Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 642 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Exceptional staff Everyone we interacted with during our 5 day stay was incredible, professional courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, the hotel itself was not up to standards. Even though we were on a preferred guest floor, the room was dated, furniture was scuffed and marred and cleanliness suspect. In this day and age HDTV should be provided and the alarm clock should work. Mini fridges in rooms should also be considered especially when the restaurant is at minimum capacity. January 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a little work The Sheraton Universal City is a good location for our trips to the Hollywood Bowl and after a bad experience two years ago I decided to give it another try but I found a few things still lacking. The valets were very attentive and efficient. The front desk has not busy and our room was ready as requested. The room was a little dated and not as clean as I would expect but I can handle it for one night. At breakfast the next morning we put the meal on the room tab. I noticed when trying to review the bill just before checkout that they had added 15% "gratuity" onto the bill in addition to the cash I left on the table. It was only a few dollars but the idea was upsetting and unfortunately I took it out on the maid and valet by reducing their tips. I'm guessing that the hotel will add their tips to my bill after reading this. June 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed The hotel lobby and staff were great. I was disappointed with the room and pool. I understand the pool is undergoing a complete makeover however I have to rate it based on what I saw not what it might be. Also the when the elevator doors opened on the floor out room was on it smelled old and stale. Upon entering our room it was the same. It was clean and appeared nice but it is looking tired and worn. Also the bathroom is very small. April 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by slow internet In addition to my previous comments about the long elevator waits, the club lounge service, and the poor lighting in rooms, the wireless internet service throughout the hotel also seems to be slow and unstable. Again, all the above seem to be easy fixes for the hotel to get back on par with other Sheraton hotels that I have visited. The parking structure next door is a good alternative for guests who prefer to self-park rather than valet their cars. March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Made reservation a couple months in advance, host hotel for Class Reunion. Requested to be near some friends. Hotel suggested that I phone back about two weeks before arrival and make the request AGAIN. So I phoned two weeks out and made the request again, for, if not adjoining rooms, at least a room near theirs on the same floor. When we arrived they said the best they could do was put us on the floor below our friends. Very disappointing. Desk Clerk offered free parking to compensate. We also phoned the operator to advise them that our room smelled like bug spray. They offered to send someone from housekeeping up to spray our room with something to take away the smell but nobody ever showed up. We left the door to our room open to the hall for an hour or so and it eventually helped enough for us to get a good nights sleep. July 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed again. Front desk staff was great. I was once again disappointed with the cleanliness of the room as well as not having key items in the room such as washclothes and handtowels or a Do Not Disturb sign. The valet is never staffed properly to handle the amount of customers waiting...30 minutes is too long! The one person scheduled was very sweet but couldn't keep up with demand. I stay here twice a year and this is the 3rd time my stay has been very disappointing. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCEPTIONAL This hotel continues to meet and exceed my expectations. In the past, I have not frequented many Starwood properties. This, however, is the seventh year I have used this facility and Emily Schwab and Bernadette Galaviz have made returning so easy. Their exceptional customer service and amazing one-on-one customer attention has made me a Starwood man!! KUDOS to these fine professionals, for it is they that bring us back, year after year! Jeffrey March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recognize platinum members This is by far my favorite Sheraton! I travel a lot for work especially to LA and always choose to stay at Sheraton Universal. The staff are all friendly and as a SPG platinum member you are treated as a VIP guest. I've always been upgraded when they have a suite available and just last weekend they were kind enough to upgrade me to the Vice Presidential suite! The hotel is old but it's clean and the staff are all great! Definitely recommend this hotel! September 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The room was in a deteriorating condition Our room 1728 was in bad shape. The head board for the bed was worn through the finish. It was worn out. The desk chair was in similar condition. The finish was worn out. Next is the condition of the bathroom. The wall paper was coming away from the wall in the shelf area next to the mirror. It looked like it would fall off if you touched it. I have pictures of the wall paper, chair and headboard if you care to see the conditions I am describing. I have never experienced such a worn out room at a Sheraton Hotel in all my years staying with you. We have stayed at this hotel more than 15 times in the last 20 years. It needs renovation in a major way. The condition of the room is worn and dated. You should renovate the room quickly before you start to lose your quests. Also, the elevator sounded like it was falling apart. There were scraping and grinding sounds during its operation. This was a very disappointing stay. May 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Left a bad taste If its one thing, I can understand and move on but this single night stay continued with missed expectations and issues. There was previous user hair in the tub. As a gold, I had to stay on a lower level. The room was aging. In the morning, I had to wait 20 minutes for my car. The air wasn't working in the elevator. In summary, this hotel is in the right location but falling down as a Sheraton. Set your expectations accordingly. I was disappointed. July 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Goo location but need to focus on room cleaning service The location and over all service was good. however the quality of the rooms were just average. The bed that I had was making too much metal / spring noise and during my 4 days of stay the cleaning staffs didn't refill the lotion or soap. I had to call the room service and get them everyday. This happened 2 weeks in a row. Also the bathroom was not cleaned properly, tub and the shower curtains had strains from day 1. MUST improve on cleanliness. October 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Features Unfortunately the pool was closed for renovations. However, the bar is great. Lots of room at the bar and to relax in semi-private lounge areas around the bar. We particularly like it's close proximity to the California Canteen, one of our favorite restaurants in the world, a short taxi ride up the street. June 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr. Varela My only concern was I have stayed at other high end hotels and they have offered free internet, although with Sheraton I was a little disappointed with wanting to charge which I did not use, just used my phone when it would have been more convenient using my lap top, also the charge for parking, lastly the sheets on the bed, bottom sheet was all bundled up as if the bed wasn't made properly. Other then that everything else was great clean etc. December 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by underwhelming!!! The staff upon arriving did not seemed very friendly. Further, we we stuck in the Shrek suite. Its floors were not clean and the bathroom was TINY!!!! Some of the gym equipment was not working and there were no earphone available. We called upstairs to get them and they said they would deliver them. After one hour, they never showed up. This was my 100th night staying at an SPG hotel. I guess my expectation were too high for the Sheraton Brand. December 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Awkward room We were in a poolside location room 172. It was a very nice room but right next to the meeting rooms. There were people constantly walking and talking by our room. Really couldn't enjoy the patio. Loud music sat night then a convention setting up very early Sunday morning. People were moving equipment at 7:00 am and we were unable to sleep anymore. I would suggest you put the convention leaders in that room so they don't effect other patrons. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great locations & excellent service. We stayed here w/ our two teenage boys & they loved it. Likewise myself & my wife. The staff are courteous, friendly & very accommodating. Indeed, if anyone would like to visit Universal Studio, it is ideal to stay on this hotel as it was accessible using the elevator bringing up to the same level where Universal walkway towards the bridge was a breeze. The Fitness Center was excellent, very clean & complete w/ all the necessities equipment. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than I expected... I chose the hotel for the location, as I was working on the studio lot. The decor was lovely and much more "boutique" than I had expected. The staff was exceptional and genuinely friendly. I didn't have time to try the facilities, but the pool looks nice. Just as an aside, it is very family/tourist clientele, so if you're looking for sophisticated, or adult oriented, not your hotel. Walking distance to the Universal Theme Park and City Walk. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Challenging experience Don't try to arrive near the time Universal Closes. Traffic was a beast. Couldn't get hot water in the evening for a good shower, but in the morning it was fully functional. Coffee bar in the lobby didn't open until 6:30am which is challenging for those from different time zones who wake up and need a cup. Was forced to visit the restaurant downstairs. However, the valet parking was the fastest I've ever experienced anywhere. Like magic! November 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs overall improvement 1) First day I checked in, my room was not cleaned. It looked like someone checked out 1 hr ago and they quickly changed the bed sheet and towels, cleaned the bathroom mirror and made it ready for next guest. .. There were someone's long hair on the floor, desks were not cleaned. 2) There are max 3 waiters during the breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The service was pathetic. Waiters were more busy in cleaning the tables instead of serving the guests. I reported this issue to 3 managers and every manager gave me the same excuse, there are many guests in the restaurant... whereas I told them that it's not the case. This was my observation that no of guests was not an issue at all.. with 2 guests also, the wait time was too long for the food. All 3 managers apologized for that and promised improvement in the service.. but nothing happened. October 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms need work The staff was good but the hotel is gross. Walking down the hall on the 11 floor you look up and there was an open vent with wires come out. The door in the bathroom had been painted so many times it had hair painted into it the same door fraying at the bottom bathroom layout is terrible. Room was grungy. The shuttle stops at 4:30 what if you wanna go to dinner? This hotel is not representing the Sheraton name well needs to be remodeled !! September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best!!!! I travel a great deal and this is one of my favorite hotels. I stay here once or twice a month and they have one of the nicest and friendliest staffs I’ve ever experienced. They always go out of their way to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. It’d be very hard to find anything to complain about. Rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Great location to more than a dozen restaurants just a couple of blocks away at Universal Studio July 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable This is my second stay here, definitely not my last! The staff was great- checked us in early, fixed a billing issue without fuss, food was excellent, immediately attended to our needs when we were in need; we did not ask for room cleaning bc our son was sick and slept in most mornings so it was nice to receive the extra Starwood points. I prefer staying here when visiting Universal Studios or coming to LA for a work conference anytime. December 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE Loud party on the floor above me, I was not notified of this prior to check in. The clean up for this party began about 6am...got 2.5 hours of sleep. Restaurant is poorly managed and the service and food are in horrible need of a makeover. WILL NEVER STAY AT AN SPG PROPERTY AGAIN. Thanks to this staff for ruining a birthday celebration!!! May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive accomodation and service! Of many hotels we've stayed at, this one was by far the best! On arrival, we immediately exprienced an excellent customer service minded staff. The room was very clean to a detail. In our four (4) night stay, each and every staff person was truly ever so professional, accomodating and demonstrated utmost attention toward customer service. We can honestly say we've never experienced such great encompassaing customer service. February 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing Our stay over Thanksgiving weekend was disrupted by a very loud party held on a Friday night in the top floor Starlight room. Our room was on the 18th floor, located near a stairwell. we were with kids and hoping for an early night. at about 8:30, we started hearing an incessant pounding sound, like storm troopers doing drills in the room above ours. Turned out to be the sound system for the party a few floors above ours. When we called the front desk, we were told that the volume would not be turned down until midnight. Apparently the sound traveled loudest through the stairwell, so, if you get a room here, ask for a lower floor or a room not near the stairwell. We had to call maintenance in the middle of the night because our toilet was not working. the staff was prompt and helpful in fixing the problem. But the experience overall was quite disappointing... November 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quiet floor wasn't so quiet The 2nd night of my stay, I got THIS CLOSE to checking out at 10:00 pm . I was on the quiet floor, and had already called down to the front desk about the noise. The partying people in the rooms next door continued - the walls are paper-thin. These people made me feel uncomfortable staying there. I don't know why they were put on the quiet floor - they were partying. Odd bathroom layouts made the bathroom not very functional. December 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel needs some updating The Valet attendents were awesome!!! The Dining room staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was dated. The headboard was worn on the front and looked bad. The bathroom was dated and the grout needs to be touched up. The bed was so comfortable I slept great. The pool area is also dated. Don't spend extra money to have a pool side view, its not worth it. The front desk was rude when my key card failed 3 times. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ahhhhhh We love staying here. We stayed for a week last March to go to Universal studios, Hollywood and came this time for a taping of The Voice! We were exhausted and fell into bed at night. It is so comfortable! Love the restaurant downstairs. The bell hop recognized us! I called room service for a pot of coffee in the morning before our flight and it literally came in 3 minutes,! Love this hotel from check in to check out!!! August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for visiting Universal Studios We had a great stay at this hotel. Despite facing south to the freeway we couldn't hear the traffic at all. Beds were comfortable. Nice and close to the metro which we used to go to Staples Center to see a basketball game. Shuttle to Universal was very convenient; however I thought it was odd that the shuttle stopped at 10 pm on a weekend since City Walk is such a great venue that is open late. April 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Returning guest We have stayed at this hotel previously and was satisfied with the service. The hotel is nice and the staff is friendly. The first complaint is the people in the room next to us attempted to get in our room through the connecting door. The room was not cleaned the second day of our stay due to there was only one housekeeper on duty. I had to ask her for clean towels and wash cloths. April 24, 2014
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 23 next>>