Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 629 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Great, Rooms need upgrading....... Right now I couldn't recommend your hotel to my friends or family and feel good about it......I would tell them I would stay here again & let them make up their own minds.....The rooms are way too small as was the bathroom....If we had more than 2 people, we really would have been very uncomfortable...It also needs to be decorated better....Now for the T.V......the basic channels that you get is ashame....very few cable stations...most have the Food Networks, HGTV, Hallmark Family & Movie Channel, etc..... Now for the staff.....Superb....We couldn't ask for nicer people from the Valet, Check In & Check Out & the Housekeeper.... I say I would stay here again due to the staff and not the hotel itself..... April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really a wonderful stay! It was really a nice stay. All staff, front desk, resturant (Billy), parking attendants were very professional, helpful and all with a smile on their face. The room was clean, beautiful linen and decor. I stayed at the Universal City, CA. There was a shuttle that was very convenient for visiting Universal City and the City Walk. Free self parking!! I can say I will be back next year. Only bad things I can say about it would be the hotel did not have a morning new paper, the pool was out of order (although I didn't want to use the pool anyway), and you had to pay for internet connection. July 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, mediocre accomodations We would stay here again, however, there were a few things that we would change if we had stayed longer. Our phone didn't work, and we would need to call for internet access issues, service for the TV that didn't work, and extra towels by using the phone near the elevators. I am not certain that the room was vacuumed after the previous visitors as we noticed several "snacks" on the carpet after we had already settled in. The consierge was amazing and recommended several great. local restaurants, also the lobby was a great place to work and the internet service worked well there. March 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service and location Superb location where the staff could not do more. Randy even hosted a 'welcome event' for SPG members where the senior staff were available to talk to the guests. Front of house could not do more for us and I would like to specifically callout the staff in the Club room (Ryan and Jose) who made special provision for my wife's food allergy - really appreciated. One of only a few hotels where I have felt compelled to issue my SPG 'thank you' cards. Only downside would be the pool which was a little on the small side for us - but it was available and pool bar staff were very attentive. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time at the sheraton! We had our company christmas party set at one of sheratons banquet halls and enjoyed every minute of it. We booked a night at their standard room with the holiday discounted prices....but after awhile decided to upgrade to their executive suite. With the sold out rooms that weekend..somehow they were able to accommodate us with our request..big thanks to Lourdes! The room was huge and very clean. The staff...valet, bellman,registery,9th floor food service and housekeeping were all very friendly and helpful! We enjoyed the appetizers during the happy hours as well as the continental breakfast! There was also free wifi at the upgrade level. I highly recommend this hotel ! We will definitely stay here again! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer service is off the chart Needed a larger rooom upon check in, none available, Joey found us a standard room close to ours and it made the trip. Billy B in The Californias restaurant is excellent, sit in his section!! Went to SPG reception which was well done. I had three grand children with me and the 'staff' could not have been more friendly cordial and accomidating to us all. My youngest wanted a 'cherry' and although there were none available, Janice suddenly apears with a glass full of cherries! What the heck, it's the grand kids vacation. This facility understands customer service, each person was helpful, courteous and just really pleasant. Great location to go to city walk or the park. Would recommend it for your vacation. June 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by NICE WILL BE STAYING WHEN WE COME BACK July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Staff We recently stayed here and I must commend the excellent service we received by the entire Sheraton staff. From entry to exit superb service was provided. The Club Room personnel were superb in every aspect. We did encounter 2 small issues but they were resolved. Our first room key would not work so another room was provided and on the morning of departure at 5:00 am the toilet overflowed but maint. and housekeeping took care of that. Overall it was a very good stay and the competance and caring of the staff is a definite reflection on the Management of this facility. Hopefully we will have a chance to return to this area. If so, this will be our place to stay. Thanks to a great team at Sheraton Universal. July 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Universal Horror was a Horror When we made reservations we were told that there were no double bedrooms left but they would upgrade us to a suite, because I had my children with me. The rooms were sold out and they did not upgrade us. So we got stuck with 1 king bed. and no bed for my son to sleep on. Finally they agreed to put a cot in the room although it was not a room made to have a cot in it. The couple we were staying with went to their room only to open the door and find it occupied (yikes). Enjoyed Universal Studios but couldn't wait to get out of there the next morning! They did comp my parking wow! October 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed I am a long time customer of SPG hotels and earned platinum by staying hundreds of nights at hotels. I stayed at Sheraton Universal couple times, and this time, the room is very disappointing. The room is very dusty for one, and almost can see a layer of dust on tables and night stands. The phone is disgusting, and the door lock has loose screws. All and all the room is old and bed is not comfortable. Wanted to have a nice night with family but heard nothing but complaints from them. Oh well. Perhaps this hotel needs renovation in some of the rooms and service needs to improve. October 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decaf!? I like this hotel, and have stayed there many, many times over the past 15 years...friendly staff, very comfortable beds, fairly good value for dollars spent in the restaurants and room service...but an entire star fell off my rating as, at 5am, I pulled out the Coffee Drawer to find 3 packets of DeCaf and none of High-Test. A crushing blow to a Morning! Then, when the two, large pots of coffee I ordered from room service arrived with the specified half and half rationed in such minuscule proportion to the coffee as to be virtually irrelevant...well, let's just say my Coffee Issues took prominence. Someone needs to pay more attention to these little things. Meanwhile, I'll return; as it's an excellent place. September 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff and Hotel Great with Some Room Annoyances Checkin staff took extra time to assign us a room that perfectly suited our needs and the housekeeping staff as well as the concierge, bellmen and auto valets were all very accommodating and considerate. The patio door was rough to open and one drawer in the clothes dresser continued to open. The bathroom size was somewhat small. But the minor annoyances in the room were overcome by the overall feel of the hotel and the wonderful staff. We attended a wedding and the ballroom, the outside patio and the starlight room were all perfect venues for the ceremony and celebration. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location. If you plan on going to Universal, or Hollywood Blvd., or Warner Brothers tours etc., the whole Hollywood scene, then this hotel is located perfectly for all of the above. And of course, being a Sheraton, the service, cleanliness etc. is top notch. The concierge was very helpful on tricks in getting around Universal efficiently. And he was right. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience, but with an unexpected incident The overall experience is good. However, one unexpected experience happened to me. When I stayed in the room 30 mins after check-in, another group of guests entered the room with key. They were arranged by the front desk too! Then my key didn't work for this room. The staff assisted me did apologize for this and helped me to figure it out. His honest and performance made me feel better. However, I feared when I was on the bed. What if I was not in the room when they entered? what if they were not a polite lady and a child? Hope this will never happen again in your hotel. August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property Very nice Property. The new pools is really something. I had a room with two beds which was great because one of the beds needed to be replaced. It leaned to one side. Not sure why. The second bed was perfect. I go to LA once a month for business and will stay here again. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our New Favorite Hotel! Annual visit w/ family from back East. Usually do Disney, but decided to try Univ. Studios this summer and happened upon the Sheraton. Maybe business has been slow (but the hotel was completely booked) or maybe they're making an effort to improve their image. Regardless, hands down the BEST customer service we've experienced in years! From Max at the front desk to Juliet in the restaurant to Mr. Wall (Asst. Gen'l Mgr?), everyone gave 110% to make sure our stay here was memorable. We'll be back, and we'll spread the word about the Sheraton at Universal Studios. FABULOUS! August 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissappointed with the experience I'm a platinum guest and stay in Starwood properties more than 75 nights a year. This was one of my worst experiences in 2013. I had 3 club level rooms booked, 2 confirmed as adjoining for a family traveling with us. When I arrived, all 3 rooms were on different floors and the two booked for the other family were both king beds instead of 1 king, 1 double beds. I was able to give up my double room to make it work for the other family, since the hotel staff was unable to figure it out. The internet was down for our entire stay. The club lounge opening was unpredicatable, and charging to our rooms was never an easy task. The buidling / facilities / location are great. They just need to work on their customer experience. January 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT Our first impression of this hotel was WOW.. We have just entered another era a Hollywood era, we expected movie stars to come walking down the isles... The staff were wonderful so helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was perfectly positioned to universal studios and theme park and to WB studios. We saw another side to LA Hollywood. Much nicer than Hollywood Boulevard itself.. Thank you for making the last few days of our USA trip so wonderful.. We would stay at this hotel again without a second thought and we would recommend others to stay there too. Thank u.... November 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vacation Close proximately to Universal Studios and other attractions. Only drawback is air condition unit in room (#619) could not figure out to keep a constant temp. It cooled room down to 60 by morning, but was set at 75. July 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to be more organized We were very unhappy with this hotel the room was hot..reservations were wrong and we were charged double although they did eventually fix the charge and the reservation we decided to leave due to problems with the program we were with but had the hotel done what they should have we would not have had the added stress July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A nice place with great value We stayed in an executive suite as a family of four. Plenty of room and the room was very clean. We enjoyed great service at the front desk and in the restaurant. Shout out to Monica in the restaurant for great service. We arrived just as the pool area reopened after renovations - it did not disappoint. The pool area was very well done with comfortable couches and covered areas. The concierge (named Dia I believe) was fantastic. We had club level status and highly recommend upgrading. The continental breakfast on the club level was great, as were the appetizers in the evening. The price we paid for the room for three nights was a great value given the location, the service and the pool facilities. Enjoyed the shuttle service to Universal Studios. Only criticism that I might have is that there are some areas looking a little tired and in need of minor renovation. However, the key areas, such as the lobby and pool area, were in excellent shape. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a spot in the Universal City area for a fair price. July 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs help! This is the second review I wrote as the last one when I went to post it said that they need at least five reviews prior to posting. Funny, there are over 500 on the web page and I stayed at SPG properties over 60 nights last year and usually do reviews. Maybe they did not like what I had to say. First and foremost, the hotel is in desperate need of a major renovation. Second, the internet is a complete joke as I had to use my phone's hot spot as I could not even download emails on their system. The staff was great but they are working with a complete dog. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Responsive service, great room I have stayed here multiple times over the last ten years. Since they built the Metro it is a fabulous alternative to overpriced downtown hotels during large conventions. You can hop on the Metro and 30 minutes later, with one easy train change, be at the Convention Center. Much better than a bus trip that can take 45-60 minutes in traffic, or a $50.00 cab ride in lieu of $1.50 for the train, or paying $30.00 to park downtown. On my last visit I had to switch my plans around to fit schedule changes, and they were extremely considerate and helpful in doing so. My room was great, which has been the general rule for me staying here. This is my go-to place when in the Valley, and my "secret spot" for Convention Center events. June 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Staff I coordinated a business event at the hotel and also stayed there for easy access to the event that I was in charge of. First of all the hotel is beautiful, so elegant and classy, but as beautiful as it is, it doesn't outshine the attentiveness and care that the staff gives you. My event manager was Ernesto and he made everything flow easily. Everyone on the staff always had a smile and so very helpful. Kudos to Hector, Luis, Wilbur, Arnold, Sam, Nancy, Armando, Vu, Jayson, who were always nearby to make sure everything was perfect! Thank you Sheraton!!!! July 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by FirstTimers We reserved a single 2 QB room for our family of 5. The front desk kindly upgraded us to a larger King bed room with a futon, which they called the Shrek room. We we're also given 3 free movies. The room was spacious & comfortable and the decor was fun. However, the room was dark. There are no overhead lights, just lamps on the ends of the room. The heater did not work-only cool air flowed. Lastly, we were charged for the 3 "complimentary" movies up front, then again when my kids ordered them. I left a message and haven't gotten a return call or a refund! November 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty Doesn't Say Sheraton Lobby decor, bar, conference room space -- top notch. The staff was friendly and I really felt like I was being taken care of. My room, on the other hand, was awful. The positive: great desk space, comfy bed, wonderful chair and table space. Loved that aspect. BUT... the night stand lights didn't work when I arrived -- one was blown out and the other turned out to be unplugged. The TV wouldn't come on -- it was unplugged. The glass on the desk and windows were sooooo dirty. I have a toddler and would not have allowed him to touch either. March 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just meet my expectations, more could be done. It is a reservation as I expected just as I previously stayed in this hotel. Location is a key factor, it is great ! Staffs are all helpful and friendly. A few improvement would be that for 4 people, size of beds is too small. But due to size of rooms, you may want to consider bunk bed for family of 4. Complimentary internet at all time in all rooms is a world standard now. You must not limit it only at the Microsoft sponsored lobby for 45 minutes/day. Amenities are too little, although, additional requests are always met.. It is a well maintained old hotel, but I think the designs and comforts must meet modern standards, it feels really old. Swimming pool renovation is a good start, but eventually rooms are also need major revitalizing. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service My SPG membership was acknowledged by the Valet and the Registration desk. I was given a nice room on the club floor, and the bell desk brought me a refrigerator and extra towels and was very helpful. We had a problem with our door key not working, and the security guard came immediately and treated us to a nightcap for our troubles. We stayed one week and the room was clean and all staff so friendly. The valet Curtis noticed a scrape on my car that I hadn't gotten fixed, and got some polish out and buffed it out. Amazing. Great service, the building has interesting history and great location. Nice gym, and we had a business meeting in the lounge with great service. I did not like the cabana rooms, they are tired... the tower was better. Thanks! March 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A plesant surprise I had to come to checkin very late. There was a computer glitch when I arrived and had to wait for a long time to checkin. I am handicapped and when I went to my room # 404, the key didn't work. I had to go downstairs and was accompanied to the room which was really 406. Then the key worked. The gentleman who came with me apoligized to me. After I was in bed, i noticed that i had left my iPhone in my car. I called downstairs and asked them to please find it and bring it to my room . They were wonderful and it made me glad. The convention floor was very nice also. From that moment on, It was run so well even our awards showon the 21 floor on Friday. I am going up to Sacramento the end of this month with reservations at the Sacramento Grand Sheraton. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary service I am 3 stays from recovering my Platinum status. This is the hotel where I attended my 10 year high school reunion , my college sorority reunion , and I try to stay here when I come back from Florida for work. The staff, especially Sam, is always so attentive,engaging and professional that I have stayed here whenever possible. I so appreciate Sam's note of greeting and the upgrade even though I haven't recovered mt Platinum status yet! My upgrade to an executive suite was so surprising and so appreciated that I will book here again when I have to come back for work next month. Thank you all for your attention to smiles, service, friendliness and recognition. I am a Starwood fan for many many years, I will continue to be a fan of your property forever. November 22, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 22 next>>