Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates


Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 619 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite great... The staff at the hotel was great. The room was a little weird in that there was virtually no closet. You could hang maybe 2 things in it. As an SPG member I opted for free Wi-Fi in my room, but he signal was so weak we couldn't use it. The towels are pretty old. Needed more space to put our stuff in the bathroom. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time. spend 2 nights after a long flight. the guy in the front desk (i htink it was Jason) was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very quiet. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay I can't say enough for the GREAT service we received while there. Everyone was so nice and friendly. Room was clean and we got points back for going green a couple of nights. Your Concierge service was awesome and helpful. Even with a big conference in house the elevators ran smoothly, wait times were expected but we all turned it into a chat time. I highly recommend upgrading to the Club Level. Their lounge was just what we needed after a long day. The Continental Breakfast was delicious. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for visiting Universal Studios We had a great stay at this hotel. Despite facing south to the freeway we couldn't hear the traffic at all. Beds were comfortable. Nice and close to the metro which we used to go to Staples Center to see a basketball game. Shuttle to Universal was very convenient; however I thought it was odd that the shuttle stopped at 10 pm on a weekend since City Walk is such a great venue that is open late. April 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor response to request I had requested a quiet room away from the elevator. Upon arrival I was given room1918 which was 2 doors away from the elevator lobby. When I returned to the desk to ask for a change of room, your clerk gave me 2 choices, either a room on the 3rd floor at the back which he said had freeway noise or room 2014. I of course chose 2014. That however was apparently the wrong choice, because this room is directly underneath a service room for the banquet hall which had a hard floor. 3 out of the 5 mornings I was awakened at 6-6:30 am by footsteps and carts being pushed across a hard floor, not just once but many times. It lasted up to 20-30 minutes. It was impossible to sleepI realize that you will tell me that requests are not guaranteed, but surely with the number of rooms you have it couldn't have been that difficult a task to find a quiet room at or near the end of the hall for me!!! Extremely disappointed!! Worst service at a Sheraton ever. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCEPTIONAL This hotel continues to meet and exceed my expectations. In the past, I have not frequented many Starwood properties. This, however, is the seventh year I have used this facility and Emily Schwab and Bernadette Galaviz have made returning so easy. Their exceptional customer service and amazing one-on-one customer attention has made me a Starwood man!! KUDOS to these fine professionals, for it is they that bring us back, year after year! Jeffrey March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is OK for location The staff is nice, and the room was nice. The maid service would constantly enter without me having a chance to say that I was still in the room. They did this often, knock, then enter, without waiting for OK. The pool and jacuzzi were nice, but were completely filthy dirty, and the jacuzzi burned my feet as one day it reached 110 degrees. Shortly after my feet were burned, the technician magically appeared and said there was a problem with the steam. Anyway, for the money per night, I would recommend staying somewhere else. Also, the food really needs an upgrade...I was on the club floor and we get the nightly happy hour, the people were extremely nice, but the food selection was not great the crackers were stale...Also, in the fitness center, there wasn't a scale and no air, and the machines stink. October 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by As rundown as the movie stars on the walls This is my second stay at the Sheraton Universal. My only reason for staying here is the proximity to my customer. The place is run down. There is still no swimming pool. I was put in a room (811) with no shower, no closet an ironing board on the wall and an AC vent that blows right in your face. The rooms are dusty, especially under the glass furniture coverings. The pillows are lumpy. The WiFi is useless. When I complained about the room on check-in, I was told there was nothing that can be done. They would call me the next morning to see if they could switch my rooms. Of course no-one called. I do want to call out the excellent service of Joey at the front desk. Finally someone took the extra effort to find me a "normal" hotel room which made my stay a little nicer. He also gave me access to the Starwood club room. I wish everyone had the same regard for customer service. This place needs a serious updating. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not so easily impressed I would like the hotel management to know that for 35 years I have checked into some of the finest 5 and 4 star hotels and have easily become accustomed to the best of guest services. I just have to say that I was completely taken aback by your staff there at the Sheraton Universal. From the moment I drove up to the moment I was checked in by Ms. Emenike. They were truly superb and this is coming from someone that has now become tainted and jaded when it comes to guest services. I am so very glad to have taken a few days to reminisce about the 25 years my family and I vacationed there at your hotel. I now have one more wonderful memory to add to it! I truly wish to thank the entire staff there at the Sheraton Universal and cannot wait to visit in the very near future. Thank you so very much to you all! July 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Close Close to the park, good service to and back, very ferquent service! May 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than expected As a long-time SPG member with a life-time status, this hotel was below par in terms of other properties i've stayed at. I think what topped it off was returning to our room around midnight, after a long day around the city, only to find out that our room didnt get cleaned/turned-down for the day. This meant re-using soggy towels (the ones that werent on the floor), not having enough shampoo/bath gel, etc. It was just a terrible ending to what should be a standard SPG experience. October 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton EVER I am a Platinum SPG and this has to be the WORST Sheraton anywhere in the world. The Internet is useless. The valets abuse the parking and fill up all the Handicapped. The rooms are OLD OLD OLD. I was in Room 1226 on the SPG floor. The carpets are stained, furniture worn out. The Club Lounge is USELESS. STAY AWAY from this hotel.... April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Furniture The furnishings were a little shop-worn. Otherwise an excellent stay. May 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just OK There were problems in our room. The toilet doesn't work well and neither does the air conditioning. We were never cool enough. We would have been more comfortable if the chairs had ottomans. The sheets were nice, as well as the devet, but the towels were old,small and thin. A DVD player would be a nice bonus. One night we came back after being out all day to find the room had not been serviced. There was no where to sit in the sun. The pool seemed to be shady most of the time. February 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by In dire need of renovation Run down and given a ground level room for an SPG Gold customer--- nice to know they start their leaf blowing at 7 am, that noise is almost drown out by the drone of the freeway traffic. The room safe needed the battery replace amongst other things. The breakfast buffet was OK, but the fruit was not ripe. Stay away from the uninspired restaurant serving bland and tasteless food. I stated my disappointment when I checked out more than 48 hours ago. No response from management. February 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Best Car Service ever!! Historical room, aka : old looking with celebrity painting decor, exhilarating views of the Hollywood hills, and hotel pool. But if you expect your room to be cleaned promptly you MUST IT ABUNDANTLY CLEAR..because I was expecting a clean fresh room to rest in upon return each day..and cleaning service would come in at 5p or 6p in eve. Quite inconvenience. universal city walk Great! As usual. It was the weekend..BTW so lots of baming and slamming while your trying to rest October 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sam - the front desk manager - is the best We did not plan on going to the Universal Studios when I booked the hotel. We made our reservations 2 days in advance and this was the only Sheraton available. When we arrived, we realized how close the hotel is to the Universal Studios so we decided to give it a try. I called the front desk and talked to Sam. She was very helpful in upgrading us to the package which includes 2 tickets. She even gave us an extra breakfast voucher. As a SPG Gold member, I felt very special. Everyone was very polite and helpful. If I have to pick a bone or two, the parkig fee is a bit high and the Club House breakfast and appertizer selections are quite limited. The room is clean but the bathroom is small. Also, the kids miss their Cartoon Network and DIsney Channels. Overall it is a great hotel and I am glad that I am a SPG member. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best site for our mother/daughter vacation! This hotel was in the best location during our first visit to LA. It was convenient to everything. We were greeted every morning, afternoon, and evening with the most respectful and courteous staff I've ever encountered. Best of all was the patience of our daily event planner and concierge - Fernando. He was THE MAN. He helped me plan everyday successfully and when I was not happy he did not stop until I was satisfied! We did everything we wanted to do WITHIN our budget. July 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Exceptional staff Everyone we interacted with during our 5 day stay was incredible, professional courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, the hotel itself was not up to standards. Even though we were on a preferred guest floor, the room was dated, furniture was scuffed and marred and cleanliness suspect. In this day and age HDTV should be provided and the alarm clock should work. Mini fridges in rooms should also be considered especially when the restaurant is at minimum capacity. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW Service I cannot say enough great things about your Sunday afternoon concierge(I apologize I did not get his name) to the Club Lounge staff of Alisa, Jose and Albin among others. We have traveled for over 30 years and never had this great of an entire staff! We had reservations to return to the area at a different hotel later next month and I immediately changed our reservations so we can make a return visit here. Kudos to everyone there. We look forward to many return visits. September 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed My complaint is no one from SPG at time of booking informed me that the pool was closed ant that the wireless service was being up dated . Both of these issues would have led me not to book at this time I had my son his wife and grand kids with me The restaurant is in need of an upgrade All in all a disappointing experience April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less Than Thrilled Our entourage had high hopes upon arrival. The valet staff was excellent, and one of the managers personally escorted us in and checked us in. So far so good. Unfortunately, once we got to our room, things went downhill. One of the headboards was in severe disrepair, so we requested another room, which the staff quickly and efficiently arranged. Fair enough. We made our way to the Club Lounge for appetizers, only to discover an overcrowded room, disappointing selection, dirty floor, dirty tables and dirty chairs. We each took a bottled water and moved on. The bathroom in our room was very small, the shower head was spraying from the joint, and the toilet ran continuously. The beds were comfortable, but overall we felt as though we could just as easily have been in a lesser chain property. I think Sheraton can do better. August 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has some two star features Premium prices but NO POOL !!! Visited the breakfast buffet around 8:00-8:30 AM and received cold scrambled eggs, lukewarm sausage and french toast. For the price charged for this buffet I certainly expected a hot meal. Also tried to go green and forego maid service without checking supply of toilet paper. The half roll of cheap, single ply didn't last long for family of three and zero spare rolls in room. Be cautious here. Not a good situation in an emergency. November 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Repairs Love this hotel but it needs's a great location and the staff is nice but too many rooms need repairs and/or updating. Bathrooms small. When hotel is busy on weekends it's a zoo. Otherwise a good stay. Club level lounge is great for breakfast and appetizers at dinner time. You can upgrade to the buffet downstairs for $8.00 if you want. Would like to see them take better care of their rooms and answer the phone when guests call - even during busy times! February 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a little work The Sheraton Universal City is a good location for our trips to the Hollywood Bowl and after a bad experience two years ago I decided to give it another try but I found a few things still lacking. The valets were very attentive and efficient. The front desk has not busy and our room was ready as requested. The room was a little dated and not as clean as I would expect but I can handle it for one night. At breakfast the next morning we put the meal on the room tab. I noticed when trying to review the bill just before checkout that they had added 15% "gratuity" onto the bill in addition to the cash I left on the table. It was only a few dollars but the idea was upsetting and unfortunately I took it out on the maid and valet by reducing their tips. I'm guessing that the hotel will add their tips to my bill after reading this. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Made reservation a couple months in advance, host hotel for Class Reunion. Requested to be near some friends. Hotel suggested that I phone back about two weeks before arrival and make the request AGAIN. So I phoned two weeks out and made the request again, for, if not adjoining rooms, at least a room near theirs on the same floor. When we arrived they said the best they could do was put us on the floor below our friends. Very disappointing. Desk Clerk offered free parking to compensate. We also phoned the operator to advise them that our room smelled like bug spray. They offered to send someone from housekeeping up to spray our room with something to take away the smell but nobody ever showed up. We left the door to our room open to the hall for an hour or so and it eventually helped enough for us to get a good nights sleep. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive accomodation and service! Of many hotels we've stayed at, this one was by far the best! On arrival, we immediately exprienced an excellent customer service minded staff. The room was very clean to a detail. In our four (4) night stay, each and every staff person was truly ever so professional, accomodating and demonstrated utmost attention toward customer service. We can honestly say we've never experienced such great encompassaing customer service. February 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed again. Front desk staff was great. I was once again disappointed with the cleanliness of the room as well as not having key items in the room such as washclothes and handtowels or a Do Not Disturb sign. The valet is never staffed properly to handle the amount of customers waiting...30 minutes is too long! The one person scheduled was very sweet but couldn't keep up with demand. I stay here twice a year and this is the 3rd time my stay has been very disappointing. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recognize platinum members This is by far my favorite Sheraton! I travel a lot for work especially to LA and always choose to stay at Sheraton Universal. The staff are all friendly and as a SPG platinum member you are treated as a VIP guest. I've always been upgraded when they have a suite available and just last weekend they were kind enough to upgrade me to the Vice Presidential suite! The hotel is old but it's clean and the staff are all great! Definitely recommend this hotel! September 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Left a bad taste If its one thing, I can understand and move on but this single night stay continued with missed expectations and issues. There was previous user hair in the tub. As a gold, I had to stay on a lower level. The room was aging. In the morning, I had to wait 20 minutes for my car. The air wasn't working in the elevator. In summary, this hotel is in the right location but falling down as a Sheraton. Set your expectations accordingly. I was disappointed. July 25, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 22 next>>