Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel

  • 3501 Atlantic Avenue
  • Virginia Beach,
  • Virginia
  • 23451
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 392 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too many problems to ignore First, the good things. The pools were nice and my family enjoyed our time at the pool. The location at 35th St is good for us, as we far enough away from the events on the beach not to be disturbed. The staff were courteous and the front desk upgraded us to a 2 queen bed room as a SPG gold member. Now the bad. Parking is poor. The parking lot is across the street and there are not enough spaces when the hotel is full, like on a holiday weekend. The bag handler asked if we needed a cart when checking in. So we unloaded in front of the hotel and I went to park the car while my wife and small kids went to check in. When I return, I find out they had to wheel the big baggage cart to the room themselves because the guy just gave them the cart! Air conditioning in the room is inefficient. The side of the room near the air conditioner was cold, the rest of the room was uncomfortably warm/humid. Sleeping the closest to the air conditioner meant wrapping the comforter around you, while the other side kicked off the blankets. Housekeeping came each morning before 10:30 to clean. Each time we had to tell them to come back later. So one day we put the "do not disturb" sign up and put it away when we left later in the morning. We returned to find the room was not cleaned! We called the front desk and they said the cleaning people left for the day already, so we had no clean towels or new shampoo/soap, unmade beds, and full garbage cans! We had to wait for them to bring us soap, shampoo and towels, so we could clean up and go to dinner. Of course, this made us late for dinner which caused us to lose our reservation. So after losing our reservation, we came back to the hotel and decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. This was my worst experience in a hotel restaurant ever. Service was non-existent. Right before we walked out, the waitress appeared so we ordered. After a long wait (no bread or water), we got our food, but the order was wrong. Then after waiting for the correct order (still no bread or water), the food was room temperature, the FULL portion of seafood tortellini looked like a kids meal, and the fettuccine with chicken came with spaghetti instead. We had to REQUEST bread after dinner as we were still hungry. Then to top that off, our bill was wrong and we sat around waiting for that to get straightened out (twice) while I went to refill my own water from the pitcher at the serving station. I should add that there were maybe 1 or 2 other tables besides us the whole time, not counting the smart people who left because no one came to take their order. The hotel itself wasn't so bad, but the service and restaurant were so poor that it ruined our stay. September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean and Updated Had to wait over 25 minutes to get checked in. Both front desk reps were on the phone FOREVER and not one time did they apologize for the wait or say they'd be with us soon. Nothing. Finally had a supervisor come to help out the front desk and the people behind us jumped ahead and was waited on first. VERY FRUSTRATING! Comforter on bed was extremely heavy and uncomfortable. Although room was clean and smelled fresh, the room was un-level which made the bed un-level. September 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor service from staff The hotel was beautiful. We had ocean view room right on beach. The staff was another story not helpful, accommodating,or knowledge about their hotel. Would not recommend this hotel because of the staff. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun on the beach Perfect location near the end of the boardwalk. Extremely convenient to the beach. The staff is super friendly and responsive. This is the second year that we have stayed here in August. We will be back again. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible hotel I am a Starwood Preferred Guest and have stayed in Sheraton hotels all over the country. This hotel is by far the worst I have ever been in. The only positive part of the experience was the parking valet, so that's not a great indicator! I have never stayed in a Sheraton that did not give preference on floors to SPG members. The room they tried to give me was the worst in the hotel and completely inadequate. When I tried to come back downstairs to the front desk, I waited through five elevators that were packed full (the hotel only has two) and ended up having to walk down several flights of stairs with a heavy suitcase. I did not even stay one night, got in my car and drove back home. I would never, ever stay in this hotel again. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent The stay was wonderful, clean room and staff was outstanding. The view from our room were outstanding. I will be staying here again in the future for personal use. October 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for family vacation We have been vacationing here for years and truly enjoy this hotel. I really liked the guest laundry facility, fitness center, and the new suites and Sweet Sleeper beds. I miss the old outdoor pool since it was more shallow and zero entry (perfect for little kids). All of the staff (bellhops, front desk, restaurant waiters, and housekeepers) were friendly and helpful. Only one downside was the new chef - seemed to us that the food quality has declined (such as, instant grits for breakfast - yuck, not-fully cooked salmon, and very greasy flounder). July 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Expectations First let me begin with we are not complainers however I feel as if these issues need to be addressed. - I had called a week a head of arrival and requested a low floor room. Upon arrival we were told our room was on the 10th floor~out of 11! Second, the bathrooms of these new renovated rooms are extremely small and do not offer towel bars except in the shower itself. We also only received 3 bath towels, 2 hand towels and no wash clothes the first day. I asked the housekeeper if we could have more of each to only get 4 bath towels, 3 hand towels and 2 wash clothes the next day. I found a storage room located close to our room that was unlocked and helped myself to the towels there after. Next, the pool area is not what you will get that is shown on the web site it is a small pool with a fountain in the middle and no pool side cabana except a bar off to the side. If this is something that changed after the fact of the renovation than a change should be made to the website (which is easy to do) so that it does not mislead others with false advertising. Speaking of the pool, we watched several people that had brought coolers and snacks to the area be told that they were not allowed to bring those to the pool and if they wanted a drink or snack they needed to purchase them from the hotel's bar. I have never experienced this before as most people do indeed expect to bring drinks and snacks to a hotel pool while on vacation. As long as there is no glass I see no problem allowing people to do so. It did not seem to be an issue with keeping the poolside clean as I had stated before they were all told that if they wanted snacks, food or drinks they needed to purchase them from the hotel cabana. This alone makes me not want to return to this hotel for I think such a rule is ludicrous. I also noticed a very bad smell coming in the doors from the beach located outside the elevators each day. Lastly, the wait for the elevator is extremely long and slow so be prepared for that issue as well. The only thing good I can say with our stay is the bed's are extremely comfortable, the staff for the most part (other than the poolside bar/cabana people) are helpful and nice, and the location of the hotel is good. July 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The comfortable Beds are the Hotels greates features. The staff of the Hotel is very friendly and willing to help. We enjoyed the size of the room but not the location. We looked forward to ocean front and received a corner room Ocean view above the noicy airconditioners. Having booked our oceanfront room month in advance, we did not expect that and were very disappointed. We also did not realize that there was complementary coffee ofered in the Lobby. No one pointed that out at check in or later. The coffeemaker in the room was not satisfactory for 3 people. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by remodeling, but not told when reserv. being made if we had known that we could not get type of rm requested due to remodeling project we would hv stayed at Westin. We were told all that was left was partial view, twin beds, we asked if we could pay for upgrade, & told nothing avail, even tho many rms seemed empty that eve.. Water in bath was a trickle, Had to go out front entrance to get to beach, work in back., Front entry needed paint, dirty.Dishes not cleared after breakfast or dinner for more than 1 hr. Suppose to stay 2 days, left after 1. May 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Amazing This was a short weekend away for the kids spring break. This hotel is absolutely amazing! Whatever you need is at your fingertips. The hotel staff was great from the beginning to the end. One of the hotel front desk attendants Marcus went over and beyond to accommodate us after their system went down. When we arrived, we could not check in for about an hour and Marcus made sure we were comfortable and got what we needed until the system was back up and we could check into our room. Lastly, I did not bring my doggie, but I was very sad that I didn't. I have NEVER been to a hotel that was so pet friendly. The pets were everywhere, but the cleanliness or the atmosphere was not affected in anyway - only enhanced. I would recommend this hotel for any occasion and cannot wait to return! My Family loved it!!! April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel and good location! We really enjoyed our most recent stay at the Sheraton. Rooms were super comfy and clean. Maid service checked in to see if we needed any supplies. Beach access was a little difficult because of construction. Beware of the pool/hot tub; heavily chlorinated. It bleached out 4 of our swimsuits, after the 2nd day of going and we realized it and I wouldn't let my daughter go back. It turned a black swimsuit brown. Not sure if it was just during our stay but I would double check before entering. May 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and good food! I stayed at the Virginia Beach Sheraton hotel with my family from July 18-23 and I had the most wonderful time. We have been coming to this hotel for last 3 years and this hotel not only transformed to more modern facility, but the staff are wonderful. All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our staff. The new happy hour menus were great and with a great staff, we kept ordering oysters, chicken wings and local beers at the beach side restaurant and wine and fish taco at the main lobby bar. Please send my compliment to the entire staff and to the general manager for making the hotel vary family friendly hotel. Some guests were complaining about having only 2 elevators at the hotel. Well, that’s what stairs are for. Our room was on the 9th floor, but we didn’t mind walking up time-to-time to get exercise! July 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Evening staff was wonderful The evening staff and the gentleman in the resturant at breakfast was very nice and helpful. As for the stinky room that reminded me of the super roach motel I stayed in when I was young and dumb could have had some hot water and the carpet could have been cleaned. The evening staff should be the main staff because they cared and tried to be more helpful. Beautiful surroundings of the Ocen and the beach. I EXSPECT more from a Sheraton than what I received. January 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Our Expectations Our stay was in the last week of June and the Sheraton and staff were above and beyond our expectations. We booked sight unseen so we weren't sure we would like the location. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and it just got better as the week went on. We had a king oceanfront room and it was spacious and clean. Staff was very friendly and, if you needed something, you didn't have to wait very long for assistance. One small negative was that they charged .50 cents for a local phone call which I thought unusual considering the high caliber of their services. I had to call a local number and got 4 busy signals before I reached someone and was charged $2.50 just to make one call. When I enquired at the desk, they just told me that was their policy. Otherwise, my husband and I loved our stay and would definitely go back again. July 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Over all everything was great, but the dog hair on my comforter. I did not realize it until the second day that I was there and had laid across my bed. I had a note from the housekeeping staff telling me not to hang the Green sign on my door if I needed my room cleaned. I didn't know this until around noon. I didn't appreciate the note at all. The initials on the note were CW. I know people bring pets. But I was in room 812 and it had dog hair in the sofa. Then moved to room 417, and it had hair on the comforter. I was told that 3rd floor was for animals and 4th for overflow. If there is an animal in the room, then the comforter needs to be changed once they leave. I like the hotel very much other than the animal hair. I have allergies and this didn't help. September 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some fine-tuning Bathrooms were so small and poorly planned that you had to stand in the corner by the tub to shut the bathroom door. No tissue in box, 1 piece of paper on the bent up note pad, mirrors and sliding door filthy. Toilet ran and ran and had to jiggle the handle. Had problems with the TV remote and front desk girl said "just use the arrows, I have no idea" (never offering to send assistance). Probably wouldn't stay here again. March 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Zero privacy Ocean/Poolview rooms We came to Virginia beach for my daughters birthday but were really upset when we saw our oceanview/poolview room.Seriously, if I paid for oceanview should I not even be able to open the windows without everyone on the pool getting a full view of the room? We ended up keeping the room curtains/blinds closed 100% of the time and really felt claustrophobic. Upon check-in the staff said "its not that bad" and offered free starpoints. August 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quite a vacation. Even though our stay was great overall, I wish the air units and additional piping were not directly outside our window. The bagging and rumbling got a little out hand a couple times throughout the night on one night. Also, I think the pet lovers should have a wing to themselves. I have allergies and the animals on my floor and in the same elevator with me was a bit much. I'll be sure to ask more questions the next time. Other than these things...the stay was pretty good. September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but has shady restaurant staff The hotel was nicely furnished but room was a bit smaller than what I'm used to. Causing us to feel a little cramped, especially the bathroom. The front desk staff was superb and the staff that you met on elevators or in the hallway were all very pleasant and willing to assist if needed. However we had a very bad experience with the Cabanas bartender Samantha. She overcharged us by $20.00 when we paid with cash. She gave us no receipt and when I went back to another bartender to double check the price, she confirmed we were overcharged. It was brought to the attention of Jennifer , the manager of the restaurants, by the front desk personnel. Jennifer was not only unwilling to assist and but was extremely rude and condescending. Until the staffing in this hotel restaurant area is changed, I will consider using another facility in the area on my next visit. August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed the stay First time traveling with my dog and we had a great time at this hotel. Staff were very nice and rooms were clean. We loved being close to the boardwalk and beach. The only issue was the construction throughout the hotel. Workers in the hallway upset the dog. They were replacing the grass around the hotel with new sod so it was a challenge to find a potty spot close. This was particularly an issue after dark when I didn't want to walk far. And, there were a ton of workers in the way to get out to the boardwalk/beach. All in all, I hope this was an isolated situation and will try the hotel again in the future. May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Awesome Week My family (That include 2 teenagers) had an excellent time in Virginia Beach thanks to the staff at the Sheraton. This started each day with a great cup of coffe, followed by a very reasonably priced buffet. Then off to the pool or beach that were very well maintained. The renovations to the hotel were done very professionally and upscale. I also heavily recommend the frozen drinks from the Cabana. July 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by oceanfront Gem We have stayed here many times but this stay exceeded our expectations. I would especially like to thank Tia who helped with our phone reservation. She worked out a detail that others could not at the Starwood reservation main number. SPG recognition was exceptional. We were given a beautiful OF room. The bedding was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Everything was very clean for an OF hotel. We loved having the refrigerator in the room. The ice maker was convenient as well as the elevators. The bathroom was very very small and the bathroom lighting was too dim. Parking is easy across the street in the garage. The hotel is on the northern end of the boardwalk. Beautiful beach area, boardwalk and biking right outside. Beach shops across the street as well as diners and pancake house. September 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent reno since summer 2011. June 2011 one week stay was okay but not good. With all of the renovation and upgrades in the pool area, rooms, bathrooms, decor we had a wonderful stay this June 2012. Upon arrival we were granted oceanfront upon request. The staff was extremely accomodating all week long. We will be back soon. We have gifted a stay this Aug for a young couple close to us. Thank You for a great beach vacation. July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stay! - My review from yelp right after our Stay The Hotel and Staff has surpassed our expectations. Everything has been spot on and service has been really good. Visiting on our anniversary from Philadelphia, it has been a true get away. Located in a peaceful section of VB and right at the beginning of all the shops on Atlantic ave.. We will be back, no doubt! May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by There is the good and then there is the bad. When I first arrived, the hotel did not look as good as I had thought it would from the pictures online. I was more disappointed to find out that the hotel was under renovation, and one of the key features of the hotel (outdoor pool) was being remodeled. I wish this was mentioned somewhere on their website. The staff was very friendly and very efficient upon check in, it took it no longer than a couple of minutes to get our room keys and our bags in the door. The bathroom could use some updating, it is more standard than what I thought a Sheraton hotel would offer. Speaking of things they should offer at no additional costs, the Wi-Fi was an additional fee, but that wasn't too much of a problem because they do have a complimentary computer station on the main floor for guests. They also do not offer complimentary breakfast with the room. I hope I can stay here again once renovations are finished. May 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by BAD SERVICE Absolutely horrible service. Coffee maker broken, phone not working, front desk messed up our 4 pm late check out. Service lady came to replace the broken coffee maker with a dirty one. When I mentioned the caked on stuff inside the machine, she used spray cleaner to spray it down before wiping it clean. Called the service desk and asked to speak to the manager, she told us to go to the restaurant to get hot water. My expectation would have been an apology, make sure the staff doesn't use cleaning chemicals on food prep items, and them make to the call herself to get the hot water delivered to our room. Front desk forgot to record our 4 pm late check out. Got put on hold and had to explain my situation 2 times before I was offered a 2 pm late check out. Only positive was the great bellman that helped us with our baggage. Do you even care about customer service or customer loyalty? We love Virginia Beach and will come back several times each year. Why should we stay here again? Our friends stayed at a nearby hotel and they had no complaints... the rooms were larger, and they offered a great buffet breakfast. May 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by no old hotel needs updating........................... September 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by late check in #245378383 arrived at 350 pm for a 400 check in. room was not ready and was told a 15 minute wait was needed. at 430 room was still not ready. at 502 ready for check in. if you don't have the help then fix it.do not have 20 people waiting in the lobby for something you promised but can not provide. it starts the whole vacation off at a negative. August 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement on service We had a great view (ocean front) but the room never got vacuumed or dusted in our 4 night stay and on Friday one of the shower towels was dirty with some black stains on it. Basement floor stinks really badly, no clue though as why. Staff is very friendly/helpful and location is great compared to other hotels. No breakfast for Gold SPG. August 1, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>