-standard Sheraton and went out to the airport which had a far superior property at one-half the price. So if location is the only criteria you have, money is abundant in your life and everything else decent near Harvard Square is booked, then the Sheraton Commander is your clear choice! November 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful!! Experience far surpassed our expectations. As a Starwood associate, I didn't expect such a great room (free upgrade!) for the amount paid. WOW! October 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary service The old world character and service of this property reminded us of places we have enjoyed in London and new York. A perfect fit for Cambridge with a staff exceeded themselves with getting us into a room quite early and even upgrading us. Their extra effort made for a perfect stay. October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large room! We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. We had a room with two double beds. It had lots of light (3 windows), very comfy. Friendly staff. The internet was a bit irregular. That is my only reason for one less star on expectations. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Accomidations for Boston Vaca! This hotel met all of my family's needs and more for our Boston vacation. Great location to enjoy Cambridge and connect to the rail. This Starwood property had all of the luxuries plus the old world charm!! October 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location & nice hotel My only two complaints would be the small elevator and the hotel was a little overpriced. I did however love the location in reference to Harvard. October 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Rooms, Unhelpful Front Desk My wife worked in Starwood's corporate office for years. Lucky for all she did not pick up the phone and call folks who are still there. Except for one person who was great (Narjah?), the front desk staff needs help. Not problem-solvers at all. I could go into details, but I'd get a head-ache (again). Let's just say their first impulse was always to say "no", even when I needed help getting on to the computer right after having turned in my key. Duh! Sadly, many other examples exist. October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very comfortable hotel This was my first stay at the Sheraton Commander, and nothing disappointed. Location is great, and the room was wonderful. Services were also at high level. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is in the perfect location My family enjoyed their stay at the hotel. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This hotel was great from the very beginning. Upon check in we were upgraded to Jr. suites and still were able to use the concierge level. The staff was so nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff in the bar were also exceptional, as were the people in the breakfast room. The location is perfect. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and beautiful room. The room is beautiful! Not at all like the cookie cutter rooms of many hotels. Extremely clean and a shower I could have spent the day in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. September 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic Hotel with Modern Amenities This is the second time I've stayed at the Commander, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Boston. It's more like a boutique hotel than a typical "sheraton". The staff are all very friendly, rooms are very clean. My only complaint was that housekeepiing kept coming into the room in the morning, without knocking to clean the room and it was only 9am. I didnt have a sign on the outside of the door but seems you should knock before just opening someone's door. September 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Quality As we arrived, staff immmediately welcomed us ,asked us if we needed help with our luggage etc. Gorgeous suite. Excellent service at NuBar. Always asking if we needed anything. Loved our stay. Would definitely stay again and recommend hotel. Wedding accomodations perfect!! Thank you all. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Pleased My Most Unimpressable Friend While traveling around New England a friend and I decided to spend a night in Boston. All the hotels were sold out except for this gem in Cambridge. What serendipity! This hotel is beautiful and in a phenominal location. Not only is it very close to a Red Line stop (allowing my friend and I to explore Beacon Hill as we intended to do) but it is walking distance to everything you can possibly think of. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the staff is very polite. My friend can usually find fault with anything (the sky is too blue...) but she actually said she was disappointed that we were only staying a night because she loved the hotel. I will definitely stay here again! September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and beautiful hotel The Sheraton is an excellent hotel that I highly recommend staying at if you are visiting Harvard Square. September 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Harvard square, so location is excellent. The hotel is exactly what one would expect from Sheraton...immaculate and excellent service. The beds are exceptionally comfortable.Rooms are spacious enough for a roll-away. The fitness center is well equipped. September 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely & well-located Very pleasant & helpful staff, very well-located close to Universities & other amenities. September 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay in Cambridge I would likely have never foudn this gem if Boston hotels hadn't been sold out. A friend and I were stopping in Boston on the way back from other New England travel and couldn't find a room in Boston but got a room here. We were very happy when we saw the beautiful hotel! It is in a wonderful location and allowed us to do a lot of exploring around the local area. It is also very close to a Red Line stop so we could go over to Beacon Hill with no problem. The staff was friendly and we had no problems during out stay. The only thing is the elevator is REALLY small...like a closet. That was a little nerver wracking but certainly won't deter me from staying here again. September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! I just stayed here for one night. The staff was excellent. The room was great...roomy, comfy and niclely appointed. They have an impressive workout room as well. I am attending an executive education program at the Kennedy School and this is very close. I will stay here again upon my return. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient location The primary reason of our visit was Harvard, and the hotel is the perfect place. Close to the University, restaurants, walking distance to everywhere in Cambridge. Clean, spacious, great staff. We have made reservations on this hotel for all of our visits to Harvard. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great spot in cambridge really great place to stay near the square August 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by NIce Hotel We had a great stay. Good location. Great service. Beautiful weather. August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you for your responsiveness We have stayed here comfortably several times. This is the first time we have encountered a glitch, in this case with the A/C in our room on arrival, and we were very pleased with your responsiveness in relocating us. We have always appreciated your efforts in de-feathering our room. Too bad to give up the lovely down accessories, but they don't agree with us and you have always responded. Thanks. August 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I had a great stay! Very nice hotel. Conveniently located. Lots to do in area. Good food, great staff, great rooms. August 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conveniently located near Harvard University Staying at the Sheraton Commander was a great experience. Friendly staff, the cleanliness, the location was the most important reason why I chose it. A healthy 5 min walk to classes to Harvard University. August 20, 2012
  • 2016-08-27 T12:06:00.024-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_221, tr_221
  • loc_en_US, sid_607, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>