Sheraton Sunnyvale Hotel

  • 1100 North Mathilda Avenue
  • Sunnyvale,
  • California
  • 94089
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be at least 18 years old to register or stay in a guest room, and must present a credit card and valid form of photo identification upon check-in.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 95 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service! My stay at Sheraton Sunnyvale was great. We came for a wedding and we received great service during our entire stay. SPG recognition is adequate. We were checked in by Usman, who was very professional and receptive for my needs with my family. He made us feel very welcome. The rooms are adequate size, clean and comfortable. There was no club lounge which for me was a drawback. Breakfast at the restaurant was great and tasty and the food selection was adequate. I will definitely consider coming back if I am in the area. April 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sadly Disappointed I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. The last time I stayed there I was very disappointed in the staff and service. There were problems with the reservation and rate and three employees told me it would be taken care of before I was finally connected with a manager who helped me. It was a great inconvenience and poor service given the rates they charge. I have received excellent service in the past, so it may have been an anomaly. But it was poor enough for me to take the time and write a review. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and staff This is an ideal location for our business needs. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff have done everything they possibly could do to make our company employees feel valued. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Where I relax after too much time in hotels I spend every night in a hotel...somewhere. Work dictates my location Monday through Friday. But on the weekend, I'm on my own. When I want to be confident that everything will work, and that there will be a few trees around, considerable quiet, and a good location (without being on major thoroughfare) and not attracting boatloads of families with children, this is where I come. Recently upgraded, 24-hour fitness center. Knowledgeable and responsive front desk staff. September 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst SPG experience so far Being a frequent traveller, I've stayed in SPG properties from New York to Vietnam (just to give a perspective: this year alone I stayed at SPG for over 120 nights). I would rather expect the worst SPG property to be somewhere in suburbs of Bangkok (Le Meridien of which is actually quite amazing) rather when in Sunnyvale, CA. Experience started with a locked door on arrival at the hotel (apparently the neighborhood is not safe, which does not explain why there was no-one at front desk at 10pm), followed by entry in to my room by cleaning staff while I was in a shower in the morning despite "do not disturb" sign on the door, followed by a peaceful sounds of spanish language enthusiastically discussing guests while sorting garbage just below my window at 8 am. From the inside the property looks like a motel on route 66 with some touchups and Microsoft signs at the business lounge. The SPG lounge breakfast experience was very healthy - selection of: toast, english muffin, cereal and coffee. When I asked if there is anything else - I was delighted with a slice of melon and a yoghurt from a fridge in the back. To be fair I must say that the staff at the reception did its best to make things better, but there was just so much they could do. December 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a great value, but great food. This hotel doesn't seem that great, but the location is convenient when visiting companies in the Silicon Valley. It seems like everyone here is in tech. The rooms are not well soundproofed and the club lounge is not very well done. However, the restaurant on site had really excellent food and pleasant service. I'll probably stay again if I need to be in the area, but you can get much better value elsewhere. May 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Lodging Friendly staff, good service, very clean room and public areas. Free parking and convenient. Overall excellent experience. SPG members and Starwood Vacation owners should stay here rather than other expensive Starwood properties where they nickel and dime you for everything and make you feel like they are doing you a favor. October 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is a bunch of two floor buildings surrounding a pool. It's location is the primary reason I stay there. It's the closest in the valley to head up to SFO airport, across the street from the LM facility, just off 237 and 101, and very close to the light rail train. Lastly, parking is free. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service The staff of the Sheraton Sunnyvale clearly has the best interest of the guest in mind. I could not be more impressed with their willingness to help with any situation. February 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It would be better if Wireless was included Everything was ok except that wirelss internet was not included with the room rate. April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal front desk service I would like to give my highest regards and recommendations to the front desk staff at the Sheraton hotel in Sunnyvale. On the final day of my trip, I was running late to catch a flight. With only an hour before my flight left, it was clear that the shuttle service would not make it back from its last airport run in time to pick me up and bring me back to the airport. The front office, (Eleanor with the help of Matea) arranged for a cab to come for me, gratis. The cab promptly came, at which I point decided I was just going to move the flight to the next day. A little overheated, and frazzled because of the glitch in travel plans, Eleanor was extremely patient, getting me water, and getting me in touch with SouthWest so I could move my flights. Then she helped book me a room for that night, and patiently did all of this with a warm smile. My experience turned from awful (about to miss my flight), to warm and relaxed (played Pebble Beach the next day). All this would not have been possible without the fantastic hiring, training, and talent at the front desk. Thank you Eleanor, and thank you to the Sunnyvale Sheraton manager for truly making my experience a happy and memorable one. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family in a heartbeat. May 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the price My room was average at best. There was nothing in this facility that made up for the fact that it cost more than the other hotels in the area I have stayed at. The fan in my room sounded like an airplane taking off when it cycled on. Plus the internet was NOT free and there wasn't a free breakfast. I have stayed in more comfortable places, with quiet room fans that gave me both internet and breakfast at no extra charge and the daily room rate was much less. I booked here because I had to attend a last minute meeting and other hotels in the area were booked. I will be sure to book early enough next time so I can stay somewhere else. August 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My first choice in business trips to Silicon Valley I always stay in this hotel when traveling to the Bay Area, 4 or 5 times a year. As I always get on Sundays around the same time, it's always the same people in the front desk, and some already know me by name. It's refreshing to have a nice welcome after an almost 24 hours journey there. The hotel is well located for my business, in Mountain View and Sunnyvale, service is efficient, nice beds and showers (the most important factors for me in a business trip.) I like they have iron and board in the rooms. There only thing that I miss there is coin-op laundry machines so I didn't need to pack too much clothing for long trips. November 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Experience The hotel is outdated. It looks like a low-end apartment building. There are not even elevators from the first floor to the second, so be prepared to carry your bags up the stairs. The service was a mixed bag. Some of the staff are great, while others need additional training-- e.g., my experience with Anita was terrible and soured my entire stay, while my experience with Jeff (the shuttle driver) was great. In the end, because of the outdated appearance of the hotel and poor service I must recommend against booking this hotel. There are plenty of other hotel choices that provide better service and accommodations. October 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Worth The Money Anymore I have been at the Sheraton Sunnyvale scores of times over the last 15+ years, starting when it was a Four Points and the nightly rate was $70. Today, the lowest rate is MUCH higher but, regretfully, customer care has deteriorated. My last experience was not very pleasant; despite being a long term customer and a Starwood Lifetime Gold Member, I have been put in a building 400 room, on the parking lot side, quite anonymous and very noisy. Service was disappointing: bathroom supplies not replaced, newspaper only 2 out of five days... one day I came back from the office at 5pm and housekeeping had not made the room yet. Overall, not worth the money. Not anymore. October 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent and clean property close to Shoreline but..... The Sheraton Sunnyvale... on the plus side it is immaculately clean and fairly updated, the common areas and exterior are fresh and clean - which is why I love Starwood. It's a very nice hotel for proximity to the ampitheater and Google. The pool looks inviting. On the down side but could be fixed: no free wifi (really?), not exactly cheerful or solicitous front desk (maybe just me but it seemed like she was doing me a favor), Windows 8 in the business center = atrocious, broiling hot hallways. Things that can't be fixed: no elevators - who wants to lug stuff up a flight of stairs outside. September 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice weekend retreat We spent a weekend and enjoyed the pool and the buffet breakfast. The pool was unusually warm for December and very nice to swim in. Room was spacious and hotel was very quiet as it seems it has a mostly business client focus that stay Sunday night - Thursday night. Staff were helpful, exercise room adequate, and Faz, the in-hotel restaurant, had nice appetizers in the evening when the Club Lounge was not serving food on Saturday night. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Oasis Not only is the Sheraton in Sunnyvale and destination I look forward each year, the staff are life savers! I got quite ill while I was there and the employees went all out to get me medicine, make sure I was comfortable in every way and give me a super late check-out (I had a midnight flight). This hotel is one in a million. Professional, discreet, considerate and able to meet the needs of each of their guests with superb efficiency. I remain in awe of the kindness and dedication of this hotel and can't wait to get back there next year. Sincerely, C. Sutro November 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Hotel Staffs Staffs at the this hotel are very helpful, and friendly. They go above and beyond to help you with any of your requests or questions. I am grateful that Starwood sets a high bar to train their hotel's staffs. It is very important for you to be able to trust someone, feel safe and can relax when you are away from home. Whether, you are on a business trip or on a leisure, I will recommend this hotel for both groups. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Possibly the best hotel experience I've ever had. I've never written a review of anything in all of my 66 years, but it would be simply unjust not to express our complete satisfaction. We cannot think of a single shortcoming during our 3-day stay. Every staff person was helpful & friendly, and we very much appreciated the genuinely sincere dog-hospitality. I don't know how much of our experience was because we were there on a very non-busy weekend, or that the place was recently renovated nicely. It also helped that we got an unexpectedly great room rate (and were given a free upgrade when I requested it). The bed alone was worth the price. We were genuinely sorry to leave--which is something I've never been able to say about hotels costing up to twice as much. December 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent room rate policy Hello, I was part of a baseball tournament being held in Santa Clara. I had originally reserved 2 nights with a room rate of $89 per night. When we found out that the 1st game on Saturday was at 2:30pm, we decided to not stay the night before and drive on the Saturday morning. When I called the hotel directly (not the 800 no.), the staff informed me that the saturday room rate would not be $89 but would jump up to $159. So, we decided to stay with the 2 nights. I later found out from other families that they paid $89 for 1 night after cancelling the Friday night. August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprise I am an SPG member, so I like to stay at SPG hotels. This hotel looks older from the outside, but what a surprise on the inside! The renovations have made this a great business hotel to stay in. The gym was a nice surprise with lots of equipment and extra touches. The lobby has a super computer area and the restaurant FAZ was excellent. My room was nice, but my co-worker had a frig and club access (and she's not a member) so I think there are definitely better rooms than the one I got. I found the staff to be very courteous, friendly and helpful. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Sunnyvale stay 3rd time this fall that I've stayed at the Sheraton Sunnyvale. It starts with their reservation folks, fast, efficient, and fun to talk to in the process. They get it! I checked in and the front desk person offered me a pot of tea while they took care of my check in and room readied - it was last minute stay, don't ask. But, yes I did say they made me a pot of tea. The rooms are very comfortable, large, nice HD TV, wireless in the rooms and lobby, etc. Housekeeping was spot on (well they left no spots actually). Dining at the FAZ was fantastic. If you get there at the right time, there's a piano player! Although the dining room is very comfortable and appropriate for a great dinner conversation, there's also the electricity of the close by lounge. Great food, service is 5 star. Check out is easy and the staff even dropped out party off at dinner so we did not have to drive. My bill was delivered via email saving the time and space of dealing with the paperwork. All in all, this is a convenient (right off the intersections of 101 and 237) location, well managed location with a very professional staff. Thank you for the great 3 stays. Mr Z December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relief from another Hotel I came to this hotel after having checked in to another hotel, but found that the quality and condition of the rooms were unacceptable. The Sheraton was fantastic. Clean rooms, friendly and accommodating staff and an overall great experience. I would recommend the hotel to anyone travel to Mt. View for business. December 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff was dishonest about room availability When I made my reservation - I asked to be on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard- I am a woman travelling on business by myself - I did not want a 1st floor room. I was told there were no 2nd floor rooms nor any that faced the courtyard. I checked into my room and the window had no lock on it. I complained to the manager and was moved to a 2nd floor room. It was very obvious that there were PLENTY of 2nd floor rooms available and plenty that faced the courtyard. This is my 2nd visit to this hotel in a month - and I have to be back in Mountain View in 2 more weeks. WHile I would like to stay at the Sheraton - but I can't because I was flat out lied to when I checked in. The woman that checked me in told me 'there are absoutely no rooms left - sorry' with a smile. Who knows what else she was lying about.... May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five Stars Means "Excellent" Five stars doesn't mean "Perfect". And that's fair. I spend every night in a hotel and #gasp!# none are perfect. All travelers are different. But the Sheraton Sunnyvale strikes the right balance and adapts to guests who need it. I had a minor problem during a five-day stay. Changes were commenced immediately. Most hotels can't do that. This hotel also strikes a great balance between being in the middle of an urban/industrial area and offering peaceful, attractive grounds, including outdoor areas. Yes, the lounge is a half-step behind fully modern. And the weekend breakfast in Faz had #during my stay# about the worst service I can recall at a "legit" restaurant. I don't know how much clout the hotel has to fix this. Still, I sleep well here, knowing nothing is going to go amiss. And that fitness center? Great! July 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing I'll cut to the chase: I was very disappointed in my experience here. First, there was no acknowledgement of being Platinum, except when I chose my amenity. This lack of acknowledgement extended to my room (which I had to go back and get a map to find). Not only was there any upgrade (or even the FEEL of an upgrade), I was given a room that faced the freeway instead of the pool/courtyard. I didn't care so much about the view, but the noise from the cars was bothersome and affected my sleep before a busy day of meetings. Additionally, there wasn't a power outlet anywhere. I had to move the mattress and unplug a lamp to finally plug my phone in. Given the awful placement of the outlet and the short length of my cord, I had to leave the phone on the bed, rather than the nightstand. Suffice it to say, it did not feel like a Platinum Starwood experience. It was very disappointing. October 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Hotel was not a bad value I stayed at this hotel for two nights. Thursday and Friday.The staff was great, the room very comfortable. The resturaunt on premise is very good, however it is themed and the selection of food was rather limited and there is not other option with walking distance. Also the shuttle does not run on weekends and I had to pay 30 dollars for a cab to the airport This was not mentioned when I made the reservations and effectively made the room more expensive. April 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel....but This is a very nice hotel, and I would absolutely stay here again. However........my single complaint would be that the water pressure in the bathroom basin is totally inadequate. I know they try to do this for "water conservation", but I can only say that it's a counter-productive exercise. I run the water three times normal, because it takes three time longer to wash etc. There is no water savings in this...hopefully they will re-evaluate this . March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by resort style in a busy freeway i am used of being in a hotel building. Sheraton Sunnyvale is an exemption. i love the ambiance, personnel or the staff are very helpful. (Greg and the nice friendly asian lady who checked us in friday nite of Feb. 15) was very detailed. We were very tired and before i ask a question she already know the answer like reading my mind. she was simultaneous and very detailed on our needs, especially everyone was very tired after a 2 1/2 hrs. drive. February 19, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>