Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

  • 250 Market Street
  • Portsmouth,
  • New Hampshire
  • 03801
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check in. Photo Identification is required at the time of arrival. Reservations will not be honored if guest can not produce proper identification at check in. Any exception requests must be directed to the property and specifically approved by hotel management via Director of Operations or Managing Director.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 440 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet Friendly It was great to be able to bring our 10 week old puppy since at this age she is to young for a kennel. I have to say all the staff were great with her all loved her. I just wish that when we booked we were told at the time that we couldn't leave her alone in the room. We went to go to a 50th birthday party . So that meant one of us had to miss a good portion of the party and we had to attend at different times. We were told on arrival. I just think this is something guests shoul be prepared for. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice, but a few suggestions Everything at this hotel was very nice and the staff was excellent. A couple of suggestions, though. Please leave out the morning coffee in the lobby for a longer period of time. It was taken away at 9am. Being a facility that caters to business functions, coffee is needed at least til noon. Also I was very surprised that the parking fee was not included in the stay. I understand that it is an outside company that owns the space but I believe the cost should be absorbed by the hotel. This isn't NYC. November 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Staff is excellent - hotel needs improvements The entire staff, including cleaning staff, is exceptional. First – the elevator floors and walls need replacing. Bad first impression. The rooms are extremely small. We moved 3 times before finding one that was acceptable. The fan in the room smelled like mildew. There was noise starting at 4:00AM from outside. I guess because the hotel is old there is a lack of soundproofing. I had been really looking forward to this mini vacation and was so disappointed. We couldn’t wait to check out and go home. October 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Left some to be desired This hotels a very special place in our hearts as we got married on the seacost and spent a lot of time at the hotel. This was our first stay there in a few years, but just wasn't as we remembered. The biggest issue was the bathroom, it was dirty, and the drain in the tub didn't work. We were just a little disappointed after holding this hotel in such high regard. When we talk about staying in Portsmouth, prior to, we would only look to stay here, but in the future you will look at other options. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slight disappointment I'm SPG platinum and have been for several years. Have stayed at this hotel many times. Upon getting into bed, I found a wet spot about the size of a dinner plate. Trying to find the source, I discovered a soaking wet face cloth in the flat sheet. I called the front desk to move rooms and they did without issue, to a suite down the hall. They were gracious by giving me extra points but moving rooms at 1130pm was annoying to say the least. After having almost 250 SPG stays this was the only situation like this to happen to me so I write it off as a fluke. My only other gripe was asking if a suite were available at check in and told "none were available" only to get moved to an empty suite after all..... Other than that, hotel was fine and location is great. Staff friendly and accommodating. December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing stay We didn't bother to read reviews for this trip since it was a Sheraton...big mistake. This room was 222.00 per night. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, wallpaper peeling from the walls, water damage to the ceiling. The pool was very sub par, looked dated and unkept. Our hallway carpet was bunched, looked like a flood occurred and no one repaired it. Painters tape covered a repair that needed to be taken care of in the closet. Would not recommend the Sheraton Portsmouth to anyone. October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful This was our first time staying at this hotel. We were pleasantly greeted and we enjoyed our stay. Even though the weather did not cooperate we still had a great time. Thank you for making our grand daughter/ grandmother time special. August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay My wife and I went to Portsmouth for some R&R and stayed at The Sheraton. It is located close to the action and was very comfortable. Service was very good. August 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sleep Deprivation due to machinery noise Guest bedroom in our suite beside industrial air conditioning unit, making sleep impossible. Second bedroom also affected by noise from these machines, which function 24/7. I am amazed that these facilities are allowed to operate by licensing authorities. Housekeeping was poor, with visible dust in open glass storage units. Units had not been dusted for at least 4 weeks. Compensation offered for distress not proportionate to discomfort and distress suffered. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas Visit We have been coming to the Sheraton for years around Christmas and when we arrived and were given a room this time, we found that we were dissatisfied with the accommodations. We notified the front desk staff who quickly showed us to another room which happened to be at the club level with a river view! This was the view we were expecting from the beginning but we were not expecting to be bumped to the CL. They really bent over backwards for us and we will definitely return next year. December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas Vacation Our December weekend stay was fantastic! We took advantage of the restaurant and lounge facilities numerous times with great success. The room was perfect and when we noticed a problem with the in-room coffee maker, the housekeeper replaced the unit immediately. Everyone was friendly and accommodating and we would definitely recommend the hotel to everyone. The Army was having their annual Christmas Ball during our stay and somehow we didn't get in each other's way at all! Well done! December 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience It was our 40th anniversary and had asked upon reserving if it were possible that we would like a room with a harbour view. When we chacked in, she said that she was sorry that a harbour view room wasn't available, but that they would provide free garage parking for us. This was wonderful since there was a snowstorm that night. They also sent a platter of fresh strawberries to our room and wished us a Happy anniversary. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel and Location From the check-in to the check-out the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The location is perfect to park the car for the weekend and walk the town. So many shops and restuarants to explore. The only issue we had was the champagne I ordered to be in the room, was not there and was never delivered. So after an hour I called and cancelled the order. That was a little disappointing and this had happened to my parents 4 years ago so that has not improved. (Need to work on this.) June 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location but rooms are below average This hotel is nicely situated but rooms are diappointing. Our room on the club level left much to be desired: dark marks on the carpet; smallest bathroom that I have ever seen; outside noise from hallway was heard clearly in room; hallway access and room are in need of a renovation. There is only one elevator servicing the club level so be prepared for 3-5 minute wait. Ther lobby and view of port is impressive. Staff was helpful when asking for restaurant and other information August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly a Vacation The amenities of this hotel met all of our needs. The location was walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tours, pedicures, etc. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly, courteous and very personable/helpful at all times. We had a wonderful stay and look forward to staying with you for our next get-away. Thank you. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Staff This was our first trip north of Boston and it was amazing thanks to the staff and facilities in Portsmouth. Marissa and Micah are the type of folks that take a great deal of pride in their job and actually care if you have a great stay or not. I do a TON of traveling and have never had this level of service. I can't say enough good things about the staff. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by dissapointed we stayed at the condo unit rooms 507 then transferred to 516 hoping the other room was better but it turned out that both rooms were dusty, smelly and poorly maintained.hot water supply is insufficient, the sofas are ugly looking. relayed our dismay to the front desk. Stayed at the main hotel before and was satisfied. unfortunately choosing the condo unit this time was a mistake. we could have stayed at the one bedroom suite for a cheaper price and a better experience. December 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent experience We just returned from a girls' getaway and we were all so pleased with the hotel and staff. The renovations are lovely, the beds were SO comfy, and the rooms were quiet and perfectly clean. The location was perfect for walking to shops and restaurants. Truly couldn't have been better. August 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't get what we paid for Made Club-level reservation on website, upon check-in we were given a regular room. I didn't realize the error because I didn't know what the Club Level distinction was. At check-out, I questioned the charge for our dining room breakfasts, and was told breakfasts were only included inside the Club level. "But I booked the Club Level", I said. So we paid a premium for a Club room that we didn't get, and paid for 2included breakfasts . They partial-credited a breakfast, January 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 This hotel is perplexing The arrangements were made with friendly people, but our room did not overlook the harbor as I was led to believe. Our room was plush, but not large, although we were on the Club Floor. I would probably just stay on a lower floor next time and not expect a view, just enjoy the fine lobby and dining room. Also, there was a $9.44 add-on for the refreshment center; I have no idea what that could be for as we paid separately for our dinner and our drinks in the lounge. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location & Comfort The Sheraton Portsmouth is a great spot for a getaway and business travel alike. The rooms are comfortable and the location is fantastic- close enough to the highway to be convenient, but just a block away from the downtown area of Portsmouth, with lots of local flare (dining, shopping, etc). The staff seemed nice enough and I really like the bar/lounge area located just off the lobby on the mezzanine. Highly recommend this hotel, I will definitely be back! March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding wonderful We were absolutely delighted with the service, cleanliness and food at our Portsmouth NH stay this past weekend. The staff excelled in providing a wonderful wedding experience. I would have given a higher sleeping score but our bed was hard and creaky. A new mattress would make anyone's stay over the top with comfort. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Harborside Never Disappoints! As always, we had a fantastic stay. Everything was perfect on the club floor. A special shout out for Vivian, who runs the club lounge as if it's her own personal restaurant. She greets everyone in the morning with a smile and personal service that starts your day out right! Every hotel staff member we came in contact with was cordial and helpful. For anyone who hasn't had the pleasure of staying here, the location is great...park your car and walk everywhere! April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location, location, location!! I didn't give it 5 stars only because the room was a bit smaller than what my wife and I are used to, but the location was absolutely second to none!! Everything that you needed was literally only a block or two away. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Also, they do have a charge for parking ($10 across the street or $15 for the garage). I recommend spending the extra $5 for the garage as it's secure and not to mention dry (as it rained the day we left). September 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Luxurious lobby but that is where it ends We stayed on the club floor which seemed like a nice extra in booking description. Club room was small dark and uninviting. Hor deurves were ok, more like snacks to fill you up rather than wow your taste buds. Room was clean but very cramped with a tiny bathroom. Pool area was disappointing. Dark room no color and very cloudy water. Parking garage had no elevator to rooms. You have to trek through the lobby to another elevator. Overall not a pleasant stay... February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of our favorites This hotel is one of our favorites! It is located right in the downtown area. You can walk to all the nice local shops so easily. Rooms are large and very comfortable. The place is quiet for a great night's sleep. The Club level is great with a terrific staff. The staff at the registration desk are also helpful and kind. The food is excellent throughout the hotel. There is valet parking in addition to regular parking. The fitness area meets all your needs. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Was The Best Hotel I Have Stayed At. I never saw a happier group of women than at the Fantasea weekend. March 13-16. All where so happy with the hotel and Team Players. I had special meals and was treated like a Queen. From the time we pulled up at the front door the young men at vallet parking greeted us to saying thank you and bye as we are checking out at the front desk was a great experience . Above and beyond service . Do you think we where all happy You Bet We Were. Thank you... March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay My wife and I stayed for an extended weekend in Portsmouth and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you! August 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Room Condition We have stayed at this hotel twice before and have raved about it to friends and family. Not so sure if we will continue to do so.The room had dents/scratches on the wall and exposed wall anchors and showed signs of being worn. Not the kind of room we have stayed in before at this hotel. The hotel staff from the valet/bellhop to the restaurant staff went above and beyond to meet our needs. The front desk did not seem to care when we told them of the condition of the room upon check out though. We did contact the hotel to let them know about the condition of the room and to praise the staff. Someone did contact us back and made promises that were never followed through with. We did contact Sheraton customer service via email. Their response was very insulting so say the least. They did create a file but I doubt anyone will look into it. March 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great staff We enjoyed our stay as we were extremely happy with the courteous staff. The staff provided excellent service, couldn't ask for anything better. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a great view. August 5, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>