Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 508 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Caring Staff The young lady who checked us in (her name was either Dana or Daria) was very accommodating in getting us in to a room much earlier than expected. She made our experience very personal! December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A disappointing holiday stay We went on a family trip over the Christmas holidays to Universal City and were so excited but when we reached the hotel (our 2nd time at this hotel) a lot of things had gone wrong. We had booked 3 rooms. First it was the wait at the front desk. There was no one to help at the regular counter but the SPG gold/elite did offer to help but providing all the gold/elite have been taken care of which ended up taking a looong time. Then the rooms were not available at the check in time which was ok to me. But one of our rooms was in such a poor condition (pool view room) that my sister had to ask to change to a king room for the 4 of them. Our room was ok but it was the incosistency of the heating/air con that made it very uncomfortable for the 2 days. Along with this was the internet issues which we had none of in the room. The business center computers were down as well both days. The elevators were terrible conditions and it took so much time waiting for up and down. Heard others complain as well. It was definitely fustrating. I had a rude/snarky girl (Danielle) that answered the phone twice when I called front desk. Others were nice tho and restaurant for breakfast has really nice staff. January 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by October 2013 family vacation As a frequent business traveler and Gold Starwood member, I was disappointed with this property for a family vacation. First, the pool is out of operation due to extensive remodeling. Next, the rooms are also very old and in need of renovation. Finally, the front desk staff is nominally helpful.They don't answer questions, and don't portray eagerness to help. Every time I approached them, their attitude made me feel like I was inconveniencing them. The front desk staff are the "face" of the brand, and they can use new blood at the front desk that will portray more motivation and eagerness to help guests. I will provide a compliment to the Club Lounge - the service staff at the lounge are very helpful and have a great attitude, and this facility is clean and updated. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr. Varela My only concern was I have stayed at other high end hotels and they have offered free internet, although with Sheraton I was a little disappointed with wanting to charge which I did not use, just used my phone when it would have been more convenient using my lap top, also the charge for parking, lastly the sheets on the bed, bottom sheet was all bundled up as if the bed wasn't made properly. Other then that everything else was great clean etc. December 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed The room was a bit disappointing for the money. I don't expect to have to stand with one foot in the toilet in order to use the sink. The first night I found the sheet on the bed was not even long enough to tuck in. It appeared to be a queen sheet on a king bed. I spent the night having to adjust it so as to not sleep on the bare mattress. I realize your charging for location to the park but I'm not sure I'd use this facility should I return to Universal. With the rates you charge I shouldn't be charged $20+ a day to park my vehicle. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best guest service Thank you so much for making our mini vacation the best. When we arrived we were greeted at the Starwood perferered and Max helped us out. We checked in and were informed that our room was not ready yet because the guest before us checked out late. Max was kind enough to check to see what was available and he offered to upgrade us from our executive suite to a VIP suite (this is what Max referred to it as). The room was amazing and the customer service was the best of any hotel I've ever stayed at so Thank You. October 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable This is my second stay here, definitely not my last! The staff was great- checked us in early, fixed a billing issue without fuss, food was excellent, immediately attended to our needs when we were in need; we did not ask for room cleaning bc our son was sick and slept in most mornings so it was nice to receive the extra Starwood points. I prefer staying here when visiting Universal Studios or coming to LA for a work conference anytime. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service My SPG membership was acknowledged by the Valet and the Registration desk. I was given a nice room on the club floor, and the bell desk brought me a refrigerator and extra towels and was very helpful. We had a problem with our door key not working, and the security guard came immediately and treated us to a nightcap for our troubles. We stayed one week and the room was clean and all staff so friendly. The valet Curtis noticed a scrape on my car that I hadn't gotten fixed, and got some polish out and buffed it out. Amazing. Great service, the building has interesting history and great location. Nice gym, and we had a business meeting in the lounge with great service. I did not like the cabana rooms, they are tired... the tower was better. Thanks! March 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A plesant surprise I had to come to checkin very late. There was a computer glitch when I arrived and had to wait for a long time to checkin. I am handicapped and when I went to my room # 404, the key didn't work. I had to go downstairs and was accompanied to the room which was really 406. Then the key worked. The gentleman who came with me apoligized to me. After I was in bed, i noticed that i had left my iPhone in my car. I called downstairs and asked them to please find it and bring it to my room . They were wonderful and it made me glad. The convention floor was very nice also. From that moment on, It was run so well even our awards showon the 21 floor on Friday. I am going up to Sacramento the end of this month with reservations at the Sacramento Grand Sheraton. February 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concert at Gibson Nice hotel, close to venue - which will be no more (sad note, too bad). The street to get to the hotel was blocked off by Universal due to traffic for a concert....WHAT - why would you block the entrance to your hotels for guest??? Had a horrible time getting to the hotel in the first place. Almost changed direction and cancelled. Street was not reopened until midnight. Not smart to block your guest from your entrance. - Once staying there the bar staff, one person, after event on your Universal ground...didn't seem to want to be there working - not very professional - and understaffed for time of day for the guest. Awkward and almost rude by the bartender to another guest is what I witnessed. If you don't want to wait on guest, don't work at a bar - please. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Each time we entered the front door we were greated with a friendly hello. The Front Desk agent (Arturo?) was very helpful and knowledgeable. When he discovered we were traveling with our dog he moved us to a lower floor for easier access in and out of the building. We ordered Room Service - the food came promptly and the server was very polite - however our tray was still outside our door the next morning. The building and grounds are very well maintained. Access in and out of the parking garage is easy as is access to the freeway. March 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good experience The hotel is located in Universal City and is targeted at parents with children and for holding large conferences. The hotel pool is under renovation and is closed now. The standard room is small, but equipped with all necessary facilities. If you are Elite member of SPG Loyalty Program, you don't need expect special attitude, the reception staff are extremely unfriendly and some of them rude, as the hotel Is operates on a license of Sheraton, then the Sheraton standards complied here only partially. But the staff in the restaurant are very friendly and accommodating! The hotel has a Club Lounge, where served a continental breakfast and snacks in the evening. Given his always full occupies (its difficult to find a place to sit) is better to eat elsewhere. March 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for Hollywood sites We stayed over the weekend while visiting family in the LA area. I booked two rooms - one with points and paid for the other. Since this was the stay that got me to Platinum status I was hoping for some special recognition. But all we got was two standard King bed rooms on the SPG level. I guess we've become spoiled following our amazing treatment recently on our European anniversary trip. However, the staff were all very helpful. The bar has a nice atmosphere. Note: Valet parking is $22 per day plus taxes. September 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel but no staff around at night This hotel is much better than I expected after reading some of the reviews. Everything was up to Sheraton standards. The only problem was that when we arrived a midnight there was no one around. I had to ring the bell at the reception desk and then had to search for the valet to park the car (guess I should've parked myself). We had already unloaded all our bags and we're going to the elevator before the bell staff arrived. If they are working on tips....they aren't going to get any from me. October 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by thoroughly enjoyablevisit We enjoyed the offer of wine or ice water or both at registration. The staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfasts and appetizers were tasty. Regulating the room temperature was tricky and the door handle was stiff. Neither of these were much of a problem. One of us is handicapped and staff extraordinarily accommodating. We stayed an extra night because we enjoyed the hotel so much. The dining and service was outstanding. We have small appetites and there was no problem with sharing each entrée. Can’t wait to do it again. October 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing stay Maybe my timing was bad, not sure. We had at least on our floor a number of Cheerleader tournament contestants on our floor and were running up and down the hall hooping, banging, and hollering. Did not get much sleep. Called security but 20 minutes later it all started again. Probably won't stay again. Complained at check out and they credited me my $18 per day parking fee, which totalled $36. That did not really compensate me the good night rest that paid for. It was a VERY disappointing stay. Rest of staff was friendly. March 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Challenging experience Don't try to arrive near the time Universal Closes. Traffic was a beast. Couldn't get hot water in the evening for a good shower, but in the morning it was fully functional. Coffee bar in the lobby didn't open until 6:30am which is challenging for those from different time zones who wake up and need a cup. Was forced to visit the restaurant downstairs. However, the valet parking was the fastest I've ever experienced anywhere. Like magic! November 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has some two star features Premium prices but NO POOL !!! Visited the breakfast buffet around 8:00-8:30 AM and received cold scrambled eggs, lukewarm sausage and french toast. For the price charged for this buffet I certainly expected a hot meal. Also tried to go green and forego maid service without checking supply of toilet paper. The half roll of cheap, single ply didn't last long for family of three and zero spare rolls in room. Be cautious here. Not a good situation in an emergency. November 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five-star customer service Location was fantastic for Universal. Service was excellent from booking (LeAnn took care of securing adjoining rooms for us--travelling with kids), welcome emails prior to trip/day of trip/end of trip). at the moment of arrival with Aaron at Valet, Antonio at the front desk with a fast, efficient, and kid-friendly welcome as well as the super friendly (and genuine) staff across the board (front desk, room service, bar, restaurant, housekeeping, Club level, concierge, etc.). This is how 5-star hotels should do it. July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than expected As a long-time SPG member with a life-time status, this hotel was below par in terms of other properties i've stayed at. I think what topped it off was returning to our room around midnight, after a long day around the city, only to find out that our room didnt get cleaned/turned-down for the day. This meant re-using soggy towels (the ones that werent on the floor), not having enough shampoo/bath gel, etc. It was just a terrible ending to what should be a standard SPG experience. October 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Best Car Service ever!! Historical room, aka : old looking with celebrity painting decor, exhilarating views of the Hollywood hills, and hotel pool. But if you expect your room to be cleaned promptly you MUST IT ABUNDANTLY CLEAR..because I was expecting a clean fresh room to rest in upon return each day..and cleaning service would come in at 5p or 6p in eve. Quite inconvenience. universal city walk Great! As usual. It was the weekend..BTW so lots of baming and slamming while your trying to rest October 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissatisfied I reserved a room with a King bed, I was given a room with a small Queen bed. There was no shampoo, conditioner or soap in the room. One of the bedside lamps was missing. The shower was a handicapped shower (not requested) so there was no edge, and the drain was clogged so the bathroom started flooding. The air conditioner was noisy. Staff was pleasant and refunded 30% for the night and changed the room for the next night, but I should not have been charge anything for the totally unacceptable condition of the room. October 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't meet my expectations =When my wife and I arrived at the hotel, there was only 1 front desk receptionist. As she waiting attending with someone already when I arrived, I waited patiently in line. After about 15 minutes of waiting, I became very annoyed that no one was noticing the growing line of guests waiting to check in. This was on a Friday night, which I would think the hotel manager would expect to see more than 1 guest. Anyhow, this is beyond unacceptable in my opinion to make a guest wait for longer than 5 minutes to check in. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff We would like to call attention to Eduardo at the Bell Desk and Eugene at the Front Desk. We were greeted and given lots of information on Universal Studios and surrounding area, our bags were delivered expeditiously. Eugene went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable in the room that we were assigned. We had just left the Anaheim Sheraton and weren't treated as good as we were at the Sheraton Universal Studios. It comes down to the people you have at the Universal Sheraton. Thank you for a great stay. March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay Poor management & service staff Checked in for a King Executive Suite. Suite has no refrigerator. Called guest service and they confirm all rooms in this hotel has no fridge. they will only send if available. Calls to guest service was either not answered or directed to automated response with long wait. Requested for manager to call back, no one did even after check out. Generally poor service from most personel of the hotel except Chambermate and room service staff. Will not recommend this hotel even if you expect just satisfsctory service. December 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel doesn't offer much for the price of stay Hotel does not offer shuttle service to and from airport or any near by areas of interest. No complimentary breakfast offered to guests. Refrigerator is available upon request but hotel does not have any microwaves to heat up your food. Sliding door to balcony difficult to access and open and also balcony area did not appear to be swept. The toilet is way to close to the wall which made it very difficult to reach for the toilet paper. The only good thing about this hotel is the location near Universal Studios. May 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel stay/banquet facilities great holiday stay after our company holiday party. fantastic staff. come every year! December 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by broken header 65° room We arrived at the hotel at around 1:30pm 12/4. We were told the room wouldn't be ready until 3:00. We said fine that we'll check-in after dinner. We checked-in around 7:00, went to the room, which was at 65°, I set the thermostat to 74°, and watched the TV. After a while we noticed the vent was still blowing cold air, and the temperature still showed 65°. I turned off the thermostat, and went to bed. The next morning before we left for the day we left word with the front desk of the problem with the heater, they claimed an engineer would look into it. When we returned to the room around 7:00pm on 12/5, the temperature was 65°, I again set the thermostat to 74°, and the heater continued to blow cool air, temperature fell to 63°. We called the from desk, they said they would send up a portable heater, and an engineer. There portable heater arrived shortly after, the engineer arrived after a while. He claimed the unit had a stuck vent. He opened it and the heater started heating the room. I brought the temperature up to 74°, then turned it off. The next morning the heater again failed to heat, so we used the portable heater to supply heat before checking out before 10:00am. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant stay, perfect location I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here for five days and five nights. The staff in every department were more than helpful and very friendly. I enjoyed the food in the restaurant and most mornings had my breakfast overlooking the courtyard/pool area. The location was ideal:right across the way from Universal Studios, and five minutes walk to the Metro. I couldn't be happier, it felt like the relaxing and luxurious vacation I was wishing for, and I would definitely stay here again. Thank you everyone! July 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wish rooms were cleaner... The first room I was given on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool area had a very clogged toilet. I promptly called the front desk for a new room and they already had another room waiting for me when I arrived back at the front desk. The second room I got was clean, with exception to the previous person who stayed in the room left her 4 pairs of g-string underwear, two pairs of socks and an undershirt on the floor which was behind the opened door to the bathroom. My guess is the cleaning people didn't close the door to the bathroom, thus never say the pile of undergarments left on the floor. I promptly kicked the garmets into a plastic bag from the closet and threw them out into the garbage. Anyway...an unfortunate experience for the two rooms I got when I stayed this past week at this hotel. November 3, 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 next>>