Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 660 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A plesant surprise I had to come to checkin very late. There was a computer glitch when I arrived and had to wait for a long time to checkin. I am handicapped and when I went to my room # 404, the key didn't work. I had to go downstairs and was accompanied to the room which was really 406. Then the key worked. The gentleman who came with me apoligized to me. After I was in bed, i noticed that i had left my iPhone in my car. I called downstairs and asked them to please find it and bring it to my room . They were wonderful and it made me glad. The convention floor was very nice also. From that moment on, It was run so well even our awards showon the 21 floor on Friday. I am going up to Sacramento the end of this month with reservations at the Sacramento Grand Sheraton. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary service I am 3 stays from recovering my Platinum status. This is the hotel where I attended my 10 year high school reunion , my college sorority reunion , and I try to stay here when I come back from Florida for work. The staff, especially Sam, is always so attentive,engaging and professional that I have stayed here whenever possible. I so appreciate Sam's note of greeting and the upgrade even though I haven't recovered mt Platinum status yet! My upgrade to an executive suite was so surprising and so appreciated that I will book here again when I have to come back for work next month. Thank you all for your attention to smiles, service, friendliness and recognition. I am a Starwood fan for many many years, I will continue to be a fan of your property forever. November 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed The room was a bit disappointing for the money. I don't expect to have to stand with one foot in the toilet in order to use the sink. The first night I found the sheet on the bed was not even long enough to tuck in. It appeared to be a queen sheet on a king bed. I spent the night having to adjust it so as to not sleep on the bare mattress. I realize your charging for location to the park but I'm not sure I'd use this facility should I return to Universal. With the rates you charge I shouldn't be charged $20+ a day to park my vehicle. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice place to stay! Very nice hotel and a very convenient location. The valet, bell hops, front desk check-in, room service, and restaurant staff were some of the friendliest, most helpful and enjoyable people we have encountered in our hotel stays. The food was good and the rooms were very nice. We did not care for the quality of the mattresses however, we have slept in more comfortable beds. Perhaps ours was a little older than some of the others. But, we highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to come back and stay here again! July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by SERVICE AND ROOM UNSATISFACTORY THIS WAS MY 3RD TIME AT THIS HOTEL.. FIRST 2 X WERE EXCELLENT... BUT THIS TIME WAS AWFUL. THE VALET WERE RUDE. WHEN I GOT 2 MY ROOM THE SINK HAD ASHES ALL OVER. AND I LAID DOWN THE PILLOW CASE SMELLED LIKE BUTT. WHEN THEY WERE NICE ENOUGH TO CHANGE ROOM THE THE GUY WHO CAME TO HELP US WITH THE LUGGAGE WAS SO PUSHY AND MEAN. I TOLD HIM TO SEE THE ASHES IN THE SINK AND HE SAID NO AND TO HURRY TO GO TO THE OTHER ROOM. USUALLY I ENJOY MY STAY BUT ALMOST EVERYBODY THAT WORK THERE ACT LIKE THEY DON'T LIKE THE JOB OR MAYBE IT WAS JUST US. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is very comfortable We stay at this Hotel every time we are in town. Its clean, comfortable and very accommodating. I would recommend it highly to anyone needing a central place to stay in Burbank. November 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Opportunity Overall room felt VERY worn. From the chipped paint, the knicks in the walls, the marks on the walls, the worn furniture, the hair in the tub and on the toilet and the single chair on the balcony. The lobby was stunning however just window dressing for the rest of the hotel. My room was on the 3rd floor which faced the highway was just annoying. Had I been staying more than one night I would have asked to move rooms. Hotel is convenient however don't think I'd stay here again when in town for business again. August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location for Hollywood/North LA I've stayed at this hotel a few times in recent years and its a decent hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. on our recent stay, we were given club rooms on the 18th floor facing the outdoor lawn event area. Unfortunately, this hotel is very popular event location and we were there at the same time as an entertainment industry conference. Their Saturday night party went on until 2am. Even from the 18th floor, we couldn't get any sleep. The hotel management were gracious enough to refund the cost of one of our rooms so fair enough for the loss of a night's sleep. So, although the location is great for families wishing to visit Universal Studios - be aware of the conflicts that hosting events can cause to other guests. Take ear plugs is my recommendation. June 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good experience The hotel is located in Universal City and is targeted at parents with children and for holding large conferences. The hotel pool is under renovation and is closed now. The standard room is small, but equipped with all necessary facilities. If you are Elite member of SPG Loyalty Program, you don't need expect special attitude, the reception staff are extremely unfriendly and some of them rude, as the hotel Is operates on a license of Sheraton, then the Sheraton standards complied here only partially. But the staff in the restaurant are very friendly and accommodating! The hotel has a Club Lounge, where served a continental breakfast and snacks in the evening. Given his always full occupies (its difficult to find a place to sit) is better to eat elsewhere. March 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concert at Gibson Nice hotel, close to venue - which will be no more (sad note, too bad). The street to get to the hotel was blocked off by Universal due to traffic for a concert....WHAT - why would you block the entrance to your hotels for guest??? Had a horrible time getting to the hotel in the first place. Almost changed direction and cancelled. Street was not reopened until midnight. Not smart to block your guest from your entrance. - Once staying there the bar staff, one person, after event on your Universal ground...didn't seem to want to be there working - not very professional - and understaffed for time of day for the guest. Awkward and almost rude by the bartender to another guest is what I witnessed. If you don't want to wait on guest, don't work at a bar - please. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by thoroughly enjoyablevisit We enjoyed the offer of wine or ice water or both at registration. The staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfasts and appetizers were tasty. Regulating the room temperature was tricky and the door handle was stiff. Neither of these were much of a problem. One of us is handicapped and staff extraordinarily accommodating. We stayed an extra night because we enjoyed the hotel so much. The dining and service was outstanding. We have small appetites and there was no problem with sharing each entrée. Can’t wait to do it again. October 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by old The hotel is old and very dated. Really could use an upgrade. My room was small and the bathroom was tiny and could really use an upgrade. But it was clean! The hotel staff was brilliant as to guessing my needs. The only run in I had was with the valet. They wanted me to check in before taking my luggage. Then they wanted me to give them my luggage before checking in. Then they came to me while I was in line tying to check in and wanted my car keys. I don't usually valet park... I like having access to my car when I want it. February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing stay Maybe my timing was bad, not sure. We had at least on our floor a number of Cheerleader tournament contestants on our floor and were running up and down the hall hooping, banging, and hollering. Did not get much sleep. Called security but 20 minutes later it all started again. Probably won't stay again. Complained at check out and they credited me my $18 per day parking fee, which totalled $36. That did not really compensate me the good night rest that paid for. It was a VERY disappointing stay. Rest of staff was friendly. March 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Remodel I have been staying at this property regularly for a little over a year. Improved drastically from my first stay when I was just a wee preferred member;) Great location and staff and now a nicely remodeled pool! Since hitting Gold and Plat I typically get put in a nice room. Centrally located to all the major studios and such. I do recommend this property highly... October 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location near Universal Studios and freeways We stayed here for a weekend visit to our family in the LA area. As a platinum member I used a Suite Upgrade award and we were given a nice Executive Suite on the 14th floor which is reserved for SPG guests. We also had access to the Club lounge which provides continental breakfast and evening hors d'oevres. On the negative side, the pool and jacuzzi were closed for refurbishment which was a shame since the weather was over 80F. Still, the staff are very helpful and friendly and we will stay at this hotel in the future. March 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by October 2013 family vacation As a frequent business traveler and Gold Starwood member, I was disappointed with this property for a family vacation. First, the pool is out of operation due to extensive remodeling. Next, the rooms are also very old and in need of renovation. Finally, the front desk staff is nominally helpful.They don't answer questions, and don't portray eagerness to help. Every time I approached them, their attitude made me feel like I was inconveniencing them. The front desk staff are the "face" of the brand, and they can use new blood at the front desk that will portray more motivation and eagerness to help guests. I will provide a compliment to the Club Lounge - the service staff at the lounge are very helpful and have a great attitude, and this facility is clean and updated. October 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissatisfied I reserved a room with a King bed, I was given a room with a small Queen bed. There was no shampoo, conditioner or soap in the room. One of the bedside lamps was missing. The shower was a handicapped shower (not requested) so there was no edge, and the drain was clogged so the bathroom started flooding. The air conditioner was noisy. Staff was pleasant and refunded 30% for the night and changed the room for the next night, but I should not have been charge anything for the totally unacceptable condition of the room. October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five-star customer service Location was fantastic for Universal. Service was excellent from booking (LeAnn took care of securing adjoining rooms for us--travelling with kids), welcome emails prior to trip/day of trip/end of trip). at the moment of arrival with Aaron at Valet, Antonio at the front desk with a fast, efficient, and kid-friendly welcome as well as the super friendly (and genuine) staff across the board (front desk, room service, bar, restaurant, housekeeping, Club level, concierge, etc.). This is how 5-star hotels should do it. July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't meet my expectations =When my wife and I arrived at the hotel, there was only 1 front desk receptionist. As she waiting attending with someone already when I arrived, I waited patiently in line. After about 15 minutes of waiting, I became very annoyed that no one was noticing the growing line of guests waiting to check in. This was on a Friday night, which I would think the hotel manager would expect to see more than 1 guest. Anyhow, this is beyond unacceptable in my opinion to make a guest wait for longer than 5 minutes to check in. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best guest service Thank you so much for making our mini vacation the best. When we arrived we were greeted at the Starwood perferered and Max helped us out. We checked in and were informed that our room was not ready yet because the guest before us checked out late. Max was kind enough to check to see what was available and he offered to upgrade us from our executive suite to a VIP suite (this is what Max referred to it as). The room was amazing and the customer service was the best of any hotel I've ever stayed at so Thank You. October 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff We would like to call attention to Eduardo at the Bell Desk and Eugene at the Front Desk. We were greeted and given lots of information on Universal Studios and surrounding area, our bags were delivered expeditiously. Eugene went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable in the room that we were assigned. We had just left the Anaheim Sheraton and weren't treated as good as we were at the Sheraton Universal Studios. It comes down to the people you have at the Universal Sheraton. Thank you for a great stay. March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay Poor management & service staff Checked in for a King Executive Suite. Suite has no refrigerator. Called guest service and they confirm all rooms in this hotel has no fridge. they will only send if available. Calls to guest service was either not answered or directed to automated response with long wait. Requested for manager to call back, no one did even after check out. Generally poor service from most personel of the hotel except Chambermate and room service staff. Will not recommend this hotel even if you expect just satisfsctory service. December 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by recent pool upgrades are a welcome addition at this location I often stay at this location because of its proximity to the studios and businesses I am scheduled at for meetings. I was a bit Leary about my stay this time because the room I stayed in on my last trip was in need of renovation. I am glad to see the current upgrades to the rooms and pool area. October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel doesn't offer much for the price of stay Hotel does not offer shuttle service to and from airport or any near by areas of interest. No complimentary breakfast offered to guests. Refrigerator is available upon request but hotel does not have any microwaves to heat up your food. Sliding door to balcony difficult to access and open and also balcony area did not appear to be swept. The toilet is way to close to the wall which made it very difficult to reach for the toilet paper. The only good thing about this hotel is the location near Universal Studios. May 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal for a visit to Universal Studios We stayed 2 nights for proximity to Universal. Free Shuttle perfect, The Suite we had was spacious and comfortable except for a very loud rattly aircon which kept us awake. Also a bit misleading was pool area which has been promoted as newly renovated, was clearly not finished and sun shades lacking. It was closed the day we arrived and we were sent to neighbouring hotel for a swim. Concierge Desk was most helpful. October 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for Hollywood sites We stayed over the weekend while visiting family in the LA area. I booked two rooms - one with points and paid for the other. Since this was the stay that got me to Platinum status I was hoping for some special recognition. But all we got was two standard King bed rooms on the SPG level. I guess we've become spoiled following our amazing treatment recently on our European anniversary trip. However, the staff were all very helpful. The bar has a nice atmosphere. Note: Valet parking is $22 per day plus taxes. September 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Whoaful The airconditioning sounded like a jet plane landing all night. My shower was non existent......it was a few drips at best, even when placed in the full water power position. 4 hours after making my reservation, and being assured of the room's preparedness, I arrived and the room was not ready. I'll stop here. October 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has good features, needs some improvements While most everything was good or better; there are a few items which need fixing or improvement. The shower water temperature fluctuated excessively. The curtains did not "cross over" or close properly, so the minute the sun rose, light was coming into the room and awakening us early. Finally, the continental breakfast, while good, could have used a bit more variety. October 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Enormous disappointment What an enormous disappointment. I am a big fan of SPG, and, in fact, stayed earlier in the week at the St. Regis Houston property--to rave reviews. Now, while I know that the Sheraton is not on the same level of quality as the St. Regis, I did not know that the brand in general, and this hotel in particular, had sunk to such abyssmal levels. I even used my SPG points to book a suite, #1203. My wife and I had come there with our son because he had surgery at a nearby clinic this morning, and the hotel was conveniently located. But the positives abruptly stop there. We checked into the hotel late on Sunday night, after numerous travel delays. Although we were coming from the St. Regis in Houston, I was still fairly optimistic of a lovely stay because: 1) We were staying in a suite with access to the Club Floor, and 2) The points I used were still considerable, and not at all reflective of an inferior product about to be experienced. The hallway from the elevator to the room was underlit, and the carpet not entirely safe to walk on. Over the course of two days, my wife and I tripped a few times because it is bunched up in places and, due to the pattern, difficult to see where it was bunched up. This same hallway showed the detritus of a couple of rooms' room service meal leftovers, not to mention a few discarded cups and half-consumed Starbucks beverages people had set down in the hallway--presumably for someone to clean up! Entering our room was no less disappointing. The front door was battered, the room ill-lit, and the furniture had seen its heyday a couple of decades earlier. The windows, even on the 12th floor, let in most of the sounds of the 101 Freeway, since they were old and in disrepair like the rest of the room. The headboards were covered in an artificial creme-colored leather that was stained and cracked and spotted. The floor was threadbare, as were the linens on the beds and in the bathroom. How a bathroom barely large enough for one person to fit could even accompany a suite is beyond my ability to comprehend it. The fixtures in the bathroom were slightly cleaner than the bedroom itself, but still tawdry and more akin to what I'd find in a one or two star hotel. We were awakened in the middle of the night by the clock radio, whose alarm hadn't been disarmed by the maid, and when morning finally did bring light into the room, we were shocked at just how beaten up, ugly, and outdated the place was. Trying to put the best face on this grim situation, I took my wife and son down to the 8th floor for the continental breakfast. Yes, the oatmeal was almost warm enough to be called lukewarm, the tables were a mess, barely cleaned unless we requested it. The fruit was melon--out of season and crisp, rather than ripe. The breads were one-dimensionally white and highly glycemic, and the cereal selection poor. Even the yogurts, instead of sitting attractively on a bed of ice, were dumped into a black plastic bin. All-in-all, really unappetizing. The lobby is a mess:filthy, chaotic, and understaffed. And while the personell we did speak to were friendly and helpful, they were fighting a losing battle. Sheraton is undoubtedly making money hand-over-fist on this property. With no investment in it, it is just a cash cow for you to use to part the hordes of Universal City tourists with their money. Shame on Starwood for letting this property sully the Sheraton name in such a depressing manner. I could not be a more displeased Starwood Preferred Gold member. My points were completely wasted on a wasted property, and I have to question why I even accumulate points to use at Starwood if this is the way they're going to treat properties that are not under the St. Regis flag. April 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The remodeled swimming pool was a disappointment! We have been coming to the Sheraton Universal for the past 20 years and have always enjoyed hanging out at the pool. However, now that the entire pool area has been redesigned, we did not enjoy it at all. It may look slick at first glance, but it is not the least bit inviting. Over our three day stay, we spent a total of 45 minutes at the pool. In the past, we would spend hours and hours!! The old design had trees and greenery surrounding the whole pool area. The hot tub was secluded and felt cozy. Now, the pool area is barren and hot, with very little shade, and the main focal point of the hot tub is now the mechanical lift for disabled people. The cabanas were being used as changing rooms by obnoxiusly loud families, and the poolside bar is gone. The whole pool experience was a major disappointment. August 2, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 23 next>>