Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 679 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend getaway Always nice should earn more points for this location since the hotel is so pricy March 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Still haven't got my folio The place is fine but the staff is pretty much helpless. Tried to get a copy of my folio but still haven't got it after three phone calls and two voice mails. First night the light/electricity next to the bed isn't working. Reported to the front desk but no one came. Had to call again the second to get it fixed. All in all, not a good experience. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This was our first time staying at this hotel and would recommend it. It is walking distance to Universal Studios, 10 minute drive to Hollywood. Great staff, great location. March 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little paint will go a long way The public areas of this hotel are very nice, but the room I was in needed work badly. From the door rattling when closed (always had to check if it was open or not), to the battered looking interior doors, to the toilet that ran most of the time, to the worn out furniture. Time to put some capital expenditures in this place. The best thing was the appetizers at the bar during happy hour! March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Convenient Hotel a walk away from Universal Studios so it made it super convenient for us to walk back to hotel if we needed anything. Also, staff was super attentive during our entire stay! March 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for Universal Studios, Not Much Else It's definitely the hotel of choice if you're going to Universal Studios. Otherwise, I would prefer to stay at other hotels in LA. I've stayed here a few times because of cost. Compared to other LA hotels, this hotel is typically the cheapest b/c it is also the farthest from the main city and the beach area. It's literally right outside the Universal Studios, so if you're spending a weekend here, it's the best location. As for the rooms, they're OK in size (they put me in an accessible room), but old. You can tell it hasn't been renovated for quite some time. The smell is okay - nothing too horrible, but it feels a bit run down. I'd stay here again to save money for sure, or if I want to go to Universal, but those are the only reasons. February 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 hotel was a joke I HAVE STAYED MANY NIGHTS AND AT MANY DIFFERENT PROPERTIES THAT ARE OWNED OR OPERATED BY STARWOOD, AND THIS WAS THW WORST..FROM STAFF TO HOUSE KEEPING AND THE FRONT DESK IT IS A JOKE. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Sheraton We've Stayed at. Staff is amazing at this Hotel. We will always return to The Universal. Perfect location and always a great stay! February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location I was here for 2 days and if you are planning to go to Universal this is a great spot. All in all my stay was good. The room was excellent and provided some great views. Staff was OK with the exception of the concierge desk who went above and beyond my expectations. Front desk check in lacked a bit. Upon checking in the clerk was surprised to see which room I had. I mentioned I was a Platinum level so it was probably the free upgrad. He just looked at me and said well this was a major upgrade. Not sure what he meant or why he was so surprised. There was an issue with the Linked in area as the internet and printing services were down. I mentioned it twice to the front desk and both times they just responded with yea internet is down. No apologies or sense of urgency to try to fix the issue. Fitness center was small but adequate. One night I arrived back late and had not eaten in some time. I was disappointed to see that there was no late night menu. I was also surprised that there was no in room movie options for purchase. This property fell slightly below my expectations February 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Horrible Experience all around At check, I waited 15 minutes to be checked in by someone who had no idea what he was doing, no acknowledge of status, no explanation of anything, and took an excessively long time to complete the check in process. Concierge lounge is a bit dated, fruit flies flew above the fruit salad at breakfast. Room furnishings were quite old, chipped, dated, I didn't dare check under the sheets at the mattress. The TV's ont he new equipment in the Fitness center (very new, recently updated) did not work. Overcharged for parking at check out. February 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location, but staff is terrible When I arrived in my room after being in meetings all day, I just wanted to relax and watch TV. I noticed that the TV remote was missing. I called Guest Services and at first the phone just rang and rang. I called back again and it rang for a long time and someone finally picked up. I asked them to bring me a TV remote. They said they would have engineering bring one up. 45 minutes later I called again to ask when they were coming. The phone rang and rang with no answer. I hung up and called back a few times before someone answered. They said they were sorry and they would contact engineering again. 30 minutes later I called again. Again the phone rang and rang with no answer. Again I hung up and called back a few times before someone answered. They again said they were sorry and they would contact engineering. 45 minutes later I called again. Again the phone rang and rang with no answer. Again I hung up and called back a few times before someone answered. I told them that I had been waiting for 2 hours for the remote, but that it was no longer needed because I was going to sleep. I had been up since 4:30am and it was now 10:30pm and I was exhausted and didn't want to wait up for who knows how long for the engineer to show up with my TV remote. Guest Services was not that apologetic about the situation, but they said they would cancel the request with engineering. 30 minutes later I was rudely awoken by a knocking on the door to deliver my remote. I called to cancel the remote so that I would not be disturbed, but apparently engineering did not get the message. I was very annoyed about being woken up when I called to let them know not to come. January 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok over all All was ok in this hotel however the service people where either very good or very bad, also the club lounge was not good at all, also not clean. January 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel great location Best location in Los Angeles January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Universal Studios location Let me start with the important things; very clean rooms, incredibly nice and helpful staff, great club lounge with a perfect work area. If you're going to California and plan on seeing Universal Studios, this hotel is definitely for you. You can walk to Universal - don't even need to take the shuttle. The front desk staff was very helpful and was able to give us an upgrade without hesitation. This is a great hotel for families with a nice pool and if you're able to take advantage of the Club Lounge, they have a great one with a helpful staff. Everything was great and above average about this hotel; however, nothing else is walkable distance aside from Universal Studios and the views from the hotel are not great (main the freeway). A short car ride will get you to Hollywood and Beverly Hills. But if you're going to Universal, nothing beats this hotel. December 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by customer service lacking I'm actually still in the hotel and I've stayed here on 2 previous occasions - this will be the last. The hotel is nice enough but the customer service is really bad. When I checked in, driving up curb-side with my family of 4 and one small dog, no one offered to help us with our luggage. I thought "no biggy".. The following day (today) I called the front desk to see if they could send someone up with towels. Since we have a small dog in the room, I figured housekeeping would not be able to come in to clean our room while we were out and about and the small dog was still in the room. I, therefore, called the front desk in the morning (8:00am) and asked if someone could send up fresh towel before we departed for the day. About 5 minutes later, I get a call from the front desk saying housekeeping personnel are on my floor and that I can basically go find them to get new towels. Kind of annoying... even more so when I search my whole floor and find no one. I called the front desk back and the attendant said he would send someone up... of course another 30 minutes go by and nothing. I finally had to call the front desk back to cancel the request as we were leaving for the day. I'm the highest level of SPG attainable... I dont expect a red carpet but basic customer service would be nice. December 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Customer Care Absent along with Manager. I had stayed at this Hotel about 10 years ago for two weeks and it was one of my most favorite hotel experiences. As I travel for work a lot - that is saying something. On this second occasion I was to stay here for a week. I ended up staying a bit over 2 hours. I was struck when I entered the room at how the rooms had gone downhill. I almost immediately climbed into bed as it was 5 am I was bleary eyed from driving and I really needed sleep before I had to wake up at noon. At 6:30 workers outside by window started major machinery. I believe it was a cement mixer. Then the jackhammer started. I called the desk and asked to be moved. "That requires the Manager and we cannot locate the Manager just now." "Can you call me when you do locate the manager?" 45 minutes later - still no call back. I called again and got the same run around. Finally 1 1/2 hours later I couldn't take it anymore and I packed my things and left. I asked that the manager call when they were found - I left my cell number. It has been three months and I have never received a call back. Sheraton's reputation has taken a severe beating based upon the ethos: lack of care of this facility. December 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great people working there, rooms need update Very helpful maintenance man. He went above and beyond to help me with my broken luggage and didn't expect a tip at all! That's someone who takes pride in their work. We need more of them. I went to the hotel having had a wheel fall off my luggage at the airport. Having asked whether a maintenance employee was still there at the hour of 11pm when I arrived, they got him for me and he was so helpful I was floored. GREAT PEOPLE BEHIND THE SCENES AT SHERATON UNIVERSAL! December 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Starwood Property My stay started off a little rocky as a new hire was handling my check in and she was by herself. This was my 1st stay as a Platinum member and I was looking forward to that verbal welcome but did not get it. She was the nicest person and I believe a quality add to the starwood team, but do not leave your new hires by themselves it is not fair to their future success. However, Jayson, made up for everything, after I got the wrong room (1 king verses 2 queens), he made sure that I got the proper room with the appropriate upgrade, got our luggage moved and left me a voicemail to ensure my comfort and expectations were met! I appreciated how this was handled and made everything better. Great property and I recommend it highly, I will be going back! December 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel to stay at when visiting universal studios universal studios is an unique attraction...there are only two hotels close to it...this one and the Hilton. we chose sheration because we are SPG members. the complementary shuttle to the park is great. but the hotel staff are real standouts. they are real professional and friendly. December 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Good Run Down, Dirty, Outdated November 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by shower Last time I stayed, it was noisy next door. This time it was the shower. I try to make it work for 15 minutes. Even took pictures and video. It is just too hard. Called the maintenance to notify of the problem for the next guest. It is just not comfortable to call someone in your room at 7am in the morning. But you staff was fantastic, and the bed was great. Hesitant to use or recommend your at the next LA trip due to two bad experience in a row. what can I do to help you ? I really like the staff and all. November 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst starwood experience ever Upon arrival at the hotel I had to wait nearly 20 minutes to check in as there was only one desk agent. Agent was unaware of starwood corp promo "crossover rewards"...so I had to go to business center to print out program details in order to receive benefits. Was told internet would be free but it showed up on bill.. Room was tiny, located in basement with view of old concrete staircase. bathroom was tiny. no closet, instead just a motel type bar ...hotel is rather old and lacks anything other than boring, basic features November 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Employee Commendations I would like to commend the following employees who made my stay extra special: Coffee Barista - Jessica J. Restaurant Host - Carlos Club Room Hostesses - Rosalda and Maria I DO recommend that the PARKING be complimentary.. I stayed on points and I was not pleased to see I was paying more to park at the hotel then the parking at Universal Studios! November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is very comfortable We stay at this Hotel every time we are in town. Its clean, comfortable and very accommodating. I would recommend it highly to anyone needing a central place to stay in Burbank. November 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience My husband and I were just at the Sheraton Universal this past weekend for his birthday on Saturday night 11-8-14. We enjoyed staying at this location in the past but things have changed unfortunately. This time our stay was filled with glitches. Saturday upon arriving we were surprised to find he front valet area filled with busses and large vehicles. It was so filled that we contented on to the self parking area, After attempting to enter a man approached and literally began screaming at my husband telling him he could not enter and that our vehicle would not fit. We have a standard suv nothing too tall. Our car fits in all standArd garages and we have never had a problem. This man was clearly very very angry when we attempted to enter so we backed up and turned around to go back to the valet/entrance area. I got out and spoke to one of the valet attendants to let him know what had happened at the garage area. He allowed us to park off to the side in front while checking in as we were leaving again for dinner. The front desk clerk seemed to have not been fully trained of simply was not up to welcoming us. She ran- swiped my bank-card a couple of times repeatedly- very quickly and then handed me the room key folio. I asked if she had any dinner and shopping suggestions and she said "No we don't really have much around here". So much for that..... We dropped off our stuff in the room and noticed that it really didn't seem clean but we were both too hungry to go back to the front desk to deal with it. We had a long drive from San jose and only were here for a day to take my husband to Universal Studios or his birthday- then turn around and drive back to San Jose afterward on Sunday. It was such a quick trip that I really did not want to waste time on room/hotel issues. Upon returning from dinner we asked the valet where we could self park our car since the man had yelled at us earlier and didn't want to go through that again. A nice younger valet said he would take us down to another lot- which he did- only to find out that it was blocked off by huge white stone blockades. He attempted to move them for us but could not do it alone. My husband got out and the two of them moved them together- still with great difficulty. These blockades were very heavy. We parked there and returned to our room. Tired and needing rest we got ready for bed. I was just appalled when using the bathroom. There were hairs everywhere- even stuck in the hairdryer cord. There was rust running down the shower wall from the metal hand rail. Some of the towels looked unfolded and out of place. Again, being tired I had to just let it go and get to bed. Our room faced the pool area which we usually like however not this night. The 10pm pool hours were not enforced at all. Screaming kids and partiers alike were still going in and out- banging the gate and making so much noise. I finally called the front dest and they said they would send security to quiet things down. It didn't quiet down until 11:30ish and it never really stopped completely. Strange loud sounds continued all night- similar to construction sounds. Banging sounds and chairs dragging etc. I really have no idea what it was but it was awful. After departing and feeling very unrested I came to find out that my credit card had been charged twice for the same amount of $276.87 totaling $553.74! Unbelievable. I have dealt with the duplicate charge with my bank, but it just one more unnecessary error. Again, it had been pleasant in the past when we have stayed here prior to this visit but thought you should be aware of how things went this trip and know that we will not be staying again. November 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unacceptable I was a little weary about booking this hotel due to the other reviews that I read but I thought I would try it anyway because of its location to Universal Studios. Upon arrival, we got into our room and there was hair in the bathtub, the toilet was wet and dirty, there was hair in one of the beds and the carpets were dirty. Sheraton Hotels are typically nice, this was rundown and in dire need of a makeover. The one positive was that we they did move us into a cleaner room (at least no hair in the tub and bed). Overall, the appearance of the room was unacceptable. November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff I am not an extensive traveller but have stayed in my fair share of hotels in North America, the Caribbean and abroad. This hotel is very clean and nice. The food was pretty good and the pool area was ok. The staff, ..... WONDERFUL!!! I can't say enough about how lovely they were. They made me feel like I mattered to them. Not in a fake way but in a very genuine manner. Juliet, you are awesome and Carlos, thank you for taking the time to be a gentleman. November 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The best feature is the location. We stayed at this property because it is so close to Universal Stidios. The staff was very friendly and this made up for the fact this hotel needs a remodel. The paint on the doors are chipped away, bathrooms are extremely small. Out door to our room did not shut completely and we had to double check it. The staff in the Club Lounge were amazing, totally worth the upgrade. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Marvelous Experience We have stayed at this location a number of times. As Platinum reward members we were really given the royal treatment. We were offered a corner suite whicih was really lovely. The view was spectacular. Jerry the man who signed us in even walked me to the room to make sure it met with my satisfaction. That was to me above and beyond. The pool is heated and beautiful with little cabanas on the side. Everyone we encountered at the pool area was very friendly and helpful. The same could be said of the Club Lounge and valet service. Having the Sheraton bus take us to and from Universal Citywalk was very helpful. The drivers were friendly and efficient and the wait for the bus was never more than a few minutes. We will definitely come back to this hotel again. October 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton The location is very convenient if you are going to Universal Studios, its a quick walk to City Walk or the Park. Staff is helpful and friendly, the grounds are very nice. October 28, 2014
  • 2015-05-28T20:07:34.117-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_679, tr_679
  • loc_en_US, sid_83, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>