Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 635 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointed While this review may seem negative, I want to stress that the staff from top to bottom was extremely helpful in addressing my rare issues with a Starwood property. As unacceptable as all these issues were for the price point of my stay, I felt the need to share my issues during my four day stay. While I appreciate this hotel is located near the Universal hotel, I would hope that the managers of the property would invest more in sound-proofing these rooms as to avoid hearing kids running up and down the hallways. Additionally, I had to change rooms because the shower would not drain, the tv in the second room wasn't functioning, and worst...there was an 8" long hair in my cottage cheese during my breakfast. That said, the situation was quickly addressed and the brunch was comp'ed for my (unhealthy) inconvenience. April 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant stay, perfect location I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here for five days and five nights. The staff in every department were more than helpful and very friendly. I enjoyed the food in the restaurant and most mornings had my breakfast overlooking the courtyard/pool area. The location was ideal:right across the way from Universal Studios, and five minutes walk to the Metro. I couldn't be happier, it felt like the relaxing and luxurious vacation I was wishing for, and I would definitely stay here again. Thank you everyone! July 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Features Unfortunately the pool was closed for renovations. However, the bar is great. Lots of room at the bar and to relax in semi-private lounge areas around the bar. We particularly like it's close proximity to the California Canteen, one of our favorite restaurants in the world, a short taxi ride up the street. June 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel but no staff around at night This hotel is much better than I expected after reading some of the reviews. Everything was up to Sheraton standards. The only problem was that when we arrived a midnight there was no one around. I had to ring the bell at the reception desk and then had to search for the valet to park the car (guess I should've parked myself). We had already unloaded all our bags and we're going to the elevator before the bell staff arrived. If they are working on tips....they aren't going to get any from me. October 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wish rooms were cleaner... The first room I was given on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool area had a very clogged toilet. I promptly called the front desk for a new room and they already had another room waiting for me when I arrived back at the front desk. The second room I got was clean, with exception to the previous person who stayed in the room left her 4 pairs of g-string underwear, two pairs of socks and an undershirt on the floor which was behind the opened door to the bathroom. My guess is the cleaning people didn't close the door to the bathroom, thus never say the pile of undergarments left on the floor. I promptly kicked the garmets into a plastic bag from the closet and threw them out into the garbage. Anyway...an unfortunate experience for the two rooms I got when I stayed this past week at this hotel. November 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Sheraton Experience Room was okay with good beds. It had a small oddly configured washroom, a coffee maker you had to be on your knees to use and no mini fridge, despite being in a tourist destination. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Restaurant/room service was good but could use a few more food choices on the menu in the hotel - I assume they expect people to go out to eat somewhere else in Universal City. The pool was unfortunately closed and we had to walk to the neighboring Hilton for a hot tub. January 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor personal service The front desk staff was unhelpful as well as the valet guy, spg had my reservation canceled by mistake and instead of the front desk girl trying to help me fix the problem she asked me to step a side and returned when I had the issue resolved, and in the other hand I had the Valet guy on top of me asking me to move my car to the parking lot or to use there services, my car was not on their way and it was a really calm night, no one at the lobby but us. I ask for a phone or internet so I could communicate with spy because there was no signal on my cel, but once again the employe was not helpful, I had to leave the hotel to find signal to place the call. I was on a family vacation and after a long trip and a long day, the least you expect is to be stock on a lobby for more than an hour with small children. March 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but needs to be updated This is my 3rd stay at this property and everytime I come away with the same POV--it's a great location for business in Hollywood or the SF/SG Valley but the rooms decor is not well maintained. I see they are completely renovating the pool area which is great and the lobby still looks and works well. Staff is always a plus at this location. It's simply the wear & tear on the rooms...and this even on the "SPG Exec. Floor". For instance our headboard's material was cracked/peeling and didn't seem like a place I wanted my head near all night. The mirror by the closet had some weird trim work falling off the wall. The paint needs attention and the bathrooms are painfully small. So....let's hope the pool is just a start and that this signature Sheraton property will keep renovating on the room levels. November 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific hotel in LA Great hotel. Everyone at concierge desk was terrific. Not only were they helpful, but always enthusiastic. We took the shuttle to CityWalk for dinner several times. Loved having the metro just down the hill - great way to get around the city. It's a steep walk back up to hotel, but the exercise was good. Upgrade to Executive Suite if you can -- large, comfy room and great food in club lounge. Never had an issue with noise. ONLY complaint is overpriced parking fees. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay I can't say enough for the GREAT service we received while there. Everyone was so nice and friendly. Room was clean and we got points back for going green a couple of nights. Your Concierge service was awesome and helpful. Even with a big conference in house the elevators ran smoothly, wait times were expected but we all turned it into a chat time. I highly recommend upgrading to the Club Level. Their lounge was just what we needed after a long day. The Continental Breakfast was delicious. June 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The room was in a deteriorating condition Our room 1728 was in bad shape. The head board for the bed was worn through the finish. It was worn out. The desk chair was in similar condition. The finish was worn out. Next is the condition of the bathroom. The wall paper was coming away from the wall in the shelf area next to the mirror. It looked like it would fall off if you touched it. I have pictures of the wall paper, chair and headboard if you care to see the conditions I am describing. I have never experienced such a worn out room at a Sheraton Hotel in all my years staying with you. We have stayed at this hotel more than 15 times in the last 20 years. It needs renovation in a major way. The condition of the room is worn and dated. You should renovate the room quickly before you start to lose your quests. Also, the elevator sounded like it was falling apart. There were scraping and grinding sounds during its operation. This was a very disappointing stay. May 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is OK for location The staff is nice, and the room was nice. The maid service would constantly enter without me having a chance to say that I was still in the room. They did this often, knock, then enter, without waiting for OK. The pool and jacuzzi were nice, but were completely filthy dirty, and the jacuzzi burned my feet as one day it reached 110 degrees. Shortly after my feet were burned, the technician magically appeared and said there was a problem with the steam. Anyway, for the money per night, I would recommend staying somewhere else. Also, the food really needs an upgrade...I was on the club floor and we get the nightly happy hour, the people were extremely nice, but the food selection was not great the crackers were stale...Also, in the fitness center, there wasn't a scale and no air, and the machines stink. October 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by No Sleep You go to a Hotel to sleep as your first priority. The room my family and I were in for two days was uncomfortably hot and ruined our trip. I contacted the desk three times before I received a response and answer on the second night, from the Hotel Engineer, that informed me that you can not regulate the air conditioning temp in / from your room controller. Air conditioning in your room is controlled by the ambient air outside the Hotel. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not so easily impressed I would like the hotel management to know that for 35 years I have checked into some of the finest 5 and 4 star hotels and have easily become accustomed to the best of guest services. I just have to say that I was completely taken aback by your staff there at the Sheraton Universal. From the moment I drove up to the moment I was checked in by Ms. Emenike. They were truly superb and this is coming from someone that has now become tainted and jaded when it comes to guest services. I am so very glad to have taken a few days to reminisce about the 25 years my family and I vacationed there at your hotel. I now have one more wonderful memory to add to it! I truly wish to thank the entire staff there at the Sheraton Universal and cannot wait to visit in the very near future. Thank you so very much to you all! July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than expected As a long-time SPG member with a life-time status, this hotel was below par in terms of other properties i've stayed at. I think what topped it off was returning to our room around midnight, after a long day around the city, only to find out that our room didnt get cleaned/turned-down for the day. This meant re-using soggy towels (the ones that werent on the floor), not having enough shampoo/bath gel, etc. It was just a terrible ending to what should be a standard SPG experience. October 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Universal Sheraton This is the second time in 3 weeks that I have stayed at this hotel, and both times it was a poor experience. This hotel is not a good idea for a business traveler. The club seems to be open to everyone, because it is always loaded with families and children. Many things don't work! The pool has been closed for awhile now, and elevators make a very load noise, the carpets are in a sad shape. This is the worst kept Sheraton I have ever been to. April 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just OK There were problems in our room. The toilet doesn't work well and neither does the air conditioning. We were never cool enough. We would have been more comfortable if the chairs had ottomans. The sheets were nice, as well as the devet, but the towels were old,small and thin. A DVD player would be a nice bonus. One night we came back after being out all day to find the room had not been serviced. There was no where to sit in the sun. The pool seemed to be shady most of the time. February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed The hotel lobby and staff were great. I was disappointed with the room and pool. I understand the pool is undergoing a complete makeover however I have to rate it based on what I saw not what it might be. Also the when the elevator doors opened on the floor out room was on it smelled old and stale. Upon entering our room it was the same. It was clean and appeared nice but it is looking tired and worn. Also the bathroom is very small. April 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by In dire need of renovation Run down and given a ground level room for an SPG Gold customer--- nice to know they start their leaf blowing at 7 am, that noise is almost drown out by the drone of the freeway traffic. The room safe needed the battery replace amongst other things. The breakfast buffet was OK, but the fruit was not ripe. Stay away from the uninspired restaurant serving bland and tasteless food. I stated my disappointment when I checked out more than 48 hours ago. No response from management. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Very nice upscale hotel with friendly staff. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Best Car Service ever!! Historical room, aka : old looking with celebrity painting decor, exhilarating views of the Hollywood hills, and hotel pool. But if you expect your room to be cleaned promptly you MUST IT ABUNDANTLY CLEAR..because I was expecting a clean fresh room to rest in upon return each day..and cleaning service would come in at 5p or 6p in eve. Quite inconvenience. universal city walk Great! As usual. It was the weekend..BTW so lots of baming and slamming while your trying to rest October 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE Loud party on the floor above me, I was not notified of this prior to check in. The clean up for this party began about 6am...got 2.5 hours of sleep. Restaurant is poorly managed and the service and food are in horrible need of a makeover. WILL NEVER STAY AT AN SPG PROPERTY AGAIN. Thanks to this staff for ruining a birthday celebration!!! May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best site for our mother/daughter vacation! This hotel was in the best location during our first visit to LA. It was convenient to everything. We were greeted every morning, afternoon, and evening with the most respectful and courteous staff I've ever encountered. Best of all was the patience of our daily event planner and concierge - Fernando. He was THE MAN. He helped me plan everyday successfully and when I was not happy he did not stop until I was satisfied! We did everything we wanted to do WITHIN our budget. July 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sam - the front desk manager - is the best We did not plan on going to the Universal Studios when I booked the hotel. We made our reservations 2 days in advance and this was the only Sheraton available. When we arrived, we realized how close the hotel is to the Universal Studios so we decided to give it a try. I called the front desk and talked to Sam. She was very helpful in upgrading us to the package which includes 2 tickets. She even gave us an extra breakfast voucher. As a SPG Gold member, I felt very special. Everyone was very polite and helpful. If I have to pick a bone or two, the parkig fee is a bit high and the Club House breakfast and appertizer selections are quite limited. The room is clean but the bathroom is small. Also, the kids miss their Cartoon Network and DIsney Channels. Overall it is a great hotel and I am glad that I am a SPG member. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW Service I cannot say enough great things about your Sunday afternoon concierge(I apologize I did not get his name) to the Club Lounge staff of Alisa, Jose and Albin among others. We have traveled for over 30 years and never had this great of an entire staff! We had reservations to return to the area at a different hotel later next month and I immediately changed our reservations so we can make a return visit here. Kudos to everyone there. We look forward to many return visits. September 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by slow internet In addition to my previous comments about the long elevator waits, the club lounge service, and the poor lighting in rooms, the wireless internet service throughout the hotel also seems to be slow and unstable. Again, all the above seem to be easy fixes for the hotel to get back on par with other Sheraton hotels that I have visited. The parking structure next door is a good alternative for guests who prefer to self-park rather than valet their cars. March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less Than Thrilled Our entourage had high hopes upon arrival. The valet staff was excellent, and one of the managers personally escorted us in and checked us in. So far so good. Unfortunately, once we got to our room, things went downhill. One of the headboards was in severe disrepair, so we requested another room, which the staff quickly and efficiently arranged. Fair enough. We made our way to the Club Lounge for appetizers, only to discover an overcrowded room, disappointing selection, dirty floor, dirty tables and dirty chairs. We each took a bottled water and moved on. The bathroom in our room was very small, the shower head was spraying from the joint, and the toilet ran continuously. The beds were comfortable, but overall we felt as though we could just as easily have been in a lesser chain property. I think Sheraton can do better. August 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Repairs Love this hotel but it needs repairs...it's a great location and the staff is nice but too many rooms need repairs and/or updating. Bathrooms small. When hotel is busy on weekends it's a zoo. Otherwise a good stay. Club level lounge is great for breakfast and appetizers at dinner time. You can upgrade to the buffet downstairs for $8.00 if you want. Would like to see them take better care of their rooms and answer the phone when guests call - even during busy times! February 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Exceptional staff Everyone we interacted with during our 5 day stay was incredible, professional courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, the hotel itself was not up to standards. Even though we were on a preferred guest floor, the room was dated, furniture was scuffed and marred and cleanliness suspect. In this day and age HDTV should be provided and the alarm clock should work. Mini fridges in rooms should also be considered especially when the restaurant is at minimum capacity. January 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has some two star features Premium prices but NO POOL !!! Visited the breakfast buffet around 8:00-8:30 AM and received cold scrambled eggs, lukewarm sausage and french toast. For the price charged for this buffet I certainly expected a hot meal. Also tried to go green and forego maid service without checking supply of toilet paper. The half roll of cheap, single ply didn't last long for family of three and zero spare rolls in room. Be cautious here. Not a good situation in an emergency. November 2, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 22 next>>